(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

chameleon> hmm i prefer tue/thu but not next tue cos next tue i think i'm going dentist in the evening so dont want to have such a hectic day.

where did you get ur helper from? yah she looked really good.

ya i appreciate my hubby loads. the only thing is he doesn't like to do all the reading so i do all the reading etc and tell him what to do. haha.

mel/xin> ok, chameleon, take note of them and of cos cheerieheart.

cheerieheart> i see. yah i don't like having a stranger in my house too but thought if i hear of a really good helper, will just find out more.

littlelamb> fenugreek worked for me! no lah, wont get diarrhoea, if get also only mummy gets not bb.

cindy> later i look at my camera photo then maybe tell u. cos i scroll up and down very lehceh and going to feed elisa soon.

megan> yah i think i have most the emails, but thought of getting more details from them like contact cos some is missing.

TYL, glad to see d model in person! Ayden is really cute! Was telling cheerieheart I'm gg to d novena shop wif Lucas to try on d carriers. Oso intending to go to The First Few Years at KKH to try d ergo carrier. Hopefully we can get 1 dat Lucas like n is gd for me.

May I ask u since u r using d pupsik sling, is it strainful for ur shoulders n back? I'm a bit hesitant abt getting a sling n was looking at carriers instead bcos I'm afraid it will b bad for my shoulders, looking at lucas' size n he will oni get bigger. But would like to hear from mummies who r using sling abt their feedback b comments.

Wah the gathering sure looks fun!

Megan

you power man..yesterday off...today also....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

TYL

Yeah yesterday I bought 2 more cloth diapers. My pink one is missing! Haiz...anyway haven't washed them. Not exactly cheap, but I mixed the brands to try out. Don't fancy the idea of buying a dozen of the same types...tho I'm quite interested to try the one sold at BP now.

Little lamb

I recall you calling yrself a "complex person" hehe..your level of self-awareness very good hor. dont fret. babies cry for so many reasons.

think u shud give yrself a break, coz it's not easy taking care of baby on your own when hubby is away...

Xin

u very notti huh..tell me to enjoy packing...hahaha...must be from yr own experience of packing and moving. I am getting my new flat in 3-4 mths' time. MORE packing.

melissa - Thanks for assurance on fenugreek. Shall continue to take and hope it works!

smalldreams - Huh? What do you mean by my level of self-awareness very good? Kekkee.

cindy> 1. bigfoot(elynn) 2.Lin 3.cheerieheart (ruth) 4.weewee(angelyn) 5. vanillaberry(sharon)

after a while, i realise i only remember the nicks, cant remember real name, not to mention remember the baby's names. haha

littlelamb> it's better to let baby cry then u scream at baby mah. babies cry cos that's their only way of communication/grumbling/complaining. dont be hard on urself!

little lamb

Ya lah..it takes a lot of guts to actually say it aloud : I am a complex person. hehehe! Just kidding, but yah I mean it, I think you have a high level of self-awareness.

Melissa

Imagine all the mummies and babes are your students. You wont be able to remember all the names on the first day of school rite? haha...probably can only recall after a week of getting to noe them daily :p

k log off now. waiting for hubby to pick the brood up at my mom's place!(brood = 2 kids and I)

hey ladies..

too lazy & depress to post..keke..

tyl,

vote for ayden..soooooo sweet le the photo..

furby,

my 4th day bk to work...i only managed to pump once a day during lunch last week & yesterdae...todae nvr even pump..so it was from 8am to 8pm...now pumpin...anyway ss drop like mad liao...so v depressive..esp when i brot tytus out sundae...i saw his huge smile after latching..sigh..but realy cannot continue unless the 12hourly pump works..

east side mummies

wow!! you gals managed to take such a nice gp photo!!! seems v fun!!

thanks Melissa.. so i spoke to Lin and Cheerieheart hehe.. me too very bad in remembering faces, nicks etc.. trying to match faces to nicks first, then slowly associate the nicks with actual names, know the mummies well first then follow with the babies... :>

fat_babe> dont b depressed... tink if u cont to feed him when u go hm, e breast will continue to produce tt amt of milk? then u can still enjoy bf-ing... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

smalldreams> u gg to move alr ar... juz nice pack lor... hee hee... i oso packing now... moving next wk... whr u moving to? still ard e area?

littlelamb> think e fenugreek worked for mi, i got engorged aft tt... but now i din tk for almost a mth n bb still doing fine...

abt letting baby cry, my v on hb, say he wan to train bb to slp without e breast or carrying... so gg to let him cry... abit heartache... dunno if i shd let him do it... but since he wan to do e dirty job while he is on mc...shd i stop him?

my baby juz played with a rattle!!! first time... hee hee...

