(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

shuyan,

Yeah now I know which OG at Bugis you were talking about. I kept thinking Bugis Junction got OG mehhh...

I bought 6pc for $11 leh.. aiyer old uncle dont wanna gimme more discount!

But I guess I wont buy more from there lah, the material abit lousy leh.. haha.. the cotton not as soft as those from Kiddy Palace or dept stores.

thanks blueturtle,

In that case I think I better go check out the si ma lu place for some new towels.

bb-bao,

er...u mean they place the car towels and the bb towels side by side? ..want to avoid the same embarassment if I go there ley.. :p

infant rocker.. i bot in taka bb fair for $149.

saw in iddy palace today (bishan branch) for only $109.

One of the mummy told me that she saw was 139 somewhere..

go get from kiddy palace- its the fisher and price one..

i've bot from kiddy palace the disposable bed spread (5 in a pack for $6.90) now having 20% for members and 15% for non members.

i saw the pureen maternity pad.. wanted to buy.. then like see its so THICK.. feel sianz.. put it back. very reluctant to buy pads... aiyah... feel like just letting it FLOW.. and drip everywhere. hahahah (i noe its so disgusting... )

maybe nearer the date of delivery then i get. or maybe get ultra thin pads (those normal ones) but keep changing every hour...!!!

bbf,

No lah, I believe the car towels and table cloths are on the upper shelf, and the baby towels on the lower shelf.

That day I kept bugging the guy and asked him so many qns until I paiseh, so I decided to gey kiang and choose the towels myself.

Now I know I cant trust myself.

Dont know why I always do this kind of embarrassing things one leh.. like at the dept stores,

I will open boxes to check the items inside, in the end everything spill out *cling clang* all over the floor.

Or, I take something off the rack, then other things will fall off the shelf and racks.. Dui*

Hello mummies...

Nipple cream:

medela nipple cream need not wipe off too.

Hubby:

men ego. My Hubby has been nice enough to help me with laundry but I think one fine day, he had really enough to tell me that I haven't been doing anything! And he started to nag at me for not doing this and that.

I looked at him. Puzzled. What came across my mind is that, he is a man after all. And he came from a family that his mum will do everything for him.

Then again, I quoted him an example like I have to put away the things he made mess and he couldn't just sweep away everything else I have done just because I did do things he wanted me to do.

We always have timeline in shopping. Cos he always plan the time nicely till I dun have more time. I am also anxious about getting things done, I would tell myself to take thing easy, it will gradually be done. I would tell him I wish to do certain things by a certain date, and explain to him my reason. He will tell me his thoughts if he has a 2nd opinion, else most of the time he will compromise.

I guess, it's all about give and take, and if defy much easier to say. Just dun let it spoil our mood. Like some mummies, I will just go ahead and doing myself if I do not feel like waiting.

mrs teo, i got the slim maternity pads from mothercare. a little bit more expensive than the regular one. 1 got 2 packs slim and 1 pack normal. i absolutely hate pads. so eekkyyy... but can't switch back to tampons until after 6 weeks. yawnzzz

LucasMummy,

Well said - I totally agree with you!

Men dont have maternal instincts, they wont feel as anxious as us. My hubby was like saying we should get the items nearer to due date, and I was like,

hello I'll be so pregnant then I cant move anymore. My FIL also asked "why buy the stuff so early?" Sometimes I just cant be bothered to answer them..

Anyway ladies, do what you think is most right for yourself and baby. If hubbies can help, that's a BONUS. But if they dont, dont be disheartened... they are just not good with details.

Like what LucasMymmy mentioned, it's their upbringing also.. when I first went to my hubby's house (then bf), seems like no one in his family do housework!!!!!

OH MY GOSH, the walls got cobwebs one! The floor like nv mop b4, bedsheets nv change, got bedbugs too! YUCKS...

I was hoping that there is a chance that I will be away from hubby for one week or more, I see how he survive without me picking his mess and doing his laundry!

Now I am so glad that my mum was so strict with us kids and she would force us to do some housework when we were young..

Mrs Teo....

