(2011/01) Jan 2011

sweetie wong , ya lor. always like that.fed-up. usually my mom and my hubby will just give up and tell me she don't want already. like that how to educate bb that every drops of my bm is precious lei. haiz as long as my bb didn't fell asleep, i will feed her and burp her until she finish every drops of it. usually take ard 1hr. this bb really train my patience. :-/

ting and sweetie, i tot only i have this problem with my boy.. recently he start fussing a lot when we feed him.. drink halfway will get fed-up, face all red and refuse to drink.. keep playing and let the milk flow out of his mouth.. i see my precious milk flow out i heartache! in the past when we feed him he's ok, dunno why now he start acting up like that.. =(

My boy after the vaccination also sometimes cant finish the bm. Amount of intake seems decrease as wel. There was one time, hubbybdint check the amount from a 140ml bottle n directly warm the milk n feed him. Ended up bb only drank 60ml. After one hour, my hubby pour away the 80mil ...i feel so heart pain ler..n scolded my hubby...he said i dint split the milk properly..sigh....they just dont know how difficult we pump out the milk. Especially my breast tend to block n supply also low....

Ting, I like the term 'social drinker'. Thought I was the only one having this problem. I also tried to make my bb finish the bottle of milk. I think she starts to recognize me and will cry when see me. Maybe coz she knows I will make her drink even when she tries to reject.

my gal also sometimes encounter this problem leh.. drink half way stop and start playing with the teat. move from centre of her tongue to left and right. then smile at me lor.. can take hours to finish the bottle of milk! wondering why like that leh. i still think let her latch on is much more easier. but the problem is when we go back to workforce they also have to get use to drinking from bottle. only night time can let them latch on.

and one questions is hor.. howcome when they are playing with the teat and not sucking, the milk will still flow out then will flow out from their mouth leh. is it the teat's hole expanded? sometimes my gal drink til doze off the milk also will flow out if she never drink.

My boy dont want to latch on liao...so sad...this morning i tried to let him latch..wah, he get angry, bite n pull my nipple..so painful....sigh....drinking from breast really that difficult compares to drinking from bottle? Is it bottle milk flow smoother?

anyone experience baby not pooing 3 days in a row and drinking beastmilk exclusively? Help. I give rid wind syrup from paed still he hasn't moved his bowels. a few time these 2 weeks he poo alternate days then his stools very watery and lots n lots. first time 3 days no bowel movement but drinking n sleeping normal, worried.

hi EL

no worries my also like that she is on tbm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] she dun poo everyday and when poo can be alot and super watery too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Puix,

Drinking from breast n bottle is very different. From breast bb need to stimulate letdown then milk will flow. From bottle the min teat is in bb mouth milk start flowing already. Some bb can adapt from one to the other. Some bb like yr boy may get impatient at the breast when milk dun come immediately.

It's ok, he is still getting yr precious BM, only mummy hv to work harder [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

El,

It's very common n normal for tbf bb to change from regular pooing to every few days poo.

http://www.mamapedia.com/article/3-month-old-isnt-poopingbreastfeed

I am also a jan 2011 mum.

I have been a silent reader all these while and I have enjoyed reading the valuable experiences all the moms has been sharing. This thread has made me feel more at ease as a first time mom.

I have feeding problem with my boy lately too and is making me very depress. I am doing bottle feeding and When is time for his feed, he will cry after a few sucks (until the whole face turn red) or if not he will be playing with the teats. Every feeding session is like a nightmare for me. Anyone can advise?

welcome chrislene

Issue bcos the teat hole is too small?may be u try to change the teat size. Khloe sometime also like tar especially when she been waiting for long n caused overly hungry,she get cranky n seems like can't feel the teat which already in her mouth.normally I will quickly change the bottle from medals to wide neck pigeon bottle then she will be alright.

Xiaopang

Khloe also like tat,play with the teat n smile at me.fun to see it but when she play during midnite then I will beat her..haha

kimmy,

haha.. ya is sweet to see them so happily not pray hard it will not be a habit.. haha.. lol.. but midnight usually i will let her latch on so still ok for me. keke..

Hi kimmy,

Not sure if teat hole is the problem becos sometime he will drink until he like choking. I never let him wait too long for his milk he also cranky. Sigh. Yah, they look cute when they smile and play with the teat but will get frustrated cos he always cannot finish his milk, waste all my hard work.

Hi peeps, i have a Brand NEW Disney Car Seat to let go at 180/=...

- For 9-18kg

- Brand new

- Interested buyers are welcome to took a look

- Free Delivery within Sengkang/Hougang Area

- PM me if more details is required

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5269749.jpg]

Do your have enough storage space to keep your frozen BM?

