(2010) 2009 TTCers Moving on to 2010... Come on in!

pig07

ya lah ya lah.. you very hengz. understand your worries abt the second preg. but seriously think that you got the wrong audience.... some of the gals here has gone thru a lot and still trying.. doesn't help to have pple who keep emphazing how "heng" they are

To the rest of the gals

sorry if I'm intruding and hope you don't mind.

Joy_joy

some pple have different reaction. i was very very very tired when I took clomid. couldn't even go out for shopping and also keep feeling very hot and uncomfortable. But no choice, got to persevere.. me still trying..

joy_joy

in addition, unless you have severe reactions such as ovarian hypersimulation or some other factors that the dr highlight, these discomforts should not be reasons for you to be considered unsuitable for clomid. so just perserve on and jia you!!!

Hi pig07,

dont feel upset abt this "accident" pregnancy. Just treat it as a God's gift. it's heaven's will loh. Anyway, this may save the efforts and trouble of trying a 2nd one later when u already had #2 nw. Just enjoy the preegie process, ok. Take care.

aiya, actually my doc didnt give any info on the clomid at all.. is the pharmcist who gav mi the instruction.. ask him more questions, he say i duno.. u shld ask the doc.. haiz...

i always had hot flush.. so i cant tell if that is one of the reactions.. worse thing i can feel nasueaous anytime of the day.. no actual vomit just nauseaous... anyway it is really getting bad..

joy joy..i would suggest that u see a private gynae as it appears that neither the doc nor pharmacist are veri helpful & u definitely need to be equipped wif more info & sumone ready to clear ur doubts....

2ww = 2 weeks wait (post ovulation)

butter, dunno when she gonna call lor.. till nw still haven received her call. haiz, my hubby said tis gynea so slow one. makes me really wan to switch gynea lor

Hi ladies. I new here and hope to have a bundle of joy in 2009 too. Will be trying in June.

Any ideas on what's a good prenatal pill? I'm currently on GNC's Women's Mega Ultra Multivitamin?

Anyone taking this or was taking this? Shld I stop? If yes, then what's a good brand of prenatal vits to look at?

Thanks for your suggestions [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my gynea juz called me in the office. turned out dat she was trying to call me whole of yesterday on my old mobile no. her asst oni updated my new no. in the system and not in the file. my bloodtest result nt good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] need to increase my clomid dosage fm 100mg to 150mg. feeling super sad nw, beri scared will be like my sis.. highest dosage also dun work. my gynea told me to start on provera tonite so that AF will report next weekend.

promegnate... heard b4 from my gynae best not to take GNC prenatal pills without doc's prescription. So far gynae recommend me to take folic acid for at least 3 mths before TTC. Your hb can also take folic acid together [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

can get it from unity healthcare at $2.50/100tablets. Cheapest in town.

butter,

my hubby work 24hrs a day and off for 2 days. So if O happen on his working day i gone case liao..

sheryl,

i think should still consider fertile.. For me after give birth i just do it and didnt take precaution also didnt strike for the last 2 yrs loh.. Only take clomid then strike..

joy,

i think u should check with the gynae again regarding clomid. Cos it have diff effect on diff ppl. For me is mood swing for that few days only.

bLuBeRi,

sorry to knw that u have to increase the dosage.. Dun worry too much your gynae will monitor u. For me take clomid liao didnt do any blood test lei.. My AF become regular so i think should be working for me. 2 yrs ago i take 25mg and now cos i put on weight i have increase to 50mg.

Promegnate,

I am taking GNC B-complex. My hubby takes too. also taking calcium tablets as well. B-complex contains folic as well...it is an energy booster.

Jappooh, my hubby consoled me n said we try harder the next cycle. hopefully God will hear our prayers.

my gynea started me on 100mg straightaway, tink is coz i'm overweight.

Thanks Mrs Yap and Verene. I've taken your advice and just, like just, made an appt to see Dr K.T. Tan in 2 weeks time at KKH. Will show her my GNC multivitamin and see if I can continue with it and see what she prescribes. Will let you girls know.

Hi bluberi,

maybe it due to the weight. When i was 1st on clomid i am 53kg..So for me is cos i have slight PCOS and i dun O myself so i need clomid to help. Now i am 57kg liao so weight increase dosage also increase..haha

U just starting trying rite? Try harder the next cycle.. I tried for 1.5yrs for my 1st baby loh.. Stress..

