(2012/02) Feb 2012

yeah, i eat only cooked food now, and avoid all sushi completely. Still deciding whether to come back sgp during the whole pregnancy term or to stay in china until 7th month. wanting to go for the 1st option very much, but can't bear to leave my hubby behind in china for so many months eh.... sigh.

jingle> ya.. Media always potray them to be terrible and selfish person so i was wondering if they are really like this there or are they like normal singaporeans mean when needed. or they think highly of themselves all the same no matter where they are

Hi Gals.. today my bleeding become more than the last few days.. am a bit worried.. Made an appt to see gynae tomorrow liao.. hopefully everything ok.. can't concentrate on my work with this...

jingle: is your HB stationed at China? Will he be able to ask for a transfer? I have a friend who stayed in China throughout her pregnancy, I guess it should be okay so long, you have a trusted gynae to take care of you... Eat cooked food, I believe it shld be alright...

Windy: Try to stay positive... talk to your baby...

Linda: They are also like this here in their home country. Its their way of defending themselves. Here, it doesn't pay to be kind. So guess the environment moulds u into this, especially if u grow up in this kind of environment. You will get bullied if u r slightly softer... and i'm speaking from experience. haha.

My hubby is a Sgporean, he works here. kekeke.

Princess: hubby is unlikely to ask for a transfer. Am not in shanghai or beijing which are more advanced, thats why worried. Already started to look out for gynae here. Hopefully can get a trustworthy one soon. Else gotto take 2hr train every month to shanghai for the checkup...so tiring.

Jingle> that's really sad that they have to grow up like this.. When will ur husband be "stationed" back to Singapore u know? I heard of horror things in china food so I tink it's rather a bad environment if u remain there more.. If can come back asap then Bo Bian must lo..

No choice baby #1 husband #2 lol

Windy,

Y not go straight to A&E? ytd I hv some spotting n call my gyne. He advise me to go A&E rather than wait till evening time when his clinic open.

Somemore u r bleeding, don wait till tml lol.

Ladies, anyone else doing their confinement alone? Me not doing any so called confinement only thing is drink more soup only

Linda: thanks for your advice. Coming back for 1 mth this weekend, so think abt the options.

Jocelyn: me too talking to the bb everyday and i ask my hubby to talk to the bb too. haha.

Geyser: Thanks..I hope to deliver a healthy bb , no matter the gender...As you know the feeling of pass MC had left a deep slash in my heart..till now... =(

Birdbrain: I realli envy you on how you can look on the 'positive' side..I still cant manage the loss i had last yr..every min and sec, I am so afraid of losing my bb...>_<~

Nana: I believe there is no guarantee even after 12 weeks, there will not be any MC..only % will be slim..I am still SO WORRIED!!

Windy, stay positive. A friend of mine was bleeding everyday and went to the gynae to take a jab to boost her hormones. Now she's fine and progressing well.

Linda/GT/birdbrain: hello and congrats!

GT: I shortlisted a few female gynaes at TMC. Dr Yvonne Chan, Dr Sim, and Dr Joycelyn Wong. They all have good reviews overall. Am going with Dr Wong cos she's highly recommended by a good friend of mine who gave birth recently. Her appt book is pretty full so do book early.

Jocelyn: From my reading, bb heartbeat can be detected between 6 and 8 weeks. Depending on whether you ovulated early or late in your cycle. Some mummies whose bb's hb can't be detected at 6 wks and are told to come back a wk later.. and most of the time are ok.

Agree with Linda. Can Hubby ask for transfer back? Coz i think it is not wise to travel during the first trimmster too... Heard from the elderly that we shall only be more stable after the 4th month...

jingle: ur family still in s'pore? why not u fly back s'pore for ur prenatal care &amp; confinement? then after a few months when u &amp; bb strong enough then return to join ur hb? tat's wat my fren is doing now even though her hb is stationed in hk, not china. cuz china realy not safe..

Jingle> no problem hope there's better options for you

Linda lau> had a mc before my 2nd child I was worrying from no heartbeat to suddenly no heartbeat till even I give birth then I sigh a relief..but don't worry once u go to 2nd trimester.. The % is very tiny.

Hi Jingle, congrats!

