(2011/01) Jan 2011

I developed fever due to infection on one of my breast. Think I stretch too long to express, 6 hrly now. M now on antibiotics. Just wanna ask if any mummies still give their bb milk even though u are on antibiotics?

Gingersnap, i did give breastmilk while on antibiotics...no worries..just make sure the med dr prescibed is safe for bf. I got infection for 4 times n still giving bm...every dr i sae assured me antibiotics are safe for bf...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xiaopang - yeap, u can eat normal panadol... i had high fever 2 weeks back, went to see doc and was taking quite a lot of panadols cos cannot really take other meds and needed to control my fever...

Hi xiaopang,

yes, panadol is safe. Take normal one, not the extra strong kinds. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hope u'll get better soon.

I am a desperate mummy here, I am so envy of many of you who get to store up a whole freezer of BM for your baby... My baby is 3 month now and i cant even produce enough for one feed, every time i express is only about 50ml from both side, and my gal is taking 150ml now... i have to express thrice before its enough for her one feed.

I tried to latch her on but she refused and cries coz the milk flow very slow as compared to bottle-feed and she just screams her heart off.. sometimes when she in a better mood, I can nurse her for an hour and right after she is off, she cries for milk and finished 150ml again... I am so depressed and sad...

I tried Fenugreek and doesnt seems to work, I took a lot of fluid, water, milo, soup and yet the milk supply still remain the same but I have to keep running to the toilet...

I really hope to give my gal the best but I dunno how can I increase my supply... I am trying Motilium now, wonder if I can take it with fenugreek. Can anyone advise me?

I am using the Medela SWING pump but seems like its not powerful enough, I have max it but sometimes i still can express out milk using hand after pumping for 20 mins.. I dunno if I am using the wrong pump or that my supply is really low...

Anyone in the same situation like me?

What else can i do to increase supply?

Desperate mummy

wendy,

I'm also not producing enough for one feed every pump. I was prescribed motilium by gynae n he said it's fine with fenugreek. I take both together n it did increase my supply, but now I reduced it to once a day. I'm doing exclusive pumping now as same like you, when I latch her she doesn't last long between meals. I've come to the conclusion that I'm just not a high volume milk producer. Will give her whatever I have until the recommended 6mths and see how. It sounds like you're doing everything in your power to feed ur bb bm already, don't beat yourself up over low milk ss.

Hi luckymummy,

Thanks for your encouragement really needed that now. I am also trying to give whatever I have for her until at least 6 month old.. if I have enough ss by then I wouldnt mind to continue...

Hi luckymummy,

Thanks for your encouragement really needed that now. I am also trying to give whatever I have for her until at least 6 month old.. if I have enough ss by then I wouldnt mind to continue...

hi wendy, u can try drinking warm barley water and really... just religiously pump very often...i pump every 4 hrs.. i was in the same situation as u before...

and i realise being in a super happy mood helps in the production of milk too....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Wendy,

are u the low blood count kind?

Did u take pig liver?

If yes for both, pls stop taking ur pig liver.

I was just sharing with xiaopang tat pig liver, according to my MIL & CL, it will lower or even stop our milk supply! I'm not sure how true, but my MIL said last time her flow so much till pek cek then she go eat pig liver to stop it!

As for low blood count, do take extra iron supplement on top of ur usual supplement [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

on top of all, continue ur daily intake - lots of fluid. But do also rest! Resting is v impt as ur body got to b strong enough to produce the milk. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm not sure abt fenugreek or other med but by taking extra iron supplement, extra fluid n rest do help for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

don't stress! The more u stress, the lesser ur ss!

Initially I stress till cry, partly also post natal blues, but after Hubby n CL help n care, I'm fine ;) get someone to talk to [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

all the best!!

Wendy & Luckymummy,

dont stress yourself with the ss. My ss was low. I tried all the ways and means like drinking lots of green papaya soup, everyday drink lots of milo til i nose bleed, and took all those pills like domperidone, fenugreek and now taking the iron supplement that charleen recommend me. but my ss is still the same every 4hours pump max only 4oz. sometimes even lesser 3oz only. i also cannot catch up with the amount that Andrea is drinking. so i accept the fact that my ss belongs to those low ss group. but never give up. i tell myself i just give her as much breastmilk as long as i still have 1 single drop. and look on the bright side also. mixing with formula is not a bad things to. Andrea gets all kinds of nutritions. as breastmilk dont have some nutrition that formula have. =)

just relax your mind and dont stress yourself too much. accepting the fact may increase ss too. sometimes i can pump to 5oz. tho is sometimes but is still more! haha.. keep it up mummies!