Until u see the amt of blood, u probably hoping for the thickest to stop the drip and drop....

blueturtle, u only gained 5kg.... think no additional fats... it's basically weight of ur waterbag, placenta and baby......

baby_t

not sure if it's true.... haaa... but another gf who has given 2 still look slim and told me the most difficult fats to get rid of is those at the butt!!!

bb-bao, basically, i didnt say much. I always tell myself not to expect too much. I'm sure there are other things we love about them...

Jia you all mummies! I should be in my 33 weeks now.... can't wait to visit bb Lucas on Thurs to see his progress!

bbf: Hope you enjoyed your one-day tai tai life today.

bb-bao: I went to check out the Graco Car seat at Vivo Toys r us and it's sold out! They only left with 2 at Tampines 1 but also don't know if it's confirmed stock.

Anyone looking for lady to bathe your baby only to help you save the costing of doing confinement??

I'm a mother of 2 looking for a freelance job. I'm looking for bedok area or Sengkang area(May 2010)

If any mummies interested, can SMS me at 94993238

Cheers, Jasmine

tinospora my neighbour lent me his capella stroller when I was down in Sg back in December. I saw a similar model in OG. Not too sure if that is the one you are referring to? I have a few pictures of it on my FB if you want to see if it is the same model.

The stroller is not too bad. My son seemed rather comfortable in it and it was easy to transport around. I used the buses and MRT most of the time and it was not a problem. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I guess this is my earliest post ever. Anyway, went to my gyne ytd. She checked my vijaja and said that my cervix has expanded so maybe that's why it is causing the spotting/bleeding. It is caused by the extra weight/pressure from the excess amnio fluid. Nothing much can be done too. So I can only cross my finger that I wont be having early labour. And the amnio test this coming Wed would most probably be taking blood from bb's umbilical cord and not the amnio fluid. And also got to cross my fingers to hope I wont go into early labour cos of it.

I hope I'm not affect everyone with my complications. I just so happen to be the unlucky one out of 25,000 pregnancy. LOL!

JSP> Take good care!

KTSC> I see. Maybe cos I have been taking watermelon, chin chow, barley recently so I could be having that bai dai. My gyne did a swap test for me ytd. Got to wait for the result to see if there is an infection.

blue_turtle7> Isit? Then I got to stop wearing them once my spotting ends.

bb-bao> Dont worry on bb's weight as long as bb is healthy. Bb will gain the weight back when they are out.

Mrs Teo> I am also very tempted to get the bb monitor. Was telling my hb that we go q at 7am then buy liao can sleep the whole sunday away. LOL!

Sue> What piang! You are bringing so much items to hospital ah. I think you should call it hospital luggage liao, not bag. Actually I have tot of just stuffing all my stuffs into a luggage so hb & I wont need to carry so much thgs over our shoulders when we discharge. Just pull and go. I think I should really use a luggage. LOL!

blurangel> If I were you, I would be angry too. What's wrong with eating all that stuffs? You should let your cough recover first before you start to go buy for bb stuffs. When you are not fully recovered and add on stress, you will never get well. Take a few days of leave and rest at home. Hb dont want to help then dont bother about him. Get your family to help you. Then probably he will start to feel left out then would start to help you. Dont compare him to our hb. He would feel even more angry only. Just leave him alone.

Kiddy Palace Discount> I dint know that the sale is not for all items though it stated store wide. Must go complain. Misleading us. But hor the Desitin cream is selling at $12 I think. So if it has 20% discount, it would be at $9.60, same price as the bulk purchase price. I shall go take a look to see if it is on discount.

Weight gain> I have stop bothering about my weigh gain. Gained so much but bb weighs only 10% of the weigh gain. I guess I just have to keep pumping the milk after birth to lose all the weight. LOL!

Will continue to read the posts later..... Hb chasing me out of the house to go see what time the swimming pools open. *DUH!*

Ok I'm back! Let me continue....

bb-bao> Wahahahaha! But hor, who would expect that shop to sell towels/cloth for car washing right! That uncle is bad lor.

Mrs Teo> You need to get the pads sooner or later lor. LOL! You wont want your tampons to go missing suddenly right? Hahahahahahaha!

Breast shield / Nipple shield> Avent has two types right? 1 is the shell set, which can collect the milk, the other is the shield set, which protect sore/cracked nipples during breastfeeding. So which to buy huh? Or buy both?

