(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

the gathering seems fun huh...=p

i read the thread until eyes pain, juz run thru briefly...

thou cindy is CY =(

gx13,

wow, yr bb schdule is same as mine, i usually feed my bb at 10pm 180-200CC then in btw nite ~ 2am+ will make noise cos diaper wet wet discomfort, faster change n feed her warm water 20cc when in sleepy mode....till 7am FM 150CC..till 11am bathing-massage-feed -play till 1~2pm feed n nap sometimes stretch till 4pm, let her play , watch bb cd till 7pm feed n nap till 8pm+ play until she tired

I am new here. My girl was born in jan and preemie. Would like to seek your advice from you all.

My girl tends to cry when we put her on bed after a few mins (less than 5mins)during nap time. Night time - morning is ok. She can sleep thoughout. How to deal with her in this situation? We tried many ways, sing songs to her, talk to her and etcs. It will only works for awhile. Its only the sound of vaccum cleaner and yao lan are my saviour. Even i put her in yao lan, its like i gotta yao her every 5-10 mins or so. I tried to ignore the sounds that make by her when she is in yao lan but then from sound to cries then she eventually wake up from her nap. Anyone please advise.

This makes me kinda difficult to bring her out. When she start her crankiness, all the ppl will be looking at us. Gosh. Her voice is so loud okie...

Thanks so much! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

abt slping... we dont actualli let my baby CIO... my hb will usu carry him... but he'll still cry n cry... wad i do is like cocomama, whip out e nipple... but hb say not gd... my thinkg is, if i give him e nipple n he slp in 15mins... isn't better than i carry him, he cry, n he tk 45 mins to slp...

last nite baby 'torture' hb til 1 plus while i happily slpg in e room... haha...

think hb wan to give up liaoz... :p

e thing is in e day, my son can sometimes slp all by himself... but guess coz i not following a routine, everytime is a hit or miss situation...

chamelon> would love to join e east side gathering in may... will b in bedok liaoz...

tyl> ya i finishing liaoz... dunno when i'll b seeing mr lee, can help u 'chase' him... he nds to b 'chased' one... my hb keep saying tt he can actually finish faster... :p

abt ameda pump> now i abit scared of using bk e pump liaoz... but i stayg at hm n latch most of e time... is it worth it to invest in a medela?

littlelamb> maybe it's e time of the day u pump. usu i pump @ nite not alot... but pump in e morn more... think have to try n find a way tt works for u... dont be too stressed abt it... if it's just to store when u away... then jus keep whatever u have lor... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]...

Melissa: I’m interested in those books you mentioned. Are they available locally?

Geraldine: I think the ERGO sports shd be available. If u want, I can give u the contact of the person I bought from and you check with him. You can pm me.

Summer/ ecookie: may I ask what brand is the car seat u are using for your baby? I’m looking around but not sure what to buy – some of them are so bulky! I think after I put it in, there will only be space for one person in the back. Sigh… I miss the previous car, though both are sedan, that one is slightly more spacious.

About caterer, I used to use Kim’s Kitchen too. They were the 3rd one I used and the best I would say.. but after a while, the standard seemed to have drop. In the end, I would just buy dishes from the cai fan stall at food court near my plc.

If any other mommies trying mom’s cooking, pls tell us if it’s good. I might want to get caterer again if I send my mom n helper back to their own place.

F>thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xin>I finally managed to get hold of him. He promised to meet us on Fri to discuss the quotation. Hope can bring it down. :p

chameleon>added u in fb le

summer mama,

how to get him to sleep later. i tried but he just fall asleep. then even if i wake him up to feed in between (ie i break the 6 hr stretch), he will still revert to the 3hrly schedule.

gx13/ Koonie: Think our babies same routine! Arwen starts her day at 7am. She play till 11am, bath and then sleep at 12pm to 3pm, play till 5pm, then nap. She will be bathed, watch 10 mins dvd and drink at 6.30 pm, then 11 pm and sleep till 5am for feed again.

I really wish too to drag the 5am feed to 6 or 7 am but not possible cos I think she is still a young baby and dragging it too long is not good for her. I will try that when she hit 5 months old and on solids liao.

Funny now to see her watch us eat. She will look at the spoon we are holding and track it all the way to our mouth and she will salivate and zup zup zup! I think she is going to be ready to have semi solids liao.

sharon (sharonk): Welcome! I think some babies just don't nap or because lucky you, your girl sleep throughout the night , so she is very energized in the day. I guess you just have to accept it as part of your girl's choice of routine.

