(2011/01) Jan 2011

i went for my oscar n follow by gynae appt on monday. at first i was quite worried that i have actly lost weight, lesser than before i was preg. but thankfully gynae says bb is growing well n my edd is now push forward to 6 jan. funny lo, i rem when i had my no 1, by this time i was gaining weight and appetite. maybe its due to the h1n1 that i have gotten few weeks back. up till now, i have not fully recovered and still having flu. im still able to fit into my normal clothes which is very different from my no 1. tummy not really showing unless after meals. i really wish i cant fit into my clothes n got to change into maternity wear ( which means bb is growing well)

anyway, they called me for results today. oscar results show low-risk but blood test results not so good. low blood and high white blood platelet count. got to do another test the next time as it might be due to my sicknss.

Hi Min,

On the contrary, I hope NOT to change to maternity wear for as long as possible becos I would have to alter my entire wardrobe then! I can still fit into my snug airline uniform, & still have no intentions to quit despite protests from hubby. Haha!

About 13 weeks now and just went for First Trimester Scan, everything seems ok. Heng ah! Cos I have not been very disciplined in terms of food n drinks n doing 'dangerous' stuff.

Pooh: I went perfect mum last weekend to get basics like black work skirt, brown shorts, long pants n nursing bra. Felt much better with them. I went expo n got gym/yoga pants cos it's stretchy n slope downwards at the belly side. Suitable for us. Cheap cheap

Hi mommies, interested to join march mommies for BP for Evenflo Triple Fun exersaucer at $279 for 10 sets, $289 for 5 sets(retail at Taka for $349)? Please pm me if interested.

1. elise31

2. chloe

3. elise31 fren

Hi daphne

the nurse from the clinic said to do another blood test the next time.. maybe it was becos i was unwell that led to the results..abit sian..

Hi flying owl

easier for me cos this is my no 2. i have kept my maternity clothes in a box but some dresses are still hanging in my wardrobe. so anytime just have to repack. so far still dont need.

Hi Daphne

Dr says edd 30 Jan 2011, but could be earlier.. Good...juz in time for angpao. Lol

Hi ivftwins

I will try to check out the shop. For me, currently not working cos dun nit fancy maternity pants. However, went for an interview today. Hope to get the job lor. Then if get, may need to buy more fanciful clothes.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Now pregnant, dun know if they want me or not. Praying hard.

Hi Been some time since I have log on. All the mummies here seems doing very well. I will be doing my OSCAR on the 16th JUly and hopefully I will be able to see the gender. My EDD is on 26th Jan but gynae says will come out earlier cos I am on Clexane and aspirin... so crossing my fingers and hope bb only come out in 2011. haha I prefer a Jan bb though..

SPRING Maternity $10 Vouchers (2 pieces)

2 Vouchers of $10 to let go together at the price of 1.

1 Voucher with no expiry date, 1 voucher with expiry date of Oct'2010

Voucher condition: Minimum purchase of $20 to make use of the voucher

Additional perk: Receive free set of baby mitten and bootie with any purchase of $10 at SPRING in single voucher

Accept direct bank deposit, item to be mailed to your home address.

Contact [email protected]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4181369.jpg]

This thread is moving fast...i haven't been writing here but have been reading now and then...just feel too sian to write anything here. hopefully i can be more active here after 1st trimester, when all the awful symptoms are gone!

I've just completed 10 weeks, 3rd appmt with gynae will be on 10 July. EDD is 28 Jan'11.

I read that many of you are going for the OSCARS and other tests, is it possible that I decide not to do any of the tests? Has anyone skipped the tests b4?

Gynae gave me a brochure on OSCAR to read & i tink i will hv to decide on my next appmt.

Bethel,

My colleague skipped all the test. Cos for her, her religion forbid her to abort even if baby has DS.

Ladies, is it true that while in confinement we do not have to give ang pow? Yesterday my mum just told me that in confinement cannot give ang pow.

hi apple, i tink giving ang pows are up to individual. for my previous confinement which happen to coincide with cny, my hubby and I still give angpows.

Pooh, when I first see my gynae when I'm 6 weeks, the EDD is also 30 Jan. But in my 9 weeks, the EDD is push forward to 27 Jan. Think we will be around the same time.

Apple, really dun need to give hongbao? Think I would need to ask my grandma to confirm. Will let u know...