Diapers> Check this website for the diapers price. Not sure of the diapers market price yet.

http://www.ibaby.com.sg/shop/

Nipple cream> Which brand to buy huh? As long dont need to wipe off would be good.

Mrs N: Thanks for your feedback on the Capella stroller! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I think i will go check out the expo baby fair this weekend to see if got other deals... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning MTBS.... had my cravings for Mac breakfast... yumyum...satisfied... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Sipping my coffee now... can't help it... tik next time my bb sure immune to caffaine! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning Morning!!!

my middle of the night toilet trip is up from one trip per night to 2 to 3 trips. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Natural training for midnight feeding ah? -Sigh....

Chloie, dun worry I pray that everything will go smoothly for u. God will be by your side throughout. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I am jealous u get to go swimming! I tried convincing my hb but its all in vain. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] He keeps reminding how i will start sneezing and that I will look greatly out of proportion in the swim suit. (I bought XXXXL size u know.)

My weight also piling up. last was 76kg (Exceeded my yoga instructor's quota of 15kg max alr.. hehehe) and bb only 1.9kg... My wedding ring cant fit my finger also... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] My hb says if I continue to be lazy and keep complaining I am tired I will get fatter. I felt like smacking him with the newspaper! then cudnt be bothered alr bec they really wudnt understand...

Apart from that i think I am one of the lucky one with BONUS hb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My hb actually takes great care of me during my pregnancy. When go bb shopping, he is actively involved.- But I have one problem convincing him getting the rubber cot sheet protector. He says just leave the mattress with the plastic then put few layers of bedsheet over it. I dun like the idea at ALL!!!!) And since after our bb shower, he wud ask how is all the mummies and ask what topic we are discussing. Heheh.. I guess some hb's are more expressive then the others. But must pity them too. bec the bb is inside us and sometimes they feel sad that they cant play that major role...

I am going on friday evening for the Expo fair. Hope to see some of u mummies there! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Luckyone, going for yoga this thursday. I bought 5 classes still havent use. Need to go continuously from this week if not will be wasted...

bb-bao.. dun worry, I am in the clumsy club with u. I drop everything when I turn or walk throughout a narrow alley! heheheh!

Okie! Back to work now!! Take care ladies!!

Chloie, must tk good care of urself n esp after the amnio, hv plenty of rest ok...ur pregnancy kinda like roller coaster...for mi i dunno if i can tk it anot....I realli peifu u alot.. jiayou jiayou~~

re: decreased fetal movement

lately my bb hasnt been moving as much as before. seldom kick mi or move much...even if kick mi, not as strong as before...it's becos they r bigger now n no space or? im abit worried but dun wan to come across as worrying for noting..

But i read many of u all r saying how hard n frequent ur bb is kicking u, but i dun have that for abt 3-4 days already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Chloie, Jia You, Jia You!

AR, I alredy took out my wedding ring since 2 months ago. You still can wear untill now no bad already haha.

Ok, see you this Thursday. I will probably buy nice bread from ION and have nice starbuck coffee before the class. If you want to join me, SMS me hor.

bb-bao, hahaha the uncle was bored is it? Even you took the wrong one no need to speak so lound mah.

I wanted to go there to buy towel too but my husband said it very crowded there better don go..

Hiaz..why man also so kan cheong? This can't do that can't do... we're pregnant only not sick!

Yesterday he even said don use internet everyday because it bad for baby! haha man!

destiny, yeap my baby too. Kicking not as strong as last 2 weeks.

But you have to observe it, every 1 hour must have a bit movement, if not 10 movement per day.

Can record down on papaer if you can't remember hor.

luckyone, yes caffeine will mk our bb more active inside the stomach ..according to my dr, becos bb move around more due to caffeine, bbs will tend not to be as chubby cos they burn more fats inside. anywae, a cup a day is ok, but not excessive la.

luckyone , every hr has to have abit of movement, definitely not for my case. He can stretch for many hrs like even 6-8 hrs then sudd move..then again not as frequent / strong as last time.