I do noticed now that my girl is going to be 16 weeks old, she is more and more awake each day. Like3 days in the row, she naps only from 12 to 2pm and today she even skip her 5pm nap! This is something new and we are all adjusting again to her.

Lamb: Good to hear you and your DH got some rest! Friday going to be Sunday and nice, maybe we meet for tea eh!

chameleon> k will check mum's cooking out if hubby wants.

cheerieheart> should be available. i check and get back to you k.

binary> i never save. thought if i want then type in and search again. i went to the search at his forum then type in glenn doman. then u'll see all the different threads.

summermama> k if i plan to get it then i ask u again. thanks!

sharon> hmm i dont understand what u mean. baby cry cos u put baby down to sleep or what?

ecookie, thanks! hope that the new job will be a good one, kinda sian to start all over again coz was with my ex co for 8yrs+ le, too much of a comfort zone liao

smalldreams, actually i quite dread the idea of hiring a helper! before we had our 1st helper, i also drag drag my feet in getting 1, end up that time she only came in 2 days before i return to work. this time round, coz of no job, i didnt wan to hire a helper so soon (and also to hang onto my privacy for longer) in case no income and need to bear the burden of a maid.

tentatively, suppose to start work on 17th may but i told them of my current "helper" situation, so if helper not in by then, latest i will start work is 1st june, not any later than that lo

tristan is able to sleep on his own is based on his own merit haha we didnt use CIO to train him. the other day, i let him CIO coz he wail for no reason and i got so frustrated ;p compared to his sister, he's really a much easier bb to take care of.

wow lil Aifah can sleep from 10pm to 5am liao, that's really good! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] tristan at most for nite, can only tong for 5 hrs ;p

that's a lot of housework that your hb did! hehe u must be very proud of him ;p

Melissa- tks for organising the gathering yday! Was happy I manage to bring baby out myself n also to finally put a face to all the nicks!

R u following the babywise method/ routine?

I envy mummies whose babies r sleeping early. My boy is sleeping thru the night but only sleep ard 1230 to 1am! Last night only slept ard 2am n that's when I finally latch him till asleep.

Megan- I've added u on fb! Added a few whom I recognize Fr the Jan grp.

Hi Jessica - yeah we r all adjusting to their routine. Sometimes, it could be so tiring hor to entertain them.

Hi Melissa - what I mean is that the moment I put her down on her bed she will start crying! Have to try ways to make her sleep. *exhausted* hehe

any of the mummies going back to work soon or already back to work Liao?

smalldreams : oh, u mention to chge pump ? Is it must be manual pump or can be another pump ? Avent hv manual & electric pump. Other brand brand also hv manual & electric pump.

I used to using electric dunno will get use to use manual ?

TYL : already sms u. Able to borrow yr avent manual pump to try ? Dunno can get use or not ? Thks !

Re : tingkat

Can try jessie catering as I on trial with them now & find their food not bad-maybe will order for 1mth after trial.

Oh, my bb still dun sleep thruout the nite & once reach nite time, will make noise, cry & dun wat to sleep....yest nite slept at 12+am & ard 3am already make noise & wat milk then hv to feed her at 4am. Tried dreamfeed her with fm at 11-12am but she dun wat to drink & only drink 50-60ml.

Oh she hv a habit of cat nap ard 8.30-9pm for 15-30mins. Dun let her cat nap also cant leh & also if not we cant do anything at all fr 7pm-12am (depending wat time she sleep) leh....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Mummies : does yr bb sleep throut the nite ?

Wat time bb drink at nite & sleep?

My bb hv habit of waking ard 3am for suckle & kick kick or make noise. How to kick this habit of waking up in the middle of nite ?

sharon>started work already. quite tired on work days

ET>where do you stay? must see if convenient to pick up cereals from you cos I think they are bulky?

mstan>eh, you want, I can sell you 1 of them to try first. If I lend to you then won't be able to sell them next time cos they will be 3rd hand, not 2nd hand wor.

ayden normally has his feed around 7pm, 1am and 5am. but will vary depending on how hungry/tired he is

TYL> I stay Tiong Bahru, perhaps can consolidate a few pick up points? Say 1 for east side mummies, 1 for north and 1 for west?

morning mummies!!