Bethel, our EDD also around the same time. My next appt is 15 Jul and will be doing the OSCAR test. It's really up to u if u wanna do or not. If you think tat no matter wat, u will not go for abortion, then there's no point in doing...

Now, I'm in my 10 weeks + and my MS is much better. So which means I started to worry again. Haiz....

Hi apple, nowadays many kids very practical lei. cannot say no give ang pao lor. but i think can ask your hubby give just in case you offend any pantang parents :p

usually confinement mommies are expected to stay in their own room. pantang people will even not want to enter the confinement mommies room. My MIL told me last time when she was serving confinement for her 2nd boy, which crossed CNY, she has to stay in the room whenever there are visitors at their house.

Ting

oh dear...i was busy 'entertaining' both my hubby and my relative and frens during my confinement. and I hated it cos i was so tired.... no one tells me not to come out of my room... seems like they expected me to be ard le. I tot if i stay inside the room, they will be offended. dino is the other way round.

Hi All, me 12 weeks le. but still has MS. still can't eat well. feeling giddy now. feeling helpless sitting in my office cubicle now. really tired.

My hubby changed his mind and suggested me to do the OSCAR...haiz... nowadays guys also getting very flickle minded. i asked him what happen if the result no good...but no reply. haiz. me in dilema.

Hi coconutz, don't worry lah. not everyone is pantang. if no one told you that means maybe they don't mind. usually people who mind will not come to your place unless you live with your parents.

I thought since apple's mom advised her not to do it le, then i think better not lor.

Ting,

me just cross first trimester also... in my 13 weeks. ms is still ard but better. just tahan for another few weeks and u shld be feeling better ba. my appetite is so good this week. cant believe i ate a yam pau, 2 chee cheong fan and 2 slices of bread for breakfast! jiayou k!

if u are tired, cld u take a day leave or rest early tonight to recharge? i rested as early as 8pm almost everyday le... but feel guilty towards my son after tat.

Angpow: Maybe the older generation more patang. The younger ones like us won't know all these restrictions.

Ting Jia you. Actually I feel the same now. Feel like puking and tired....... REN! It should be over soon since u are in 12th week.

CoconutZ! 8pm! so lucky. How old is ur elder one?

apple

my boi is 29 mths now... usu i will play wif him after i reached hme ard 6pm til 7pm. after tat, time for shower and dinner and i rested after tat. my hubby is very supportive. i have evening sickness and he made me lie down and rest lor. maybe he is tired of all my whinings...keke

oh coconutz, ur boi abt the same age as my girl. My girl is feb 08 baby.

Wow. My hubby sometimes have to work late and I have to entertain her, make her sleep and get up to do some chores before sleeping. I used to do more things with my girl at night but with MS, sometimes just pop her infront of her fav cartoon and I felt really guilty abt it.

Soooo tiredddddddd and so looking fwd to 2nd trimster to regain back the energy.

apple,

my girl is a jan 08 bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

me also guilty of planting my girl in front of cartoons so that i can rest more

oh grumpus, seems like many 2nd time mummies kids are abt the same age.

So do u know dorothy and tongtong or Pauline?

so CNY we cannot go other ppl's home right? i also dunno if we should hide in the room or come out to meet the relatives

Hi, during my last confinement, I also came out of the room to entertain relatives & frens who came over to visit. Think it's ok lah. We are in the new generation. How to stay in the room for the whole mth? If the relatives or frens mind, they would not even want to go to yr house.

I even went out during my 3rd week of confinement to the ICA to do my baby's birth cert. Then I went to the supermarket with my hubby to buy some stuff. My fren told me she even went out for dinner....

My boy is 9 mths old. So not the same as most of u. He cannot stay still to watch cartoons as he still could not understand. So, I've to entertain him till he sleeps. Luckily my hubby also help out. But I could only sleep around 11pm every nite. So envy those of u tat could sleep early.

apple,

i know who dorothy is, but she hangs out more on the feb08 thread. i definitely know tongtong and pauline [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

daphne

i went out during my 3rd week confinement to another bb shower. ended up kena 'criticised' by many old folks for not following the confinement rules. they looked at what i eat and drink and shake their head...keke... and they even instruct their maid to give me hot red dates drink.

2011 Chinese New Year is on 3rd February.

So even if we give birth early Jan, confinement just over can go out... but also sianz... coz just give birth haven't lose weight yet...

