(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

jerbunny: heard that there are certain risks to do the trisomy tests. think chloie also mentioned in her earlier posts.

chillimum: i already took out my wedding ring since dunno when... hahaha

visits to gynae: when do u normally start the every 2 weeks visit to gynae huh?

baby kicks: why when bb head down kicks mostly at rib cage area leh? i thot shd be at lower abdomen area? haha...

I heard from a friend, black colour means "health".

For constipation, every morning after you wake up (before brush your teeth), drink a cup of warm honey.

So far my stool quite smooth (^-^)

Morning Mummies....

Baby's Position:

My baby's head was down on the 29th week visit to the gynae. My gynae says by the 8th month if the baby's position is correct, most likely, it will remain the same.

Baby's Movement:

It didn't feel like kicking but pushing and stretching his ways in the constraint space.... :s

Gynae hasn't asked me to count as yet, prob next visit.

However, can still feel his activities very often... sometimes, I wonder is it too often. Most of the time when I am at work and at night.

Don't like it especially when I am having my meals... make me feel like vomitting the food out.

Rings:

Still have both my wedding band and proposal ring on. However, the other rings I always wore couldn't fit anymore....

Constipation:

I have constipation in my first tri. I even tried to dug my own stools that time. It was that bad and gave me pulse. It bled so much that it makes me worried until gynae confirmed it's from the pulse.

Now, I always drink more than a litre of water and make sure I eat at least a portion of fruits everyday. Apple, papaya and kiwi most of the time. It helps!

thanks luckyone n Jerbunny..then i guess mine should be hiccups liao..hehe..I thought he no feeling well so kept asking my hubby to listen my tummy to find out wat's tat..hehe..

I took out my wedding ring since 1st pregnancy, until now no chance to put back on.

I am in week 32 now, and I already put on 15kg. I think I am going to go beyond 20kg again this time. Very hard to control diet for both pregnancy, as I had no MS at all, but maybe I have just in another form: feel very tired and very hungry all the time.

Dunno bb weight how much, last check at week 29, dr ang never told me. Next check up will be at week 33. I am for sure going to ask him for a photo and the weight next week. So frustrated with him. If not for the distance of his clinic to my house, I won't go to him at all.

i try to eat fruits everyday.. mainly papaya, banana.. n yoghurt. helps a little w the bowels.

phew.. so black stools is normal n due to the iron intake... scary ah everytime i poo its black.

my last week visit to gynae at 29 weeks he ask me to return 3 weeks later. usually he only see me once in 4 weeks. now i think beginning to get more freq the visits to see doc. heard last mth to d-day will be once every week.

Chloie, too bad leh, if u delivery at NUH I dun have the rights to give u discount leh, lol.... But if u need to buy anything from NUH then u can inform me, I can get staff price for u.

Finally lunch time... got time to pop in here... quite busy whole morning... had to cover colleague for this whole week... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hmm.. my next appt is 3 wks'time at 35wk.. n im told to go for growth scan..den see doc..

Luckyone... do u hv to go for growth scan? shd be standard for KKH? btw... i hvn't book maternity ward... must go during next appt.. if not too late liao hoh...

Goodday MTBs, FTBs

Our bb is already head down at week 29, now at week 31 still down also. Doc says he will most likely to stay that way. Wife's mother say head down already means can be early labor signs also. Is it true?

My wife only gain 8kg so far and her tummy is quite small for a 8mth pregnant lady, more like 6 mths to me. lol.

Chloie > You are one of the few very strong will Women I have seen/heard in my life.

in week 27, my bb head was down. doc says still will move one.

then last week when i check, bb head is in breach position.

doc says no worries. still will move

maggie mee, my gynae said I don't have to go for any unless I want to.

You better book the ward before Apr hor. Heard from the nurse, after Apr the price will increase.

Alsky, Is it!! My one also head down!! Hope can come out early , after 38 weeks hehe

Huggy, Dr.Ang that u mentioned is it Dr. Lawrence Ang at Sembawang? Initially plan to see Dr. Lawrence but changed to Dr. Fong Yang. I heard from my friend, Dr. Ang everytime "chop chop" one, very fast but always hv long queue..

my bb head also down according to my gynae on week 27 and wk 31, he still down but doc said he might change any position he wants. So, need to monitor again during next visit. My visit also changed to 3 weeks and after tat follow by 2 weeks n 1 week once..

afternoon mummies... so siong to catch all the posts... just scan thru... heehee...

bb-bao

u r simply funny lor... n i think embrassed to the max lor...

chloie

thks... u take care too hor... dun take too much liang stuffs too... i'm gonna start my twice a week coconut juice this week... gd for the warm n humid weather... u jia you!!!

mrs teo

u damn funny lah... i also hate pads to the max... budden since got no choice so i switch to the normal night pads as soon as i could lor... i didnt finish a pack of the maternity pads during my last confinement lor... i think got more than 3/4 left so using it this time round...

weight gain

i also stop bothering abt it liao lah... will use bfing to lose all of it lor...

nipple cream

think i'll buy during the expo bb fair... either avent or medela...

