(2013/09) September 2013

Wei Wei and Mirai, I book for appt later.. They ask if I was referred I say yes.. Would you all mine to give me your name so I can give the assistant during registration later? Not sure if you will get an discount or referral fee. Hehe.

**MUMMY PACKAGE**

Package 1: 10% discount of regular price!
- Either size or combined size: bi-weekly delivery from 4th month until 7th month pregnancy. Total: 8 bowls

* Small size(1 serving): Discounted at SGD 27.00/bowl (incl. delivery) 5-6 g bird nest in 150 ml Ginseng soup.

* Big Size (2 serving): SGD 52.20/bowl (incl. delivery), 10-12 g bird nest in 250 ml Ginseng soup.

Package 2: 12% discount of regular price!
- Either size or combined size: weekly delivery from 4th month until 7th month pregnancy. Total: 16 bowls

* Small size(1 serving): Discounted at SGD 26.40/bowl (incl. delivery) 5-6 g bird nest in 150 ml Ginseng soup.

* Big Size (2 serving): SGD 51.00/bowl (incl. delivery), 10-12 g bird nest in 250 ml Ginseng soup.

Order Method:
* PM Facebook
* Call/SMS 82684004
* Email: [email protected]
8317335.jpg

Please visit and like our page https://www.facebook.com/Hokki.Birdnest

Ann: I dun think gt referred fees bah haha ... they have packagws but I nv see them selling ... only got to know when I asked them myself haha ..

Which doc r u going to? Hope it helps~

Groovy: I've seen older ppl going for treatments there too but prob need more sessions I guess cuz their recovery rate r slower

Mirai, only dr low was available just now,so I saw him. He was good. His magic fingers found my stiff neck issue and back issue that I have been suffering since my car accident 3 years ago. 1 session and the pain is gone.. Really very miracle.. Haha.. Gonna go back for follow up next Tuesday.

Ann: glad to hear that~ I was actually referred to Dr Lim by the fren ... but for my 1st appt Dr Lim nt avail cux he went for reservist ... but Dr Low is good too~ very patient n meticulous =)

Hui, i also have cramp and pulling pain. I told my gynae and he only asked me whether have bleeding. So i assume so long as no bleeding should be ok.
I have not felt any fluttering yet. I am 17 weeks today. First pregnancy. Is it normal? Past few days always felt hungry every 2-3 hours.

Mm

thanks for your advice!!
Today i am in my 16 weeks, hopping into 17 weeks next week.... but i have not felt any movement too, only 3 strong pokes which i dunno whether it is baby's kicks or not... today don't have at all.
THey say first pregnancy is normal not to feel kicks so early

I'm 17+ weeks now and starting to outgrow my working clothes. Going shopping tmr to look for some loose fitting clothes, any tips where to get some simple dresses for work that aren't too expensive?

Has any of you decided on cord blood banking? Between Stemcord and Cordlife, wondering which is better? Pls share!

Viiv, oamc have some loose dress collection now, but mainly dark color. Between, i find the maternity cloths of www.mylittleangelsmaternity.com not bad. But currently all the popular items have sold out. I also cant fit into most of my cloths as i was very petite before preg. Now repeating the same dresses every week.

Thanks Wei Wei..

Viiv.. You can try go h&m.. I bot their dresses there at $19.90 each.. Quite stretchable , just need get one or two size bigger than your usual size.

Many ppl recommend to go asos to buy their maternity dresses too.

I'm still deciding between stemcord and cord life. Stemcord seems cheaper.

dear mummies

just to check...
my dad burn incense for buddha everyday at home.
is it safe for me to smell these incense everyday?
i could not find any info from the net.
so thought of checking with you all... but i have been smelling it from 4 mths.... not sure if these incense are safe to smell or not

Mm and hui, so walking too much will cause cramps n pulling pain? Oh dear! No wonder, I walk quite alot too sigh. I squat too!

Thanks all for suggestions on where to shop. I KIV-ed a few loose cut pieces from Mango and I bought 2 simple sleeveless black dresses from Spring Maternity. I realised that while Mango clothes fit (those designs with elastic waistband), but maternity clothes material seem more comfortable and stretchable. Also the designs that I bought have "hidden" nursing access, so still can wear them when I return to work next time. Will check out the other places you all mentioned too. There's a promotion at Spring Maternity now, get $10 redemption for every $100 spent.

