(2012/01) Jan 2012

Coyote - Yup we have to be POSITIVE even the outcome is not on our side.

1st son - 10yrs
2nd son - 7yrs
3rd son - 10.5months
4th ? - OTW

I never expect to have no.4 so soon. But hubby says its ok, cause god knows wats the best for his people.

My advice, do not follow people tat restrict your life. Example pantangs here and there.
Life is simple so let it be simple and easy journey..

dh74: Thanks for the note on this forum. Is the milk for pregnant women or for babies? (Hee, sorry have not researched on this yet). If for babies, let us know again in a few months time? Personally, I don't want to store the tins of milk for 8 months in my home

MS Carpe - I take care of them ... The bigger boys in school, after school in student care till 6.30pm so that they can play educational games in school, do homework at student care. More safer than to let them play below the blocks.

For my 3rd one in the morning i take care till afternoon. 2pm i sent him to my part time nanny till 6pm i pick him up. I need 4hours to clean up the house, cook than NAP a while so that i can have energy after 6pm to handle the Bigger boys..

Part time nanny is a heaven sent by GOD cause they can help us do wonders too.

Hi Ms Carpe Diem

The milk is for pregnant mums to boost their calcium intake. Im taking colostrum DHA chews nows, hope to boost my immune and the DHA will be beneficial to my baby ^_^

also more convenitent than drinking milk :p

From what i know: anmum materna is for pregnant women,and anmum lacta for bf mum. i got this for my wife when she's pregnant with our ds, who is 14mths now.

steffy: like u i stay far away frm both parent n in laws.. How r u going to handle 2? how old is ur 1st? U hv a helper?

I was thinking of getting a helper...

dh74: Thanks for explaining and for sharing this lobang with us! I'll discuss with my husband and let you know tomorrow if we need it? Thanks!

Tuete_cottage: Thanks for sharing

CT: Wah you take care of 3 only with the help of a part-time helper? Wah...

CT: You are so brave to have no 4.

millie: My in laws are not in sg and my parents are working. I m taking care of my toddler who is about 1year and 9mths on my own. I cook and wash daily.

Life is wonderful until now. The weather is so humid yet i cant go for a swim. I m longing for a swim. I may get a helper though i forsee alot of problems.

CT: Would it be too personal to ask what your husband's occupation is? I'm flirting with the idea to be a full time mom but wonder and am concerned about finances especially savings towards retirement.

It is just sad that many of my peers are struggling to conceive but couldn't which I suspect is due to pressures of work. Children are meant to be a blessing but finances is a real concern....

millie'smum - I can't quite remember cos I had my son 2+ years back, but total cost would have added up to about $10+k, but note that that was for elective C-sec & 3 nites stay in a one-bedder. They don't accept appnt till 8 weeks into pregnancy though, so my appnt is not for another month! She is in her 60s, quite matrony & apparently the gyne for alot of the TCS actresses (Zoe Tay, Huang Biren etc)

Steffy: I playing with the idea of helper soon. I see forsee tantrums frm myself cause i live far frm both parents and im gonna handle 2 myself..

MsCapeDiem: Being full time mu really is very challeging. I hv been 1 for 2years. How many children do u plan to hv? How much do u think per mth is enuf???

MayC: hmm i was charge 10k plus for my #1 too. Nw when think back again, heart pain cause i think the doc who peform C-sect on me is not gd. I cant stand up straight for 2whole weeks. i was in so much pain that i fell into depression cause i cant tk care #1 properly...

milli,
From my previous experiences, it can be quite depressing to have a maid.

I was on painkillers for about 3 months after my C-S. Maybe you have sensitive skin.