I am new here. TTC for my #2. Currently on CD16. Likely to O on CD22 cos I have long cycles. Was told by my first gynae that I had PCOs so when I got pregnant and went to another gynae, she said that I am dun hv PCOs. Sometimes, i doubt their scan accruacy.

Bluberi,

Don worried too much. Me was on 150mg of clomid too. For both cycles i had 2 to 3 follicles. Bluberi, why not check with ur gynae whether can u take metformin together with clomid. My gynae prescribe me with both medication. Metformin helps women with PCOS to ovulate. Hope it helps.

Hey girls, I feel silly asking this. I called KKH and made a pre-conception appt with Dr KT Tan but now I'm confused. What will the procedure be? What will the gynea check on my first visit? And how different is the pre-conception check-up at KKH or my appt with gynea the same? Silly confused...sshhhhh

Hi Promeganate,

i went for the pre-conception checkup.. first visit would take ur urine, blood n do pap smear..

after 2 weeks will go back to see the report.

Personally i find it nt necessary.. for mi after the gynae went thru the report (nothing is wrong), bcos i hav irregular menses, so the gynae gav mi hormones pills to induce my menses, folic acid n clomid for ovalution.. well, i personally find that the gynae n the pharmcist is nt very helpful to mi..

i m in my CD16, took my first dosage of clomid.. but i feel naseaous ever since i started on the hormone pills n clomid.. quite worried abt the consultation fees involved, so tot to take it for the 1st dosage to see how.. actually i am more concern for a detail scan.. i duno wat is tat considered under oso..

called my gynae (Dr WS Law) this evening, but he is on leave.. well, gonna call him next week to see if i could hav the detail scan..

Joy07, i didn't koe abt Metformin leh.. shall check with my gynea when i go for blood test in the next cycle.

I was in 2008 thread, have not strike yet so probably will try for a 2009 baby unless strike this month then will be 2008 tailend baby.

Hi Priscilla,

Welcome to the thread!! =)

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/1338789.gif]

Good morning all, I love Saturday mornings!

Joy joy: I called up KKH just a while ago to check on what to expect. Because I've made a direct appt with my gynea, Dr KT Tan, she would do a cross-examination herself before getting me getting me to get other tests done.

What you went for is the pre-conception checkup which is a package. But I rather just speak to gynea first and go for tests if necessary, lets see...but I sure am excited!

It's the weekend!! enjoy gals!! =)

btw I think we should not have this thinking about TTC all the time... It kind of adds in stress in ourselves. Just go n do it spontaneously n dun think abt TTC all the time. Who knows we can get lucky. Dun give ourselves too much stress gals... just enjoy... less stress more chances of getting conceived. =)

I'm new here. Had #1 in Jun07 and TTC #2. Conceiving #1 seemed easy and fast. The preg however wasn't very easy so that's why we think we should try for #2 while our boy is still small so if, worse case, kena hospitalised/complete bed rest again, he won't remember and be so affected.

Read about clomic and folic. How does folic help? I'm a little on the 'weak' side.. irregular menses, low hb, freq giddy so want to try and boost our chances for #2..

Hey llig welcome!

I've been taking folic acid of 400mg (in my multivitamin) for the past 2 1/2 cycles. This is what I've read abt the benefits of folic acid:

"Consumption of folic acid, a B vitamin, results in a 50 percent to 70 percent reduced risk of neural tube defects, which affect the spine and brain"

And apparently the results would be better if folic acid is taken 3 month before TTC.

Since you've irregular menses, clomid might help. Why don't you see a gynae for pre-conception advise. Plus only a doc can perscribe clomid, think.

Promeganate, thanks for the quick welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wl speak to husband abt seeing gynae but i expect him to tell me to wait a little longer.

But i have lots of folic in my 'collection' at home, will try and start on that.

Hi Prom,

icic.. i wanted such a checkup to see if i got any cycts, cos 5yrs back i did a scan b4, they see cycts in it.. but say tat isnt life threatening nor affecting my life since i m nt at child-bearin age yet..

i tot the pre-conception package wld assure mi abt my doubts... well, i shld b callin up my gynae soon again..