Ann, will you be delivering at TMC, or you signed up to be FBI member? Cos read that FBI members get $550 off Cordlife, but am not sure of the exact details. I also think Stemcord is cheaper and they have FACT-Netcord accreditation and also split site storage of cord blood at 2 locations.

Morning mummies! Hope you gals had a nice weekend.

viiv, i got my maternity shorts & tops from gmarket. Cost me less than $20 each. Comfy too esp the shorts.

Ann Chua, i alrdy signed up with Cordlife.

Mm, i'm different from you. If i don't walk, i will have very bad backache. Guess its bcos of my work which i have to sit for long time. Then when i reached hm, i will take a rest lying on the bed. But the thing is though i can rest,but the moment i tried to get up my backache starts again. So at times when hubby's on night shift, i will meet frens for dinner or bring my gal out for a walk. Like ytd, i brought my gal out to Nex library and shop ard, i feel much better.

Hui,

I basically don't like to smell smoke. At the end of the day, it reduces the amt of oxygen taken in and also there are carbon particles in it. Fresh air better

weiwei,

thanks for replying

but i have no choice leh...my house everyday will have that.... otherwise, i always try to avoid.
I just hope there is no harmful effect

Hui, me too everyday my dad will burn incense, no way i can avoid loh. Last time i used to smell it even inside my room, but nw after hubby sealed off the bedroom door hole at the bottom, i wont smell it when im inside the room. Only when i step out then will smell it.

Hui, use fan to blow away from you?

I also sometimes have to do soldering during work, so you find me blowing smoke away furiously and doing as fast as I can LOL

thanks weiwei and msblur, for the suggestions.

ya very scary hor... sometimes i face smokers, i will get very panic and walk quickly away from them too

Most of us here take multivitamins, so were you instructed not to take them together with milk?

I just realised that if iron and calcium are taken together, the absorption will be affected, hence does that mean we should not take multivit together with milk in morning? Cos that's what I've been doing!

Just want to recommend My CL Mdm Yu Qing is available from now onwards.

She cooks fast and can prepare good confinement foods.
She can take care well on baby. Ex: very seldom see baby crying while going for bath/ comfort baby well crying...
Do basic housework such as sweep/ mop floor, wash clothing...
She speak Mandarin & Hokkien.

You may contact @ 8198 9088 for further enquiries.

msblur(blurqueen30),
eino(onie),
Angelic^soul (subangel)

You may try our bird nest soup which homemade when receive your order. Our recipe is suitable for expecting mummies.

**MUMMY PACKAGE**

Package 1: 10% discount of regular price!
- Either size or combined size: bi-weekly delivery from 4th month until 7th month pregnancy. Total: 8 bowls

* Small size(1 serving): Discounted at SGD 27.00/bowl (incl. delivery) 5-6 g bird nest in 150 ml Ginseng soup.

* Big Size (2 serving): SGD 52.20/bowl (incl. delivery), 10-12 g bird nest in 250 ml Ginseng soup.

Package 2: 12% discount of regular price!
- Either size or combined size: weekly delivery from 4th month until 7th month pregnancy. Total: 16 bowls

* Small size(1 serving): Discounted at SGD 26.40/bowl (incl. delivery) 5-6 g bird nest in 150 ml Ginseng soup.

* Big Size (2 serving): SGD 51.00/bowl (incl. delivery), 10-12 g bird nest in 250 ml Ginseng soup.

Order Method:
* PM Facebook
* Call/SMS 82684004
* Email: [email protected]

my gynae did instruct me not to take my multivits with calcium pills or calcium products like milk. so i take calcium pills in the morning, and only eat multivits at night before sleep.

Calcium and iron should not mix.

Also depends on the type of calcium. If it is calcium carbonate, you need to take it with food or something acidic, else you won't absorb so well. Calcium citrate or phosphate dun have this restriction; my previous gynae gave me calcium phosphate and told me to take before sleep.

