(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

ktsc,

video monitor is a "want to have" like so cool. i've already gotten hand me down normal bb monitor (audio nia).

i think hubby wun bring me there.. sunday is his regular "bring-precious-dogs-to-sentosa-swim day"

sorry this is very out of point but i'm so loving the channel U show "The Illusionist"!!! Think Thomas Ong is so cute for a 41 yr old! hahaha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Blurangel,

*hugz* *hugz* guess he meant gd cus you are coughing so better to avoid chocolate & durian. But not in front of frens lah... a bit paiseh right! Men all like that one lah... ask them to pack like asking for the impossible. Sometimes dun wish to nag but dun nag cannot lor.

Shopping,

my hb wont mind shopping with me cus I shop real fast. Last weekend i already bought all that i need for our bb and he went "finished? so fast?"

tinospora

i din noe thomas ong is 41.. i thot he is like late 30s.. (like 37, 38..) - these pple can really bao-yang..

Blurangel, I think your hubby is going thru pre-natal blues. But u have not eaten alot of heaty food, right? Just the durian puff, the durian crepe and the pc of chocolate, right? There is a belief that when preggy crave for something to eat, then control very hard to resist it, BB would be drooling most of the time and could only stop at later age than other kids. I like how Mrs Teo tease her hubby. Very good job.

Hi KTSC, thanks for the direction..I just showed my hubby and he is quite interested so we might go to queue..I am interested to buy the chair and monitor but need to go 2 days then..did u ask them any terms n conditions for this special early bird purchase? eg, min spend of how much? cox it really a huge discount which hard to believe..

Mrs Teo..which part u staying? I can send u a lift if we staying nearby.

pinnky, thanks. me staying in potong pasir. its alright, i've seen that only the video monitor is a good grab. the rest of the items i dun nid.

thanks for the offer, i will let u noe... coz if one of my gf wants to go with me then i'l be more hardworking, pick her then drive down all the way to toh guan... Zzzzz....

excuse me 2nd time mummies,

nipple cream is to apply before or aft bb feed? then aft apply, must wash or not? will bb be eating the cream when we latch them?

Hi MTBs

I'm new to tis forum. First of all congrats to all MTBs.

My bb is due in 30th may and tis is my first bb.

Bb-bao

I'm interested in getting e medela freestyle pump. Is it possible for u to lobang as well for e shipment??

Cos e price different is really huge!! As taka fair is selling @

$799. Thanks

Pinnky, I just call up Mums and Babes "again" :p We just need to queue for the early bird products, no minimum purchase required.

Same query as Mrs Teo on the nipple cream. When to use it and is it necessary?

How about nipple shield?

I did not buy because I'm not sure if I need it.

1st time mummy here, sorry if I sounded silly.

hi pinnky,

yes its really far from ur place.

its okie, me found the route to get to toh guan. if i hardworking/ and is more independent, then will go on sunday.

Mrs Teo, apply the nipple cream after BB feed as there would be interval of 3 hours to the next feed. And always wipe clean the area before the next feed

Thanks KTSC..I just called up mums n babes also..yeah, is same thing..first come first serve..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I guess I might give up the nano chair cox I need to attend antenal class on Sat..

yes..sure lot of ppl will go there to queue early..maybe 7-8am i think..but only 10ppl..will mummies go to queue during midnight like I-phone launched tat time? haha..

ya lor.... dun knoe must be there wat time to be the 1st 10. Somemore, I would be taking train. But maybe I can ask hubby to give me a lift. he starts work at 8am, so I might reach there so early lor, gg to have panda eyes already.

if 1st 50 customers.. then still okie.. 10 is really too limited. unless stay nearby okie la. no harm.

i will skip this.. probability of getting it very slim.

Rilak,

Welcome to the thread!!

I am not sure when I will be buying.. probably end of April.. already spent so much this month, my hubby is going to faint when he sees the bills.

If you need the pump soon, I think there is someone selling in the Bulk Purchase thread.. probably around $450-490 for Medela FS.

I believe moondust ordered one from there too.

I hope the prices dont go up drastically... Will keep you update okie?

KTSC - Tks for making the effort to call them. I think its funny dat i reached there so early juz to get the high chair but but but....I really feel tempted to get it..AwwWWWWw

Mrs Teo - According to the instruction manual on the nipple cream i bought, apply aft feeding n no need to wash off after dat. IMO, i will still clean my bust b4 any feeding

Blurangel - I agree with the rest of the mummies, u should hv a heart to heart talk with ur hubby. I believe he dun means to hurt u. I told my hubby b4, if he is nt making an effort for bb's arrival then dun expect a 2nd bb. There was once when my hubby irritate me...then i pat my stomach n tell my bb "Call him uncle when u r out ok?" =PpP

Mrs Teo, I think its somewhat like teats. I think its a sheild when we are breastfeeding.. in case we have sore nipples?