cheerieheart: hi for my elder one, we just upgraded him to graco junior booster seat. previously he was using britax omega. quite bulky too, will eat into middle seat when u put it in car. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

binary star: im using kim's kitchen now for trial period. for 2 pax share (3 dishes+1soup) ard $190 for 20 days. they use MSG though not alot i think. u may want to consider mom's cooking which claims that they do not use MSG and also healthier oil to cook the dishes. but very exp to me at ard $400 for 20 days. double the price! you can google and look at their websites for more info.

mstan8888: u r not alone. yr sleeps early at 9pm then we will dream feed him at1130pm but he sure will make noise between 3+/4+am. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

then have to feed water and pat pat to let him sleep back so can drag first feed to 5-6am.

i also hope he will just sleep all the way from 11+ to 5am himself.

will increase his milk intake these few days and see how. need to find out if he is a case of really waking up for milk cos hungry or just his pattern. cos these days he seems unsettled and fussy after milk feed. think its time to up his intake since his intake no change for the past 1.5mth!

Sleeping

My LO is put to sleep at 10pm by maid. But she only pretend, once maid leaves the room, she will ehh ehh and I will amke my grand appearance and come in to latch her to sleep.

Can last until 6am for her next feed, which will help empty breast before i leave for work. Works out fine.

I co-sleep with her as I am super light sleeper, so v convenient for feeding. I don't change diaper until she wakes up for the day.

She used to wake up around 2-3am with grunting sound, but I don't feed her, give pacifier. Slowly, the waking duration gets shorter and less frequent. At this age, don't think it is due to hunger anymore.

My LO also sleep from 11+/12 to 4-5 am since he is like 2.5 mths till now, sometimes on good days, he will sleep till 6am, tried dragging his last feed to 12am, result still same, then give pacificer when he make noise at 4+, he will make noise till you give him milk.. Now started working already, I really feel super tired at around evening time everyday, still must pump milk every morning.. So tired..

ET>need to see other mommies interested first. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] How long does it take for an order to go through? cos don't really need the cereals now as Ayden is still young.

BTW, any moms interested in Bambini photography? They're having a promo now

morning all, thanks for the kind words n concern, my grandma is in peace. Tho we still can't really believe it, we r learning to accept it. Still feels kinda funny, but am glad she left us without any pain.

I bought some heinz rice porridge n pureed apple, carrot potatoes, havnt start Ayden on them yet,maybe over the weekend.

Mil brought him to shave bald ald, so much better, no need to see his patchy head. He still wanna wake up in middle of the nite for a drink lei, jus took few mouthful then go bed. My mum or mil tries to train to slp thru, but dad or fil sure make noise said we very mean by nt giving milk.

TYL, from evitaminstore is direct shipping, but to consolidate order till pick up, i think around 1 month ba, ard mid-end may, by then, most of our babies should be starting solids already.. But seems not much mummies interested..

TYL, I more interested in Sean Lau's one then Bambini, waiting for them to have offer again, missed the expo offer..

Ecookie: ya, saw the britax ones & didn’t buy coz they are bulky like you said [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hope to find one that can use longer, up to 2,3 years kind but more compact. Any mommies can recommend?

mstan8888: my boy usually goes to bed about 9 - 10+ pm, and his feed would be before that, usually not more than one hour before. Sometimes he’s a bit cranky and I would nurse him so that he can sleep. He then wakes up any time from 4+ to 6+ am for the next feed. I’m quite happy with this already, just that I wish the time he wakes up for his feed can be a bit more regular. I don’t dreamfeed him.

I’m also looking for baby photographer. Thinking maybe when my boy is about 6 mths old, we can go take family photos and some individual portraits of him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Searching around now and I like the leonny photography’s style (http://www.LeonnyPhotography.com).

Saw this studio call Sean Lau at the expo's baby fair, the pictures are also nice (http://www.seanlau.com/home/home.html) But not sure if they do family photos. Intend to call them to ask.

But checkout the newborn photos by this studio call dolcevita. How I wish I have these photos of my boy! If I have a second child, I would love to have this kind of pictures for him/her! but dunno ex or not [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

http://www.dolcevita-photography.com/v01/folio/children_newborn/index.html

cheerieheart: yah britax is quite bulky one but i bought it last time cos i tot will be quite comfy for my boy. indeed its comfy but the adults get uncomfy when its in the car lor. haha.

sean lau: yah i like his style. my elder one went to him for photo-taking when he is 1yo. sean and his wife are very cheerful and put in effort to make the baby smile. but their prices can be steep. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

they do allow family to join in at a charge. you can call them to find out more.

summer's mama, my HB had the same tot as you though I was pretty keen on getting a MPV last yr. He wasnt big on MPV cos he says no boot space. Want to put stroller and other barang barang means have to sacrifice the last row of seats. So I ended up getting another sedan.

