(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Kaira,
Oh, if it's not genetic link, then at least better mah. I mean at least can still work harder to boast up his weight. Meaning you have to plan his meal in details, add in more red meat like your pd mentioned. When you cook porridge, don't put in too much rice but more "liao 料", like porridge is the side, but the veg and meat is the main. Jia you, you can do it!!

flower,
Allergy prick test can be done at most clinics. You just ask the doc. Not sure about the cost though. Depending on how many allergens you want to test, one allergen one prick.

kaira,
Soup is one.

Also try google "super food for toddler". Give your boy more SUPER FOOD, which can include, but limited to, berries (esp blueberries and strawberries), kiwi, almonds, broccoli, tomatoes, salmon, avocado, sweet potatoes, soy beans (edamame, tofu), lentils, kale, beans, barley, yogurt, beef, egg, milk. Veg and fruits are very important for the mineral and nutrients intake.

Toothbrush

What toothbrush do u use for your babes? The real toothbrush like ours, or the rubber thing where u stick ur finger in?

kaira

Noticed your post abt low iron. U can try to blend the red meat with a bit of water then add to the porridge. In this way, ur boy can take in the meat rather than just boil a pc of meat & the porridge gets only the "juice" of the meat?

Jul,

That's what we did before when he was younger, only take the meat "juice" . Yup , We have change to blend the meat into his porridge :p

Toothbrush,

I got one that just require them to bite on it, but not very useful ..

I only have weekend mood, totally no mood for work now . keekee.

Kaira
my K also low haemoglobin..
i also get to know tat after he did a blood test.
K is not underweight leh.. kekeke...
Pd say ask me give him more red meat and green vege like spinach =D

Kam,
My son don't really take meat so having trouble about it. Usually have soup but I find it not v healthy if just give him soup wif rice. Maid always fried the hot dog, prawn wif vege for him. Last time always prawn, fish ball n vege till he reject prawn now.

I will start my gal on rice after she turn 15 months. Porridge for breakfast n rice for dinner. Now she ate his brother share.

Do u know how to make soup wif tomato?

myfavchoco,

Yup, leafy vege like spinach and red meat need to give more. Yr Pd has any concern with his low haemoglobin. My boy is 10.8 (usual range is 11) One Pd make out until very serious, but another Pd is quite relax about it and says its okay.

kaira

It's quite funny when I think abt it. I nvr tot of giving Sam meat "juice". All along I gave him the blended meat this way since 8mths+? Can't really rem liao.. But now that I think back, I rem MIL suggesting that we put the emat into the porridge to boil. But I somehow had the idea that just eating the "juice" is not nutritious, so I insisted on blending. Wonder why I did that? Hmm?

Er.. what do u mean by jusy biting on it? Is this the one?
4818967.jpg

connie

Is it the brush in my picture?

Jul::
i use this toothbrush for my boy... he wants to bite on the bristles all the time...

now he wants to hold it himself so i dunno i shld buy the pigeon brand too brush for him to "brush" himself..

Kaira,
That's very very close to normal range! No need to worry so much lah, phew! I thought it's low as in much lower than the normal. I myself also at the borderline low range.

I read somewhere that spinach actually doesn't really have high iron content. I am going to find that out and let you know again. And be careful for spinach, have to boil it cannot just stir fry.

Connie,
Your son doesn't like meat? Usually kids tend to like meat than veg. You know hot dog and fish ball have very low nutritional value hor, and both are very high in salt. How about add some chop up steam veg/meat into his soup rice? Can cook till tender and cut into bite size. Soup is just the stock only, not enough nutrient, have to add in veg and meat. Or if he likes fruits, give him more fruits.

jul,

Cos that time he only 8 , 9 months .. My mum worries he will get indigestion cos it happen to my son very often. Fish will take together with porridge , but pork and beef, just take meat "juic" . Yup, it will definitely not nutritious enough for them.

Toothbrush,

I got is those top and bottom also have brush, they bit on it , them brush lor. But my boy only two top, two bottom difficult to brush .. keekee

myfavchoco,

His range still okay .. Think not much worries

Kam,

Like to seek your advise.. Do u think I need to give him calcium and folic acid .. That kiasu pd give all these include multi vit & iron. Think I will just give multi vitamin and iron can ler. I told her why still need calcium since can get from FM, she says not enough. Folic Acid, only pregnant then take mah, my son also need ??

Yup my mum say I too gan cheong ! But can't help it.

