(2011/02) Feb 2011

oh dear oh dear.. my big boss and 2nd bis boss just ask me into his office and started asking me if i am happy working there, and what do i intend to do for my maternity leave.. its like another interview all over again.. they asked me where do i see myself in the long run and all, and that they are happy with my performance.. somehow i feel like i was going to be promoted.. then my big mouth say i intend to go on 1 yr no pay leave after maternity! oh sh*t.. i dont knw if i said the wrong thing.. after i said that their face change.. then they started asking me why i wanna take 1 yr off etc.. i started shooting my mouth off without thinking.. i really think it was a promotion cos my boss has been hinting these days.. asking me if i can handle being in a higher position with more responsibility etc..

ah ching: did dr ang toko your scan? mine was taken by the sonographer at tmc..den i got no scan no measurements. ater the scan i was told that it done and i can go.

did dr ang told u about saying the gynae visits can be used to offset the package?? i rem the nurse told me so...hee but if 1 month time means u might be able to see the gender liao wor..

Val: haa..was indeed excited when i see the article..haaa...he..u try higher pillow see if it helps..

judy: congrats u first ! but how about you ? what yr thinking over the promotion if it demands more responsibility??

amazing: no.. no need to congrats.. cos after i mention the 1 yr no pay leave my bosses suddenly quiet and no mention of the promotion.. i think i threw my opportunity out of the window by saying i intend to take such a long leave. then my boss still said if we big company 1 yr no pay leave is okay.. but we small company.. its hard to achieve that.. company can still sack u if we havent reach 6 months of pregnnacy right?

Thanks Amazing and Charmaine. I will be doing my Oscar at one of the specialist clinics in Paragon, don't know what's their rule. Maybe I'll call my gynae's nurses.. hehe..

Judy, it's ok lah, since you've already mentioned it. Did you ask them back if what you've said will affect what they have in store for you? :p

Judy,

I don't think they can sack you if you have been working for the company for at least 3 months. Though they seem to be hinting that they won't accept 1 year no pay leave from you, after your 4 mths of maternity

faithnhope: no.. i didnt.. but i told them i am still toying with the idea.. not set in stone yet.. but seems like the damage is done.. bcos the atmosphere really chnge.. sigh.. nevermind.. shall work doubly hard and see how..

Hi Mummies to be,

I am also due in Feb 2011.

Today is my 12th week! Going for the OSCAR this coming thurs at 9am. hopefully my baby will be cooperative.. don't wish to stay there for 6 hrs!

can i check? are we able to know the results immediately?

judy: but at your prgenancy stage will a promotion tired u out?? i dont think they will sack u too since they r pleased with ya performance..

company can still sack u if we havent reach 6 months of pregnnacy right?<--as for this i think so cause my friend got retrench during that period.not sure if it works the same.

faithnhope..yea maybe yrs is different since ours all from tmc..

greda: welcome!! n congrats reaching 12th week...for me i didnt get to know the results immediately..my sonographer told me results will be send to gynae.

amazing: hopefully not lah.. hmm, i also dont think they will go to the extreme by sacking me.. we have staff shortage right now also.. a promotion wont tire me out.. im pretty confident with a more senior position.. but say also no use.. now got to wait and see.. maybe im just reading too much into things.. haha..

Charmaine - really have to wait so long ah? no wonder the nurse asked me to come at 8.30am [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

my vomiting was triggered by oily cooking smell, i retched, then the reflux became very strong that i could not control it and had to vomit out.

Since last night, my chest has been very tight, i just feel like ripping my chest off, not sure if this is heartburn [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

wa, if the company sack pregnant women before they are 6 months pregnant, then they are very evil. If they sack after that, they have to pay for the 4 months maternity leave?

neongoby: i think if sack after 6 months, the mother can bring the case up to MOM.. company may be asked to accept u back in, or compensate the 4 mths maternity leave..

amazing miracle: thanks thanks! can't wait to see my baby.. its been one month since my last scan.

i think there are some MOM laws regarding protection of pregnant women. For ladies above 5 months (i think) pregnant, the company cannot sack the employee. if not, they have to compensate.

