(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

precious,
both ur kids on sch bus?
im was thinking sch bus but my boy super active
cant sit still kind
at 24mths if take sch bus dunno safe anot?

Sharon
He takes school bus when he was 17mths and so far he enjoys it, and it has become a routine for him too. There is a helpful bus assistant. He has some bus mates who he likes to be with.

Has anyone let your child take the 2nd dose of MMRV yet? My DD took the 1st dose when she was 18 mths. PD says can take anytime from now to P1. But take liao likely got fever one...v sian...Anyone intending to skip the 2nd dose of MMRV?

fluffy, ya i also heard if they take 2nd dose MMR now when P1 dun need to take in school & we can ask for a vaccine cert. from the clinic.

precious:: my car dun hv the watever dvd player or wat leh..unless chg away one of the cars to a MPV, den prolly will install....but actually i dun quite like the idea (personally...) cos i will get motion sickness..haha. but..the prob is not so much whn they're in the car... the bigger prob for me is to get them in the car! ): n i especially hate it whn i hfta 'fight' till my whole body soak in perspiration!!! -__-""

take cab arh? if only 1 kid..i tink still ok... but hw to hug/grab 2 todds in a cab without childseat.. n on the rd of evng peak? the tot of it is quite scary le.

re: MMR
duh.. hw cm i cant rmbr abt taking a 2nd dose? oh so this 2nd dose.. can be taken anytime now.. or wait till in P1?

Mmrv: Caden took the mmr in jan and chickerPox in mar separately too. He suppose to go for his puenomococcal and booster Jab (18month)In aprl but he still coughing till now... Took the YHs Chinese med and western med also not recovering still cough only in early morning .. it's already a month don't know how leh ..look like flu bug in the air.. So far he still eat sleep and play as normal.. Should I be concern.

Joyful,
tt hotel u booked is v small leh u bringin denson along?

fatbobo,
poor u.. handlin 2 kids is definitely challenging i tink it is jus a phase u hang on to it k..

joeey,
now i alr have 1 maid but at my IL house dun tink i wan to get another maid v xiong... tink things will improve once #2 is older

Piggy

I need accessibility to mtr n proper toilet for Denson to shower mainly..

Dun tink we will stay in room for long hrs except slping.. Hopefully still Nt too bad..

joyful,
hmm jus be prepared la cos hotel in HK is v small n the hotel u booked is even smaller i remember tt time i go not much walkin space n toilet small so when u bath Denson may be a bit tight la..

Fatbobo
why don't u just change to mpv then no need to drive 2 cars?i gave up on taxis already. When u wanna take, there's none in sight. Wanna book also difficult. So I told my hb, I rather have a car anytime. It's tough when u wanna lug two kids and trying to get a cab.

Hi mummies where u let bb to sleep? Sill in cot or playpen.. I have experievce his legs can entangle in between the cot rails .. Now he is in play pen think will outgrown .. Don't know where to put him to sleep

Mashy
Did you try iPhone apps Taxi Bookibg? The response is very fast. I gave up driving, could not take the stress caused by #1 who talks non-stop, asks non-stop, and #2 simply refuses car seat.

Babiesmeme
Still in bb cot, but I removed the fence since day 1, and put it next to our bed. Easier for me to bf him at night. Now he knows how to come down properly from my bed

MMR vaccine, this sounds scary

MMR contains animal and human fetal components. Specifically, parts of the vaccine are grown in chick embryo cells, fetal bovine (cow) serum, and a cell line developed from an aborted human fetus.

Morning all,

RE: maid...
yesterday, on the way home after picking up my kids from CC...
saw 2 maids with 2 babies(abt 1-1.5yr old) taking a stroll...but they stop to talk to a guy happily (a different race from the babies~so definately not their daddy)...and let him carry one of the baby(a girl)...
just wondering if the employers know abt this...

so do keep a close tab on your maid when they go taking a stroll with the babies

RE: training pants...

thanks for all the recommendations...

hmmm, the BPs now are selling disney one which is only 3 layers (i got a few but not as good as the 4 layers one that i got from a BP here last yr)...

am looking for 4 layers ones...from nissen...

hi mrng all~

piggy:: thanks.. i like to believe it's just a phase too.... hopefully they will quickly get over..n used to me picking them up alone at times. next wk hb travelling agn..n 2 wks latr aft dat also.