Connie,

Actually hot dog and fish ball really not very healthy.

Kam,
Yes so I'm quite worried abt wat she cook for him now. Yes, I add some vege into his rice. For meat, he will split it out. Funny, he like vege more. Now he reject spinach. Now everyday is celery. Now he is still coughing so reducing on fruits.

jess

But will he stick the toothbrush into his throat huh? It seems very dangerous to me leh

kam

Oh? Why need to boil spinach?

kaira

Oic. Yeah MIL also aws goes on abt indigestion. But the thing is, I nvr see Sam having indigestion prob. In fact, I think his digestion is too good. Anyway now that ur boy's old enough, u can start giving him the meat in blended form liao
Just borderline only, no need to worry so much

Wah top & bottom got bristles? Very cheem..

jul,

She's Dr Chan Sing kit from Gleneagles. She already in her 60s. Most impt must feel comfortable with her diagnosis. She has her plus point too.

kaira

Oh! I'm so lazy that I haven't gotten a toothbrush for Sam yet. I used to wipe his teeth till he turned abt 1 yr old? Then he screams & refuses to let me clean his teeth so I haven't been doing anything till now. uh oh..

Oh ok lah. She's not "THAT PD" that I'm referring to

Jul,

My boy didn't scream but he wants to bite off my finger when I clean his gums and teeth. I must keep reminding him to open his mouth big big.. I didn't use the toothbrush often ..

kaira / Jul,
My mum told me she read from the health session of a newspaper. Have to blanch (the correct word) to get rid of a certain content (now I cannot remember what it is).

Connie,
Don't buy those stuff. Buy all fresh ingredients so she doesn't have a choice :) Why must be celery only, there are so many different type of veg!

Er, actually fruits don't affect coughing, except citrus.

Kaira,
Think that PD is very kiasu type bah.

The kids still need folic acid. Recommended intake for folic acid for 1-3 years old is 100-150ug. Take my gal for example. She's drinking Enfagrow. If she drinks 720ml per day, she would get about 216ug of folic acid from the FM. Say if she can only absorb half of it, then it's still within the recommended dose. Plus folic acid can be obtained from the green leafy.

For calcium, Recommended intake for calcium for 1-3 years old is 500mg. If she drinks 720ml per day, she would get about 1613mg from the FM. Say if she can only absorb half of it, then it's still within the recommended dose.

So if your boy drinks enough FM, should be okay. This is just my thinking.

jul::
i din let him play with the finger toothbrush la.. have to be careful.. i seen the pigeon brand comes with a capping slot thru the toothbrush so the hand hold the bottom and the rest of the brush goes into the mouth. i guess the stopper will help them not to swallow the whole toothbrush..
but im skeptical too.. he would want to "teether" with the toothbrush often.. now he tantrum when we remove the things he was not suppose to touch..

Spinach::
used to chop the spinach till it like so so tiny pieces and cook long with the porridge.. so i hope the nutrients are not "dead" for boiling too long... but my boy tend to "gag" when eating the spinach porridge.. so we stop.. now we give brocoli! and he luv it!

Meat juice::
my mom "teach" me to cook the lean pork meat as the porridge stock so bb get the meat juice from there. and it makes the stock nice =)

RE: Brushing teeth
You are all very hard working mums. My son didn't start brushing till recently, and he still didn't brush every day (cos mummy doesn't have time to coach him to). Luckily he still has a very nice set of teeth. Main thing is the sweets bah. If doesn't take much sweets stuff, shouldn't be too bad. But he drinks a lot of water, so probably that "dilute" out all the baddy.

My gal hasn't started yet, never clean her teeth/gum till now. Only when she was young, her nanny used to clean her gum using a cloth, stopped long time ago liao. I am too lazy, can don't do, I don't do. Need more time to spend with kids than to worry about this :)

brusing teeth
the topic is now on brushing teeth huh... hubby was also asking me to get a toothbrush for my gal..but she only has 7+(1 coming out) teeth! errmm.. do we need to get toothpaste?? tot they are still too young to use toothpaste leh... i'm not really comfy with even those edible ones.

kam

Oh my MIL aws insists on blanching the veg - but it's more to cleanse the veg of pesticides. Wonder if it's the same thing?

jess

Wah Sam already started throwing tantrums at 9 mths +.

jul::
i think my Z started after 1 yr old... Im calling him the "Terrible One"...

milkyway::
i brushed cos we let him "chewed" on the teething rusk and the puffs and the meltz. and he is teething so i guess can "brush' to clean a bit and soothe his gums too.. & start his "brushing habits" from young... :p just kiasu la... lol
& i think he luv the brushing too cos it really soothe him but he will also bite my finger whenever he can. But now he wants to hold the brush himself which he just want to chew on it... -_-"

kam::
is grapes citrus or nt? (stoopid qn rite, but i have no idea?)

kam::
thanks =)

milkyway::
nope! no need toothpaste.. :p
just wet the toothbrush will do. then i wipe his mouth clean. tat all!