My gal is 6 tis year but she's tall for her age. She's already abt 126cm now and she stopped using her booster seat. So now with the infant capsule, we still can seat 2 pax quite comfortably at the back seat. But I do understand how crampy it can be if have to place 2 carseats behind. N not easy to get into the car to sit in d middle when you have the 2 seats at either side of the car!

Baby carrier:

Brought Lucas and my mum to the novena shop yest afternoon. We left home right after his milk feed in the hope dat he will be in a good mood. He was behaving ok during the journey to the shop. The 1st carrier i tried on was d pikkolo. As soon as I tried to put him in d carrier with the help of the very friendly shop staff, he started to wail! He was fighting with me in the carrier and it's so hard to decide whether he's comfortable in it. I tried walking ard in the shop and rock him in the carrier but he did not stop. Took him out and hand him over to my mum and tis boy! he stopped crying!

Not defeated, I tried on the manduca based on d staff's recommendation. Again, when i put him in d carrier he started to cry and struggle. The same went for the beco dat i tried on. Was so frustrated. My mum said could be nearing his nap time so he's man zhang. But hey, he's still on his 3hrly feed routine and the window period to catch him in a good mood is so short!

Anyway, the shop staff advised us to either walk ard d complex and go back when he's in a better mood or to go back there another day to try. Must say their service is excellent. They are not pushy and hard selling. They give recommendations based on the age and size of the baby and can always go back to them if unsure abt how to use the carriers.

So, tis ends the 1st episode of baby carrier shopping for Lucas. Shall try again when I get over this fiasco. But my mum is a bit negative abt getting a carrier now cos she says Lucas doesnt like it. Sigh. We shall try again.....

Hello everyone...

Just finished watching Mom At Sixteen on Hallmark channel. Gosh, how I cried...! Almost could feel the pain of the couple who tried so hard to have a baby, and how the teenager felt at giving the baby away...haizz....o well, just a drama after all...

bubblebath

Hopefully your baby will co-operate soon! A baby carrier is really handy..then again once baby grows heavier...most people will prefer the stroller. I ditched baby carriers when my boy was about 12 mths old I think.

Megan

Ehhh lucky we were not in chinatown yesterday instead.. a fire broke out at people's park complex...!

Sweet

Your reason for not getting a helper earlier is also very practical... haiz...I guess we mums know what's best, somehow..

Just staying at home today...not sure where to go...

bubble: so your family has 2 cars now? I told my hubby we may hv to buy a 2nd car if we need to fetch everybody out ie. baby, my mom, maid & MIL. What's more, it's almost impossible for anyone to sit in the middle back seat coz of the bulge (sorry, don't knw what it's call) on the car floor. So if i'm to put in a car seat, effectively, the car can only take 3 adults - 2 in front, n only 1 at the back *faint*

About trying baby carriers, my boy also fussed when we went to the shop. Most likely coz we woke him up fr his sleep. But there was another family before us and the same thing happened to their kid, who appears like at least 1 yr old - he cld walk. He was almost screaming and struggled real hard! I wonder is it becoz babies/toddlers just don't like to be 'experimented' on.. hahaha.

Anyway, if u're not in a hurry n u're keen on Ergo, bring him to try when he's at least 4 mths old of if he's neck is strong enough. You save $ from not having to buy an insert. Btw, Ergo can carry front, back n side. I tot the side carry is almost as good as carrying the baby & facing front.

ecookie: how much did you pay for Sean Lau's photo package? How many photos did you get?

ET>i see. maybe most moms not thinking of feeding solids yet bah.

bubblebath>good luck with your carrier hunt. When hubby and I brought Ayden to the novena shop, he was ok with us putting him into the pikkolo but he screamed when he was in the manduca. then we quickly popped him back into the sling and he went quiet and fell asleep soon. :p you tried the sleepywrap? the salespeople at the shop were also recommending it to us.

cheerieheart>ohh, I thought Ergo cannot face front which was why I never considered it. :p

cheerieheart, yes, we have 2 cars at home. It was more out of neccessity cos my DH changed his job and works in Tuas now. The journey to work is very long and time consuming for him if he were to take public transport, thus, he bought 1 last year. For me, I'm in d sales line and my co expects me to drive. We hardly drive out in 2 cars but at times when we really need to ferry more people, it's indeed better than an MPV cos can take more passengers. But dat oso means petrol, erp n parking charges x 2!