Not sure... so I need to check with experience mummies here....

Mrs Teo, i bought the Avent nipple cream, it says safe for breastfeeding on the box so no need to wipe...

Jerbunny: Breast shield, i think it's for "catching" hold of leaking breast milk, so that there's no "wastage".

i got this other nipple thing with my Avent set. Used to prevent sore nipples. Not sure if you are refering to this instead. It's like a cover to put over ur nipples before u feed the baby so that the bb dun get into direct contact with urs. in case bite, the silicon shield will be a barrier to u getting hurt.

Pinnky: i dun think mummies will go queue overnight, but maybe u will see daddies there. haha...

for those who are interested in getting combi car seat coccoro, i noticed it was selling at $269 at ToysRUs. im not sure if this is the common set that u all get it from other places.

Bb-bao

I don't need it urgently as for e spree purchase doesn't seem to include cooler bag etc. E price is stated @ $496 email them but no response. U keep me updated!! Thanks alot.

Took me a long time to finish all the posts in this thread...

KTSC, nice bumping into you at RW last night... In the end, we did not go for Chilis, cos 45min waiting time. Went to Ruyi instead and had an 'average' tasting dinner.

RE: Nipple Cream

I got Palmers nipple cream, cos I am the kind who will sometimes forget to clean the breast area before feed... So Palmer's nipple cream is better for me, cos bb can ingest it.

RE: Baby Sales / Fairs

I will be going to Mums & Babes' sale on Friday, most likely getting my additional pair of breast shields (Medela Softfit) there.

As for the Babycare Fair, I will be going on Saturday, just before my church service. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Only looking out for Parklon playmat, Graco Citilite R stroller... And maybe a few other small items. Not a lot to buy since #2 is using hand-me-downs from #1. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Epidural injection,

I had induced labour for no.1, the pain is like hell to me, couldn't even walk or do anything, laughing gas has no use at all, only made me dizzy and the pain even worst. Couldn't bear it anymore and asked for epidural (didn't opt for it at the first place). At that point of time, I looked like a very stressful mad woman [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ok, what I am trying to say is, the epidural injection came like a big relieve to me. I didn't even bothered by the big needle and the injection, it felt like nothing as compared to the pain in my tummy ~ felt like being hit by a truck on and on again. Immediately right after the injection, it was peace.......

I hope this time round I don't have to be induced again. Hope the baby will come out naturally before EDD. I rather experience the natural labour pain, not the induced labour pain.

My advice to MTBS, if you opt for epidural before you get any labour pain, for sure there will be some pain during the injection. But make sure you stay very still and don't move a bit. This is to make sure no side effect after labour and that all the epidural goes into the right place.

Nipple cream,

Apply after latch on, don't have to wipe off.

But there is another effective way taught by the lactation nurse: squeeze some breast milk out and apply on the nipple and let it air dry for 5mins (don't cover up immediately). It healed my sore nipple very fast. A very natural and effective nipple cream.

But of course we still need the nipple cream at the 1st few days when our breast milk is not established yet. I had sore nipple from the very 1st day when the baby girl suckle too hard and with a wrong way. My breast milk only came at 3rd day but it was all blocked, cannot come out. Haiz....very long story if talking about my bf experience, so I shd stop here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nipple shield:

I bought the pigeon one before, a waste of money, don't buy. Not effective, can't fit the nipple and the breast and had a plastic smell, baby didn't like it.

Good day MTBs n FTBs,

blurangel, mayb ur hb concern abt u on sweety stuff but he overtone his voice bah. I always nag my wify or stare at her if she say she wanna eat durian stuffs infront of me cos doc told me to control her on sweety stuff. n when u did not heed him or bothered, he becomes angry cos he felt u do nt appreciates his concern thats y he say those things to u. btw not many man like to b bothered with shopping stuffs for their bb n prefers to stay out of it. my big bro is one such example. if u really like to eat durian, dun eat infront of him. thats what my wify will reply me when i nag at her..(but i done my part)

mrs heng, i like hw u poke ur hb. There was once when my hubby irritate me...then i pat my stomach n tell my bb "Call him uncle when u r out ok? its more creative than what my wify tell me all the times. haha.

Hi Everyone, any mummies here hv chosen a date for c-sect already? Went for my check-up last fri and everything is alright n baby currently weigh 2kg n i gg for c-sect again for my 2nd preg so doc advise go for c-sect on last week of april as edd is 14 May so will be on 38wks gestational. Currently, pending for a few good dates from 'shifu' n will confirm wit my gynae my next visit in early apr.

As for taka fair, I went yesterday n bought pigeon baby wipes, newborn teats, breastpad n pillow. Quite crowded n didnt stay long just chop chop buy n go. Everything so excited n looking forward to our newborn arrival..so will n off to pack my hospital bag.

