(2011/01) Jan 2011

Mummies, what is reflux symptoms? My boy now drinks less milk, n when he burp, he will vomit those phlegm like juice with milk...is it reflux? What should i do? Help!!!!

Sputnik,

Yea i tried it for my gal's face also. but i dont see any effect leh.. hehe.. maybe is environment and weather do play apart too..

at my inlaw's place, my gal tend to have heat rash and those yi li yi li on her face. maybe is weather is hot and there is doing lift upgrading so dusty also.

but come over to my mum's place her heat rash and those on face de no more le.

then i stop using it already lol.. waste money haha..

oh ya.. any mummies use the avent or pigeon or any brand milk warmer? is it useful? need how long the milk will be warm if we take out straight from fridge?

Xiaopang,

Liquid powder is like regular bb powder but in lotion form. I use kodomo brand. Avent and J&J also hv. Sometimes they r called liquid talc.

xiao pang, calendula cream is only good for milk rash and eczema not for nappy rash. you can try using desitin, mustela or avent nappy creams.

I have the pigeon bottle and food warmer but never really used it quite trouble some to warm the milk got to wait at least 15 mins. I'm intending to sell it soon...

Xiaopang - i use the avent warmer, but i think it is an old model. Find it quite useful, can warm up milk from fridge in abt 5 mins. Not sure if the newer model works the same way.

any idea is it true that breast fed babies are much chubbier?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi ester,

how old is your bb now? my boi is coming to 3mths..still can take your breast milk? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Xiaopang, I use the new model bottle warmer. I find it troublesome to use, thus i ditch the warmer and use the traditional way of standing it in hot water instead.

Need help and advice:

My girl been latching most of the time for the past 11 wks. After she finish latching, I will pump the excess to store in the freezer.

As of now, the 'oldest' batch of BM I have is 1 March. The defroze BM has a metallic smell and my mother is not very comfortable in giving it to my girl.

However, if we only give her those fresh ones then I find it no point in keeping those EBM. It seems like I am just storing for the dustbin [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].

Please advise how should i deal with this problem.

Grumpus, chelleybaby,

How does pd diagnose whether bb has severe or light reflux? What are the obvious symptoms? My boy now is crying n crying n only quiet down if we hold him upright position...N now when drinking milk, after a short while he will use his tongue to push the teat out. At times, he will vomit milk with phlegm like liquid...

What should i do?

Puix,

For my girl the most obvious was the throwing up. N it's very forceful vomiting not just some milk tat comes up with the burp. sometimes no burp also the milk just comes out.

If yr boy is really very uncomfy n not drinking milk well, do bring him to the pd

mrs loh,

frozen milk will have the weird taste, was told that it's normal and not harm giving it to baby. My MIL also not comfy and kept comment last time till i feel stress and upset, then i *please* her not to comment abt my EBM and she after that diden say anymore. I haven been giving khloe EBM since she is 1months plus, now 3.5months and drinking mid feb EBM. So far all good and my MIL can see that she is fine drinking EBM, totally did not comment again. I guess we should explain to them and stay strong with your own wish/decision. They can see the result.

Thank you mummies for your feed back on those food and milk warmer. still traditional way better.

So envy on mummies that can keep EBM. each time i give my gal latch finish and i tried to pump out but there is nth much left. cant even let her drink for the next meal dont say keep at freezer.

Btw, how long can the milk after we pump out? and when we take out from fridge how long can we put before we keep it inside the fridge if we dont need it. and also those warm up BM can keep warm for how long?

sometimes when i bring out those milk and when i was heating up for my gal, she doze off liao. the milk is already on the way warming up. cant put back into fridge again. or can we wait til it is cold and put back into the chill room inside the fridge again?

Puix,

for me, my son can't sleep much at tt time. Always scream and cry until no voice like in pain. Vomit every other day. Drinking milk always arch his back, never drink for long.

Not really grumpus. There are good days and bad days. He's been on losec for a mth already. He hardly gained any weight for the past mth. But he sleeps much much much better at night nw. Still vomits occassionally though. Really hopes he outgrows it soon. Did u give yr girl medication all the way till she outgrew it?

Chelleybaby,

Nope, I only gave my girl meds for two wks. After tat I just managed. But I spent hrs carrying her to sleep upright during the day and in the night she would sometimes fuss every hr.

Grumpus,

I stopped the medication for a day and it was soooo bad again. No choice, we are continuing with the medication but now he started vomitting at least once a day agn. Sigh.. He will be 3 mths soon and he hasn't doubled his weight yet.

Chelleybaby,

Oh dear. The only 'good' thing with my elder girl was that she was bottle fed so we really control her milk feed timing n vol. After 2 wks we also tried stopping the meds n thankfully she didn't start vomiting again so we continued without the meds.

Dun worry so much abt the weight lah, he will catch up once he feels better.

Did the pd talk to u abt adding either Friso cream, rice cereal, or commercial thickeners to his milk so that it sits heavier in his tummy n so won't vomit as easily?

