(2013/09) September 2013

In the article said use vacuum or forceps or epidural is better for those with high myopia. Becoz then we can manage the pain... Quite lucky for my #1 case then...

I find that article iffy; the way it was written was more like for a social magazine rather than a research article. I would check w a gynae and an opthalmologist to be sure if u have high myopia and are concerned.

Also I dun get how pain threshold and myopia is linked?

I would like to do without epidural this time if possible. didn't like the side effects the last time..

This is my first time hearing this Groovy. My myopia abt 100 plus close to 200, but astigmatism 400 plus.. Maybe we can chk with our gynae to see if the article is true.

weiwei, do u mind shareing the side effects for epidural? my mum kept telling me not to rely on it but my pain threshold is close to 0.........

Hi there.. *waves*

wow it's been a few months since i post anything.. n all nicks r not familiar~

Where can i go for pre-natal pilates / yoga?? any good lobangs??

Oh ya.. i am starting to feel my bb kicking.. it's been kicking since last 2 weeks! i tried to reply his/her kicks by patting my tummy n it responds back!

can't wait for my detail scan this coming monday! wonder if the little thing inside me is a boy or a gal..

Here are a couple of articles (the first link has medical research references) but please note not all people get the side effects ok? It is safe within limits, otherwise they'll kick it out of the hospitals.

http://chriskresser.com/natural-childbirth-v-epidural-side-effects-and-risks
http://americanpregnancy.org/labornbirth/epidural.html

My epidural usage was less than half a tube for about 8 hours and I took it because my waters broke very early and after 12 hours or so I wasn't dilating and the gynae wanted to put in the drip. And I was so tired so needed to sleep but sleep with the drip was impossible.

Even though I used very little, I kept having numbness. After that, shivering and quite severe nausea. Also felt that pushing was not very effective with it but that could just be me. And BTW, during natural childbirth, your body will actually have natural pain killers kick in. I know of quite a few mummies who say it is bearable so want that too :p

S_Huang, my threshold for pain is very low too. Even jab i oso scare like hell. But surprisingly im glad that i listened to my gynae when he advised me nt to take epidural for my 2nd birth. My bb came out after 3 push!
So for this time i wont be taking epidural as well. Will opt for laffing gas instead.

thanks weiwei and msblur! im so worried abt the pain...... i watched on discovery home and health that with some ladies had epidural when they were dilated 2cm? i hope i can manage...

kakumi, lucky u!! hope you enjoy the pregnancy!
hui, i am also in week 17 and i dont feel any kicks yet.. some ladies mentioned that for first-time mum, wont get to experience it until later. im a FTM so maybe thats why for me.. anyway, im sure u will experience it soon!!

Actually, I was dilated up to 2-3cm for about 12 hrs without epidural. It was manageable, just need to distract yourself, walk around stuff like that. I wouldn't have gone into hospital if it wasn't because my water bag broke and I had Strep B, so needed intravaneous antibiotics.

I'm 21 weeks now and baby kicking non-stop!! Then I realise he kicks especially when I talk or when my daughter talks and man, she talks all the time.

S Huang, i'm also a first time mum! lolz. at first i thought the kicks was my tummy digesting food or wad.. but then it become more obvious n it's always kickin at the same spot, n when i pat it, it will respond.. so went to check with my frens n say it's the bb kicking. kekeeke~

Angelic^Soul,laughing gas will make u drowsy if you continously kept sniffing. So when u feel the contraction coming, juz take one deep sniff. It will somehow relieve abit of the pain. Then when there's no contraction remove it. Sniff only when u feel the contraction coming.

Anyone still having stuffy nose? I wish theres a remedy ... sigh~

My lil one is sleeping most of the time I think ... didnt kick so much as compared to my #1 who swims from left to right n right to left non stop for 2 hrs everyday ...

Wanna rant a lil by the way ... gotten some irritating commentsfrom hb's relatives ... kip saying my stomach looks small compared to my #1 becuz I was slimmer the last time dats y my stomach looks huge ... now fat dats y tummy looks small ... !@#$/+×=%

Mirai, me! All along, I have sinus, esp on monday blues~, it gets even worse. Plus, recently weather is kinda hazy and it adds on to our nasal problem
. Dun take ur hb relative words to heart! one ear in, another ear out. I always adopt this. Haa...

Weiwei, ur baby is a boy or gal? So active!!

Like what msblur says, i also only use laughing gas when contraction kicks in. It helps in a way. I still feel confinement is worse than delivery. A month thing!

btw, anyone doing confinement catering? Can share which caterers not bad if you tried before? TIA

Karena, one of my fren recently took the confinement catering from TMC. She said nt bad the food is nice & portion quite big too. Sometimes she can even share with her hubby.

Karena,

Baby is a boy. And yah, more active than his older sister. His sister was quiet in the tummy but non-stop moving when she came out. Dunno whether the pattern is the same this time! But now is the really cute stage. This morning, I felt some banging/kicking on one side, so I tapped back and he banged back. We did that a few times, so cute!