mashy:: there's no MPV hb & i like.. with power. n those with power..we cant afford! haha. n cant really bear to let go our car nw. n since hv another car, so means we hv the space.. den yup. this way lor.
cos also my hb (most of the times) need the car for work, n with another car, his work schedule wun be disrupted.. i can still go pick the kids mah.

joyful:: wah seh.. u go n study wat in the MMR? hehehe.

cloudme:: smtimes tinking of all these maids issue.. really sigh. it's not totally right also if we keep them 100% at hm (unless go out with us), cant talk to other maids or wat.. (so ke lian n slogging to earn money far away frm hm n frens!)... but these ppl smtimes juz duno who they are making frens with. ystday i juz asked my helper to read abt the news of the maid murdered n dumped in the water tank. she said she read abit.. n i was like telling her.. so ya, pls be careful of who ur making frens with..n to what extend. my hse nearby also alot of foreign workers..n few not too bad looking oso (haha.).. so ya.
but for us, we normally dun allow her to bring the kids down..anyways, she alone wun b able to handle both.. so unless with us or my mum (previously dat is)...

Bobo

Was trying to find out how long should e fever fr mmr/mmrv jab last mah..

N tis vaccine r live viruses tat is why it is so potent..

Side effects: mild rash, fever, temporary joint pain or stiffness

Hey mummies, do you know if it is possible to contract maid for short term like 6 months to a yr? Hubby is not helping out in anything at all....and though my mum helps, we are both dead tired...esp i am a ftwm and DD is hyperactive...thinking of getting a maid short term until DD turns 3 and i can handle her by myself...

by then reading all the maid horror stories...sigh...delimma

Precious
no. Just tried calling but can't get any. Was very frustrated when we tried to get a cab from golden mile back home. It's crazy lugging luggage and 2 kids and all the empty cabs refuse to stop.

Anyway we still have a car. In fact our new car is coming tomorrow.

fatbobo
that's so ex to maintain two cars and maid. My hb takes train to work while I drive the car. ;) for us it's whoever has the kids take the car. Lol.

Fluffyboy
Min contract is 2yrs, but anytime when you want to stop hiring the maid, has to depend on her existing loan, and if she wants to continue to work, the agency will charge you another agency fee to look for another employee for her. I ended contract with my helper after she worked one year with us. Her case was because no one looked after her children as her mother was very ill, so she had to go back immediately (only 5 days advance notice for me). Every agency has different terms n condition, best to find one which you don't have to pay 1 huge sum to the maid's loan, if not you'll be stuck in chasing the payment from agency if there is any balance.

Mashy
I tried to take over the car but I personally found it very troublesome. Especially if no carpark lot, and I have to park all the way to storey 4 or 5 in the multi carpark. Have to climb all the way up to take the car with two kids with me. Perhaps that is the disadvantage of new HDB flats? Agree, during peak hours, can be quite frustrating to get taxi or encounter bad attitude of taxi drivers too. Some taxi drivers don't like to take in passengers w kids n stroller

mashy:: that's y we cant afford any holidays.. bahahahaha~ be it with or without the kids. haha.
boh bian de la.. different families different operations. haha. we figured this, at moment, is the best arrangements..so....
ur not working..or shld say working at home.. yr hb doesnt need car for work... so ya, yr arrg works for yr family that way.

for us, im working..2 todds n a dog. needs a helper. hb needs car to work, so i cant b using his car just to fetch the kids. but i dun drive the other car daily la.. oni whn necessary. hb will still drop me off half-way n i take a bus into town for work... oni whn he needs the car for his evng engagements..then we will take 2 cars out lor.

so ya.. many more different kind of operating methods for different families.. heeeee~

ooooh.. congrats on receiving yr new car tmr.. was it a citroen or chevy (cant rmbr nw)..

Precious

it was terrible when the kids were younger esp my gal will scream in her car seat. But after 9 mths of wailing, she's fine now. The two kids will guai guai sit in their car seats. Sometimes my gal will whine but so long as we sing her favourite songs, she will feel better. I rather have car than maid.

Fatbobo

chevy. It's tough having twins huh? Pat pat. That's why I say the govt should give free or discounted Coe to parents with young kids. It's financially draining. My hb says we are now in deficit. So need to look for money already. Sigh.

Mashy
Can't agree more, having a maid is quite stressful especially when it comes to disciplining and teaching the child the correct way, they tend to listen to the child, and gives in to the child easily and most of the time. But of course, I do know some helpers are really very good, will make that extra effort to educate, explain the child if the answer is 'no' to the child

mashy:: smtimes when i was upset n flare my frustrations etc.. my hb got suggest few options for us.