(X) (ttcx) - Hi-5 back!! How old is your son exactly now? Kieran is 2 years 8 months

millie'smum - wow, you couldn't stand up for 2 weeks? Dr Tan's surgery skills are very good - I was walking around by day 2 & off painkillers & my surgical scar (about 7-8cm) cannot even be seen now - and mind you, I had 2 cuts on the same spot! Alot of her patients were delivered by her as babies & are now going back to her to have their own kids. But she is relatively old, & quite stern with the hubbies :p

I am 4 weeks now - last menses was on 20th April, so just only confirmed my pregnancy. Their clinic don't see patients till the pregnancy is more stable (at 8 weeks), which is quite abit of a wait. I remembered that I had no cravings/MS/etc during my 1st pregnancy & 1/2 the time i wasn't even sure if i was really preggers & kinda worried if baby was developing well! In the ended up using 5 pregnancy test kits before my gyne appnt!!

Ok, off to run errands - am on leave today! TTYL.

Steffy,
sounds like u had a rough csec.

I was walking by Day 3. But i got scarring. Gynae say this time round, he'll remove for me and i must take good care of it. Hehe...

xttc: Rough Csec. U feel that it is due to the gynae skill that is why i have to stagger for 2-3months? Or is it due to my sensitive skin. My neighbor has Cs too. She can walk on her own after 2 days. I m so envious of her.

hmm.. not sure. I guess combination of both.

My Gynae has great skills... very very old man. Most have no or minimum scarring. But i had keloids on my csec wound. Hmmm...

Did u use the binder? I find that it helps in the healing process.

MayC: I had a rough C-Sect. I was opting for epidural but the epidural like doesnt work 100% on me. It works like only 70%. i keep telling them i feel so much pain n they say this is the highest dose. After 15hrs in labour they schedule me for a C-Sect with epidural. Okay i feel pain but bearable when they push baby out. Then they told me i had bleeding. I feel so much pain during 45mins of cleaning up dat i keep asking when is it gonna be over. But worse was i feel them stitching me up. I was screaming in pain and sweating. They tried to put me to sleep twice but i just cant cause the pain was just superbly crazyyy.. In the end when i was abt to feel pain, i use the gas. I was peeing stading up for the next 1week after surgery. I was like penguin. But what upset me was the Dr was insensitive. I told him why i was in so much pain, he told me different plp has diff threshold of pain.

I was shocked coz i am nt somebody who complain at slight pains. But this time is really excruciating pain. i had the wind problem which the doc say is so comon in c-sect. but what upset me was Mt A initially gave me a cup of ginger tea each time. But the doc on the 2nd day tell them to give me 1 jug. They nt happy give me cold 1jug of ginger tea.

steffy: like u i ask myseld that question too.. i really wonder if its just me or the gynae no good. I was so traumatized but being in labour that i insist on stopping at just 1 child. But after a while when i see DD wanna hv fren, i gave in...

Millie's mum,
Sounds like a horrible experience...
Do u take alot of wine, drinks etc? It can affect the effect of epidural.

My csec was smooth and painless. Everything done within 45min.
Engorgement was so much more painful.

millie,
Your experience in Mount A is horrible. Mine wasnt too good either.
I stayed in single bedded. Requested for a pillow to pop my feet and the nurse was very upset. She refused to give it to me. I got so fed up requesting for the pillow that my hubby brought a pillow from home. I requested for painkillers, they made me wait til i collasped on the floor (about 2.5hours). Then they sent staff nurse to apologise to me. I just told them to get out of my sight. My doc. laugh at me when i complain to him that i collasped from the pain a few times! He said different people has different threshold of pain. He said very few people felt the pain as bad as me.
I didnt have a good experience too.

xttc: What is engorgement?

X- i never take anything. just b4 goin to hospital i eat fishball soup at 9pm. in labor 12am. epidural 6am and C-sect 6pm.

Steffy: i stayed in single bedded too. i swear i wont gave birth in Mt A anymore. The breastfeeding nurse was nt nice too. I was in so much pain but keep forcing me to breastfeed my child. Yes i know the earlier the better but so much pain and as 1st time mum, i dono how to breatfeed. she keep asking me to watch video. I try follow but it was hard with proper guidance. But worse was they call e 3mths later say they calculate wrongly the bill and need to pay another 1k... Wahhhh really "HOT' my blood.... When i tot the noghmare was over. They call every few days...

