(2011/01) Jan 2011

coconutz, i think otherwise lei. i thot got excess to shake off is still better than not enough to supply. my chinese dr told me say my body very weak. got to try to eat whatever i can eat.

unlike you gals, i really hope i can gain weight. if no weight gain, then something is wrong le.

hi kimmyksc

how much is the FBI if wanna sign up? i tot of signing up tat one.

Did you ask the sonographer of the scan results? i tot can ask straight away leh, my oscar this thurs at TMC too

Ting: maybe can ask ur chinese dr what to eat/tonic to build up your body.

actually i have a friend who does not gain any weight even when she is in her fifth mth but baby is still growing and fine.

hi babykoh

original price is 185, if u pay using standard chartered credit card, got more discount, i pay abt 130, and my gynae got sign up into this program, so i will have additional 5% discount on delivery fee. they go many discount. u should go slightly earlier and find out more from the recep and sign up b4 u go for your oscar scan, bcos u cant get rebate after u pay for the oscar scan...and many forms for u to fill up to get freebies....

here is the link

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm#firstborn

I asked sonographer wat is the normal measurement, she say diff age has diff measurement, so i gotto tahan 1 more day to see the result on wednesday..

ting

dun worry so much about weight gain. my colleague did not gain a single kg and yet her boy was 3.3 kg at birth! the weight gained during the first trimester will not go to bb... all goes to mummy!!! just eat watever u can and dun tink too much. happy mummy = happy bb!

i going for my next scan in 2 weeks.. hopefully can see gender le.. i cant wait to start buying things for bb!

anyone went to kaki bukit there to buy things from those "wholesale" shops there?

Just had my oscar test... gynae didn't manage to see the gender of the baby coz baby not cooperative... but very cute... can see the hands, legs, body already although the baby is still very small, abt 56mm.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I went to kaki bukit before, bought a toddler child seat... think kaki bukit good for buying bulky items like baby stroller, beds and car seats....

hi ladies..

hope all mummies are feeling great! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] been very tired these days..wondering if its due to the weather here..so humid!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

im goin for my test 2wks later for DOWN'S too..hopefully everything goes smoothly. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

im into my 13wks now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but had a bad headache yday. anyone know if i can just pop a panadol?

btw, when can we see the bb gender?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi hoshi, i have start taken fish oil+ multivitamin when i am in 9-10 weeks. my gyane said since i am not vomit, it is ok to take the food supplement...

you can check with your gynae in your next visit.

i am going for my oscar test in this fri... thinking whether can bring my 1yr old+ son together...?!

Hi ilovemiffy,

my colleague can see her baby's gender during the oscar test... abt 12 weeks. How come ur test so late at 15 weeks? Coz my gynae says that oscar shld be done between 11-13 weeks. But my bb not cooperative, guess have to wait till detailed scan abt 20 weeks then can see the gender.

Hi evlin,

Think no problem bringing ur son... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my gynae only prescribe folic acid... he only says after 5 months then take multi-vitamins...

hi hoshi,

woa..12 weeks can see gender alreadi? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hmm..

im actualy living in tokyo now. in japan, they do not do the test for Down's unless we request.

the date was given to us last sat..i also duno leh. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but does it matter if i do it on wk 15 or i have to do it in 11-13wks??

Hi ilovemiffy,

U can check with ur gynae lor... they may be doing different type of test... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Which part of tokyo are u in?... We just went on a holiday to tokyo early this year with my gal.. we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!...

hoshi,

ok, i think i will check again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

im staying near shibuya area. did u go there?

tokyo is nice ya? haha.. so nice for shopping and eating. :D

we stayed at shinjuku.. went to tokyo disneyland, harajuku, shibuya, meiji shrine, ueno, ikekuburo.... yah, so nice for shopping and eating... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/crazy.gif]

Ilovemiffy, I love japan also. Been there 3 times for holiday include 1 time to Hokkaido. Yeah, DS test suppose to be done between 11 to 13 weeks for more accurate results.

Hoshi, usually only can see the gender during 16 weeks unless if did the amino test, will be able to know the gender earlier. My gynae prescribe me with the fish oil and multi-vits from 9 weeks onward.