1) withdraw the girls frm CC
2) i quit my job (prolly send helper off too)
3) ... errrh..i cant rmbr wat else.

anyways.. all these other options.. i tink i still prefer me working.. lol~ although im not earning much, so with or without my portion of income doesnt make much difference, but i hv the flexibility n somehow, freedom too. i dun tink i can take it, given my kind of tempermental, to be a SAHM. i salute u all.. SAHM too!

i agree with u also.. rather have car than helper. but boh bian lor. smtimes i oso tink since girls are in cc, she has so much free time at home in the day..... but, to see it frm another point of view, she can keep my dog accompanied too, n bring him to walk in the aftnn too. it's like dat de lor, since we dun hv the 'additional' time n attention to our dog anymore, we hfta 'outsource' n let someone help us do the job.

on the COE, i tink for all families with younger kids.. errrh.. prolly make it work like the subsidies maid levy!?! n hv more park & ride carparks pls. hahaha.

Fatbobo
the thing that made me decide to stay home was why we are paying other pp to watch our kids grow up, enjoy our house while we slog outside? Doesn't make sense. Lol.

bobo,
agree that we should let them make friends too...

but hmmm, let the other party(newly make guy friends) to carry the baby is abit too much lor...

mashy:: true.. so must try to strike a balance.
of cos not that u go out n slog like shit..end of the day cm back just dive into bed n sleep kind. to me, i dun need to earn big bucks, big bucks usually call for a price of more time n effort. haha. can say that cos i dun hv the qualification n capability.. so im contented to stay at such a lvl, earning juz enuff (although in deficit for certain periods..nvm)... kids can still can live comfortably..clean hse, spend time in evng/wkns, etc. well, evn like for wkns.. i can so easily be frustrated, easily flare up at them. i cant imagine if i was a SAHM n flare everyday..every now n then! makes the r/s even worse. i hv tried to mellow down quite a bit over the years already.. but this is me, aft 30+++ yrs, hw much can i chg? can control, but difficult to chg. haha.

i tink as long as the arrg works for the couple, the kid(s), the families... then things shld make some sense le.

being working f/t, i din tink that i really miss out on my kids' developments much. to me, i dun hfta witness all the very first attempts or achievement.. i prefer to watch the progress. (that me la..my personal take!) i dun tink hvg an outsider, a helper in my hse.. i lost alot of freedom or privacy. of cos, certain tings hfta adjust..withhold..forgo. haha. it's not like as if with a helper at home, i can no longer walk ard the hse naked, etc. haha. i wun do it evn when no one else is at hm. also, i dun really see it as letting someone else enjoy my hse whn im out la. (agn..my personal point of view here.) she has to work - clean my hse, prepare meals, watnot for us oso mah. these ppl, often den not, are 'underpriviledged' ppl who has to come out n work as domestic helpers to earn for their family in hometown or for whatever reason. them, hvg to sacrifies families n friends to cm out n work................ errh.. ok.. actually i decided not to go too much into all these..else will get out of point liao.. bahahaha~

like at certain point.. when my girls were getting quite mobile (stage between crawling-walking)....we reckoned that we need 2 helpers. cos even with my mum n a helper, we might not have enough hands to get hold of too much tings. of cos, expenses were super high, but that was one of the better options we had..importantly, so as not to stress out my mum too much too.

anyways, life is such, with so much challenges and all.... we all juz hfta find ways to work around or through them. hohoho~

but hor.. i still dun understand... why the girls owas hfta behave such when i hfta handle them alone! last evng hb & i picked them frm CC.. then when we were in the car, they were chatting n laughing with eachother. this mrng in the car, they both danced to the beat of the music. why cant they just be 30-50% of hw they behave with daddy ard..for whn it was with me alone!?! not asking much.. 30-50% can liao! sigh! actually them in the car with me alone (driving) is ok.. the big challenge is getting them into their seat. kaoz. they either dun follow on behind me..or ya, juz hfta fight with them to push them into the seats lor. hw to carry 2 todds + 2 bags.. my arms n back is not as strong anymore!

Bobo

I tink they r used to seeing things in pairs, hence daddy n mummy can't go wo each other wor.. Relax, tink on e bright side they r smart.. They noe when is e time to bully..

Try getting ur hubby to pick them up on his own.. See if they do tat to ur hub oso ornot leh..