I'm not as hardworking as some of your but i realise it seem like not enuff place to keep.

long long time no see, how are you getting on?

i have been very busy with my baby & 2 yrs old son since jan... end up with no choice then sent my eldest son to cc last mth otherwise me & my mother have no enough "hand" to handle these 2 little princes.

my son is crying everyday when bring him to school... dont know when he can start adapt this new environment?!

xiaopang ~ my bb also playing with teat and always left abt 1 oz milk. sometimes even take more than 20mins to finish his 3 oz milk. but after i changed to avent "3 mths +" teat, he can finish the milk very fast... maybe you can try this way see wheather it can works for your bb?! but if he chocks then you need to stop using the more holes teat.

by the way, my bb was borned on 11-jan. i used my own weighting machine and found he aleady almost 6kg. dont know whether he is overweight becuase i rememer my eldest son is not in this size when he is abt 2 mths plus.

how abt yours bb?

Evlin, do u latch on ur bb? Changed to 3mths+ teat, will it even make bb reject the breast? Mine already rejecting my breast..so sad, btw, am just intro 1 mths + teat.

Evlin

dun worry, mine was near 6kg when he was 1 mth old..u can check the health booklet or w the nurse/PD when u bring ur boy down for vaccination.

Finally sent my bb back to Malaysia 2 days ago!!! woooo hooo.. happy... she is just gonna stay there for 2 weeks before returning to singapore. i just needed my rest here! but i still have quite a supply of breast milk.

Daily i expressed a few packets of milk out to store them in freezer to keep the freshness.

Do sms me if you are keen in having it and i will give you the latest expressed milk for the day. Just bring along your cooler box or bag.

A token of apprectiation will be nice or a packet of baby wipes. If do not have any, i am also happy just to give it to you for free. Trying to do a bit for the community as i have quite a supply. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Going to z!!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Esther 9698 2363

any mummies feeding bb with Friso?

I have a BN tin of Friso Gold Stage 1; 900g for $28. Expiry is 31 March 2012.

Pls pm if interested in case I miss out ur reply in the thread. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

any of your babies already sleeping through the night? My baby is already 3 mths now and still waking up every 3 hrs or so for milk.

Those mummies whose babies are sleeping through, do you have any tips to share?

jaslyn,

after nite feed, khloe will sleep around 9plus all the way till 5am plus..is this consider sleep thru for u? I usually will cuddle her to sleep at her last feed of the day, then will wake her up at 12am, she usually drink while sleeping..khloe is 3months 1 week old now.

jaslyn,

I guess each baby has their own rhythm. For elder boy was like yours. Now my 2nd one manages to sleep most nights. As long as they can sleep for 7hrs at a stretch without milk its considered sleeping through. Mine sometimes has his milk at 7ish then wake for milk around 2 or 3 am. Last night he drank at 8pm then the next feed was 4am.In the day he drinks 2-2.5hrly and I bottle feed in the day about 140mls. Its just my baby's pattern.

jaslyn, my boy is 13 weeks old and on partial bm. he sleeps through about 9-10 hours, it just happens like that when he was about 6 weeks old. the room temp and environment will affect their sleep. as my boy sleeps with only fan on no aircon, if the weather is warmer he will wake up earlier.he tends to fidget quite often in his sleep during wee hours so we try to keep his room from noises outside window

Jaslyn - My gal 10 weeks old, usually sleeps bet 11pm - 12am and wakes up next morn abt 8am. She started sleeping thru the nite before she was 2 mths old, but for abt 1.5 weeks after her 6 in 1 which she took at 2 mths, her schedule went haywire and she started waking up in the middle of the nite for milk. Lucky now adjust back.

Thanks mommies for the replies...

Kimmyksc, I feed my baby at around 12 too, which she drinks when she is asleep but she wld cry at 3am for milk again.

EL Chan, you're so lucky your baby can sleep for 7hrs, mine has never gone past 4 hours usually, and she is only able to down 100ml per 3 hrs each time.

elekos, I've realise my baby don't sleep well in warm weather too, but then she cannot sleep in the aircon room as she tends to get a stuffy nose when she wakes, so I got no choice.

Spuntnik, great that your baby adjusted to her schedule again. My girl has not taken her 6 in one yet. hope she doesnt get fussy after her jab..

jaslyn,

may be u can start to train her by offering pacifier when she cry for milk, slowly adjust bit by bit and see how it goes..

Mummies, those of u that mainly on ebm, do u express milk n get your amount within 10-15 min? I need to express like abt 45min only can get the amount n empty the breast .is it normal? Seems like very long ler...wonder how can i have 45min to express when im back to workforce....

puix - i usually take abt 40 mins. Cos i will pump for 20 mins first, then after that hand express for abt 5 -10 mins, then pump for another 5 mins or so. I used to be able to do it within 30 mins for my number 1, but now seems to hv to take longer to get more milk. When i go back to work, will hv to pump during my lunchtime and eat at the same time. My workplace very strict on lunchtime also, cannot even be 1 min late, and sometimes our lunch is only 45 mins during busy periods.