You know they say baby is playful even in the womb. It's so true lor!

so excited hearing stories abt the baby kicking! i havent felt anything yet and doc said 70% its a baby boy so i wonder baby will be slack like me or active like daddy. haha.

Msblur, thanks for sharing! But i think tmc confinement catering comes more exp than others if i'm not wrong. Let me google! So far, ppl have been reviewing natal essentials, newbaby, chillipadi and richfood. Wanna know how the food like, prefer less oil, no msg and breastfeeding friendly food. Haa...

Weiwei, my #1 also very active when he is in my tummy! Kicks non-stop and even when he's out, we still kenna his powerful kicks. As for this, not as active i feel or maybe still early in my coming to 18 weeks though i feel fluttering and occasional kicks which i supposed they are.

S Huang , maybe still early for a FTM? But i read that posterior placenta may experience baby kicks earlier, correct me if i'm wrong

Karena, oh yes...i heard many gd reviews on Chillipadi catering too. You might wana look thru their website & check out their price. Think TMC's pricing is $1000 plus for 28 days. My collick who juz came back from her ML told me she nv take up coz' hers is C-sec so alrdy stay quite long in hospital, so nt so worth as need to pay full price even if u nv take full 28 days.

I tried natal essentials and chillipadi when I miscarried my #3.

Personally I prefered natal essentials, yummy. The longan tea seems to have more ingredients and is thicker. Chillipadi cooking is very nice too but tends to the saltier side, probably because they are nonya kitchen. Same price, both. Portions from both are huge; I never managed to finish.

mirai dun listen to what your hb's relative says!! as what karena says.. one ear in one ear out.. dun let their words affect u!
mus stay happy so ur bb will come out to be a happy lil bb!

hmm.. i dun think i will be ordering confinement food, cos will be having a confinement lady instead. not sure whether i should get a massage lady!! you gals confirm your massage lady le??

i am having confinement lady too.
but heard that natal essential is good
i can't wait to feel my bb kicks !!!! it must be very wonderful ...

hui: it's very interesting.. esp when they respond to your patting as well.. lolz.. sometimes they will kick on the left, then on the right after a few seconds. lol.. it's like they r swimming inside or trying to play with us. well that's what I've experience so far..

hehe yes indeed amazing to feel the bb kicks and punches! altho i cant differentiate which is which! i will go try out that 'pat pat' then bb respond thingie.. haha

i just felt one Poke today at the right side, below belly button.... i hope it is my bb poking me

but it feels amazing enough, just one poke

I'm looking forward to the hiccups too. Those are really cute. sometimes can see the whole tummy shake! So nice to be preggy again. The babies are lovely when they come out but it's so fun to experience these things when they are still inside. my hubby got a little envious last round cos he missed most of the kicks. Haaaaa

Hi MTBs,

Sorry to intrude the conversation. I am a March mummy.

If any of you is interested in getting a preloved Babyplus to start your baby for prenatal education, please pm me. I saw at recent Taka Baby Fair selling at $300+. Letting go at $200 (neg).

More info on Babyplus at http://babyplus.com.sg/

weiwei: usually when my hubby touches my tummy, bb will stay still. LOL.. so hubby always say i bluff him.. hahaa~ i went Korea last week and bb was super active inside! it responded to K-pop lor! keep kicking when the k-pop was played in one of their cafe.. hahaa~

I am 17wk+ but have not felt anything yet. Few days ago while having dinner, I felt "something" moving inside my tummy, like a little fish swimming inside. Was it gas or baby movement? How to differentiate? Can't wait to feel bb's kicking.

Mm: it took me quite a while to confirm that it's the bb kicking.. lolz. i dunno how to explain.. but the feeling is like someone giving you a soft "flick" using two fingers? hmmm.. then when u softly pat back the same spot, it will respond.. but mus wait awhile. keke..

my bb usually kicks below the belly button area.. sometimes left sometimes right, sometimes near to the belly button. keke..

Mm, Kakumi

i sometimes feel the "little fish moving" sensation too... and yes yes, the pokes that i felt was below belly button, sometimes left sometimes right... but not as obvious as what some mummies describe.... however, it is amazing !

hui: lolz! think the feeling will become stronger soon ba!

now i can really feel my tummy getting tighter esp after lunch! like my tummy gonna explode!

yeahh i like e feeling too.. can be officially fat! haha showing tummy etc.. no need to hide 'fats' =D

do u ladies get hungry easily?
then what do u all munch on ah..
tink so far i ve been unhealthy, biscuits la, bread la, cake la..

I munch on anything I can get near office - apple pie, Mr Bean's pancake, muffin, chee cheong fun, cake, etc.
I'm hungry now. -_-"
Do you girls feel your tummy a bit "heavy" when you stand up after sitting for very long?

yes yes!! i need to eat supper now lor.. usually i won't eat supper de!! now i can feel my tummy is heavier than usual! erm.. i keep having the crave of drinking cold drinks la!! which is like not very good right?? esp cold sweet drinks lor!