East mummies! Nice mtg all of u! Thank u Melissa fr having us too!

Cindy..So nice "chatting" with yr boy! My gal was very talkative too..I find she sounds like a cat leh! Haha!

Melissa..Got my bbsitter frm the expat forum..though she's not experienced with younger babies.

Thank u for sharing about how u follow a "flexi" schedule fr yr gal. Cos its not easy..but u have done a fantastic job fr a 1st-time mummy!! Now things are easier fr u!

I really struggled with my #1.

smalldreams..Really?! Means they want to pee or poo if they wriggle wriggle during bf?! Haha! Cool. Cos my gal always so squirmy during bf..maybe I'll try let her pee in the toilet bowl..toilet train..hehe!

Rgd-Baby specialised program-playgrp for those mummies who are interested.

Please bear with me while I make some negotiations for the venue. Will only post up an event on FB when I can finalise the venue arrangements and need to ask the following question-

May I just have a show of "hands"..hehe..who's ok with Sunday mornings 10:30am?

Cos most of u will be returning to work..so weekdays may not be so feasible.

Hi Cindy and Luvababe, I have confirmed your FB friend requests! Anymore coming?

Charis, I'm interested! Am ok with Sunday mornings. However, are you planning this on a one-time basis or this program will be on-going?

little lamb: wow, u taking care of your girl alone, no ayi to help? Really admire you! Plus you’re overseas w/o your mom/MIL etc. (i assume)

Xin: after talking to Melissa & charis today, I’m really keen to train my LO to sleep on his own w/o being carried n at more regular timing too, so from now on, need to suffer some heart pain like u.

charis: your girl is so sweet, n so sociable too. Like the way she 'chatted' with the other babies, very cute! so wish i'll be blessed w a girl next!

cindy: you're not alone, I also hv a hard time trying to remember the names!

Bubblebath..Thank u fr yr interest! It wld be on-going if the numbers are enough. Will give more details soon yup.

Do add me on FB- [email protected]

Cheerieheart..Thanks! Yr lil K is very easy-going.

Im sure u can train him with a trusted but flexi schedule..maybe u can ask Melissa what book/author she got the schedule from. I following Gina Ford..though I tweak the timings here and there.

WOW...it looks so fun @EastMummies ! what a pity that I gave it a miss.

Melissa: U didn't get my PM? sob sob...maybe it's my comp. It's ok will definitely join in the next gathering! u take down my email ya? [email protected]

Thanks LSnTYL, Caleb is better now and I have started more intensive tummy time for him!

Charis: Sunday 10.30 sounds good! Count me in pls.

Melissa, the gathering looks real fun. All the babies looks so sweet. Too bad I couldn't go in the end. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I'm a SAHM too but looking after 2 kids so hardly got time to check forum. :p

Wow! Nice Pics.. especially of those babies lying on the mat! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

When is West side mommies gathering?

cheerieheart - I have a part-time ayi who comes in every weekday morning to help me out with household chores and prepares lunch for me. That's about it. I don't have the luxury of mom or MIL to come help. But I look at it positively. It means I am in more control of managing my gal. And it also means that I can bond better with her. I mean, since I'm not working ... no reason to not take care of her on my own right?

xin, lsntyl & melissa - My ss dropped drastically today!!! Even after 7 hours, I only expressed 70ml!!! Could it be the fenugreek has opp effect on me?!

smalldreams - Hhahaha, saying I'm complex takes a lot of self-awareness? No need lah. Hhahaha. All along, I am someone who thinks a lot lor. Hence the complexity.

lil lamb,

tink you too stress over bb's colic...your current situation sound awfully familiar to me 5 yrs ago...when i juz feel like throwing bb down the buildg...i tried the cry it out method..lock bb in the room...but she juz kept wailing...till the mouth shiver & she turn purplish red...stressful for both mum & bb...maybe try to be more relax wif timing...i will end up destress myself....hug bb...sing lullaby & walk along the corridor even if its 2,3am in the morning....helps bb to calm down...

xin,

yah...i pumpin now after 7 hours too see if can maintain ss...but i realised maid not v onz abt giving my ebm oso...i haf 2 small bottles from last night...saw her only used it this evenig when i am home...so b4 dat she haf been feedg him formula lor..

