(2012/01) Jan 2012

millie's mum: Thanks for sharing. I think I'm starting to understand your concern about having #2 now and I think I have the same concerns too, but for me, it's just #1.

Like you, I may not have access to parents'/in laws' help and I'm reluctant to let a stranger take care of my child. Will take 1 step at a time....

Hmmm.... I'm starting to feel moody, think I'll listen to music for a bit...

Bigroundeyes: rest well and eat well for your pregnancy. best is you go back to confirm again after some days. Sometimes it is not so bad. If the outcome is bad, I hope u and hubby stay strong. I lost my first pregnancy around 8-9 weeks. Being open with each other your fears amd sadness is important.

Big round eyes these 2 weeks you must take care and stay positive okie... Dun lift heavy stuff and take your folic acid.

hi everyone, just to introduce myself. i just tested positive last night. using online calculator, EDD is 19 Jan. This will be my 2nd child. Looking forward to get to know all you ladies here.

bigroundeyes, don't be despair. I visit gynae on Mon, that was my 5wks6days and she also said sac too small and didn't sound positive. She asked me to scan in 2wks time. I was very upset that evening but I keep telling myself we are going to be fine. Meanwhile, listen to your body. When u need to eat and drink and rest, do it.

Thanks gers, I will stop the acne product.

Carpe - seeing Adrian Tan in 2.5wks time, will ask him to make me pretty :D

hey experienced mummies, is it normal to have cramps on the left when my baby is on my right?

having slight cramps since last night and my lower back is aching too

veronica

i also had cramping and backache during my first pregnancy. a bit of cramps is considered normal, cos your uterus is stretching.

preggy mummies are also more prone to backache. you should just rest and maybe try some gentle exercise (walking, stretching) when your cramps are better.

Veron,

Wah... ur gynae so detailed ah?
Can even tell which side the egg from.

If u all need stuff from iherb, can PM me. I spree iherbs with my friends. Now have 10% off if we buy above USD120.

iherb carry alot of supplements. And it's so much cheaper to get from iherb.com than at GNC or Vitakids.

hihi... wow..so many labour stories.... hope those having the 1st time, wont b too scared.... myself, i remember the night b4 i feel signs of labour, i badly wanna play swing at the playground..hehe....dunno lehh...juz feel like it....nvr swing too high..juz wan the feeling of it....
thereafter went home after dinner and had an uncomfortable sleep since im week frm my edd. in the wee hour of the morning, i felt cramps come and go.... i quickly go take paper n pen
...hubby asleep..so i time the thing which i blieve is contraction......as it gets closer n closer, i wake hubby up n not long after, we were off to hospital..mine was thomson... i love the wards, nurses..etc....treat me so well i do not wana go home... my gynae was great..perhaps will take her agn if im super duper confirm im pregnant...
wanna wait a day or two before getting the digital clearblue..tht one is either yes or no..so till then, im juz waiting n waiting..so anxious!
now thinking back, perhaps the swinging motion trigger off labour? ;p

Yupzie, thanks for asking.

Blue_Y: That's quite a cool personal labour story that you had, and it speaks well of being prepared (e.g your bag containing all your delivery necessities is probably already packed) so that you and your husband can respond quickly to the earlier delivery.

But why wait to test using pregnancy test? Try first, and then if results are not clear, try again in 48 hours?

I just tested on those cheap strips i bought from overseas BP thread. Haha... those selling at Watsons/Guardian too expensive!

Hello mummies - I read up one mummy asked me wat my hubby occupation - Hubby is working as a Trailer Driver. No education so got to use the hand and leg to work. He is being paid by trips. Example, he pick up a container to Jurong than sent it to the client at Changi Airport , the company pay him $12per trip. No speeding cause the trailer is big like Transformer...

SO if no trips no MONEY .. We dont spend much. We stay in 3room HDB. We have a car to finance. Our home is paid by CPF. We have bills to pay too. Nothing Free in Singapore.

10K for a csection to me is really Big money. My 1st - 3rd son, i have own gynae at KKH, i choose the 4 bedder, cash i paid around $1.5K-2K include Doctors fees, epidural and other charges the rest Medisave.

I know private hospital is very expensive thus i dont want to waste soo much money on it. I rather used it for my confiment massage, buy GOOD food after birth.

My cousin deliver in KKH no specific gynae, in class B2 (6Bedder) she paid cash $600, the midwife deliver the baby and after she deliver than a doctor came to stitch her.

My mum told me MIDWIFES are more experienced than some gynae. Cause the midwifes assist more deliveries than a gynae can do.

FOr this no 4th i am going to KKH again. My experienced is good with KKH. I not sure the rest.

My advice is Follow your on financial needs, do not follow people. If we got money every thing can do. Start save up from now till delivery you will surprised it can help alot. For me now i start to keep $200 so by the time delivery i wil have around $1.8K, so can pay up for deposit. Incase any Csection needed than after deliver wait for the bills and pay lor..

Coyote : I used EUMORA. A mummy from this forum recommend me cause when i pregnant no.3 i was sooo ugly. The neck, face and breast grow acnes.

I am using it till now. Everyone see me always asked me wat i use cause my skin look good now.

I only used in the night after a shower, irub the bar soap to my hand till a bit soapy than i put on my face for 3 mins.

At here the forum they selling $50 per bar. They call it miracle bar. hahahahhaha.

I bought it from the mummy cause i regular $45 per bar. It is expensive and small bar but it is worth cause i got no money to buy those SK product Bobby brown and bla bla bla.

I dont need to make up much also after using the soap. In the morning i buy those cheap eversoft face wash. than i apply those moisturizer. If go wedding or outing than i dap 2 way cake foundation from ZA, mascara, and lip gloss.

