(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

welcome Cassey!

bbPotato, i also forgot to take the last 2 appt mc. only took for 1st scan. think we too excited so forget :p

Ling, think will only get to see you on the 21 april for the doctor's talk at SCGS cos my hb wanted wkday in the end. the rest of the classes at AMK.

went down to Horse Brand Bird's Nest on sat. it was no as ex as i tot. but seems like only 2 variety with diff grades. ranges from 160 to 217 per tael which is abt 6-7pcs. the lady says the effect is the same just that the texture and taste is diff. so will be taking 1pcs every 2 weeks starting this wkend.

chidori, thanks for the list. it's very detailed.

Mika Rei,they allowed 1 person company you,so shdn't be a problem.but can't take photo or video.

Caramelle,thanks,good luck for your class too!I booked the class before christmas.If you want to transfer hospital,you can request them help you transfer all your records as well,but don't know whether need to paid for that or not.

Xuan,you can start planning first so you know what's you want to buy and what's brand you prefer.. so will be more easier to make decision when you going to baby fair.

Newbie Mom,just like bbjun said,it's your personal preference,one of my friend let her BB sleep with her mother so she can have a good rest,but another friend prefer BB sleep with herself.

First Mum,i think the ultrasound scan normally gynae did for us one is not clear as NT Scan/Detailed scan,so must wait detailed scan then will be 100% accurate right.

Last week i went to see my gynae,she said confirm my BB's gender only when i go to do my detailed scan.

caramelle,
ESH went thru makeover recently is it? It was still pink n cosy in Oct 2007! I saw they were renovating the reception area last month.. shd pop upstairs to see the place when i go for my kid's pd appt.

chidori,
thanks for sharing the checklist. I found another one from another thread also. Will share here.
mime_msword.gif

list_of_bb_stuff-1502497.unk (4.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

bbjun, thanks for the info. I've never been to these places coz not really convinient to go.

Thanks, toffeecat &amp; JessMa!

Mika Rei, my scan was at NUH ADC. Hubby was beside me throughout trying to decipher what we were looking at. The little fella refused to cooperate and I was kneaded and prodded for a whole hour before they completed all the checks!! I felt somewhat sore on some parts of my abdomen, and we were both starting to feel really drowsy.

I think about 50 minutes into the scan, the sonographer gave up and asked me to go take a short walk and talk to baby before coming back. Baby did turn over a bit when we returned, but within minutes of scan Part 2 starting, he flipped back again!

Thankfully sonographer already saw what she needed to see before he flipped back. =)
We got such a clear view of his genitals, but pity didn't get a picture.

bbjun,congrats to you and your prince.how your gynea told you that your bb is a prince?When my gynae told me she said "maybe/look like is",then i asked "is it confirmed?" then she said detailed scan will be more accurate.My gynae scan from bottom (between the legs) also,but from bottom view is it can see umbilical cord also?

just went for my gynae visit just now.. am at 16wks 4days.
baby didn't want to show what is between the legs.. my gynae asked me to turn and still baby was stubborn..
aiyah have to wait for detail scan lor... it's on the 4th Feb...

Welcome Cassey

Just wondering where does one get info about pre-natal classes at the hospitals?

Nozomi, I just switched gynae on Sat. He asked me if I am feeling any cramping feeling at the bottom of my bump around my pelvic. I cld not really answer as I do feel pain now and then at the side. He gave me some medicine to standby in case. Must take if feel cramps so that nothing happens.

The medicine is called Salbutamol.

I did feel some minor pain at the virginal area last week. So far have not eaten the medicine and qutie worried too.

Hi Jess,

If you are lucky, and the baby is not covering his pte parts, the gynae can scan from the rear view. If it's a little prince, can see 3 little round peanuts.. hehehe

Sweethalo, thanks for welcome. =)

Antenatal class info mostly available online (Mt. Alvernia, Thomson, SGH, KKH) and also if you join hospital tours.

That being said, I haven't been able to find much on Gleneagles. Anyone's attended antenatal classes at Gleneagles before? I'll have to check with my dr when I see him next time.

Re: Scan for Baby's Gender
Like most of the ladies have said, unless gynae can see very certainly what's between baby's legs, they usually just say how many percent..

At an earlier scan before the detailed FA scan, my dr told me it SEEMS we're having a boy and his nurse agreed.. He did warn me that 70% it's a boy, but the bump we saw between baby's legs could very well be a "well-placed" hand too.