Sigh... I still got 8kgs gain from my 1st preggie 5 yrs ago... sigh.. wonder how much more to gain this time... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hoshi,

dun lose heart. maybe with 1 kid and a bb, u will lose weight faster!! esp if u are still bfg, even more weight i guess. wat i dread is the leaking boobs. eeek!

eeks.. the BF part is also the nightmare... scary...

Going for my oscar test tomorrow... called my gynae and the nurse said will costs abt $400+...

Hi hoshi,

How long did u bf for yr first child tat u still got 8 kgs gain? Tot the longer u bf, the more weight to lose?

I cannot judge myself as I'm 8 mths into my bfing when I'm pregnant again. But I'm only left with 3 kgs to lose. I actually gain 20 kgs during my first pregnancy. So, I wondering if I continue to bf for 1 yr, will I gain back my pre-pregnancy weight.

hoshi,

oh yeah... the bfg is scary...engorgement etc... but i gain 18 kg during pregnancy and i lost 25kg le.... after 4 mths post delivery. so pretty fast for me lor... but i guess due to latch on and expressing ba... truly like a mother cow. after 16 mths of full bfg, i m like a walking stick : (

hmmm...sorrie, shld be 6 mths post delivery, i lost so much weight. no butt but with big boobs. after bfg, have big butt but no boobs : ( sad...

I didn't manage to latch on successfully, so only did partial BF for 4 months... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Had 2x engorgement, high fever....

Will try to do my best for this time... very scared abt BF...

U using medela PIS har? good or not?

I'm thinking either to get the PIS or Freestyle. Coz my SIL is now in US, so she can help me buy...

i use the mini electric prior to PIS and PIS is good cos it can increase my milk supply. but it is damn heavy after a hard day at work... with the ice pack and milk bottles.

the motor for my PIS is spoilt and i m tinking of trading in for the freestyle. i know they have similar features except that freestyle is very much lighter and is hands free. but it is expensive. retail ard $900+? but if u get it from US... cheaper i tink.

I think get from US ard US299, so ard $400+...but the warranty is only valid in US only... but given the price, it is so much more cheaper...

Think I just get the freestyle lor... thanks!

Thanks coconutz and apple, will definitely have to jia you lor. you gals too.

Coconutz, really envy you. got good appetite and also can sleep so early. i haven even reach home at 8PM lor. you really hor mia.

My hubby want me to come office cos he say here at least got pple jio me lunch and tea. if i at home, i will just sleep thru the day.

ting,

good appetite means i put on more weight.... i m scared to hop on the weighing scale this coming wed : (

if u are tired, rest more esp during first trimester. after bb born, lesser rest time and lesser sleeping time too.

coconutz: despite having ms and poor appetite, I still gain 2kg!!!! I think I am hopeless case...

I agree, if can rest and sleep, please do so more.... gone are those days haha

sigh... that's true, after bb born, really lesser and lesser time.

After baby#1, hubby already complaining I never spend time with him... now with baby#2... gosh.. really really no time already, esp when we have to work, take care of 2 kids, etc etc...

hoshi,

my hubby was just complaining to me that we have lesser couple time. our boy will always tag along whereever we go on weekends. once #2 arrives, worse!!!

Hi apple, i not sure i same generation as u or not lor. but most of my colleagues ard my age or younger, are quite pantang lor. esp guys. there is one male colleague who told me that he will not attend any full month celebration if the bb not actually full month. he explained that bb come from their mommies private part lor. must wait for certain period then consider "clean". stupid throty rite??

but anyway i quoted this just to let you know there are pple who think that way lor. Oh ya. still got another colleague told me her mommy say she has to serve confinement at her own hse and cannot go back mommies place during her confinement. not sure if is it to prevent bad luck to mommies place or what. can't remember liao. my colleagues told me too many do and don't le. i one ear in and one ear out. can't bebother. haha!

i think as long as i don't go visit pple hse during my confinement can le. if they want to come to my place, i leave to them :p

oh hoshi, u remind me of the body size...quite true, even after confinement month but our body se is still big :-(

im now 13 weeks, nauseous sill on and off :-( when have then will suffer whole day, when do no have, then can eat a lot....

Done my oscar scan last Thusday, TMC charging sgd298 with 10% discount if you sign up for the FBI (first baby incentie).

Next appointment on this coming wednesday to see the oscar scan and blood test result. Pray and hope for the best