Denson only chu pattern wen there r ppl ard.. Wen there is only 1 caregiver, he will b most of e time obeying instructions..

joyful:: hehe. smtimes i oso tink that they like it in pairs. they will sometimes out of the blue call "daddy"..n follow by "mama". smart? or kuku? i noticed too, if call "gerng gerng" (supposed to be gonggong, they still cant pronounce properly), will followed by "popo"! sometimes when they call "nainai"..n will like (ask for) "yeye". kaoz!!!

but hor.. i doubt they will call for me when hb is alone with them lor. ): they dun like me! calling out to me (after "daddy") was to eng xiu me niah! ):

i asked hb before.. when he had to pick them alone (on couple of occassions before).. hw was their reaction/behaviour.... he will like say they oso chud pattern smtimes. but..smhow i feel that he said that to make me feel better niah.

normally in cc, when it's hm gg time, when they see other kids' parents turn up to bring them hm... they will start emo.. n whine for 'daddy'!!! note: they will owas whine for 'daddy'.. n not 'mama'!!!!

smtimes i really hfta 'beg' them to help me out.. to co-operate with me... so that we can hv a happy journey hm etc. but..they juz owas will get on my nerves!!

at least Denson is doing the right ting..when there's oni 1 caregiver, he will be disciplined... n not making the job for the oni caregiver even tougher!!! my girls really something wrong!!!!

Last time Denson also dun wan mummy de.. He only wan daddy to baobao..

Most of e weekends I take care of him myself, I reason out w him.. Feed him is always a challenge.. But Duno since when he just cooperate w mi.. I always repeat e same thing to him.. Threaten him e same thing like if he dun sit down to eat, I switch off e tv.. After awhile he noe Wat I am tokin, he will react properly..

Takes time n they always reach a stage they all just wan mummy.. If both wan mummy at e same time, u oso headache lah.. Duno to clone or tear apart faster.. Haha

joyful:: exactly. smtimes i really wonder where the prob lies. was it me.. or them! there was a period which was ultimate..they totally rejected me. i tink i mentioned here before..we had to go to those medium.. but it's ok now.
to be fair, they will sometimes be niam to me too. i rmbr there was a few occassions, i had to carry one on one hand..n do my biz on the toilet bowl..(haha!) - luckily i got 'train' before..whn i broke my right arm n was on cast for 7mths..to use one hand at the toilet. n smtimes both oso wana carry dun wana let go, i had to carry both, i had to balance on one leg, n use the other to off the tv (remote), off the standing fan.. with my toes - luckily oso i did yoga before, i could still balance ok with one leg! LOL~

i mean.. i tried to ask a few twin mums too.. hw they do it. i tink im a failure!!!! really! definitely, overwhleming attention.. i still can tahan..... but i fail to endure the rejections.

double the joy... double the trouble!

I FINALLY stop bf and kept my pump for good, well at least for a year...
Has been trying to stop for months and yday was the Last pump to make sure no more milk le...only pump out 10/20ml last night..hahaha
Now can sleep when Nat sleep and no need to pump n wash etc etc...
Its almost 2 years since started....

bobo,
i was just thinking , can you ask your maid to help you if you are fetching the girls alone in the evening ? can she meet you somewhere, then you pick her up, then both of you go to school ? so she can help to carry bags or watch out for the other kid when you handle one ...

for me, i dare not bring 2 kids out alone , it's already tough handling them at home. if it's only me, i'll bring 1 kid out. i'm a scaredy cat !!

Dolcevita
Congrats! I'm still fail to stop him from latching

Jooey
My #1 is my good assistant when I bring two kids alone with me. Will stay close w me, helps me w things. But I hv stopped to bring stroller nor ergo carrier out as #2 refused

bobo
u r a super woman! I know how difficult it is to cope with 1 kid alone when hb is not around. you have 2 somemore!

Now I have to use treats to bribe my boy to get him into the car seat. At least I dont hv to fight with him now. Maybe you can try also? My boy love fruits, so sometimes I give him cut apple, stawberries, chips, puffs, vit c gummy, mini milo...
My hb will complain about eating in the car but too bad he's not here to police it! haha!!

I've heard alot of working mothers moaned that if they could afford it, they wld rather be a sahm and be with their kids everyday. But i find that even when i'm at home with ovann everyday, i dun have alot of time with him! All my time is spent at doing the housework & cooking for him!!! The only time when i'm really free is in the evening, after feeding him his dinner. But by then, mil is home and he'll be busy running between my room & mil's room to play. Sianz.

My ger also keep calling daddy when daddy is not around... dun know why... but when need something, always come to marmee....