I had initially ambitiously tot of crossing over to KKH to try on d Ergo with Lucas but dun think yest is a good day to do dat. Shall try again when he's 4mths like wat u suggested.

TYL, d shop staff said for Lucas, d Manduca might b better cos of his big bum. Will b more comfy for him. But I find it a bit cumbersome to put on d carrier. Mayb cos I'm not used to using a carrier yet. They told me once the adjustments to all d straps r done, it will be pretty easy.

Today at home with my no 1 cos she's feverish since last night. Thus, left Lucas with my mum. She's much better now but I still wan her to rest. Can proably only see Lucas tomorrow cos I do not want the 2 children to be together when 1 is sick. The last time my no 1 had flu and passed on to Lucas, it was so terrible for me n my mum cos Lucas kept coughing and having blocked nose. N we do not know what was wrong with him when he cried. So, better to have some separation and wait for 1 to be well before letting them b together.

bubblebath>hee, lucas' bum v big? I didn't see. actually, I found manduca easier to put on then pikkolo. cos just pull up straps and buckle at back. But my hubby prefer pikkolo cos he prefers to carry cross-back style. He feels that is more secure

vanillaberry> yup, i am using the babywise method. if u search on it, there's controversy with the method but mostly becos ppl read the book and dont really understand it. i went for the class so i know what's the philosophy behind it, not really like what ppl complain about on the internet and definitely not simply CIO. i also read tracy hoggs/simone cowell for more parenting skills. I don't read sears etc on attachment parenting or demand feeding cos personally, that's not how i mean to go on when my kid grows older.

mstan> eh my baby sleeps from 12 plus to 7am. now we trying to make it 1130pm to 7am for sleeping thru without feed but she sleeps on her tummy, and she just learnt to flip so these 2 nites she's flipped so kind of woke up but not really hungry so still not there yet. 12plus to 7am that one is confirmed. at that time she drinks about 9pm and 1215am. 1215am is dreamfeed as she sleeps right after her feed at 9pm.

now what we are trying is for her to sleep at 7pm after her feed at 530pm, then dreamfeed her at 9 and 1130 but that is still in progress. haha. eh tracy hoggs recommend giving pacifier then slowly in a few days baby wont wake up. u can read the book if u free bah.

ET> I don't mind but must find out more about that brand of cereal. plan to feed semi solids only at 6 mths if possible though. any details?

sharon> i see, actually i think it's not that your baby needs to be tired out to sleep in the cot. in fact she could be overtired. i suggest u read the book "secrets of the baby whisperer" by tracy hoggs. she tells u what to do without letting baby CIO if u cannot stand that method but takes longer and more patience and learn body languages better.

ET > I dun mind getting e cereals if e expiry dates can last till Lucas is 6mths .. As he's only 3mths now .. Intend to start solids when he's 6mths ..

Lucas's weight is 7.3kg & height - 62cm, in his 3rd month .. He did 2 vaccinations today .. 5 in 1 & pneumococcal

No wonder my arms r breaking .. Cos he's so 'bah bah' !!

Hi Wendy, my boy's name is Lucas too. He's also on d big side. No joke lugging them ard rite? Good luck to us both for finding our ideal carrier!

wendy>wah, lucas is a good weight! Ayden is also 62cm but he's only 6.11kg. so small size. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

LSnTYL > Ur boi is also in his 3rd month now ? Lucas is drinking 150-180ml, 4-4.5 hourly .. I guess he's drinking alot !! Haha .. Tt makes him so 'bah bah' ..

wendy>yes, the weight and height was taken on his 3rd month birthday when we brought him to KK for checkups.

I didn't see any bb carrier at the last bb expo fair

east mummies who came my house> emailed you.

megan> check ur mail then can send out the pictures already. i'll send out those on my camera again too.

cami> check ur mail for email add of those SAHM/NPL etc for the gathering at ur house k.

Wendy, nt sure whether they will let us try on d carriers at expo? N oso sure to haf many pple so worried Lucas might get over stimulated n fuss if we let him try on d carrier there. So most prob will gif it a miss. But hope u'll b able to find sumthing there!