Anywae I just called my clinic, the clinic nurse asked mi to go down if my bb move lesser than 10 times a day. After putting down the fone, my bb starts to kick mi liao..maybe trying to tell mummy im ok inside dun worri.

haha luckywan , yes good wan...maybe i drink abit of cola n coffee to perk the sleepyhead inside when im worried. perhaps tis bb is just not as active as his sister ...

Chloie don take any more barley, that time i go fu hua the lady tell me pregnant cannot take barley one cos will cause contraction one

Anybody has any idea when shd baby be in position? Is it by week 35? Kinda worried, cause last check, baby still breach.

I wonder if it is possible to feel baby's position when we touch our tummy. I always feel something hard protruding below my ribs. Wonder is it baby's head or butt.

gladseow,

you are in wk 35 already? OMG.. so fast hor.

if not wrong, bbf also almost same as you right?

Counting down liao hor?

A R> Actually I dont swim when I go to the pool lei. I just soak myself in the water and watch hb swim. He's the one who is swimming 5 times a week. But he told me to walk behind him while he swim so that I am "exercising" at the same time. Maybe I should hor. Have not gone to the pool for sometime liao. Should start to go back.

destiny> What to do???? My dad even "scolded" me for not telling them of what is happening. Like when we got bad result for the week 12 blood test. But the thing is that we dint know of the seriousness & defect till last week also mah. Like very yuan wang. But I know he did it for our own good lah.

And I dint know that coffee will make bb more awake! No wonder she has been moving so much today cos I drank coffee at about 5.30am.

adelene> I know I'm not supposed to drink barley but hor I read before that actually we need to drink to prevent UTI lei. So I kept it moderation. About 1-2 cups a week.

gladseow> I did check with my gyne on how to determine whether if bb has turn head down. If you feel kicks ard your ribcage ard then bb shd be head down aldy. Cos usually kicks are more painful/stronger than punches so maybe you can use this as a gauge. But it's better to ask your gyne too.

Chloie, not advisable to take watermelon and only take chin chow and barley once in a blue moon. Too liang to take often.

BBF taiai, is the beanie pillow consider a good buy?

Gladseow, my gynae told me by 32th week, BB position would be more confirmed to predict for natural or C-sect. But still have to depend on the size of BB. If size too small, still would have room for him or her to change position.

bbf> Could you help me change the status of my delivery hospital to TBA. I might need to go deliver at restructured hospital cos going private for my case would be very costly cos my bb would most probably need special care. Thanks!!!!!!!

Chloie, forget to ask u, did you try to get a 2nd opinion from another gynae? Just in case, to confirm the results.

My gyne refer me to NUH and was scanned again by the Prof so isit considered as 2nd opinion? The amnio test tmr would be done in NUH also. So if I were to deliver in restructured hospital, I think most probably would be in NUH also ba....

Mrs Teo, no la, I am in week 30 now. Jus worried that baby no space to turn.

Chloie, thks for the info. Hmm. guess baby have not turn, still very hard near the ribs area.

KTSC, warh. Week 32 is another 2 more weeks. Hope baby will gui gui turn ard soon. I very scared to cut my tummy leh.

hellooo..

no mood to work.. maybe its the weather.. maybe its the nearing to d-day.. maybe im just feeling sleepy... yawn

Wedding Ring: i just took out mine two days ago. getting too tight n uncomfortable. now wo the ring my finger feel so relieved...

jerbunny: its prob the bb legs or hands pushing at yr tummy.

im so bored now im thinking of wat to hav for lunch already.. hmm..

Chloie, what makes your gynae perform detail check again to determine those abnormalities in her? Bleeding? Week 12 result?

Sorry if you have explained earlier, if yes, I might have missed your post.

I did not have good result for Trisomy 18 during my week 12 scan but after another detailed scan done by some specialist ard week 15, they concluded that it was something to do with my blood test, not about the baby. I did not understand fully.

I was thinking should I be asking my Gynae to check again for any Trisomy 18 symptoms again?

I think my baby head already down? last nite can feel his hiccup from lower part. Baby's hiccup is it sound "dok, dok, dok, dok" huh? Anyone know?

Jerbunny did you went for detail scan? I ask my gynae if I need to go for any blood test or detail scan after 32 weeks which somepeople requested to do, he said my detail scan is ok and don require to do any.

