(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

<font color="119911">Kam</font>
Thanks for info and San Ji Zing. Alamak! Now I don't know which is what. After reading more, realised there is another Di Zi Gui. What's the difference between the two har?

<font color="119911">Gina</font>
Chinese is really a problem for many kids nowadays huh?
My own Chinese is koyak, and I see my niece and nephews all also like that. I found the Channel 8 show where RuiEn recites the poems so interesting. Have been wondering what it was, only realised it when I read Kam's post. It has rhythm, like rapping, so fun, I wanna learn myself, heh heh...and some exposure to it is good for him ba? NOt like me, didn't even know what is was.
Any recommendation how to intro him to more Chinese? Cos we are mostly speaking English or dialects.

<font color="119911">Michelle</font>
Hi! So long din hear from you already.
Hope all is well.

<font color="119911">princessxiaomei</font>
Wah, zhen de pei fu you. Jia you! 1 more month to go...countdown by the week will be better. Take care and see you around here real soon.

That day my boy also teething fever 38+, I already quite shiong. Your's 39.9, must have had a difficult time.

<font color="119911">Connie</font>
I also headache what to cook for my boy nowadays. He's eating almost the same thing every other day. I'm like on the constant look out for new recipes/ideas all the time. And boy do I hate the washing.

Thanks to all mummies for sharing your food "menu".

<font color="119911">Kam</font>
Yay! I always so happy to find mommies here who stick it out. I also don't give my boy processed food and canned food, and stuff that are unhealthy. Always try to cook for him, although before having him, I ta-pau EVERYday, it's so MUCH easier - buy, eat, throw. Now then I realise how bad (or should I say terribly bad) outside food is, so try to cook for hubby too, but occasionally stil ta-pau for ourselves. But now got craving for Penang food leh..hee hee

Hi Mummies, I have a $3 off Mamil Gold Step 3 voucher to giveaway. Expiry 31st Dec.
Self collect from Mcnair Road.

WaiWai, I want one set of the hair thingy
How to order?

<font color="119911">Kaira</font>
When taking iron-foods, good to have it with orange juice or stuff that contain vitamin C. Cos vit-C will help absorp the iron content better.

<font color="0000ff">spinach</font>
<font color="119911">Kam</font>, is your mom talking about nitrates? Yes,we must blanch to remove the nitrate content. I used to do that when my boy was still young. But by now, 14months should be ok already ba? It's got to do with the nitrates in the intestine. Are you talking about this? If that's the one, I think by 1 year old, should be ok.

Anyway, I still blanch the spinach so that I can divide into smaller portions for freezing. I read up on how to store spinach to keep its nutrients in.

<font color="119911">itsy</font>, where do you get frozen spinach from? Are they organic?

mamato6,
I gave my gal Childlife-Multi-Vitamin-Mineral,
so far she did not fall sick even though she share food n drink with her brothers who was coughing for the past 4 weeks. TOuch wood.

Child life :
http://www.iherb.com/Search?kw=childlife

I bought from the spree under Leng Leng. If many want to buy, can ask RAch to start a spree.

Kam, mamato6,
Ya, hot dog not healthy so I was stun when I saw hot dog everyday. haha. Yesterday, she cook fish n egg for him but he rejected it. Only took my plain rice end up I have to eat his bowl n he ate mine.

Celery cos he love that now. Other vege sometimes don take.

I don do much marketing, MIL n maid are the one who buy most of the time. They decide what to cook n I eat since I'm not fussy eater.

Now have to check internet n buy books to guide my maid wat to cook.

<font color="119911">Jolimilk</font>
Brand is Waitrose Organic Spinach. I most prob got it from Cold Storage.

<font color="119911">JUL</font>
Ur cloth book still with me, dun forget about it. Contact me.

<font color="0000ff">jolimilk,</font>

三字经 is the more popular one. 第子规 is less popular. I am not familiar with the latter, only played in on DVD a couple of times and didn't take note of what it's about.

How to improve on Mandarin? There is only one way - speak it more at home! Just like any other language, one has to use it to appreciate and to learn it fast and well. I persoanlly think even if you send your kid to chinese enrichment class but you don't speak to him in chinese often, the progress will be very slow.

My kids should be no problem with Chinese, hopefully, cos we speak almost 100% to them. And my son doesn't have problem with English either, cos he uses English at his cc. Now he is interested in Cantonese (cos I speak Cantonese with hub).

Not sure what it is to get rid of by blanching spinach, still trying to find out.

When come to cooking porridge for young toddler, I find it's the easiest leh. Cos at this age, they tend to accept almost everything, at least it's true for my 2 kids. So I just dump in anything I have in the fridge to cook porridge. Even if you cook porridge 7 days a week, as long as you use different veg and meat/fish, then it's not boring for the toddler, they actually don't think so, it's adults who think so :)

Kam
Haha ya I wud love to reply more often but been busy with kids schedules and exams and now school holi also busy with occupying them and give in to their incessant bugging to do this n that.

