(2011/06) June 2011

What food can eat and what to avoid durng pregnancy? My hb n I are staying by ourselves and we always eat outside like mc, chicken rice etc...

Hi babycome2me (tanny99),

Try not to eat fast food now. Eat fresh food. No raw food, no shark's fin, no mackerel as they are high in mercury. No half cooked food. No liver too. Its crucial in the 1st trimester so be careful what u eat as it may affect the bb. Even egg yolk that is not cooked also dun eat. No cooling stuff like barley, herbal drinks. No papaya, watermelon, grass jelly and coconut. No cockles too..

Wha seems like lots man.. ;p

UUUrrggh...ladies.....its nausea and a feeling that the food is like stuck in my throat, gagging but no vomit! I keep thinking, c'mon already!! I agree with Julesy, will feel better if I actually vomit!

i guess, it's back to the bed for me...

ann,

I totally understand. I'm super tired at work. Just now almost dozed off at a conference call. zzz.

Hello babycome, reverie island, darlynn,tinkebellex!

I'm a first time MTB too, hence all the silly questions. Lol

Julesy,

Till now I dont have any vomiting as well. I just have this unsettling, queasy feeling in my tummy whole day. My gynae says my symtoms are considered mild already because MS strikes in all forms.

Issit healthy to just have bread & Milo everyday ah. I don't have appetite for anything eles. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ashley,

My aunt told me not to take too much milo as there's sugar and its heaty too.

Try to find something appetising to eat. I have the food stuck in my throat feeling too but no vomit. Now I am eating raisins to ease the nausea as raisins is healthier. Eating dried apricot n nuts is good too.

Chergie,

Yeah I think Milo is heaty too, I think I'm coming down with sore throat. =(

qiuen,

Yay! Happy reading! I'm halfway through [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hiyee mummies,

I tested positive last thurs, and was quietly following the thread since then. Seen my GP, and she dated my EDD to be ard 14 June. Will see what my gynae says when I visit her on Friday.

This is my #2 baby, #1 is 2.5 yr old now. Very active, now I find it hard to keep up with him. It doesn't help that he is super sticky to me now, asking to be carried when we go out.

Ashley belle, i know that queasy feeling.. makes me not feel like eating or drinking anything. but enjoy the time if u dont become merlion..

i just vomited a lil .. i think my case is really sickness in the morning!

Evening its just no appetite feeling.

welcome to new mummies..

raynsky we have the same EDD.. but it's my first, so prob the date wil be off a little!

Ashley_belle,

my comfort food now is hot milo. really soothe my nausea & the flatulence in my tummy. and the weirdest thing is during my non-pregnant days, I really hate hot drinks including milo hehehe..

For those on Iphone, u can also download the 'What to expect when you're expecting' apps. I have this & babycentre apps on my iphone for easy reference when u dun have the book with you.

Another gd book which I've been reading since my first pregnancy is by Dr Miriam Stoppard.

Hi ladies! Hope everyone is feeling ok this morning..well I don't have any MS yet, just hunger pangs and the occasional loss of appetite. But I'm just tired all the time, my size of my boobs have gone up significantly (and I didn't expect it to happen so soon!!) I'm also flushed all the time and my skin is really hot to touch..not sure if anyone is feeling the same thing and whether its normal.

Btw when you guys count your LMP, do you count from the day your spotting starts or the day that your actual flow starts?

oh yes n babycentre app on iphone is not bad, ive even bought the babycentre book which gives even more info.

hi leikela

me also same like u..no ms but eat alot..sometime no appetite to eat but stomach feel hungry so i just eat..wahha..nw im hungry le..cant wait for my lunch

My nausea is getting worse, vomited a little last night...Cannot stomach plain water, so I add a little Ribena syrup to my water, and that made all the difference...

Hungry, but cannot stomach the food...the smell of the food already makes me feel queasy.. but am looking on the bright side..staying positive and hope that baby is growing well inside of me..

Hope everyone is having a good morning so far..

Julesy, my morning sickness seems to be at a peak at night! Ironic right? It will linger on till morning, then come afternoon, it will get a little better...

Hanis (hanis)

u hw mani weeks?? cuz till nw i gt no ms..then me so worried..me like normal feeling leh except very tired and hungry very easily

Joyce, I'm into 7 weeks...mine's not that bad...dun worry dear...ur having preg symptoms (very tired and hungry easily). We all have different symptoms...Eat as much as you can.. =)

I have finally see my my lil babe & the heartbeat on sat. Very relieved. Currently still on duphaston and crinone. Pray hard everyday that the pregnancy will be a smooth journey for baby and I.