Judy

if you really want to stay with the company then you should quickly reassure them that you will take the company's manpower needs into consideration and won't insist on 1 yr NPL if that will put everyone in a difficult situation.

And that you still feel that you can take on more responsibility now, maybe can save your promotion.

hi girls, i need your advise:

im suppose to go for my second appointment on this coming monday with my gynea, which is on week 10.

however i go went to a GP today to take mc, and the GP did a scan for me. BB is growing fast and healthy.

Thus i feel like skipping the gynae appointment on monday and go 2 weeks later @ week 12.

is there any important test on week 10? if just normal scanning, guess i'll just skip it to save $$ =P

whats ur advise?

Hi Judy, if they don't value you, then all their talk about your good performance is all fake. That goes to show how "good" the company is, and you can forget about working hard for them too haha! If they value you, I'm sure they'll be able to work something out.

Hi visha, if I were you, I'd still go for gynae apptment. Afterall, gynae is a specialist in this area. A gynae will be able to point out certain things a GP may not be able to. So it will be good to continue to see your gynae. Your gynae can also assess and prescribe if you need more supplements etc.

@ Meshell Woo (meshellwoo)

>>I had mild diarrhea too. I did not eat anything weird. Gynae asked me to avoid milk for a week.

@ Amazing Miracle (amazing_miracle)

>> I have been taking a lot of MCs, so if i didnt vomit non-stop, i try not to take MC.

@ melody23 (melody23)

>> That was really disgusting! I thought im the only weird one here! U are so lucky u are not working now!

Im struggling to go or not to go to work past few weeks. I am so so unwell but yet i feel bad taking MCs. The feeling is terrbile.

@ visha (shingirl)

>> I think u can go at week 12. I had my last scanning at week 9, and the next one will be at week 13.

There should not be anything major to scan during week 10. Just my opinion.

Im at week 11, and my vomitting is still as bad as last week, if not worse. I throw out all my meals, medications & vitamins... Sigh....

i think i'll go scanning @ week 12 since i got 3 months supply of vitamin

anyway i started to have craving..... n its heaven n earth passion fruit tea.......haha.... v unhealthy, but at least prevent me from puking.......lol

visha: depend on u=) if u r comfortable with it...week 10 i think no major one cause only week 11 doc will discuss when to take oscar test..but for me i will choose to go..like faithandhope says..

lol i have the same craving! i jus finish a bottle of heaven and earth apple tea! taste good too but i prefer passionfruit!

kittyki: hang on there k..soon it will be over le..slowly u will also find which food make u more comfort..wont vomit..

Judy: dont worry about trashing your chances..maybe for some second it may when yr company told u about the 1 yr no maternity leave..u can go back n tell them about u jus toying with the idea..and u r sure u r able to take up a higher role..

I have a high density foam cot mattress - 28" x 52" x 4". Used less than 1 weeks. My new born prefers to sleep with us. Does not like to sleep in the cot.

Very very brand new and in plastic bag.

Retail Sgd80

Sell Sgd35

Call 98204176 to transact.

@faithnhope, I wanted to ask this ques too.. I just finished my folic acid & is going to start my multi vitamin which also contains folic acid but I wonder if the amt is sufficient for my daily intake or not..

Are alot of u taking vit c? My 1st gynae asked me to stop so I stopped since week 6.

How many of u mummies had started to wear maternity clothes already? Though I haven't started to buy any, but I'd been digging out my old & loose clothings to wear.. Friends who saw me can tell that i'm preg though I'm only in my 12th week, 1st child.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi mtb,

which is better clarins stretch cream or clarins treatment oil for stretch marks? Confuse over this two products? Or is there any products for stretch marks to recommend. Thanks

Hi Zantarina, my gynae asked me take vit c during the 1st trimester so as to boost my immunity. He doesn't want us to fall sick esp during 1st trimester. I was on 500mg daily. At my last scan at 12weeks, my gynae started me on multi-vits, calcium and fish oil. He said if I continue my usual vege/fruits intake, I can stop the folic and vit c, but if I want to continue, it's also safe.