Evlin, not sure if it's a good idea to bring yr son with u as the test might take up to half a day if yr baby(in yr stomach) does not cooperate.

I am going for my OSCAR test next thur. Can't wait also.... (As it also means tat it will be end of 1st trimester)..

Miffy, agree with rest of the mummies. Thot the OSCAR test is only effective during the 11-13 weeks window. Too early or too late, the NT test would not be accurate anymore.

Evlin, who going to carry your son while testing? Will she be restless if you have to wait for the doc?

I had my test last thursday, first time round baby not cooperative, refuse to get into position. So I have to go take a walk, then wait for while before scanning a second time... Haven't receive my blood test result though...

Wah, amazing can see the gender at 12 weeks leh.. must have been a boy right?

Hi Misty,

So, did you know the result from yr scanning? Where did u do yr test?

The last time I did my test at KKH, I managed to know the results from my scan on the same day. Blood test results are 2 days later by phone call. This time round, I'm taking the test at TMC, so not sure how it works there...

mine only took abt 30min... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yah, my colleague's gynae can tell the bb's gender from the oscar scan... can see it's a little boy coz his leg open big big... hehee..

Has anyone been experiencing a strong need to burp and a funny uncomfortable feeling around the throat, like air is not going up or down properly? This seems to affect me more recently. I should be in my mid 12th week.

I've been very kiasu, started taking folic acid, omega 3, and calcium supplements even before conception as I read that they are all useful in baby's brain and body development. But the folic acid seems to make me feel slightly nauseous.

Hi ilovemiffy,

My gynae said plain panadol is okay, don't take the extra strong versions.

i will get hb to check again for me. cos i think its different here. they dun even call it a OSCAR test [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but i did mine 4yrs ago in singapore.

daphne, i love japan too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so sad tat im goin back to singapore for good. hb relocated back for job. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks luckymummy11, now i can take the panadol without worries. i was worried and didnt take yday..feeling so lousy with the bad headache. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Daphne, I did mine at my gynae's clinic, then as the sonagrapher scan, he will narrate, what he is looking for, whether the measurements are normal etc. But blood test have to wait for lab results lor...

Ting, I think it's the wait for the scan, and like my case, baby not co-operative, end up my whole visit is about 4 hours, when it could have been over in 1 hour.

Hi Ting,

Not sure how long it really takes and it really depends if yr baby is cooperative. My gynae told me might take up to half a day so I'm not bringing my son. The last time i spent almost 3 hrs in KKH. Tat is inclusive of the scan, the waiting time, consultation and doing my blood test.

Iloverniffy, my gynae also say can take panadol. So dun worry. Just take if you really feel sick.

i talk to my baby the day b4 i go for oscar scan...baby very cooperative, i done everything plus breakfast at TMC delifrance in 1.5hours, including signing up the FBI and make payment plus toilet time :)

sounds weird cos we really dun know if baby can hear but no harm for trying..:-D

i dun know during oscar scan to scan baby gender so i din ask :-(

kimmy, nevermind, can try same method. For your next scan, tell baby you want to go shopping and buy clothes, so must cooperate and open legs wide wide, so mummy know what colour to buy. hahahahaha

Hi mtbs!

Seems like this forum is really coming alive!! I just wish I have more time to talk more here!!

Ilovemiffy: Wow!! Tokyo!! That's like my dream to work and live there! I am very thick-skinned. Always say that I am a pseudo Japanese. Been going there on a yearly basis until 2008 when we decided to go Europe for honeymoon then subsequently got preggy with #1 and now with #2, really have no idea when I am going to step onto Jap soil again...sob sob...

Re: Oscar Test

Wah very fast hor! It's time for that. I had mine around 13 week for my #1, consider late. Ideally should be ard 11 weeks. That one was forced by my gynae. Actually I switched gynae halfway as I was not very happy with mine at KKH. Then when my current gynae realised that I hadnt done Oscar, she just used her influence to extort an appt for us the next day!!! So, I think this thurs when I see her, she will surely ask us to go for the test again.

And actually it's possible to see the gender during Oscar test if the doctor is good. Mine actually predicted correctly!