Puix. Norm for me is pump about 15-20 min to get about 120-150ml. The longest I took is 30 mins. I dun hv patience to do 45min.

Realize most of babies hv been sleeping through the night! Not for mine yet. On days when he is v tired cos we hv gone home late he will sleep for about 4-5hrs. Not the 7hr stretch. Often he will wake up once in the middle of night before another feed at 7am. Hope he will take longer sleeps at night.

Hi a qns here for mummies who are pumping ...

Say for e.g we are pumping ard 120ml now per session. My baby is drinking 120ml now. 2 months old. But when they grow older their intake will go up. But will our supply follow by strictly pumping? I read that supply stablise ard 6 weeks. So does that mean that I'll be pumping ard 120ml from now on?

I'm from the July thread.

Am trying to find out more on breastfeeding so want to know if this book is useful:

Title: Successful Breastfeeding

Author: Kang Phaik Gaik

Or any BF books to recommend? I believe most mummies here will be able to advise me if books are relevant for a first-time mum [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks

Hi Ladies,Mamypoko promo is back, now at Giant till 07 Apr. S$20.65 for 72S. I missed to grab more at NTUC that one lucky come back again.. =)

gregda, u should try to pump more than what your bb consumes now. Cos our body will take a while to know that higher supply is needed. but don't worry, the stablising in 6 weeks is to say that your flow is there. But u can still increase ur flow as u pump or latch.

Evlin, my Angel was born on the 7 jan, weighing 7kg already. Don't worry. As long as your bb is on full BM, no need to worry about the weight. But if on FM, must cut down on the FM. This was told by my PD.

Also, normally, at about 3months, bb will be double the weight as compared to their weight at birth.

Mummies, how do you set schedules for your bb?

mine still suka suka sleep when she like and awake when she want.

More awake in the day but at night, most of the time, 11+pm sleep, 3am wake up for a feed, abt 6am another feed then 8am another feed.

So after 3am feed, I'll quickly pump out all my bm then go back to sleep. But all in all, I need at least 1.5hours before I go back to sleep. Currently used to it already, but there's a night where my right side getting a bit blocked. Took me 2+hours to pump to lighten the pain. By then, bb wake up again, so let her suck till it's fully unblock. Thank God!! Else, I dunno what to do... But cos of this, not enough sleep and having giddy and faint spells for 2 days. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Please share your method on how to put them to schedules.

Thank you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

how do you get ur bb to drink from bottle?... my baby kept crying when we tried to bottle feed him... he's on full latch on since birth, and now is abt 3 months old... how?

Tried NUK, medela, avent, pigeon bottles.. all also not working... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hoshi, I having same issue as u, BB dun want bottle.

I successfully trained her bottle feed then stopped for a few days as she is not in gd mood, now she reject bottle again.

My mum & sil said wait till she bigger then will know how to suck. Dun need force since now I got enough for her.

So no need worry la [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] give her every night once. I norm put 30ml, to test her. She want will drink else I just drink it myself, dun waste :p

gee... Now running out of avent storage bottles, start to thaw my January bm to store my newly pumped milk. Used the thawed milk for feet or hand spa :p 1 fresh bottle in, 1 thawed milk out per day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] extra of the day, I'll drink it b4 I slp to replenish myself :p our fresh milk is quite nice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

now look forward to the Philip sale to buy lots of storage cups [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ivftwins, sputnik,

Your supply is higher, i wish i have tat much too. If i only pump 15min, i can only get 50ml...i have to pump almost an hour to get 150ml ler....nipple damn tired... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Mummies, my boy's neck got something look like 汗斑...pd said is fungus n need to keep it dry n gave him the anti fungus cream. But i have applied the cream on his neck for almost 2weeks+....the thing is still there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] why it wont cured? Any mummies got such experience? His neck is folded (double chin) so hard to really make it dry ler..do u all use powder?

puix - i think my older gal had the same problem last time, PD said it is considered cradle cap also but he say dun use powder. U tried california bb calendula cream?

Mummies - do your babies sleep on pillow now? If so, wat type of pillow shld we use? My gal's head seems to be getting a wee bit flat at the back :-(

Sputnik, is that cradle cap? But mine dont have chapped skin wor..just got whitish small spots at the neck area...ur older gal was like that too? Btw, where to get the calendula cream?

Puix, i apply powder on my gal. she also got something like heat rash. really have to keep dry. no choice got to really slowly use finger to pick abit of powder then use our finger slowly go ard the neck. is painful so got to be gentle. or you can go get pigeon's powder holder. their spounch to spread the powder is small. i use that and dap abit of powder at the edge then use the edge to go into the double chin area.

Sputnik, i use that cream for my gal's nappy rash but it doesnt work at all.. =(

xiaopang - i also find it does not work for nappy rash, but find it good for skin problems on the face and body. I am also applying it to my gal's scalp to prevent cradle cap.. hehe..