Iron absorption is best with vit C, eg orange juice. But I find that my iron levels are the best when I just eat beef or lamb at least once a week, instead of tablets. Tablets give me constipation instead.

Mummies - I am at a dilemma. I cannot decide if I should go with dr Peter chew or dr chan kon hon. Dr chew helped me with this "success" via natural means as in after my first visit to him - viola - striked jackpot. Dr chan has always been my gynae for the past many years (regular checks etc).

I went to see both recently. They are very different.

Dr chew's scanning does not include measurements ie no head circumference, abdominal circumference, fetal length, femur length and weight. Dr Chan's scanning includes all the measurements as listed above. Dr Chan's machines are definitely more advanced as he could identify baby is a boy but dr chew said not sure, cannot see yet.

Questions ; Are these measurements necessary? Do you get these measurements with your gynae?

If anyone has any feedback, do let me know please... Thanks thanks!

Little J, how many weeks are you now? My gynae started the detailed measurements only when I reached week 16. Prior to that, only the head-to-rump measurement was taken. The measurements are impt as they monitor your baby's development. My gynae will plot the measurements on a chart to let me know whether my baby's size lies in the 25th/50th/75th percentile.

Another factor to consider is your comfort level with the gynae. Which one is more patient? Which one addresses your concerns?

Hope u can make a decision soon.

LittleJ

*waves!!*
faithmummy here...

My friend's gynae is Chan Kon hon.. and she like him very much.... but i think he is expensive if i am not wrong...
I would say... go for the one you feel comfortable with...
But i would prefer one with measurements provided...
My gynae used "not-so-advanced" machine, but he is able to provide measurements... any idea why Dr Chew cannot provide? I remember Dr Chew is quite a renowned gynae in Singapore, i attended his seminar before... But one thing i heard about him is that, he like to push people to go for surgery....

maybe you can search reviews about both of them before you decide?

Actually ultrasound is overused in Singapore. In UK and France (my friends are there), they only have 2-3 ultrasounds for the entire pregnancy and those are for the anormaly scan (20wks) and growth scan (about 26-30weeks or so). At those weeks, even the most "lok" ultrasound machine can measure almost everything. They use fundal height measurements to check the baby's growth otherwise and that keeps costs really low cos you only need a measuring tape for that.

The more impt thing is which gynae you feel comfortable with. Some insist their way, some involve you in the decision making process. For me, I picked one whom I felt is positive, who shares information, is pro-discussion and pro-natural birth. And one who doesn't try to scare over 35yrs old MTB's with down syndrome stats ;) someone I can have some confidence in.

hi mummies to be! i just went for my checkup yday and doctor said 70% it will be a boy.. im hoping to have a girl though. but at the end of the day, as long as baby is healthy, we will be happy mummies!

Hi Little J, I'm with Dr Chan and yes he got very hi tech machine. At week 12 he already confirm mine is a boy. Keke. Though expensive but I feel v comfi with him.

Thank you Charmayne, Hui (Faithmummy - Hello hello *waves waves*), weiwei, and Lalas.

I'm now in Week 17. Last measurement was crown rump length, when I did Oscar at 12 weeks. After that no more measurements. I just had my consultation with Dr Chew yesterday and he said not possible to measure cuz baby moving around.

But when I saw Dr Chan during my 16th week (Yes - I'm spending so much money trying to decide bewteen which doc !!!
) - He gave me all the measurements.

I searched for reviews too but for Dr Chew - most reviews were not centred on pregnancy but more for other women stuff that needed laprascopy etc etc. Oh, I also read that apparently Dr Chew never had a DS baby!?!

Both docs to me are renowned. Erm caring in a different way. Dr Chew is like you got questions, don't have, ok listen to my advice, and bye bye. Consultation is like done in 5 minutes. Dr Chan will give you more scientific facts, do detailed scans, tell you this and that - Consultation is like 15minutes or more. My personal feedback.

I do feel more confident with Dr Chan cuz he's been my doc who has seen my womanly problems before (Although I wasn't happy he kept advocating IUI when I was TTC-ing so that's why I went to see Dr Chew).