Morn mummies !

Me pumping now. Hv lump on right breast & left breast pain althou cleared on mon aftn....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]....dunno y like this ? Only 1 day since I cleared the blocked only ? Always blocked & pain ?

Dunno shld c doc again & take mc ? Hv been seeing doc (mc) or took leave every wk liao sice started work....;p

charis, i can't make it on sun cos I need to attend church on sun.

eastside mummies, i'll email the photos to you all...will try to get all the email add fm melissa. haha lazy me too lazy to pm one by one...hehe

bubblebath>it was a bit of a strain on my shoulders and back when I use pupsik yesterday. Think its the longest I've carried him in the sling. He weighs 6.11 kg now. When he gets heavier, will prob need to switch to the carrier as that distributes weight better.

smalldreams>hee, we haven't started on cloth diapering yet. hopefully can start this weekend.

babe>hugs. don't be depressed. you are trying your best le. If you got no time to pump,can squeeze 10-15 min to hand express? Something better than nothing, no? Or take your domperidone again?

thanks for voting for ayden! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xin>your house finish renovating le? so fast! I've been trying to get hold of Mr Lee to confirm the quotation but he always never call me back. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I can't use the CIO method on Ayden. The minute he makes a sound, all the adults in the house will run to him. :p Good luck to your hubby though. If can, will make it much easier for both of you bah

lamb>aiyoh, I didn't mean taking fenugreek will cause diarrohea for your bb. Just that if occassionally your bb poops a lot in 1 day, it could be due to the fenugreek. Ayden only pooped 7 times in 24 hrs once and my PD said it could be due to the fenugreek. Normal days, he only poop once or twice.

I think you need to take fenugreek for a while before it takes effect so its unlikely to make your supply drop. Maybe your breasts are not responsive to pumping yet? I struggle everytime I pump to meet min of 300ml per day just so I don't deplete my FBM stock. BUt on the days when I'm home, I've no problems meeting Ayden's demands when I latch. So I think what I pump is not equal to what he gets when I latch

bubblebath/charis>added you on facebook le

Pauline>what happened arh? how come you didn't come in the end?

megan>thanks in advance for the photos. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

TYL, tks for sharing. So I really can juz focus on carriers n nt look at slings. My ah pui wil most prob break my shoulder n back if I sling him.

Most prob getting an ergo since it's so highly recommended by so many mummies. But still keen to try pikkolo cos find it quite pretty when I see it online. Hmm.... Shall update all after I made my purchase decision.

bbchic - Yah ... think yesterday too stressed plus the nite before not much sleep due to her colic. Last nite was better, she slept through and although she woke up at about 5-ish, she was quietly suckling her fingers. So I gave her the paci to help her to sleep. But I think she couldn't sleep anymore coz' she had a very rested sleep. DH and I really had a very good sleep last nite. Been the best since dunno how long already.

lsntyl - Yah, I think the fenugreek might need to take a while before taking effect. This morning, both my breasts were super engorged and it was only 6 hours gap since I last pumped. I have read that we produce more milk at nite when we're sleeping. I hope the supply will continue to go up.

Megan..Sent u a PM..shld hav got thru..u check ok? Tks.

So how many of us SAHM or on long leave-

Me, Melissa, Cheerieheart, Pauline, Chameleon..Summer's mama I think too..and of cos the ladies in SH. Any one else?

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

charis - Whoa ... seems like not many SAHMs in this group eh? Are you having 2 kids or 1 right now? How are you coping so far?

Tyl, didn't go cos raeanne's runny nose n cough not completely cleared so dun want to infect the babies. Plus I had to go n see tmc LC yesterday, came back at 12+pm so her naptime got delayed n she woke up late lor.

bubblebath>have fun choosing. Hubby and I like the pikkolo. Decided on it becos it allows Ayden to face front. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lamb>ya, think definitely get more milk when we sleep. At least that's the case for me. Hope fenugreek works for you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] BTW, how many are you taking? My gynae told me should take 2 pills, 3 times a day to really ramp up supply. As mine is fairly stable now, I only take 2 pills, 3 times a day on the days I work. On off days, maybe take 1 pill in morning.