Hello gals! Hv been reading the thread once in say a mth?!! Never post cos usually too busy!

Maelin
I also hv thalasamia! Actually my haemoglobin is ok is my dunno what platelet count is v low! When my kids r older hv to make them go for test too.

Connie
Actually hotdog is not nutritional for adults so let alone kids. High salt content and do u know it's one of the cancer causing food? My kids also love hotdogs but I dun let them have it often. I think it's best that u vary his food from fresh ingredients. At 2 yr old my kids usually have pasta, bee hoon soup, mostly soupy stuffs in fact.

Oh yes have to tell u gals abt this product. I'm sure most of u wud have known my Joseph was a sickly baby. Since he was 7 mths to 12 mths he fell sick almost every other week! Tried Child Life colostrum and probiotics for him. So far he is healthy and does not catch bugs easily. Keeping my fingers crossed!

<font color="0000ff">toothbrushing</font>

Such a coincidence, I just posted an entry on my blog about Kate's toothbrushing regime!
You can check it out:

http://quintessentialmoments.blogspot.com/2010/12/this-is-way-i-brush-my-teeth-i-brush-my.html

I use very little toothpaste, I started her on the toothpaste when she was 1. BEfore that i use the finger brush without any toothpaste.
Tooth-brushing is K's most favourite activity of the day!(or shall I say night)

<font color="0000ff">mamato6Js</font> where do you get the Child Life colostrum from? Spree or locally?

Teeth brushing:
I bought a tooth brush for Haohao, but yet to start. He bites my finger when I use finger brush and it hurts!!

My #1 start brushing teeth since 1+, she refused to use it in the past, but now she would brush herself. But until now I don't give her toothpaste

<font color="119911">kaira </font>
This is how I prepare the meat for Ian. When I cook his rice/porridge, I cook it with beef or pork then when done, I'll use scissor to cut up a portion of the meat into small small pieces to feed him with the rice. I'll sometimes cook liver for him too. As for spinach, I dun cook fresh cos each time uses so little. I buy frozen spinach which comes in a bag. Inside are frozen balls of spinach. I find this very convenient cos each ball is just nice for 1 meal for him.

Hello ladies, have been out of this forum for way too long. Hope all are doing well with the little ones..

Kam,
Ya you are right about blanching the spinach, I have read it somewhere in a baby recipe book. It's to get rid of some undesirable mineral, and this only applies to spinach. Unfortunately I have lend the book to a friend of mine so just cant remember what is it.

Fyi ~ blanching the veg, before cooking it or mixing in to porridge etc can make it more tasty too. It gets ride of undesireable flavors.

So far (touch wood), Amber dont mind taking spinach so its all good.

Paige,
I think you can get the colostrum from GNC.

cot rail teether

anyone knows where to get the cot rail teether that kiki posted? I think yihui is getting slight mouth rash in the morning from eating paint... hmm....

rach, any lobang for this?

mama_2_6Js,
Woah, made your rare apperance here :)

If your hub is not a carrier, then your kids are very highly possibly won't get it. So don't worry. But if you want to let your kids go for the test, don't have to wait till they are older, cos the genes are already there since birth, won't change one lor.

Lina,
Long time no see! Oh, then probably I have read it in the baby food book also. Thanks for confirming that.

<font color="0000ff">flower4, kaira</font> thanks, initially she also doesn't like to brush her teeth :p

<font color="0000ff">lina</font> oh GNC, thanks! Are you still in Abu Dhabi?

Oh, must blanch?! shoot!! I have never blanch my spinach for K! oh no!!

yesterday nite.. my boy head-butt me accidentally &amp; it bled!!
and now i have a swollen bloodied lower lips... i feel like a fish with pouty lips.. -_-"

<font color="119911">rach</font>
Ya lor, that's what I say too "I don't know, he stops by himself". Then I get this "funny" look, and I'm like duh... So, I often what other BF moms reply.