Dr Chew is more 'religious' and well I guess one feels 'protected' in that sense. And because Dr Chew helped me with my BFP - I feel it's quite 忘恩负义 to just forsake him like that
Somemore - My mum was saying you've already seen Dr Chew for 3 months and baby all ok - If switch now, will it 'ruin the momentum'?

Ok - I don't know whether this is just me being ridiculous. It's just that, I tried so hard to get this BFP...

Sorry if I'm lamenting. Thank you for listening to me.

You're not lamenting; those are real concerns. I switched 3 gynaes. The switch happened when they started telling me things like "you better take Clomid", (which I'm allergic to and I told them!!) and "you'll never conceive without human intervention" (ie, go for IUI or IVF). I just decided that to get pregnant and keeping the baby was hard enough without negativity like that and I knew in my gut that those statements are not true. And right now I have had 4 pregnancies in 4 years, 2 viable, and all are naturally conceived. So there.

Forget the "忘恩负义" thing; you did pay him you know! Go with the one you can trust yours and your baby's welfare with. I think you know already ;)

hi mummies! Hi to Little J!

its been awhile... weiwei thanks for the link, i think i be going as well.. haha..stiff neck too..

Little J, i dunno them both but trust your gut feel and comfort level and choose one.. actually i just go with my sister's gynae directly and never change gynae ever since..

hui, same feeling i also have that cramps and also, left abdomen pains, gynae checked and said its my ligament expanded... and i also beginning to feel some fluttering feelings and small kicks. i wonder if it is baby moving! lol. my gynae use doppler and always tell me baby moving, but i said i cant feel it yet..

Viiv, i already outgrown my work dresses.. now totally cant wear my jeggings and jeans. either dress or elastic skirt/shorts.

oh ya.. anyone got W hotel corporate rate? since my gynae not supportive of me going overseas travel.. so im planning a staycation.. any mummies have discount? hehe

Hello little J.. Think what other mummies mention, the most impt is which gynae you feel more comfy especially during your pregnancy. Don't worry on the rest. Doctors have so many patients, think they don't really bother too much even if you stop seeing them.

Congrats S Huang!!

I'm so looking forward to my detail scan tmr.

Hi, I m inviting my CL for my son's first birthday this Saturday. PM me if you want to meet up for an interview.
Not getting any commission jus want to share her good service to everyone

Thank you mummies for your advice. Thank you so so much!

*hugs*

BTW - any mummies started on pre-natal pilates / yoga? I started on both and wow, what a relief!

I have experienced 2 gyneas so far. 1is the chop chop type, the other looks more concern. Of course I will choose no 2. Also good thing he has better usg machine so can get good pictures.
Mine the usg result also measure quite some also edd but I guess nowadays still doesn't matter. Most important baby weight during 3rd trimester as u don't want baby too big othwrwise cannot deliver naturally

twentyseven, i don't have corporate discount but i just booked a staycation there =) looking forward to it!

little j, i started on pilates since 15 weeks. now thinking of adding on yoga too =)

Mummies, have u ever heard any doctor asking if u have high myopia then need precaution during normal delivery? I have just read an article about that and it is getting me scared. But I deliver my 2 girls normally and luckily nothing happen. I have high myopia left 575 right 600.
http://www.healthoutlooks.com/myopia-and-childbirth/

None of my doctors so far tell me about this risk of retina detach and if I recall no midwifes ask me about this too. Hmmm...

My 1st one is via vacuum and episotomy but my 2nd one I just do normally without anythhing and get natural tear instead of episotomy which heals very fast.
Hopefully my 3rd one will be ok too. Arggh. I am getting older. Only 28 though but quite scared when reading the article.

Don't want to waste $$ on eye doctor too...

Hm.. Looks like after reading a few more research articles it seems okay lor to give birth naturally. Anyway I have give birth to 2 without any problem. Hopefully it will be the same this year.

But then thinking back I think it was predetermined to get my chop chop gynea for my #1 becoz he want faster delivery so he just vacuum my baby out and do episotomy.

But thay time they said my baby heartbeat has been weaker becoz of long delivery. That's why he uses vacuum and cut quite big...

I guess for #2 onwards will be easier as the hole has been opened before lol