My hub is nt a carrier if not I wud be v worried! In fact I only knew abt my condition when I was hvg my gal cos I Chg gynae! My previous gynae kept telling me that I'm anaemic but actually I was a thal carrier.. Ya now my kids can do test also but poor thing leh gotta take blood! I will ask them do when they r older ESP if wanna get married to make sure their gf/bf r not carriers too!

Paige
I got my childlife from online. Cos of the amt of supplements I need to get fir other kids I dun usually join sprees. My older kids take nordics DHA. Much much cheaper online. I didn't know how much they sell here cos so used to shop online until one day I saw at GNC they selling for $75 I got a shock! I got mine fir USD17 even plus shipping still much much cheaper!

Kam is right. The only way to improve a language is to use it all the time! U will appreciate this a lot when ur kids go to pri school cos most of the kids can't speak mandarin and they end up nt liking it hence their written chinese also suffer and they lose out to their classmates who r better at it. Many of my boys sch mates r v good in their maths and science but becos they fail Chinese their overall aggregate is bad and they end up in the last class.

Connie
Oh u also give ur gal childlife. I never believe in giving babies supplement but Joseph used to fall sick so often I hv no choice. And I'm glad it did help to boost his health. Same as u, even when my older boys were coughing he was ok.

I think i'm a sadist.

I'm actually glad that sam bawled when he saw me standing at the lift lobby n i said goodbye to him. But then.. He was with the maid alone n not with the ILs haha

<font color="ff0000">RE: MEET UP</font>
Anyone is interested to meet up <font color="ff0000">next Friday</font>? I will be on leave and would like to bring my little princess to do some socialising :)

Jul,

Sometimes I'm quite happy that my boy cries for me too. Keekee Like I'm the most impt person to him.

Kam,

Wow, Would be fun to meet up. Will see if can take leave

Hi Kam, I haven't met you before
I see if I can take leave on the 10th right? My kids have no school on that day so I'm with all 4...

If I can take leave, then can bring the kids out...

kaira

Haha it's even more "heartwarming" for me bcoz Sam doesn't like me

kam

I'd like to join as long as the timing fits Sam's nap times. I'll be on leave

kaira / Stephanie / Jul,

That's great! I have only been to 1 gathering so far (the birthday bash at kiki's) and met some mummies but didn't really chat to them cos busy with 2 kids. Would love to meet up more mummies. This time only my girl and me, so I am sure I can have more time chitchatting.

I would think morning is a good time. If your child need a morning, can let him/her take a nap during the car ride (hopefully), and then can go home for the afternoon nap (esp if he/she misses the morning one).

Venue - where??? An indoor playground? Or someone's house? Or somewhere we can have a meal?

Wanna go to the park? Or indoor playground?
Meal is a bit hard for me cause it will be pretty chaotic.. hahah can't talk much.

Jacob Ballas Garden? SengKang Riverside Park? (haven't been there yet) but have to pray for good weather though... lol

Or the Kovan indoor playground?

Next Fri

I'll be bringing my maid, so she'll be an extra pair of hands to anyone who needs help (extremely limited pair, I have to quantify haha)

I've NEVER been to any indoor playground. Outdoors, very iffy at this time of the yr
How abt indoor PG?

My mom went to c a Chinese physician and she shun bian ask the doc bout K's beer belly. The doc check his belly button and comment tat cos his cord didn tie properly tat y air Go in. Could it be true??? Can believe anot?
My mom ask any help? Doc say yes but K is too small cant do anything now. Sadness, dunno K must carry tat tummy for hw long =p

** k don eat alot. He seldom snacks.. So I believe is nt tat he is too fat tat y got beer belly. I always believe tat he is born with tat =p

myfavchoco

Huh??? Pls dun let my MIL hears this or she'll nag me to cover Sam's belly button all the time! As it is, she nags half the time liao :p

My PD says kids at this age all have potbelly

myfavchoco,
This is my son tummy at 1 yo. Big or not? Or K's bigger than this?
4828625.jpg

Until now, my son still has a reasonably big "beer belly", esp after his meal. It's okay woh. We never worry leh. His PD said it's totally fine. Why you so concern about K big belly leh?

The air thing ah. Er, I think it may be true that his tummy has a lot of air. But I don't think it can be link back to the time when the gynae tied the cord, I mean that's 15 months ago leh, any trapped air would have been expelled already lah. 15 months ago leh.

Kam - I got bus to Jacob Ballas.. heheheh

myfavchoco - how big is the beer belly? All kids will have belly one
All my 4 kids have it and will outgrow it as they grow older. Unless K's belly is really huge, else i think no need to be alarmed?

If you worried, maybe can bring to PD instead?

Also if air easy go in, then you can massage his tummy everyday with Ru Yi oil? Baby massage helps a lot...