I also prefer cold drinks nowadays but as I'm conscious to limit sugar intake, I take just plain cold water. My weight gain so far is around 2.5kg at 18w4d, targeting no more than 12kg for entire pregnancy, hopefully should be on track? My gynae says it's actually alright to not have any weight gain until the 5th month.

Anyone in this thread who signed up for TMC prenatal class starting 12 May 12pm class?

viiv, u only put on 2.5kg till now? How did u manage to do that? I put on 6kg at 20W even though the portions I eat remain the same as before pregnancy. Not complaining as long as baby is growing well 

I signed up for the TMC pre-natal class but my class is only starting in June.

Wow the thread is moving so quickly!

I'm in my 20th week now and finally feeling baby fluttering and tiny kicks. Last night, she moved quite strongly and I saw my tummy jerk once. I was really amazed.

These few days I had been feeling sick and tired again, I wonder if morning sickness do come back during second trimester? I really hope it's not.

Mummies, have u all booked post natal massage already? When should we do the booking? Suddenly I feel that there so many things to buy but I have not bought. I only have lotsa bb clothes... Suddenly feeling abit overwhelmed. N the baby room is not really ready.

Charmayne, I'm also quite surprised myself, given that I'm quite a good eater even during pre-pregnancy. Still eat the same portions except for additional mid-morning and mid-afternoon snack, but I guessed one thing that helped the weight was perhaps I consciously skipped sweet stuff like cakes, desserts and chocolates which used to be my favourite. At 16 weeks when my weight gain was less than 2kg, I checked with my doc if this was too little and she said its alright as long as baby's growth is on track and it's ok to go without weight gain till 5th month.

Clarise, I also haven't bought much baby stuff yet, except for a baby carrier and few pieces of home clothes. Hopefully will get down to it before end of second trimester, advised by my friends to get most stuff by then before our energy levels dip again.

There will always be sales, furthermore, there will be the great spore sales. So no need stock things up so early la... Wet wipes will dry up if you store for too long.

hmmm.. i've not been gaining much weight too!! only gain around 2.2kg last weigh during my 16week visit to my gynae. he did not say anything abt my weight so I guess it's normal ba.. hubby n I did not sign up for courses yet.. he feel that on the job training such be sufficient, but i'm abit worried la! cause first time mummy, scare I cant handle!

hubby n I had not buy much bb stuffs yet.. jus the bb stroller, handover playpen/bb cot from his colleagues, sterilizer from sis in law.. think we still have alot to stock up la! i'm going for my detailed scan tml!! super excited la!!

Wow.. It's been only a few days since I last login and the thread is moving fast :D

I'm gg for tmc prenatal class in may, but my class is at 2pm.

For those looking at prenatal Pilates.. My friend recommended me this
http://www.breathepilates.com.sg/pilates.php
Will go for trial in June to try out.

Prenatal massage, I think need to book soon as sept is only 4more mths to come. I'm kiasu, booked during my 3rd mth.. :D

Not getting any confinement catering as I have engaged CL. Hope she can cook well. :D

Ya, bb will starts kicking more and gets more powerful when they gets bigger. I always pat pat my tummy back n tell my bb, dun kick so much but he thinks I'm playing with him and kicks even more. Hahaha.

Kakumi, enjoy your detailed scan.

I only start getting bb items after my detailed scan. Think will try get all items during the may bb fair at expo.

For me I think laughing gas is also sufficient enough. Becoz all other methods most likely have side effects on you and might affect your baby getting so sleepy and unable to latch. It will affect your breastfeeding journey then...

Will post my experience with 2 kids later on near our delivery haha. Becoz most liekly we will forget things if I tell now :p.

I also hasn't gained weight becoz frankly I have not lose all my pregnancy weight with #2 when I get preggy again as it was very soon..

I weigh 64 now, last time my end pregnancy weight with my #1 is 70, #2 is 72..
I used to weigh 55 pre-pregnancy my #1 and 58 pre-pregnancy my #2.

I am hoping not to exceed 72 kg again.
But then I checked when preggy with #2 i weigh about 61 kg only around this time huhu....

Hi all, do fetal movements feel like twitches coming from inside? First felt it at the left side for 2 days, then right side for 1 day, then now it's as if I can feel the same twitching in the area under my belly button?

Morning everyone, hope u all enjoyed a nice weekend! im looking forward to labor day this week lol.

Same Ann! i be getting after detail scan too, prolly the end May sale.

Viiv, this morning i felt 2 distinct kicks i think. been feeling on and off little vibration, also dunno what is that... and also pain is always on my left, gynae said its ligament expanding..

anyway i think abit morning sickness is back, i vomited bile on sat morn, and today after drinking milo... hope it just stops..

i cant wait to see my baby in 2 weeks time for detail scan... wait seemed so long!