Hey all mummies,

I realise Andrea will miss my breast if i dont let her latch on too long wor. for the past few days i was bottle feeding her. only midnight i let her latch abit if she crys for milk. then today she was so fussy. i already feed her with milk and she cant sleep long. and always crying for milk. so i try my luck let her latch and she latch awhile she fall asleep liao. any mummies encounter this? is this a kind security we give our child? will it become a habit and when we want to stop breastfeeding how to stop this habit?

I'm opposite of u ladies. My flow v fast plus I got a lot of milk, my son drink until face red red, v angry, gulp in alot of air, then cry when cannot fart, sometimes he so fed up after he chokes tt he will refuse to drink for a couple of hours. Haiz.. And I hv to express out some milk every other hr or my breasts will be blocked. I so badly wanna give bottle but my fussy son will scream his head off, I'm still trying some methods u mummies recommended though.

Anyway mummies, my freezer is too small to store much, I end up expressing directly into the sink sometimes, so wasted!! plus I'm gg to be a SAHM for awhile anyway. If u wanna have my march supply of frozen BM, just pm me. Pick up is at my place in clementi, would appreciate a few milk bags in exchange. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Any mummies experiencing lower back pain? It's e Suan Suan feeling... Worse when carrying bb or changing diapers (bend down)... -_- going back to work in a months time.. Really dun wish e back pain to cause any issue...

I'm also a Jan mum. Same as Wendy and Xiao Pang, my bm is super low! Sometimes dun even have 2 ozs (both sides add together!), and my gal is drinking 130ml. Really feel very rejected. Having been pumping every 2-3 hrs for past 2 mths, but supper is still low. Took fenugreek 3 capsules/3 times a day also dun help much...

Charleen, when u said low blood count, does it mean low blood pressure? My blood pressure is slightly lower than normal ppl. Maybe i should take iron pills too.

karis,

me me me..my wound is red color line...dunno why like that..

Low ss mummies

dun over stress urself abt low ss..stress/unhappy=even low ss...stay happy always..

oh, okok so i'm not alone with the red line. I'm juz worried that it is infection, looks like is common since you ladies too.

Siu Suet, did ur gynae provide you any multi vitamins, if so think should already contain iron inside. you may wanna check =)

me too is a low ss mummy, now i pump only morning n nite, 110ml/session.

Do you low ss mummies have menses already?

Homgal (crayoncin), thanks i will try barley water too, basically I am trying whatever methods that known to me.. I try to relax but sometimes just cant help it to look at the amount hahha..

Charleen, thanks for your encouragement, I am not low blood count and also i dont take pig liver. Just dunno why no matter how much fluid i have my supply didnt went up, ended up me running to toilet

Xiaopang, i will try to relax since breastfeeding shouldnt be so stressful.. i will like u try to give whatever I can produce for my gal. In the meantime I will try to take supplements and have more fluid.. wish me luck.. hhehehe...

I am feeling better knowing that I have alot of support from the mummies here and I am not alone..

I will jiayou de..

Thank you all for sharing and make me feel that I am not such a failure mummy afterall, at least I am trying my best to provide...

Karis,

Yes my gynae did provide me calcium and iron pills. Just that i've finished long ago... will try to get some from pharmacy.

No menses yet. but once a while will have blood stain. dunno is it normal...

Hi, I'm a Dec mummy. I have many packs of EBM (dated Jan to Feb) to give away as my chest freezer is running out of space. Just need to give a token for the milkbags.

PM me if you want them. Collection at Pasir Panjang. Please bring along your cooler bag.

Siu Suet, me also once in a while got blood stain.. Gynae says its normal.. though i am quite surprised its been 3 mths since i gave birth!

Wendy, just try ur best bah.. i also dun have enough for all my gal's feeds. Will use FM for at least one feed a day. better than no BM right? Jia yoU!