I haven't started wearing maternity clothes so to speak but I've been wearing more dresses and tights (when I wear my usual work pants, I can't button so will wear a long top over). All along, I've always like roomy blouses so if I don't tell my colleagues, they prob wouldn't know...

If you are ready to tell your friends about your pregnancy, doesn't matter if they can tell yah.. it's alright to have the baby bump even at this stage.. I believe many of us already has the bump [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It's happy news, so we have all the rights to show off our bump hehe...

hm..i wasnt given calcium pills..gynae only gave me multi vit and fish oil to eat..the nurse mention say multi vit got folic acid le so dont need the folic acid..

mummyb: i think some recommend palmer cause clarins more ex..i went to buy palmer..around 26 i think..cant realli rem..

cantarina: i wasnt given vit c..so only count on fruits for that...

I havent wear any maternity clothes yet..still digging my clothes to wear..leggings with long top and dresses to wear...

its so nice if people can see thru your bump.like faithn hope say: can show off the little bump...mine is small but i feel good seeing it..looks cute..haa..

going to see my gynae next week, by then i shld be 12 weeks, not sure if my gynae will prescribe multi vit and fish oil. he gave me calcium pills previously but i hv not taken, i got my own vit c and hv been taking everyday b4 my pregnancy, so i m still taking now.

today i feel my tummy a bit itchy, does that mean its dry and likely to form stretch marks? i better be more hardworking now to apply moisturizer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

These few days I have been vomiting in the morning the moment I woke up. Same, yellowish liquid that looks like phglem. *sigh* Today is already my 12w3d but I'm still feeling so blue... =(

MummyB,

I think those Clarins products are for minimising stretchmarks AFTER you get stretchmarks. You need a cream to prevent stretchmarks. HEre I think you can get palmers from the pharmacies. I ordered Bella B tummy honey coz the celebs use it hahaha!

I'm also using palmer's too cos it's cheaper hehe.. but have heard gd reviews of clarins too..

Neon, think stretch marks will only develop later.. but can always start applying already..

Neon, you'll probably need a mirror to see yr stretchmarks on the underside of your tummy, coz they don't appear until near the end of the pregnancy.

neon

I had an itchy tummy, got more and more itchy as i neared due date cos the skin really stretching till the max. but no stretchmarks. believe it's genetic.

so itchiness doesn't equal will get stretchmarks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

amazing: u meant the pink colour pill has folic acid alr? i have been eating the pink pill and the folic acid yellow colour pill.. i got the folic acid from a GP i went to see when confirming my pregnancy.. he gave me 9 months supply of folic acid.. no kidding.. lol.. then during my 1st appt to my gynae, he prescribed me the pink multivit and a small pkt of folic acid.. i finished the gynae's pkt of folic long ago but have been continuing the supply from my GP.. currently my gynae has only been prescribing me multivit.. dont knw if i should continue the folic acid..

Hi Amazing Miracle, I took my oscar in Dr Ang's clinic in Sun Plaza.

Yes, he took the scans for me and gave me 4 pictures.

1 normal scan and 3 for the oscar that zoom around BB's head area.

Ya, next visit @ 16th week gotta sign up for the package liao. And yes, can offset..

but next month SIL getting married and my number 1 going for a surgery so need lotsa $$$.