Oh yes, I still contemplating to deliver in TMC or Mt A, i staying in single room..anybody can share with me their experience in MT A?

Just to share the diapers prices I saw at Venus today. Pampers small 58pcs $14

Mefium 68pcs $22.9

Large 60pcs $22.9 

xlarge 34pcs $ 14.9 Venus can use uob card 3% rebate.

din see other brands but mamypoko seems more ex and fairprice huggies newborn 24pcs is $7.15. Think taka is $7.

RE: Nipple Cream

Some nipple cream requires cleaning of the breast area before latching on / expressing. Please check. I used Mothercare's nipple cream prior to switching to Palmers. Mothercare's nipple cream requires wipe off and Palmers does not.

Just for info.

NB diapers dun buy too much.. BB mostly use up to max 2 weeks, then will switch to small size diapers le.

Oh ya.. do you buy bathing towels specially for bb/infant?? what kind of bathing towel should i buy.. i got no idea at all lei..

Pls advise.

Jo, Thanks for the NB diapers infor.

I also haven't buy any towel. This Friday will go expo fair and see whether can get.

huggy, Thanks for sharing the epidural infor.

I will try Yoga 1st then ask for epidural later (3 to 5cm later)

wow...today's thread is SSSssssooooooo long.

KTSC,

yes, I experience my tai tai lifestyle with edie for half a day....very shiok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I ended up buying only one beanie pillow from cheeky bon bon for $9.90.

Looks like I'm a cheapskate taitai in the making. :p

Anne_Raj,

should be able to get a slot if you book the chalet now right?

Jerbunny,

pain from epidural injection will probably be nothing by comparison to full blown contraction pain.

Blurangel,

*sayang* I suppose everyone displays our affection differently...

plus if u already had a cough, eating more chocos and durian puff will really be bad for you.

mayb your hb suffering from pre-natal anxiety also..i think my hb had that for #1.

They need sometime to come to terms with what to expect for #1 as well, like loss of freedom, sleep, S** etc etc.

But you should really talk to him abt the shouting, especially if it's really something you won't want to tolerate or to be repeated in the future.

BBbao,

haha was really laughing out loud abt ur comment on the washing your hb face part. super funny! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

RE: Nipple cream:

I only apply after and when my nipple feels sore or when it is bleedng. You can also choose to apply after every feed.

After the 1st month, I stopped using it totally coz by that time both would have learned to latch on properly.

Any brand is ok as long as it's only ingredient is 100% Lanolin.

It will not be toxic and perfectly safe for bb, and you won't have to clean it off.

A little goes a long way too so no need to stock up tubes and tubes of it.

Huggy is right, your own breastmilk is also good remedy. In fact, I personally found it more effective than the nipple cream.

RE: Breast shield / Nipple shield

Personally, I found the breastshields useful to protect the nipple from abrasion with our clothing,

especially when they get very sore, anything that rubs against it will feel like sand paper. Plus it can double up to collect leaking milk. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The nipple shield oth is to protect sore nipple when breastfeeding, but it does nothing to promote a good latch on.

And most breastfeeding literature will advise against it. It was useless for me and expensive too.

Talking about buying towels.. I was a total joke last Saturday.

I was at this shop gladseow recommended, the one opp the Guan Yin temple at Si Mah Lu.

I had a hard time deciding which packet of towels to buy, in the end I chose a colourful pack 'cos the material quite soft.

When I brought the towels to the counter, the old uncle immediately said loudly,

"Ehh.. Miss ah.. these towels are for WASHING CARS one leh, not to wash your baby.."

I think everyone turn and look at me lor! So embarrassing!!

wahahaha bb-bao....simply hilarious!!!!!!!!!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Haha bb-bao thats quite funny.... but don't blame you also... the whole shop all baby and children stuff why suddenly got towels for washing cars... they also damn odd lor....

Are the ikea ones from the children section, like 10 in a pack with the colored hooks too rough?

Coz I bought 2 packs for my son's re-nursery but in the end he didn't need to use that many.

Was thinking of putting that to good use.

bb-bao, the OG at bugis is beside the fu lu shou building.I tot of buying some baby home clothes from there,for my #1, I brought alot from there too, very cheap, 6 for $1o.

bbf i also bought 2 packs of the ikea one... i think a bit rough leh. might use as cleaning cloth when going out or something. or burping cloth. =(

or use later when bb bigger.

lilstarz,

I just saw the prices for the diapers BP, the prices so-so only leh.. maybe slightly cheaper than supermarkets.

I just came back from those heartland shops, and I remember very clearly the medicine hall selling Mamy Poko (S) for $14.50 only.. the BP selling $15.30.

Maybe I will buy from the Venus shop that one of the mommies mentioned earlier today.