Let us all stay positive for the next 9 months.

Congrats BVM!!!

Hanis do take care. Ribena is gd. I have been drinking ribena cos water a bit tasteless. Am having the stuck in the throat feeling only. Try eating raisins also.

Joyce,

Dun worry, everyone is different. U r lucky if u dun have cos its not a great feeling to go thru and also not enaf nutrients for the bb. I am 7 weeks oredi and I only feel nausea.

leikela,

I count from 1st day not from spotting though n my menses last 7 days.

bvm, me too... in fact i thot i can sneak home early cos my boss supposed to be on leave... arrrgh, he came back from his leave... faintzzz...

I also felt more nauseous today but not to the extent of vomitting, appetite is bad... hot beverages are ok and i crave for Macdonald's fish fillet with extra tartar sauce... no choice lah... fast food is better than no food...

Chergie, thanks...yup Ribena is delicious...

Just heard that my bf had a miscarriage...poor dear...she's about the same as I am, around 7 weeks...So sad for her now...

But am glad to hear every MTB here is doing ok, despite the usual MS and nauseousness..

Take care everyone!

For those people who don't have MS? How far along are you?

Well...I'm not vomitting but this afternoon I started feeling queasy..I wonder if that is a sign that MS is about to start [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] And yes water makes me feel sick...but I force myself to drink at least 2litres every day...

Have you guys started telling pple yet? I have not told anyone at work yet..so I'm really hoping that I won't start having MS now..it will be very obvious if I keep running to the toilet!

hanis

i tink its safe..alot of my colls using this..but they adv me to use the cream type instead..oil too oily

leikela (leikela)

i told my parents, inlaws and some closer frens..hmm if those who ask me then i tell them lor..cuz also cannot lie to them

hanis, my SIL used this before, i din use at all cos i believe stretch marks r genetic... towards the end of pregnancy then i start using moisturiser as the stretching gets worse and skin gets dry... i do not have any stretch marks after giving birth...

leikela

i also duno..last week went for scanning..still too early..onli uterus lining thicken..gynae said ard 4-5 weeks..but i tink that time onli 3-4 weeks..wahaha..next week another appt 27 oct

hahha....same...my nxt appt is 28 oct..i was only told last wk tt i was ard 4.5 wks..

looks like we will be due ard the same time =)

we can 'trade' notes ahahha...

haha nopes same thing..was only able to see the lining...dr said the lining quite thick so most likely hidden in the lining so cannot see yet..

think end oct shld be past 6 wks so by then shld be able to see better...*crossing fingers*

Wahaha we reali same same..mine also..

then mine say duno wad..the egg drop at the rite place..i duno wad meaning also..

we shall wait for next week..so excited

i haf a feeling ur gynae meant tt the egg planted itself in the uterus..in some cases, it doesn't and then the person may end up with a ectopic pregnancy..

if ur gynae said tt, means he/she can see it? hmmm..

haha yeah..now im just paranoid over 101 things..yeah wait for nxt wk..then lets update each other [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hanis - the Clarins oil is very good. I used it & I don't have a single stretch mark (but ann might be right. It cld be genetic cos I dun recall my mum having stretch marks either tho she's not ard anymore for me to ask if she used such stuff)

JOyce - U lucky thing not having MS!!! Dun fret babe...not EVERYONE will get MS. Thank ur lucky stars!!!

Im feeling nauseous tho no bad MS like #1. I get hungry VERY FAST (like 1 hr after full meal) but I hv absolutely no appetite to eat. Sucks

leikela..he said 99% in the uterus, 1% outside..

nvm wait till next week..me super gan jiong..

somemore first preg then me and husband stayin alone onli..duno wad can eat wad cannot..

eunice..hope no ms..cuz my elder sis no ms also..until she 14 weeks, tummy pain then she noe she preg cuz mine and her menses irregular de..whether preg ornot we duno de..tt time i know im preg cuz i nutting to do at hm so play with the kit and OMG im preg..wahaha

Hi all June mtb, I just tested positive & now should be start of 6wks. Going to see a gynae tonight to scan. Hope to join this group, to share and exchange tips!