Luckyone, I'm in my week 32 now. Will be visiting my Gynae this coming Saturday. He did not mention to me anything about another round of detailed scan. I shall ask him.

But so far so good, all monthly scans done by him previously, he commented my baby's weight is good and very healthy generally.

Shall request a detailed scan to have a peace of mind.

A-Z of natural pain relief

Here's an A to Z of ideas to help you cope with pain and feel in control of your labour:

A: ask for information: the more you know, the more relaxed you'll feel

B: breathe rhythmically, and relax as you breathe out

C: cuddle your husband or birth companion

D: drink sips of water in between contractions

E: eat carbohydrate-rich foods when you feel hungry

F: fan yourself with a small electric fan

G: groan and moan: making a noise is a great form of pain relief!

H: hold your partner's hand

I: imagine your baby moving down through your pelvis with every contraction

J: joke with your partner and the midwife; keep things in perspective!

K: kisses (from your partner, Mum, sister, friend)

L: listen to music to help you relax

M: move around to make yourself as comfortable as possible

N: nestle down in a large pile of pillows or a huge bean bag

O: open your pelvis as wide as possible to help your baby be born, eg: kneel on one leg with the other out to the side

P: think positively: 'Each contraction brings me closer to the birth of my baby'

Q: question what you don't understand; being frightened will make the pain worse

R: rock your pelvis round and round and back and forwards with each contraction

S: sigh out gently with every breath

T: trust your body: you do know how to give birth!

U: understand the treatment being offered; if you understand, you can cooperate and make things easier

V: visit the toilet regularly; a full bladder will slow your labour

W: walk around to ease aches and pains and bring on contractions

X: more kisses!

Y: yell, loud and long, and then try to get back into a good breathing pattern

Z: zzzzzzz: doze off in between contractions

Chloie, if u delievery in NUH, inform me, cos me working in NUH.

Wedding band I already took out long ago, cos cannot fit into my fat fingers liao lol....

i have a qtn tats been on my mind.. anyone experience black color stools? i been having it since first trimester leh. black as in like almost charcoal black. n also constipation...

gladseow> My ribs area are also hard lei, not sure about the rest cos I'm special case mah. The hardness could be your muscles know. So dont worry much. Try talking to your bb to co-operate. Usually they can "understand".

chillimum> I have no mood for work also. I think is the weather. Im finally freezing in my office after so long!!!!! Am thinking of what to have for lunch too then suddenly remember that I'm supposed to be on vegetarian menu today so have to erase off the non-veg menu from my mind now. LOL!

Jerbunny> Ooh! No worries! I had spotting last Monday then went to my gyne then she say scan to take a look. Then she cant see bb's stomach bubble and notice that I have excess amnio fluid from the ultrasound. There could be some digestive issue with my bb. Maybe bb cant swallow the fluid that's why I have excess amnio fluid. So that's why she send to me to NUH for a more detailed scan. Not sure if it is cos NUH's equipment is better or what cos my mum also ask me why not go KKH. I totally have no idea.

What was your result for trisomy 18 from the week 12 blood test? Mine was 1:126. Im not sure whether you want to get your gyne to check again for trisomy 18. But there are cases whereby there are bad results from trisomy 18 but bb turns out fine. I really hope that my complications are not affect you.

chen shuyan> If I deliver at NUH, can I get discounts thru you??? LOL! Just kidding lah!

Wedding band> I hope I can wear it till after deliver cos so far still so good. *opps* My excess weight went to my tummy lah. Remember my Most boomz preggie tummy? So my fingers were spared......

Hi morning mummies..feel sleepy today..

chilimum, I also hv black colour stools n serious constipation..I guess is becox of the iron that we took..should be fine..try to tk prune juice or guava, it works for me..but I didnt tk it quite often as the prune is very sweet..

for the wedding ring..I took out long time ago cox afraid later cant tk out as duno whether can we wear it during delivery or not..

luckyone,

Yes, my bb's hiccup also dok dok dok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chilimum,

Mine also black color, but don't worry, it is the extra iron that we took. You take multivitamin and preggy milk powder everyday right? There are iron inside them.