Pauline>oic. Hope she gets well soon. Your ducts blocked again? Peifu you for expressing when you are SAHM. I'm too lazy to express at home unless I've no choice. :p

My gal recently has a hard habit to break. She would pee in her bath towel while we wash her hair! arrrgggggghhhh. She used to pee in her bath tub and then we stopped her. Now she'd pee in her bath towel. And I realize she'll get startled by us and withhold her pee. Oh no!!! Any ideas on how to break this habit?

east mummies gathering: the gathering looks so fun from the photos! all the babies on the bumper mat are so cute n chubby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i wish i can join but just back to work, hard to take leave... hope i can join the next one!

lsntyl: sometimes comforting the baby at 1st reponse may be a good thing. we are trying to do that to yr now since CIO method obviously cant work for him given his very stubborn and bad temper haha. hopefully by responding to him promptly will make him trust us more and be a calmer baby. :p

little lamb: dun be too harsh on urself for walking away n letting baby cry,. it will be worse if you stay ard and scream or do something u regret. sometimes, we need to let LOs cry abit if that will help to preserve our sanity.

ecookie - Yah ... and you know ... I think yesterday cried too much until she slept so well last nite. Too tired out. Even her evening 6+ feed, I had to take pains to wake her up to drink.

sweet: 25% increase for annual package is really a good deal! you really not consider taking it up? but if logistics is really a headache then bo bian. hope u can find a better job sooN!

east mommies> wow.. the gathering looks fun.

lamb> if your gal has colic, it should pass soon? I understand from my PD (and also some books) that colic will usually dissolve itself when the baby reaches 4 months or so. Don't reprimand yourself for allowing your gal to cry for 10 mins. When you are not calm yourself, it's better to take a breather.

Yongxian was also a little cranky after his jab last night. As I was putting him to bed, he wailed uncontrollaby and kept arching his back. It went on for 10 mins or so and finally I whipped out my boob. I don't usually do this but I was out of tricks already. He suckled a while and then calmed down. Boy.. was I relieved.

xin> i am not a fan of the CIO method. I think that letting the baby cry unnecessarily for prolonged period will break the trust. I am trying to train Yongxian to sleep on his own using Tracy Hogg's method. It's not perfect yet but I can see some improvement. Perhaps you can try this first?

ecookie>we're too scared that Ayden will get too much wind from crying to use CIO method. Anyway, he's my mom's precious grandson and hubby's baobei son. So will never cry for too long de. :p

Littlelamb, i ever left him to cry for 5-10 mins for twice or thrice also when I just simply can't take his crying.. But now better, i try to keep myself calm, carry him and tell him its ok, dun cry, and seems to work better then when i get frustrated and helpless..

My LO conked out everyday after he come back from IFC, but is happy once he wake up, crossing my fingers he will be like this all the way..

Agree with ET,

Better to keep yourself calm, baby can also sense the facial expression of adult one.

If look very grumpy, baby will cry even more bitter.

Remember spend more time to burp baby after cry, cos they usually will swallow alot of wind during crying

Cindy -- I enjoyed talking to Aloysius too. The way he kept smiling as we were talking .... sooo cute!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Melissa & Cheerieheart -- We didnt go thru any agency and brought in Marilyn direct from Philippines ourselves. She's a relative of our ex-part time domestic helper whom we have known for more than 10 years. We spoke to her over the phone a couple of times and felt comfortable enough with her to bring her over. All the ones we interviewed from the agency didnt want to work for my household because they were not keen to look after 2 babies plus do housework. If you are keen to hire a helper maybe I can ask Marilyn and my ex-domestic helper if they know of anyone reliable who wants to come to work in Spore. But of course, if you take this route, you will need to apply for the work permit, insurance etc etc all by yourself. Thats what we had to do but I think the extra work was well worth it to find a good and reliable helper!

SAHMs/WFHMs/Long leave mummies keen to meet up at my place (East) sometime in May for a small get together, do drop me a PM and we make the arrangements offline. Easier this way so we dont have to keep scrolling up and down for the gathering details!

wow! looks like a great east side gathering! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ecookie, guess wat? the co called me late yesterday afternoon to counter offer and i have accepted the new offer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so now have to source for a maid asap

luvbabe, which agent did u liaise with at contact asia? can intro? coz u have gotten a good helper from them, so thot of trying out the agency

chameleon, tell me bout it!! i remembered during the helper search during my #1's time. the moment they heard that need to go 2 places (coz i bring my elder one plus helper to my parents place while we work) they turned me down straight away, only my ex helper agreed. now the nitemare of searching for another maid is going to begin again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

cocomama - My gal didn't cry coz' of colic. She cried coz' overtired and then got very pek cek, cannot sleep but super tired. So that's why she went cranky. Plus her momma also cranky because keep going in and out of room many times to pacify her. Anyway, I do hope her colic situation will improve. Some say 3 months, some say 4 and my paed here says 6 months! I really hope her situation will improve, more for herself and not us lor.