So thinking go next month then sign package. sigh.

maybe now number 2 not so excited, i havent taken any multi-vit and skipped my folic.

also been eating instant noodles regularly..

by the way, i think mine is gal cos i ovulated the next morning after bedroom activities.. ha ha

hi judy,

i think u can stop folic acid already cos multi-vit already contain sufficient amt

plus folic acid only effective in preventing birth defects when taken during early stage of pregnancy. i think first 6 weeks.. that's what i read

neongoby - me too! stomach ithcy..haa..i think its dry ba..i buy the palmer cream but havent use...gonna start this week le...

Judy: yupyup the pill longer pill alrdy got folic acid but i think its a smaller amount then the usual one we take...wah! yr gp gave u 9 months of supply?! that a lot!!

seems like different gynae got different recommendations but i have stop folic acid n taking multi vit n fish oil...

Ah ching: ohh...i took mine in tmc...maybe that y different..did dr ang call u alrdy?

can understand the stress on the money issue..u see how it goes..if u feeling unwell or not...rem to take yr vits also..what happen to your num 1??

haa..how u check u ovluated the next day ??

Hmm.. I'm only taking folic acid.. That time I asked my gynae do I need to take multi vits she said no need yet cos I keep vomiting..

@Amazing: Hmm.. I don't know leh. I guess so.. Cos when I was up at 4 plus to pee I think I felt a bit hungry.. But I was too tired and lazy to eat so I just slept. =(

Morning Mummies

I'm into my 10 weeks. I'm having indigestion since my 7 weeks. Anyone experience the same thing? Feeling quite miserable as the stomach feels quite bloated throughout the day. The food also seems to be at my throat level even though I consume small meals.

Hi ladies....good morning....my diarrhea's okie di [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]...thks for al the reassurance

I was wondering how come different gynae say different thing.....maybe due to level of kiasuness.....I am on MC again today....coz stomach cramp....

Accordng to Dr Ang stomach cramp is normal as long as there's no bleeding...

But I went to see another gynae yest in Gleneagles and seek for second opinion (coz I hav terrible stomach cramps especialy at night)...and he said that stomach cramp is NOT normal....he say it's sign of threaten miscarriage....

I asked my SIL and she said she experienced it too during her two previous pregnancies n it's alrie...

does anyone of u experience stomach cramp like mine? it's at lower abdominal and I am in my 11weeks+ di....experiencing that since 4weeks+

valerie: den maybe yr baobao is hungry liao..hee..maybe too hungry le ba...but very sian la..so tired where got mood think of food ..lol

starlight: yup i do feel bloated n indigestion for some food but eno and ginger tea does help me..but recently i feel turn off at ginger tea..so i trying out eno..and burping out is more comfortable..

meshell...great yr diarrhea is better now...

hmm...i did read somewhere there might be some small cramps..but continous sereve pain may not be good..but dont worry...did the second gynae did any check up? how is the baby now??

Morning Everyone,

I have been a silent reader and decided to join in the thread.

I have been feeling nausea since week 6 until now. And this week is worse, whatever I eat or drink, I feel nausea and sometimes will just vomit everything out. =(

meshell, i had stomach cramp which is like bad menses cramp during my 1st pregnancy. Very painful and consistent. It only subsided in the 3rd mth. Yes my gynae said painful cramps are abnormal. I took medication and weekly jabs to stablize my pregnancy. Plus bedrest till 4th mth. What did your 2nd gynae advise?

@Amazing: Ya lor.. Sleep also not enough still must crawl out of bed to eat. *sigh*

Recently I also feel sharp pains at my abdominal area. It's like something's poking me. I think some of the mummies here also experienced it. I'm going to ask my gynae when I see her this Friday..

valerie: ask ur gynae and let us knw too.. haha.. my nxt gynae appt it too far away.. curious to knw if that is normal.. hehe..

anyway, i am leaving for home soon.. just took half day medical leave to see doc.. think i am burning and having a fever.. feels like a throat infection.. too many heaty food i think.. haha..

painful cramp are defintely abnormal, shall see doc immediately........

however if is a very mild cramp that last for like 2 second each time, cause only discomforable is normal, becos it's the stretching of the uterus..... =)