Steffy: we both kena con by Mt A. hahaha. Where r u going to give birth this time??? I dowan Mt A anymore. 1st is bad experience, 2nd is no food place. They only hv 1 pathetic stall that sells nasi lemak... All my visitors complain Mt A lousy..

Milliemum means this time round you take GA or epidural or ???

Coyote I wash my face very often now because of pimples. Sometimes in office will splash water. It is getting more oily. I got st Ives apricot srub with dunno wat control. Seems better.

millie's mum: I know that being a full time mother is challenging, I also think that seeing the children reaching the milestones with our own eyes is invaluable and I'll also be very sad if my child runs towards his/her main caregiver (e.g domestic helper, nanny, even our parents etc) when he/she falls down and not to us.

I haven't quite calculate amount needed yet. How much do you need and what gave you the courage to be a full time mom?

Millie,
I m sorry to learn of your plight. I agree with you that the nurses are so mean. She insisted that i bf sitting down. I told her, my wounds hurt but she will not give in til i raise my voice at her.

I did not eat Mt A food. Doesnt looks very appetizing. I ate homecook food.

At TMC, it maybe worse. My friend's hubby told me that the nurse wouldnt even give his wife an extra blanket.

Maybe gleneagles will be good. But we need to see whether our gyn can attend in the particular hospital.

coyote. I have acne but my beautician told me it is due to hormone. Kind of useless in applying anything. Just keep your face clean.

Mt. A sounds so lousy.

Just saw from a website cannot even use salicylic acid which is very common. I have to stop this, I am using nitely. SHIT.

just came back from gynae. the bb might nt be growing. or either my ovulation is late. as doc say the foetus is so tiny. upon hearing it, am devastated. keep crying non stop thus cannot go to work today.
in fact, i have a feeling it stop growing. sad.

Engorgment of breast when breast milk starts kicking in. I had that bad on Day 4 post delivery. 2 rocks on my chest. Cannot lie, cannot sit. Massage till tears just rolled down my cheeks. Really like squeezing milk out of stones!

I delivered at Mt A. Love it there. Nurses were attentive and accomodating. Hmm... i guess, i'm lucky.

bigroundeyes: Im sorry. But can you seek another opinion asap? If you keeps on crying, u are doing more harm than good to bb and yourself.

i read before cannot use acne cream. Some active ingredient not suitable for preggy.

Just wash or clease with a light cleaser like Cetaphil i guess.

Millie's mum,
I meant before preggy, did u drink alot? Coz people who can hold liquor well tend to need higher dosage for epidural or GA.

bigroundeyes: *hug*

coyote: When's your appt with Dr Adrian Tan? Perhaps you can find out from him the type of beauty treatments you can go through without harming the baby? I understand that he's a doctor who tries to cater for the parents to have as normal a lifestyle as possible while not harming the baby, so he may have suggestions for you.

bigroundeyes,
Dun go into despair yet. Wait for next scan. If it's not meant to be... then it's for the better,

Dun blame yourself. It's nature.

JTML: I still haven plan ye. My GA i cannot see baby come out lehhhh....

Ms Carpe Diem: I hv no regrets but i had no choice. I stay far away fr my parents n in laws hence i had to be a full time mum. I hv no car or helper hence that saves us. We took cabs everytime. i dono how much is enuf but then with no car n helper we spend 3k every mth bills and luxury like eating restaurants and shopping.. But of course when #2 come, we will adjust since we decided to hv a helper..

Coyote: i nvr use acne cream cause my mum n MIL say after birth will be gone which is true

Bigroundeyes: Is this your 1st visit? how many weeks??

my first visit to gynae. he ask me to return in 2 wks time. the bb shld be 6 weeks. but its only 4mm. so the doc say might be late ovulation. he cld nt confirm whether it is growing anot.

if i get 2nd opinion, i guess the gynae will still say the same now right? am upset. i told myself i shld maintain happy no matter wat coz there might be a miracle nxt week but cant help but sunk into depressed mood.