Just wondering anyone here bought chest freezer to store the BM? How much did you buy? Wondering whether should invest in one.

Nimkulut,

Me Me! I suspect is cause i took the epidural jab!!! Now whenever i bend down to bath Andrea or change diaper for her. The moment i straighten my back only i feel the impact liao. Zzz.. I also dont know how to get it cure. I guess got to live with it for the rest of my life liao. =(

Wendy, Jiayou! Dont give up!

Corale, Me too.. haha.. at least 1 day 1 time of formula. Yea I agree as least better than no BM!

i also took epidural. Mine was champion, 5 booster jabs (maximum dosage) as was during the 17hours of labor, then in the end, c-sec cos bb turn, then total GA.

Xiaopang, u got do ur confinement properly? my CL said, during confinement if dun rest well, esp ur back, u'll get this suan tong suan tong. Don't worry, not forever la, have another bb and do a good confinement then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] CL said watever it is, during ur last bb confinement, do a good one then will get rid of all ailments! :D

wendy, don't stress!

yest, hubby and i brought bb to shopping at JB new shopping centre, KSL. Finally I got the time to do a good 30mins back massage as my shoulders are soooo tight and stiff due to all the pumping of milk and carrying of my bb. It was really a good massage. At night, my milk ss increase again. Norm I quite lazy, 1 day pump once at 3am a lot, other times dun really pump. Last night, 3am I gotta use 2 bottles then 6am I gotta pump again and 9am, my breasts are full again. Probably cos my body muscles were released during the massage and I relaxed.

So, i think dun over stress or over tire out ur body. O ya! also impt, dun wait till hungry then eat. (Don't worry about ur own weight as will eventually lose it) your milk SS will come [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Jia you!!!

o ya! mummies with good supply, how heavy is your bb already? My Angel tomorrow is her 3mths old, weighed her at home 2days ago, was 8kg!! got a big fright! she was born 3.46kg. Tomorrow going for her jab, gotta ask PD ok or not... She perspire a lot, but still put on the weight very fast!

I only store 1 bottle of my pumped milk each day and the extra, will drink up myself... cos find it a waste to throw away. I realised our milk is really very filling!!! I get hungry easily and tat day, 3am, I drank my fresh pumped milk about 220ml, and tahan me till 10am still not hungry!

Mummies, i did not take epidural yet i am having ache at the waist n especially at the ribs there...my upper body is so stiff that when upper body turn to right or left, will feel the pain...i suspect is because the action of pumping the milk ...sigh..any mummies got such ache? Will it recover or not?

Charleen, why do u only store obe bottle of ebm each day? U always latch bb on is it?

puix - it may be due to pumping, cos we tend to hunch over when we pump. For me, i bought a back support for the chair during my confinement and it helped cos i no longer feel backache.

nimkulut,xiaopang - what charleen say may be true, maybe you did not rest enuf during your confinement, cos my CL also said the same thing, if dun rest well, will hv pain at the waist. Especially during the first 2 weeks after we gave birth, must lie down as much as possible, sitting down dun count cos it puts pressure at the waist area.

Charleen & Sputnik!

Ya.. I did not really got a good rest. As I got to look after Andrea myself. My MIL only cook for me to eat. And I seldom lie on bed to rest too. Sigh! Anyway can cure this aching other than having a 2nd kid?

Hmm.. mummies can i ask how you all pump your milk? I always sit up straight leh.. And i dont feel upper body stiff except for my wasit & back area leh. Do I pump the wrong way thats why my supply always never increase? Or should I try letting Andrea to latch then pump? But i always let Andrea latch liao nth come out when i pump leh. that is so disappointing.

Mommies, milk powder *FM* for sale [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Similac Stage 1 - 400g(below 6 months) $15 exp 2012

Frisgo Stage 2 - 900g (above 6 months) $25 expirt 2012

pelase drop me an email [email protected] if interested.

mommies, my 2 cents of experience [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

to increase BM

1) hardworking to pump. If can after latch, pump another 15 mins

2) if u go market and can find this vege "ma ni cai" buy it! boil it with water or young papaya - trust me, ur supply would increaset

3) must have good adequate sleep and water.

and of course let ur bb latch as much as they can! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

4) Fernugreek supplements / Nursing drinks ... it helps a bit for my case. but when i did 1-3 it really did jump 50% at least

Hope this healps. sometimes milk supply really kick in after 2 months of birth. Demand Supply theory is really true. So unless ur bb latch (pump) ur brain won't pick it up that there is that amount of Demand. Of course some woman is lucky.. milk auto come non-stop but for us who doesnt , don't despair keep trying.