I guess the only way gynae can confirm is if baby cooperates and opens wide. Then we can clearly see if there's nothing or perhaps a scrotum AND a wee little penis!

Hi Cassey,

Thanks for the info. Is it necessary to go to classes where we will be delivering or any hospital will do?

I will be delivering at Gleneagles too. Maybe I will check with my Doctor this Sat. Let u kn if I find out anything more.

Welcome Cassey!

Sweethalo, although its not necessary to choose the classes at where you delivers, but it will be cheaper on the course fee if you choose the class at the hospital you are delivering. Weekdays and weekends is diff pricing too.

Seems like alot of mummies know their baby gender liao.. so you gals can buy baby clothes oreadi. My last check was when i was about 14wks+, doc look here and there but cant cfm the gender yet. Have waited patiently for a month and my next visit this wed! Hmm.. hope can see something liao. Seems like a long wait, cant wait to see baby!

Thanks Chidori and Styliciously for the list!

Wow, seems like a lot of preparation work to do before delivery. Like doing homework and research to welcome our baby arrival! Haha =)

jessma, my gynae said confirmed a boy after checking. Like what sweethalo says, can see 3 peanuts. I recall seeing one view from bottom when the gynae tried very hard to point to me la... but as usual, dunno why she can see something so easily when I have to spend so much time trying to make out the image. But it is something like the 3 peanuts description. Then we check different views. Cos only one hand is near the crotch area, when it moved away, can see the birdie which I vaguely can make out but gynae super sure and declared: confirmed boy boy liao. I dun rem seeing the umbilical cord from the bottom. Perhaps cos the doctor never point out to me, I oso dunno. Everytime she tries to point to different parts to explain hands, fingers, legs etc to me. If she dun point, I may be quite clueless about some images. Somemore, this time the baby was more curled up but legs open la. So I took longer time to recognize certain things but gynae always very fast to point out to me. I psycho bb for one week telling him everyday about the gynae visit. I told him we will buy a lot of nice clothes n toys if he tells us his gender. LOL.
I think this kind of thing also depends on gynae's experience and our luck. I heard quite alot of reviews on my gynae that she is very accurate to tell gender at week 16 from different ppl. Even for gals, she can confirm at week 16 (for a fren's fren). Actually after she so sure say confirmed boy, I was still trying to see very hard. We didn't really tell our family cos want to wait for detailed scan, just in case. Cos we dun wan old ppl to happy for nothing if they really want a grandson.

styliciously, baby avenue is at balestier, very near a bus stop. Can take from Toa Payoh interchange - bus 145. Cherie kids is at Heartland Mall, at Kovan MRT station. ONly baby kingdom needs a bit of efforts to go if got no car. Cos Kaki bukit quite deep inside. Hope the info helps.

bbjun, congrats to your baby prince. I also trying to pscho my baby to cooperate and reveal the gender in 2 days time.
So cute when you gals refer as 3 peanuts. keke

Thanks Creamer.. will look out abt courses at Gleneagles then.

Actually what do we learn from these courses? Is it absolutely necessary?

Relax, am sure you will get to know gender on ur visit. Try bbjun's motivational methods... seems to work.. :p

Every mummy seems so excited about baby s gender!!! hehe... During my oscar scan, the gynae which I was referred to guessed that its a boy based on baby s tailbone, 2 weeks ago, my own gynae guessed its a boy based on the view from baby s bottom.. heh .. I am so eager to wait for the detailed scan to confirm the sex of baby!! When gynae first declared that its a boy, i teared, part joy, and part sad cos i was hoping that my first child will be a girl, but in any case, i was really overjoyed at this little life inside me!! =)

I am currently about 17-18 weeks, am still trying to feel my baby moving inside. Have you mummies felt baby move already? I get worried sometimes cos I wonder if baby is doing fine cos sometimes I almost forgot tt Im pregnant cos the tummy is not really 'in the way' yet.. hehe... how about you mummies?

wow... it took me a long time to read thru all the archives. haven't had the chance to log in for a long time. Busy with work.

Work is driving me nuts and one of my colleague, knowing that i'm preg, still left behind so much things for me to clear for her! and worse part is that i have to go around hunting for pple to return her things to! and she left so many things for me to physically clean up for her! I am so mad with her! ~ just wanna complain la, i can't complain to other colleagues mah. =)

I felt something hitting my lower abdomen today, not sure if it is baby movements but i am really excited.