Re: Panadol

Yep taking those normal panadol is ok. But not those Extra type. I am a long time sufferer of migraine throughout my 1st pregnancy and even now and panadol is the only way I could stay sane.

Hi kimmyksc, i agree with u also. i also find it quite weired. yesterday i was feeling so unwell and feeling very moody all days. then i complain in this forum lor. today suddenly i feel so well :p last few weeks also like that. there is one stretch few days where i no have MS and cos me to be worry and i complain to my hubby and in law about my worries. and know what, following days i starts to vomit again until i cannot stand straight.

i think i want to tell my baby that i want to go Japan tour liao :p How i miss that country.

Hi Daphne,Misty, I just call and check with my Gynae assistant le. she say 20 to 30min for the NT scan only. Hope my baby can cooperate lor.

Hi ilovemiffy, me quite curious what does Japanese ladies eat when they are pregnant. do they continues to eat sashimi? and also what kind of solid does they give their todlers. can share share?

hb called the clinic..they say only done on 15wks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so haiz..just go with the flow. its different here i guess.

wahahaha..suddenly most of you seems to miss japan! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] well, i've been here only for about 2yrs..not short but not too long. its really a gd experience for me. im lucky to connect with some singaporean mummies in tokyo. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] exchange info and also talk about our kids.

Ting, in japan..the doctors advised them not to put on more than 10kg! i know 2 japanese mummies from my boy school who only put on 6kg!! i didnt realise that they are pregnant until they are like 7th mth..they look only like 4mth! Food wise, the doctor did not restrict any food..she say can take whatever i can or wan. so basicaly i took sashimi as usual..and other type of food that dun make me gag :p haha.. one thing good abt japan is the food are very healthy, juices are all 100% and not sweet at all. Everything are so fresh and convienence!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

as for the toddlers food, i think the mummies uses alot of veggies n fish in the toddlers diet

and the kids here dun drink WATER! they normaly drink barley tea..caffein free.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4194128.jpg]

Ilovemiffy: Of course lah! You mentioned that you are living in Tokyo mah and that's like almost everyone's dream to do so. So when are you returning?

Morning Mummies,

Actually, my gynae told me that sashimi is ok for pregnancy, everything also eat in moderation, but early stages try to avoid glutonous rice etc. Very liberal gynae.. everything also can, dye hair also can! Anyone tempted to colour their hair???

gd morning ladies

I am 12 week today, going to do Oscar tomorrow morming at 830am, sooooo early.... I will try the method to talk to my bb so he/she will cooperate tomorrow.

1 more question, 1st trimester is 12 weeks or 13 weeks? i check the net and get diff answers

Ilovemiffy: Cos you mentioned that you are residing in Tokyo now mah! That's certainly the dream of many people! And now the more you mention, the more you are making miss that place. Actually I am planning to bring my girl to Tokyo next year, during Sakura season. Just that with this #2 coming, it's a matter of bringing this one along or not.

Gosh! this forum a bit sot! I thought my 1st msg was not posted so posted another one!! NVM!

Misty: I think it should be fine to rebond or dye hair just that my hairdresser was the one who advised me not to. If die die want, he said he would avoid putting the chemicals too near the scalp.

Babykoh: Think 1st tri is 12 weeks ba.

Really? I didn't know dye hair is ok? I tot have to avoid all the chemicals such as dye hair, rebonding, even nail polish... haha.. but to play safe, better not lah... I also very tempted to dye and rebond... haha..

Wah, barley water caffeine free? Very different from singapore!... but the kids are so kawaii! and the people there are so fashionable! Even in winter, they will be wearing short skirts and boots! Made me feel so 'auntie'... haha..

Hi coconutz! here are you? how was your NT/oscar test? My NT went well nad they will ive the blood test report later. But they couldnt see the gender.

Wow! I didn't know can eat sashimi lei. many pple say scared got bacteria. i heard even uncook eggs also cannot. My in law keep nagging me for eating half boil eggs :p i need to convince my hubby let me eat abit of it. cos i craving for jelly fish...hee

ohhhh i cant post the table dunno why, can someone help me

Nick BabyKoh

Age 31

EDD 19Jan2011

Gynae Dr Woo Bit Hwa

Hospital TMC

Child # 1

Area Jurong

Thanks thanks