Clueless,

the ma ni cai you mention is those kind abit sticky and eat liao good for eyesight de right?

As for latch after pump. I tried. but my gal always latch til she doze off then awhile later cry for milk again. so if i pump out same i still got to bottle feed her. sigh..

Somemore now me going 3 months liao. now do latch and pump does it still helps?

xiaopang ~ you can try to take some chinese tonics ex: 杜种。this tonic is specially to cure backache. of course you must take regulary otherwise no effect also. if lazy to cook, maybe you can try the '彗级杜仲补腰精'(not sure whether the chinese character is correct?!) i did it after i give birth for my 1st son and feel ok. i took 3 doses epidural for my first delivery.

Evlin,

THks i will go try it. =)

Need some guide from working mum. How do you all wash and sterlise those pump after we pump our milk out? Do we buy those sterlise pills or?

I am abit loss as I am starting work the week after next. Can someone pls give me some light? =)

XiaoPang > don't worry. latch and pump. You pump is just to stimulate.. got milk better.. no milk also let it run. If ur baby wake up then just latch again. it would increase but this method do take some time.

Manicai - nope it is not that one. Don't know it is good for eye sight or not. It is the one ... hmm that u eat BAN MIAN they put some on it one.

You know any mommies baby who drinks similac stage 1 (below 6 months)? Or planning to get one for stand by? I got one to let go .. i was a kancheong mom and i got it from cold storage in Feb 2011. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Seriously, manicai + papaya would boost .. but the most is the rest and also the latch + pump. It is a whole package. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Clueless : thks for the info. i will go try out the vege soup.

I not sure which mummies's baby is drinking similac wor. You can try ask ard.

I will try to rest more and let my gal latch then pump out. thks!!

Hi puix,

hee... Cos my fridge is full. Having abt 40-50 bottles frozen inside.

So I store 1 bottle each day n norm I'll drink up the extra :p

also BB sometimes latching on every hour. So I feel not tat full then I'll not pump :p

today brought BB to pd for her 2nd jab. Thank God no fever [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] cos worried she will scared, so been carrying her to sleep the whole day. Hubby n I took turns to do.. Cos previous jab, she was screaming away in her sleep

anyone has gone for the 3rd mth injection? i called the clinic to make appointment and come to know that there's actualy 2 vaccination n 1 oral to take.

its the 5 in 1 vaccination and pneumococcal vaccine & oal for rotavirus

i know that pneumococcal is not complusory yet, anyone has skip this vaccine?

Hi Ilovemiffy,

I am bringing my gal for pneumococcus vaccination today.. since can be paid by medisave, gonna just go ahead with it.

hi corale,

are u bringing ur gal to polyclinic? i heard only polyclinic can pay by medisave.

hmm..im just wondering if its neccessary. Hiaz..

ilovemiffy,

it depends on whether yr bb is going to ifc or will be exposed alot to viruses. for my elder girl i only let her take the pneumococcal jab at 2yr old when it is only one jab cos she mostly stayed at home with me.

with my 2nd girl most likely i will let her take from 4mths onwards. more jabs but prob better for her cos she is constantly exposed to dunno wat that jie jie brings home.

I have the followings to let go cheap. Over-stocked.

All Brand New.

1) MEDELA Tender Care Lanolin, 2.0 oz tube -- $16

2) NUK Premium Choice Anti-Colic Wide Neck Teat, size 1, S (thin liquids), 0-6mths -- $6/pair, $10/2 pairs

3) NUK Class Anti-Colic Teat, size 1, S (thin liquids), 0-6mths -- $5/pair (throwing in another brand new teat, cos the 2nd card, i only used 1).

4) NUK Teat cleaning sponge -- $4

Can give further discount if purchase all.

Self collection at Choa Chu Kang Street 62.

Kindly PM if keen.