AR

gd that u have a concerned and great HB...

JSP,

what's the good thing about drinking coconut juice.. i also hear good in the 3rd trimester but i dunno for wat leh.. i jsut drink becos nice to drink hahaha....

can anyone tell me what is this growth scan? My gynae also never say anything. Now after 30 weeks she change my appointment to every 2 weeks. Previously was once a month can stretch to 5 weeks as well!

lilstarz, coconut juice is good for smooth delivery and bb skin will become fairer..tis is wat I heard..I will start to take it also..but hard to find the fresh coconut unless go east coast..

Pinnky, NTUC and Giant should sell... only lei chey to try and open it yourself...

Luckily i found it at the hawker centre sell fruit juice type! But i normally take the Big green one not the thai one.. think its that one..

all these talk about coconut juice makes me drooool.. yumz yumz. been eating durians like crazy.. gotta stop soon. thnk durian not good rite?

my chk up is every 3 weeks now, but thk after the next one (32 weeks) will be 2 weeks apart. Got homework eh now, must tick tick how many times baby kick. less than 10 times got emergency number to call. kinda comforting but always forget to note down.

3 more days to weekend. haiz.. 3 days like 3 lifetime...

pinnky.lilstar... i tik i had my 1st growth scan at 28th wk... was scheduled at KKH... take all kinda of measurement of bb... like length, head circumference etc etc... i think shd be a standard protocol of kkh???

Then now at 35th wk... another one loh.. but im glad to have many scan ... haha.. so enjoy have piece of mind... n these scans are clearer than the one at the gynae's place.. cuz machines better bah... can really see bb's clearly!!! n even smiley face! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks lilstartz, will go to find it..my mum said is good to take during morning time but no so often cox too liang..

ya, maggie_mee, u r rite..more scan let us hv peace of mind..but I only did the detailed scan since week 20..the rest tat u mentioned I didnt do it..will ask gynae next week then..how much is the growth scan?

chloie, u delivering at nuh huh? i too have my doubts ah when choosing nuh. but its the nearest to meh workplace and home. so far, i only been to the womens clinic at jeast. so far so good. waiting time 30mins max. gynaes great. no complain. very concern. very thorough too. last detailed scan like one hour!

but, still donno the condition of their rooms. too lazy to go for the tour. anywayz, decisions made oredi. go also no use rite.. hopefully, its ok. try to convince self its l.a.b.o.u.r. not holiday..

but but but the hospital like in a mess. evrywhere got dust and sand. very depressing. til now, donno if i make the right decision abt the hospital... esp, when the price difference is not that much to private hospitals. but, its distance is comforting ah..

yah yah...trying to convince and comfort self. sad, i know..

haiz.

Ya fresh coconut can get from hawker stall and more place where sell juices will hav them too. some rest also have...

so excited abt the expo fair. even though i have done most of my shopping.. left only toyogo drawer, ikea bathtub, changing mat n bedsheet n toiletries.

just saw on today's ST advert Cordlife having promo for cord blood banking at expo think its something like $595 for upfront charge. i think there will be more attractive discounts n deals for other stuff. looking forward to it. but huh scared i go then see the things i bought there cheaper sure dui one. hahaha!!

Durians... i can only dream abt them... yest i thought i smell durians on the way home. then i think maybe i thinking abt durian til hallucinating. doc advise me to stop after i put on 3kg in one mth. he say high in sugar...

pinnky,

me thk detailed scan = growth scan. not sure ah. but standard protocol = at least 2x. at abt week 20 and 32. measurements, head circumference, and to have a thorough check for deformities e.g. cleft lip, extra finger etc..

oh..lilstartz, for the coconut at NTUC or Giant, are they selling those fresh green coconut or "botak" one? cox green one is better..

Now I think if i m in M'sia would be good..cox everytime I bk to my hometown in M'sia, my dad will just go to pick the fresh coconut for me..is so fresh, taste so well..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my friend, obs wannabe, said cord banking = no use. coz the abnormal genes is already in blood. so theres no use for it. or somethg like that. its better if you donate it. shud, say, touchwood, one needs it. priority will be given to donors. and, you will need others cord blood as your very own has the same genetic abnormalities.. so cannot help the situation

donnolah..

Fresh coconut: helps clean up the bb for delivery. So that there's less mess. That's what I heard. Can start when u reach abt 37 weeks. Just 1 a week to start with then slowly up a little as u get closer.

Durian: Heard that it's very nutritious. Saw cases where mummies eat a lot of durians to help bb gain weight for delivery. I'm staying clear for durians for the time being, in case bb grows too big. hahaha.... watch the high sugar in durians also ya. Calories also high. Eat too much will gain weight. =P

Head down: My bb has been head down since 5 months? haha. currently still in that same position. Important is bb must be head down and engaged in the pelvic bone. Head down and floating is no good. Engaging generally happens around 32 weeks, that's why can decide to do c-section or go natural. 2nd pregnancy bb might engage later.