Which part of China u in now? I also in China now, but will going back soon aft been quite sometime here.

Princess> not traveling during first trimester and stability of foetus. cause they stable or not depend on our body and of course no vigorous movements

Claramimi: yes my family in sgp. prenatal + confinement = 10mths at least..... so long eh!!

princess: yes seriously thinking, if really want to go back, will wait till after 1st trimester.

Linda: I am contemplating doing my confinement alone too. Maybe the first two days my mum will stay over, but rest of the month I hope to be able to cope by myself cos my mum has to take care of my dad and the rest of the family..

All experienced mummies: Am I being too optimistic/naive to think I can handle the baby alone? Me first time mum..

Planet> first and second child I took care of them both ever since I come back from hospital even this third one also goes the same so u confirm can if I can

Linda: isit? I refrain from travelling.. but anyway, no regrets coz baby is always at 1st priority.

Planet and Linda: is it a myth again? Thot it is better for us not to touch water / do much washing during confinement?

Princess>depends on individual for me is Bo Bian no one help plus confinement lady too ex so dun have any help. And I not the traditional type

Windy, call ur gynae now. Go straight to the hospital he/she ask u to go. One of my friends also encountered this before, she went straight to the hospital that the gynae directed her. Her gynae straight attend to her once she reached. She then admitted to hospital for couple of days until her conditions better. Her baby now already 18months.

I also don't believe if I ave a good confinement when I old won't suffer anything.. All those aches and pain come with old age not cause of confinement

Geyser: wah dalian is even more further north... never been there before. u planning to come back soon for the whole of yr pregnancy term? u manage to get a gynae there?

Linda, thanks! Very reassuring!

Feelingblessedprincess: Everyone has different views on confinement. For me, I believe a good confinement matters. I saw a documentary once on confinement/recovery period for mummies. It's not just the chinese who practises.. but malays, indians and many others. Somehow I feel that there must be some basis in it, and not just being bantang or whatever.

Having said that, I must emphasize that in our day and age AND climate, stuff like not washing hair or bathing for a month is completely crazy, not to mention unhygenic! So it's important to practice commonsense too. I will try and stay at home and eat the right food as much as I can tahan. Planning to get my hair cut short close to due date so maybe can tahan a few days without wash? Stuff like that lar. Again, hope I'm not being overly optimistic. =)

planet> ai ya one pass to another then pantang lor.. haha.. u see ang moh dont have.. can wash hair etc but must dry yourself well!

Where u stay? Btw cut hair short more torturing cause hot but cannot tie up, alot of friend cut liao regret cause this period we will sweat more

planet: I rather scared of "feng shi"... so perhaps I try not to do much unnecessary washing but then again, I told my mum that I shall bathe with herbs.. as I don't think i can take the full 1 month of not bathing/washing hair... Linda has a point, but I just afraid that long hair might have more effects of "tou feng"...

princess> fengshi will attack almost all eldery in a matter of time. must see how u view on this matter. If you really kan chiong then bath with herbs lorh..

Linda: It might realli up to and differs for each individual... I have an auntie who realli keep up to 30 days of not bathing etc, she is 65 now, her body is realli fit, no fengshi, nothing... as compared to my other aunties or even my mum... Well, I doubt I can be like her but like my HB says, women are entitled to "enjoy" one month of "being served", so why not... hehe...

princess> maybe shes really coincident case leh? i see alot of my aunties do confinement in the end still got so many problems

and u must see if she ownself take care baby 24hr or throw to others leh. this make a hugee difference

Linda &amp; planet.

During my 1st confinement. Even my mum help me to cook n wash for me. But i still wake up in the middle of the night to make milk n wash bottles.... So as long as u can bathe w herd bathe. Think still oki.

My mum told me noone realli follow strict rules to confinement now. Such as realli wear gloves, wear long pants, eat lots and lots of ginger... Youngsters find the weather hot, wear shorts, wear sleeveless tops and sleep in air con, how not to have feng shi? Thus, for me, I think I will try to minimise all these if possible... Fortunately for me, I scared of cold more than the heat, will try to sleep in non-aircon room if possible...

princess>totally no help lorh, thankgod now a days husband help do laundry so i can tai qi to him, but the rest still me lorh