Jul,
Haha, please do so if it helps, that's what some of my fellow mummies on Jan08 thread did 2 years back (the reason why I took this photo). You can assure your MIL even with such a big tummy, my son is very healthy, can eat well, drink lots, sleep well, and poo and pee well, rarely falls sick, very active :) And he was (only) about 11kg that time, not too heavy.

kam,
if i can make it, wld love to join in. i confirm later ya! but mornings really not good for me. my girl must take that 11am nap, else will become cranky monster whole day!

myfavchoco,
i didn't notice that K's belly very big leh...really v big meh? kim also got belly! ya, i also think all babies at this age got bellies?? should be normal bah! what the chinese physician said sounds so funny to me (sorry...), i don't believe though. keke.. yep, stephanie is right, u can try to massage. lie him down, do the belly massage then pull (gently) his legs down straight then up bend and press against his tummy. i still massage kim occassionally nowadays.

kam

haha but I'll have to save the photo then. Cannot let MIL find out I've been discussing on the forum muahaha

Sam's so thin now, compared to those chubby baby days

4828967.jpg

kam, steph, jul, kiki

K really got huge beer belly la.. i think K one is something like kam #1 or slightly bigger... confirm not smaller..

becos, K's face, shoulder, basically upper body looks normal. not fat. but the belly look real big. everytime people (friends or strangers) will comment he jus eaten his meal ar??? which is not.. nv eat already tat big lor.

and his skin is veri sensitive to "ru yi oil" once apply, next day rashes on his tummy.. then my grandma say apply seasme oil +_-

yup, we did ask few PD they all say is normal. but jus feel veri uncomfortable for him lor.. wan to let him eat but veri scare his tummy will BURST !!!!

go dig out the pics, i seldon took pic on his tummy so these r the only accidentally taken ones. hahaa.. the one on the left is 10mths (this can didn capture clearly hw big it is la), right side is taken recently.. so round and big
4829071.jpg

jul,
i bought it last mth, 14cm.. SUPER SMELLY already =P i don let him wear socks la.. cos i think wear sock veri "gu gu" for boys.. so tat shoes now veri smelly... and his foot stink after wearing tat =P

favchoco

Same! I didn't let Sam wear socks with his shoes &amp; they stank! Now I aws insit on socks with his shoes. Does he have sweaty feet?

kam,
ur boy look so big and handsome now.. looking at his 1yr old pic made me wanna laugh =P think when our kids grow up and know tat we show so many aunties their bellies pic.... they will hate us =P

favchoco

Oh there's no way to get rid of the smell. The shoes will smell worse &amp; worse.. u'll have no choice but to throw them away

jul,
boys hard to find nice yandao shoes hor?? all so boring one.. now K only left this shoes (crocs 1 pcs lost dunno where he throw, little blue lamb 1 too small, 2 wear liao corner red red and) sighz.... where to buy nice shoes???

myfavchoco, My boy one also leh!!! Ever since the last time we let him wear the shoes to the indoor play ground then the shoe started to stink and affected his leg too!

After playing at indoor playground, my maid let him wear the shoes with the socks home and ever since he had smelly feet and by the time I realise, it was 4-5 days later

So we took used tea bags to put inside his shoes and seal it in a plastic bag. Then we also used more used tea dust to do "Spa" for his smelly feet.. heheh

myfavchoco,
Thanks for your compliment. He is my darling boy :) Aiyoh, I somemore blog about their life since they were born leh, and the FB leh. Either they would love me or hate me for it, which I would worry about later :)

Ya, K's tummy is big. But he is healthy, active physically, and everything is okay what. So really don't have to worry. I think he is comfortable with it leh, see how happy he is almost all the time. Don't have to worry his stomach would burst from eating, let him eat as much as he wants to.

Actually my gal has quite a big tummy too, but that's more because she is fat, kekeke.

kiki,
Okay. We also haven't confirmed on the time and venue yet. Hope can meet you and Kim again.

Jul,
Sam looks all grown up! He slimmed down a lot? Face still round round leh, handsome boy!

favchoco

Dunno leh. I aws go to Orchard OG to buy Sam's shoes. Recently bought Sesame Street shoes from the same place. Think I saw some nice ones at Bata too, but Sam was in a very bad mood so din manage to try that day.

kam

U better hope ur kids don't decide to go into the entertainment biz or politics. That's when the nosy reporters come snooping for embarassing secrets haha

Definitely slim down lah. he used to be sooo fat. See mt FB profile pic?

Haha thanks for the compliment. He looks like Hubs

*Gulpz* Sembawang? waterplay? lol You'll see me carrying a suitcase there loh.. hahah 4 kids with their change of clothes and barang... lol I try to make it k.. no promises.. lol

steph,
Oh waterplay no good for you ah. But Jacobs Ballas also has waterplay area woh. But the kids would love it right? Where are you staying? Sembawang too far?