Thanks for all the support and concern... And I also tot this month I might have the chance as this "symptoms" are ralatively quite similar to Mrs Yap (as those needle poking pains ,cramps etc.) BUT my stupid AF came on sat, which explains y my nick back to carine_ezki(CD3) Haiz.. *shake head* And Okok, I noe lots have been asking mi to see a doctor since those bad cramps are not implantation and I supsect is cryst.. So (if I remember) I'll go to a GP today after I knock off.. Haha! thanks ladies! I love u ladies so much! Muacks!

Cuz on saturday morning I experience bad cramps (so pain till I nearly fainted.) So I'm suspecting I may have cryst around the womb, cuz those pains is at lower adominal part, ( which I think is around womb there.)

Morning ladies...

Gd luck to all ttc-ing! Jia you all!

carine...maybe u'll like to consider going straight to a gynae instead of a gp? As they r more pro in diagnosing all these issues...

Hellos!

Carine - - I agree with Elch, get yourself a good gynae. Don't delay such matters even if it's just a suspicion on your part.

Also, for the record ladies to better my chances I've been on this regime for the past 2 cycles:

1. Exercise;

2. Healthy diet - less fried stuff, more veg and fruits;

3. Vitamins: multivits(includes folic acid, vit C (1000mg) and fish body oil (1000mg)--- I would be checking on my consumption with the gynae when i see her in 2 weeks.

4. Have DH take the same set of pills!! Of course he takes multi vits for men instead.

With all this, I hope when I start TTC in the next 2mths, my body will be prepared.

Anyone else on such regime?

Carine

do get a gynae to check instead...

promenganate

my routine is something like yours... I'm on EPO, folic n lots of low fat high calcium milk! Also hitting the gym at least once a week... =)

I'll be TTCing only after aug... :p hee... cos wan to recuperate my body back bef getting preggie again as I just gave birth in oct last year. :p

i'm also preparing to conceive, hopefully for a 2009 baby.

been trying to read up for info. what should i do before i try? kinda lost.

trying to go for blood tests to test for thalasamania (wrong spelling?) etc. should i see a gynae or a normal gp for checkups?

today i have stomach cramp liao. THink my AF reporting soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

promegranate.. u said get Dhs to eat multi vits... as in normal multi vits or is there a special type of multi vit? what brand of multi vits does ur DH take?

Welcome lovelytulips, if you ask me, gynae is the best person to go when it comes to conception matters, including reproductory health.

BabyS --- I really don't know how helpful it is but my DH is taking the following:

1. Multivitamin for men from GNC

2. Fish Body Oil 1000mg from GNC

3. Vitamin C 1000mg from GNC

Apparently, the multivits has zinc which is needed to produce healthy sperms. Also lots of water and vitamin C help the swimmers make their way to the egg more efficiently, quickly!

Plus my DH is not a vitamin-popper so have got to keep a close eye on him.

Hmmm some how the msg i put up earlier did not get thru.

BabyS -- DH is taking:

1. Multi vits for men from GNC

2. Fish Body Oil 1000mg GNC

3. Vit C 1000mg GNC

Apparently, the zinc in multi vits helps make stronger healthier sperm.

Plus lots of water and Vit C make the swimmers swim quickly and efficiently!

Hey girls mushloom's msg got me reminded. Where can I buy cheap OPKs?

I checked out the fertility monitor ($200 plus) and the strips to be used comes at additional price ($80)!

Any cheap alternatives?

hi promeganate, thanks for the welcome.

was thinking whether to get a gynae but scared of the high fees. was thinking of just finding a GP for the blood tests.

how long in advance do you all start taking folic acid? can get those off-the-racks ones?

Lovelytulips -- perhaps you're right, the costs might be higher but the advice would be more specific. Sometimes I dont knw hw much to trust GPs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

From what I've been reading, folic shld be part of the mother's (it's gd for fathers too!) diet for abt 3mths before TTC.

Right nw my folic acid of 400mg comes in my multivit but I will be checking with my gynae to see if I shld take it separately, when I see her in 2weeks.

i checked with my GP, he says his pre conception tests was $90 per pax, $180 per couple..

but i think i still rather go to a gynae.. even if it costs more, the gynae will still be able to answer more questions.. GP may not, and he might just refer u to go to a gynae..

thanks promeganate, my husband is taking the GNC multi vits liao.. shall monitor him closely.... hee...

lovely, i bought my folic acid from unity pharmacy.. purely folic acid only.