I brought bb to see dr...the dr said bb is not Reflux desease...i told him my boy only act like fhis after his 6-in-1 vaccination. That he satrted to drink less...then now vomit milk sometimes...n cry n li,e to be carried upright...he said bb got wind, stomach not deeling well n cause the vomit of milk...he said bb looks good when he is awake n if reflux desease will started since born..not only got this later wor...so he prescribe med to get rid of wind...said no need to do much..hope he is right...

Grumpus,

my son totally rejects the bottle. Haiz, want to bottle feed also cannot. Will bring him bk to the PD next week and see what he says.

Puix,

Hopefully the pd is right. Try out the med for wind first if still not better then go back to pd again.

My elder girl was diagnosed with reflux only when 3 mths old cos only then she started vomiting milk. Before will only be a bit that come out with the burp.

Puix,

Think yr PD is right. If yr baby looks good when he is awake then shdn't be reflux. Before my son was on medication, he was crying 90% of the time when he was awake.

Mrs Loh, am experiencing the similar problem here. But it's that my baby is very picky and do not want thawed milk. Have just thawed 1st Feb milk to make space for today's. Used it as feet or hand spa lor.

Also, wonder why store, but got a fear that if I don't store, then one day if i'm not well, then how to give milk? or when I going to stop BF, at least still got some frozen BM for bb... (kiasu :p)

xiaopang, did you try take lots of soup? and also have you tried the stew black fungus? I find them quite helpful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] also, take lots of hot water. I find that whenever I take a cup full of hot / warm water, my breast seemed to be stimulated. Also, must keep pumping. Don't give up. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Puix, hope your bb gets better and is not reflux [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chelleybaby, my Angel also totally reject bottle, till I found out something a few nights ago. Use fresh BM to bottle feed, BUT don't let bb see you. Means, get your hubby or someone else to do the bottle feed and you must not let ur bb see or hear your voice. My Angel was left with no choice and she drinks from the bottle that my hubby warmed as she is hungry.

But halfway, she sees me, she stopped and pushed out the bottle. Cos she know that mummy is there, she can latch direct.

For mummies whose babies have reflux, you can try massaging your baby to help expel the wind. I used baby oil with 1 drop of ru YI oil, the baby oil portion must be more so that it wun hurt e bb's skin.

Lie baby on her/his back, then push downwards fr chest to navel, side to navel. You can place your palm on the chest n do a u sign around the navel. Then turn bb n Place tummy on both your laps. Use oil and do the push out motion from the spine to the left and right side.

I do this 2 times a day on my bb, she is much better now. Got this method fr my massage lady.

Charleen,

I have drunk alot of soup and lots of milo, cereal etc. but is just enough for my gal for the next meal. no matter how i pump each time hor, the amount is still the same close to 4oz. wont increase leh. sianz! sigh.. worst if i let her latch on then pump. sometimes got nth if not is both breast add together only half oz. T_T!

I am starting work in 2 weeks time. my milk level is forever the same. i took those pills also. but sigh.. it just doesnt work leh..

dont say frozen milk, i dont even have spare milk for my gal on the entire day! lol.. dont know is my pumping method or what? but i always drain my breast liao leh.. =(

looking to sell some brandnew clothes

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5292597.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5292598.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5292599.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5292600.jpg]

Brandnew mothercare shorts cum bloomers. 2pc/pack selling for $12 (Free postage) Bought it at $21, (bought the wrong size and cut the tag already so selling at low cost) comes with hanger. size 6-9mths.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5292601.jpg]

Brand new mothercare Soft sole shoes. size up to 9mths. 3 pairs for $18 or $7 per pair. Retails at $28/3pairs

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5292602.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5292603.jpg]

Brandnew Combi socks with anti-slip soles. length measures 9-12cm unstretched.

Selling 4 pairs for $10 or 6 pairs for $14.

(Free postage)

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5292604.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5292605.jpg]

Brandnew Max-kool baby Sets (Top/skirt in white or Top/bloomer in pink) Selling each set for $6. retails at $6.90-8.90 per pc.

(note:these are washed but not worn)

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5292606.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5292607.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5292608.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5292609.jpg]

Brandnew Disney baby pyjamas set. Selling each set for $10. retails at $18.90/set. size 0-6mths. 2 designs (ladybird or stripes)

please PM me if interested. thanks.

giving FOC postage for $10 and above

hi mummies, sorry to disturb..

I have a brand new in box Avent Electric Sterilizer for sale at $100. Warranty is valid until Apr 2012.

Please PM me if interested.. Thanks..

Chelleybaby, baby call smell you that's why she rejects the bottle and want to latch on. Leave the bottle feeding to other family members. But if you want to convert her to full bottle feeding, you can try using the pigeon peristaltic bottle teats, it is shaped like our nipple so my boy got accustomed to bottle feeding very soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xiaopang, after ur breast is empty, keep ur pump on for a while more. I'm using manual avent pump, so can control. U pump slowly n gently continuously, after breasts is empty, so it wun hurt ur nipples. Best is look at ur BB while pumping, to encourage another let down. If can achieve this, is the best.