CT, is that a cleanser? Where can I get that? I have acnes all the while and now they are popping out like nobody business...arrgghh

Now I am also thinking of whether my eye pdt is safe to use...my handsoup, my dish detergent...arrrgghhh

CT: I admire u !!! Hmm just a personal question, how much do u pay for car and nanny and no offence, how much can your hb bring back per mth? I am considering a car and nanny...

what products do u use? hehehe sorry i kepo cause when i has acne as young as 11years old. Thru out my teenage years i so paiseh till i i recover and end up as a beauty therapist in one of the 5stars hotel in Sg...

Coyote- It is a small soap bar.

Millie's Mum - Car $1000 (7 seater) Nanny $400(parttime), Student Care for both sons - $520, Bills pub,internet,rubbish bin and grocerious $700++( we rarely eat at restaurant or go starbuck so can save money) We eat at JOhor BAhru seafood restaurant twice a month for dinner.

His salary is not fix, so sometimes can earn more sometimes less. The most after deduct cpf if he work day and night that is when many shipments, he can bring back home $3.6K,

We already work out our financial, every month he needs $3K the most for the house and kids expenses. Balance he Keep in the bank just incase no much trips so his savings can cover here and there.

During his OFF DAY on Sunday and PH he will do part time sent people to JB. 1 pax $20 fo 6 pax $120. Only when he is not tired. Normally he can make 4 trips. But not always got people chartered him. He got lost job before, so his friend recommend him this part time job.

Went for my first scan today according to u/s I'm at 6w2d and my edd is 10 Jan but doc says can deliver anytime frm Xmas to Jan. Can see the waterbag n bb is 4mm crl. The heartbeat can b seen too! I asked abt ms n doc says e older I get the harder pregnancy might get coz body not as strong. Explains the constant puking. He gave me anti vomitting pills and it really works. Had the best full meal in weeks. Next appt is 6 Jun. Doc says bb shd b abt 2cm by then.

CT: Thanks for sharing. Do your older children attends any tuition or extra classes??? Hmm $400 for a nanny 2-6pm. Is that considered a reasonable rate or expensive?

I've the following items for sale. 

1. Babysafe sling (used only once) dark blue colour
2. Baby Bjorn carrier synergy (dark blue) seldom use

Selling both items for $300.
Interested can PM me. 

The student care we pay $260 each child, include lunch,tea breaks, group study, tuition from the pastor care, and educational outings during school holidays.

My kids dont need any extra tuition cause their foundation is strong as i am the one teach them when they N1-K2 tuition at home.

I also teach part time tuition for primary school students but after my 3rd kid i stop temporary.

Nanny tat speak proper english rates are $10 per hour.The Angmohs are paying good Nanny at $12.50 hourly.

Mine is consider cheaper than marketrate already monday to friday except public holidays.

I dont like stranger to be at my house. So i rather clean, cook myself than having a maid. Part time Nanny still the best for me for now.

Hmmm millie mum i forgot to reply. means you try epi again huh, not afraid epi dun work again? Will u change gynae based on past experience?

CT yeah u are great, I no longer go movie or restaurant meals now unless special occasions . It saves a lot of $$.

Coyote he he I still use dish soap and etc. Don't worry too much.

Dunno why food smells disgusting to me now and things that smell good to me are shower foam and facial wash. So imagine, even handsoap and dish soap smell better than food to me. Crazy!!!

CT I also don't like stranger in house. Keke still figuring out way... I think employ helper might not be best way but I intend to work full time. I got 9months to think.

Stella, happy for u. Ur scan is very positive.

Jtml, I thought they always say avoid chemical. So dish detergent is chemical mah..... U don't eat the delicious smelling soap ok?! Hehe

CT, ur part time nanny is very cheap. I engaged a part time helper for my mum and I am paying her $300 mthly for 2hrs thrice per wk.

Guess what, I was looking at the scan film n I suddenly spotted a date 13 Jan 2012 ;)

JTML queen - Singapore restaurant are bloody expensive to eat. Hubby rather drive to Tanjung Pelepas 30mins drive from my home to tuas checkpoint and to tanjung pelepas eat at the Kelong there. RM250 package for 10pax. SO normally we go by 2 cars. Enjoy and relax the dinner. We top up petrol than go home.

Hubby eat lunch with the food i cook at home cause he say lunch outside the food at times too oily, 1 set meal can cost $5-6 bucks. Not worth to eat lunch and worry about tummy aching.

I think we save alot on not eating outside, no tuition for the kids, no renovation loans or any installment to pay.

Only the car we have to pay cause his friend bought the car under hubby name than his friend got financial problem he ran away. Hubby have to continue the installment for another 3.5yrs.

After 3.5yrs than we can sent the car for scrab and the value will be around $14K. So hubby say treat it as our savings in return of paying the car monthly.

If no car we save more more more MONEY... kakakaka just got to wait for 3.5yrs cause now the car even we sell we will lost more money.

Coyote - I also think infant care the best choice if my nanny decide resign.
For now i still hope part time nanny can work for me till i deliver my 4th one. By the time my 3rd one will be around 1.5yrs old. Can sent to childcare for 18months onwards. Than the Bb let the nanny take care. Than i go find jobs and continue teach part time. I have my dreams and i hope my no 4th can give me lots of luck ..

CT: Wow, thanks for sharing. Your story is a huge inspiration about being pro-family while being prudent about finances and is very reassuring for me in thinking about being a full time mother. I used to think only wealthy people can afford to have huge families. Thanks so much for sharing!

Agree with you it's being careful about what we spend on, we don't need to have the extras, just a safe, healthy child and family and us will do.