Hanis,

So sorry to hear abt your bestie. Hugs. My good fren M/C at 6 weeks too. Apparantly it's quite common between weeks 4-6, abt 1 in 5 pregnancies. Her fetal had no heartbeat. My gynae told me once a heartbeat is detected, the risk drops to 10%. After 8 weeks its 5%, at 12 weeks, it's 1%. Please send your bestie our blessings and let her know alot of M/C mums went on to hv perfectly healthy babies.

Hi Mummies,,

I tested +ve 2week ago and had seen my gyane ydae due to some brown dischg. Gyane gave me 5 days mc to rest at home. My edd is 5th June bb is in 7weeks 2days. Ydae managed to c bb heartbeat :D

This is my #2, same as raynsky I have a active boy too.. he is 3 yrs old.

Re: Clarins oil

I been using this for my 1st preg, it really good ;) I heard alot of mummies dun hv stretch marks incl myself after using clarins oil during preg [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I v KS, i start using now too..So i think its ok to use..if we hv concern we can ask our gyane if the ingredient is safe for us.

Re: MS

if u hv any MS or feel nauseous.. u may can try to drink chicken essence in the morn.. This might help. I been told by my colleague.

Have a smooth pregnancy ahead [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Jay_Mum

Congrats! We have the same EDD =) But Im guessing mine will be May baby cos my #1 was early. Mine's a 18 mth old girl. V active too!

Is ur son excited abt meimei/didi? Im teaching my ger to kiss my tummy n now she will come n say hello to my tummy. sometimes will say "baby" haha....

HiHi eunice,,

Me too =) my boy oso, he came out in Sep instead of oct. I told him bb is inside my tummy ask him to sayang, but he told me he hv bb in his tummy, i almost faint.. haa..

Did u ask her u wan didi or meimei? I did asked my boy..he keep said didi..but b4 that he told me meimei.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hanis

so sad to hear abt ur bestie..actually i gt few close frens also had mc..no heartbeat..we dun tink too much..we must have +ve thinkings [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello piscean,eunice & Jay_Mum,

Hello & congrats on your baby news! =)

For stretch mark cream, im using this Bella B i bought from Amazon online. Heard rave reviews about it and it isnt expensive, so bought it. =)

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4632318.jpg]

here to report strength.. just confirmed a pregnancy last week by the gynae.. as my menses have been irregular gynae did a bloodtest and found that i m about 7 weeks as of last week. managed to hear bb heartbeat too.. edd 6 june 2011. this is my 2nd pregnancy. my first born is a girl who is 4 this year.

may all MTBs have a smooth pregnancy...

I m amazed how much sleep I need. Spent nearly Half day sleeping n I m now feeling sleepy again.

Hello babybubbles [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] welcome

Lots of things to learn from the 2nd time mummies.

Going to get ribena on my next supermarket trip. And my GP has adviced me to start drinking milk. Is it too early to drink the special milkpowder for preg?

Last trip to gynae i was idly 4-5 weeks. Hope trip on next thurs I will get to hear bb's heartbeat.

Hi piscean, babybubbles & Jay_Mum,

Congrats and welcome to this forum.

Hi qiuen,

Today my nurse just pass me lots of milk samples from Anmum. I will start drinking oredi. Fresh milk is quite good too but rem to drink full cream. My aunt and cousin told me low fat milk makes their bb skin not so gd. The kid that they drank full cream has better skin.

Hi hanis,

Sorry to hear that about ur bf. Pls let her know that after my MC I only had 1 period and I am preg again so tell her to be strong n dun be dishearten.

Thanks Ashley Belle & Chergie.

The ultrasound scan just now only showed a sac & can't see baby yet, gynae said I could have long cycle and it's very early stage of pregnancy. EDD mid-Jun. In a way, I'm relieved it's not etopic though abit disppointed can't see anything yet.

Chergie, I will go to same gynae as you if pregnancy goes smoothly. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Re milk, I don't dare to drink too much this time. My 1st pregnancy, gained 5 kg for 1st 3 mths by having 2 cups enfamama daily.

Hi Piscean,

Congrats, u shld be really experience as this is not ur 1st.

Wow Really!!! Thats nice. Maybe we saw each other but dunno cos I go for jabs daily.. LOL.

Hmm.. As for the milk I am worried to put on weight too. :S Maybe I alternate it by drinking once alternate days.

Now just got up to pee an constipating. Sat on the throne till my leg numb.... :S