Dun stress ok.

4oz is from both side or just 1 side? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

also, got to sleep to replenish ur milk.

Charleen,

i also using avent manual pump. i notice manual is better as we can control our strenght. but hand is tiring la. haha.. i did pump awhile more after breast is empty. but like no effect on me leh.

4oz is from both side.. sad right! my left breast contain 1.5oz most 2. right breast got more sometimes can surprise me. lol..

Har! must sleep ar? haha.. i never take nap in the afternoon wor. lol.. but when we start work how to nap? lol..

Hi xiaopang, yes, I prefer avent manual pump. Got the avent electric pump but too slow, so switch to use the manual. Then bought Ameda duo pump, but need to pump both side at the same time then powerful enough, else nothing comes out. Also too slow. So concluded, manual is the best [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ya, very tiring but u'll get used to it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

if latching is enough for ur BB, pump is mainly to tell ur body u need more milk. So whether got how much pump out, it dun really matter [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hmm... But if u have more than enough fluid plus food, n got rest, by right with pump n latch, ss shd increase [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] do u have low blood count like me? If yes, increase ur iron supplement. I'm taking sangobion iron supplement on top of my usual supplement for bf. Cos bm uses blood to convert. If ur blood count is low, generally bm ss is low. U can get this iron supplement from pharmacy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my gynae prescript it b4 I give birth. Cos I low blood count. I stopped a while after confinement cos ran out of it then bm ss dropped. After tat I resume, seems tat ss also increase. Theoreticallyx it shd help [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

or u can ask for neogobion

same same [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Charleen,

Ya I belongs to ping xue group. Now i just pump out and let my gal drink so i know how much i can produce. GOt too much disappointment on latch then pump out le. haha.. so i rather pump out and monitor. only during midnight i will let my gal latch on if she crys for milk.

i will go pharmacy and buy the supplement that you recommended.

And hor.. do we need to take a nap before we start pumping out or let our baby to latch on?

But when I start work i cant possible take a nap etc wor. haha..

Chelleybaby: my bb also rejected bottle from 2 months on... She would scream N scream and refuse to feed.. She will even Pretend to zzz... Bb know how to drink from bottle one It's jus they prefer to drink from source...

As our nipple has many holes and bottle only have one, so sometimes they get frustrated to suck... Choose one type of teat (I use nuk) try different size (s m l)...until one that she is most willing to drink (5ml is considered success also)

Next, when we sterilize the teats using sterilizer, sometimes there is a funny smell.. So I buy e white plastic type of teat instead of e yellow type cos not so smelly... Also an experienced nanny shared with me to rub salt into teat to clean it.. Will remove all smell... Can also try soaking in boiled water right before feeding her...

We also need to get bb used to bottle and teat... What I do is to introduce pacifier (initially I also dun wan to give) but if bb can suck pacifier means can suck bottle.. It's e same motion... I use e pacifier that is most similar to teat...

For bottle... To not waste bm (my precious) I usually warm up 30ml to try... Must try every day... Initially once a day then increase to multiple times a day... Try giving bb when bb jus woke up, not v hungry, v v hungry, after latching, between breast.. Jus to get bb familiar with bottle.. Initially u will waste some bm but that's e way it is.

During feeding... Dun force it if bb starts screaming, carry bb, pacify bb (give pacifier) only after bb calm down, then start again... After a few rounds of crying he will understand that resistance is futile... Also dun force it else bb will reject even more...

If u feed cry feed cry more than 3 times, call it a meal... Play with bb or carry to another room for 15 minutes before latching bb... Else bb will think rejecting bottle = mummy breast immediately...

Another thing is the temperature.. Usually bb prefer warmer milk so prepare a glass of warm water to hold e bottle in between pacifying him...

Last but not least have patience... My bb have extreme case of bottle rejection and she Is now a semi pro bottle drinker (after 3 weeks of intense training) now she can drink up to 100ml from bottle in 30 mins... She still fuss a bit and take a long time to finish her milk.. But at least I know she wun starve without me...

Long post... Jus wanna share

Hi xiaopang,

Tink u n I r same. Low blood count. Iron tablets will help [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I norm also dun nap but if u can find the time to nap, it'll help [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

have pm u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

XiaoPang - did u try eating papaya? Not the green papaya soup, but the fruit itself? When i eat papaya my ss will increase. Last time my friend also told me the same thing...

Sputnik,

I never eat papaya wor. I keep drink papaya soup. But also no increase leh. haha.. i will try eat papaya later! as my mum to buy! LOL!!

Must eat alot to see result ma?

xiaopang - for me, no need to eat a lot, maybe a slice or 2? Easier to eat the fruit than drink the soup... no need to cook!!

xiaopang - yup, last time i also try everything, but i guess some things work for some people and not others. Good luck!!