3rd tri detailed scan: Think it's to check if pelvic wide enuff for bb to go thro, and the placenta position, bb position, bb growth and so on. Think most if not all mummies gotta go for this.

chilimum

u going toa payoh toyogo? me wanted to.. then in the end lazy, just go NTUC get.

when are u going ikea? I shd be popping by on weekend. but thinking of taking leave to go on weekday. less crowd. haiz.. just feeling lazy to go work.

pinnky, now you really made me crave for coconut juice. thk will drag husband to east coast park hawker centre... than, can have sambal sting ray oso.... yumz yumz...

hahahahhahaah!! no wonder i gained 13 kg oredi.. lolz.

Blueturtle: the engaging part sounds scary.. will we feel anything when bb engage? omg im getting cold feet now. doc never tell me anything abt the 3rd tri detailed scan also.. gotta check w him next appt.

Mrs Teo: ya i gg tpy toyogo. shd be this week then ikea next week. gg on weekday. ya lor weekend tooo crowded not convenient for us la.

haha..Alina..I also miss the coconut juice..:p

Anyone goin to OG fair 2moro? I might go after work..then weekend go bb fair..seem like lot of activities but then really cant walk much liao..

Mrs Teo, I just went to Ikea yesterday at Queenstown..bought waterproof mattress protector at 9.90, is last pc when i bought it..so lucky! otherwise need to go tampines to buy liao..

blueturtle,

my gynae also nv mention anything abt 3rd trimester scan.

pinnky,

i noe sat sure nua at home... end up very lazy... but if go late, crowded, buying 1-2 items need to q damn long also sianz

chilimum,

i think i take leave to go. now looking at calendar to pick a day. heheh

blue_turtle..maybe cuz gynae says my placenta on low side n bb not engaged yet only head down.. so maybe scheduled me for the growth scan bah....

Me gained 11kg at 32 wks... doc quite concerned abt my weight... ask me to CONTROL!!! hehe... how to ... now me getting greedier n quite bochap...

maggie mee, my gynae also said my placenta on low side so still need to monitor whether i can go for natural delivery..I always talk to bb to help me push the placenta up and it does help..my scan on wk 31 is better than wk 27..

maggie mee, me gained 13 kg at week 30! yah loh, my appetite just blooooooooooooommmzzz.. my mind just riddled with baby stuffs and food and food and food.. lolz!

Pinnky,

What is 'botak' coconut hahaha.. i bought from the NTUC at City Square mall which is at little india there... the BIG one which i assume is the Big green type but they cut off all the skin and all already... and they also had the small little Thai one which was also skin all cut off already....

and then after that right outside City square mall in a corner shop i saw an indian stall selling a mountain of the big green coconut they will help you cut... sigh...anyway go home my husband helped me cut... and after that glare at me tell me go and buy the ready cut ones from drink stall hahahahaha....

maggie mee, Pinnky: i think we got the same placenta problem. mine detected at 20 weeks scan. shd be gg for another scan soon. but so far gynae never mention abt it. just said to check again at the next detailed scan. i just keep talking to bb to help move the placenta everyday. hahaha...

Mrs Teo, Chillimum: u might want to check with gynae if need to do the scan. or maybe for ur case, the gynae can do for u?

i don't think we will feel anything when bb is engage. but engaging means the baby will be "locked" in place ready to come out. think mrs wong did briefly talk abt this in 1 of her antenatal classes also. also the yoga instructor also talks abt engagement of bb's head and what poses not to do after bb is engaged.

Pinnky: I shd be gg down to OG Orchard tmr after work. See if can pick up any other cheap stuff.

I do hope Bb will come out at least 37 weeks if not will consider as premature.

My MIL wanted us to get prepared asap in case BB come out earlier, so we have been busy buying stuffs these pass 2 weeks. Now headache part is to clean, sort and pack everything. Now my house is full of BB stuffs and yet to prepare. Me and wife are 2 lazy ppl. lol.

Durian, ha, This Fri will be bringing my wife to eat after dinner at a crab restruant with her family, then sat, celebrating my grandma birthday, we ordered durian cake as well, lol. Actually there's no harm eating la, just dun eat too much can le.

Anybody know when to start drink coconut water ah?

gd aftn mummiessssss

hmm..my gynae oso nv mention anything abt my placenta or 3rd trim scan. Gonna chk with her during nex appt >.<

Now then i knw the "dock dock" is my bb hiccup..so kawaiiiiiiiiiiiii

Pinnky - i'm going OG sale tmr with my mum but i going in the morn, hopefully can avoid the crowd.

bb-bao oso going aft work.

Chloie - Quite a num of mummies recommend Mustela nipple cream...so i think should b nt bad. But i bought Medela nipple cream by mistake >.<

lilstarz, "botak" one means no skin type..hehe..I prefer to buy those green coconut and ask hubby to open it n drink fresh..so u mean we can get it at little india there?

blue turtle, my gynae also said the same thing..hopefully 3 of us can hv normal placenta position by time..*pray*

Alsky, when into 3rd trimester, can start to hv coconut juice but no so often..perhaps 1 in a week and then 1 week before edd, can tk it more frequently..