ET - Problem is ... these days ... carrying her is not easy. Must carry upright, can get really draining. ANother way is to ergo her until she falls asleep. But long-term wise, that's not the solution. I dun want her to depend on ergo to fall asleep.

little lamb, can try letting her sleep in rocker? tristan also sleep in rocker most of the time during day if i m with him at our own home. he can sleep much longer compared to cot

sweet - Yeah, once in a while, she'll fall asleep on bouncer. But I want her to have some consistency and also understand that the cot is for sleeping. Maybe I'm anal lah, but I guess it's my way of making her understand that cot is for sleeping, bouncer is for playing. Plus for bouncer, I need to bounce her to sleep which I am kinda reluctant. Don't want her to rely on that too much.

xin> think someone said before in the forum that it takes 2 days for you to see the increase in supply.

charis> it's great to know someone on the same page as me too =) nxt time ask you more about glenn domain. i can't make it on sun mornings also cos going church. i'll ask you more about the program cos i may or may not bring her go if it's weekly, need to see how long/cost etc before i decide so u can just see when is the best date/time for rest of mummies.

cheerieheart> u can read baby whisperer from tracy hoggs to differentiate their crys so it's not CIO. actually often enough their crys mean something, following a "flexi" schedule helps you to know what that cry could be so they rarely will have to CIO. as for the routine right, there's two books(one by gary ezzo) this tells u more of rationale and in more detail, another book by simone cowell that gives u the routine straightforward and with some Q and A. if you are more interested than pm me, then i tell u how to get etc.

xin> i think it's a good thing to teach ur child to sleep independently but must make sure child is not crying out of hunger etc. and if start to cry distressingly, stop and sooth baby then try again or try again another nap depending on the situation. don't just let baby cry it out unless like for me, i know after a couple of tries my baby cries louder and longer when i go in then i'll wait like maybe 15 min. but don't let ur baby cry more than 35 min. if longer than that, it probably is due to other factors or cry til more and more alert. and babies are smart, if u go in, first time go in after 5 min, then next time 10 min, then 15 min, then by then baby shld sleep. if u go every 5 min, baby will know one. haha.

pauline> ok nxt time pm u or sms u!

tyl> yah with mother and in laws, v hard to do ur style if they're ard. last time, 5 min also my mum give me black face but thankfully she's ard only a while so i just insist. i say u cannot tahan then dun come when she wants to sleep. now my mum ok already cos see the fruits.

East side gathering..sure looks fun. Will join next time if i am not back to work yet :)

Sleep

can i check how much does ur LO sleep recently? my boy is 3 mths plus...he doesn't seems to sleep much in the day. and in the nite...his longest stretch is from 5/6pm to 12am....then after it is back to his 2 or 3 hourly schedule.

Trying to shift his longest stretch but v hard coz he will fall asleep no matter wat i do....if i keep him awake. he will cry very badly

littlelamb> think when she's v cranky right, no choice just let her sleep in ergo or carry her to pacify her to sleep. of cos if u can take it, u can let her cry lah provided it's not v long. when my girl's overtired, she has to cry loudly like 15 min then she'll fall asleep so i try to prevent that by making sure i don't overtired or overstimulate her and put her on the cot then she'll fall asleep on her own.

megan> haha give me some time lah then i compose the email lor, cut and paste the add from my excel sheet.

stephy> strange leh, i got ur add and ur contact no. u sure ur junk mail didn't get me email ah. sorry i must be blur liao. nxt time k.

chameleon> yup keen, let me know.

east mummies> haha it's really quite fun hor. if i do one more in may, will u all be keen to come? but maybe keep it to first 10 so it's more cosy or u think yest number is fine? it seemed a bit plenty to talk.

SH(stonelamb), i think ur boy is probably sleeping at the "wrong hour" that you would like him to.

6pm to 12midnight is a good 6 hours, would be ideal if u can try to switch his hours to sleep frm 12 midnight to 6am, would be abetter resting hour for u too right. As opposed to having to wake up for night feeds?

My boy just turned 4 months on mOnday, he is sleeping frm abt 9/10pm to the next morning abt 7 or 8am for a feed before going back to sleep.

Maybe u need to adjust him to know what's Day n night.