Mummy Ash, i am different from you. I'm going on 5mths and everyone asked me if i'm due soon. =(

I am really impressed with your efforts to put up the list to buy, mummies! i don't have such energy to think about it yet... I better start soon...

sweethalo, i am also considering whether to attend the classes or not. My experienced mummy-colleagues tell me to forget about it. they said when the time comes, no use one coz we will forget everything in panic stage. But my hb's experienced daddy-frens said must attend, good for wifey and babies.

Mummies, what's the diff bet private stemcord and public stemcord? does it mean private, we keep for our own children's usage? Public - we donate them away?

sweethalo, this classes generally conducted in 6 sessions, to teach us exercises to do during pregnancy, spots signs of labour, pain relief in labour etc.. which i find them useful esp. for first time mum like us that duno wat to expect for our first delivery. You can call up the hospital to enquire if they have this classes. If not, Mt A and TMC offers this class.

Mummy Ash, im now 18wks+, also havent feel baby movement yet. Talk to baby ask to move a little let mummy feel but didnt feel anything yet leh. Same as u also get a little worried if baby is fine inside.. guess we have to be a bit more patient as times goes by, baby will be active and start kicking liao. Haa!

jessma,
yes the detailed scan wld be most accurate. mine is in 4 wks time, so long to wait! guess urs is ard the same time as mine?

newbie mom,
norm baby wld be slping with CL as the purpose of hiring her is to ensure u get sufficient rest. if u intend to BF, u will find that even with baby in another room, u feel like u hvnt slp a wink the whole night! looking after newborn is very taxing, and since the chinese believe that women in confinement shouldnt get out of bed unnec, CL would care for the bb most of the time.

mummyash,
pple say 2nd preg can feel baby earlier. im now 17 wks, also dont feel anything. so i do get paranoid at times too. but my baby bump is quite obvious liao, i have pple asking me if im expecting.

Mika,
Fr the sides to the centre of yr tummy, if it forms a clear slope, then is considered sharp = boy. If the tummy looks as if u hav put a round broad cushion beneath the clothes, then is gal.

Thanks Creamer
will check ard

What does baby movement feel like? Last Sunday I felt sharp pointed pains at the bottom then at the side then at the top. But I am now only in my 16th week

sweethalo, i am delivering at gleneagles, but taking my antenatal class at tmc. no prob with that. just need to pay a bit more than those delivering at tmc.

mummyash &amp; sweethalo, i felt my bb moved but irregularly since 16 weeks. now i'm 19 weeks, feel more frequently and more obvious. feels like rumblings sometimes, or something shifting in your lower abdomen, or gas turning (but w/o the f**t, sorry for being gross), or sometimes it's just plain kicking. mayb something like the drumming of fingers from inside of your body? those sharp pains at the side may be stretching pain, ur bb's growing so ur uterus need to grow to accommodate. remember your stretch mark oil yeah!!

daffodils, thanx. i tried to feel. i think it was flatter towards the sides then more slopey towards the center. ha, you have me feeling my stomach so often now. i'm going crazy trying to guess the gender of my bb.

Sweethalo... it feels like someone poking you from inside.. when I was pregnant with number 1, it feels like she is poking me all the time
when the baby get bigger , it feels like an alien moving

Hi Jess Ma, thanks. recently quite busy with work as rushing for project. how are u too? Enjoying your freedom life?

Abt bb kick. Actually last sun im talking with my bb telling her to corporate. As my bb is a US bb, she sleep in the morning and dancing in the night. then suddenly i felt a knock on my tummy, then i ask my bb 'wow u so naughter now, cannot said u huh?' suddenly continues kick from bb, knock, knock, knock. i run out of my room and tell my hubby to feel but bb cant be bother to show off to him. then i went back to bed again, i scolded my bb so stingy dun wanna show off to her daddy, she kick me 2 times again. i was on week 18. i cried that night, i feel so happy, i feel everything is worth it.

good morning ladies,

toffeecat, that's great, will see you on the doctor's talk then..

styliciously, thanks for sharing the list..

Cassey welcome!

long time never log in, pretty busy with work.

Congrats to bbjun on your little prince! =)

i still have to wait for my detailed scanning on 2nd feb to really confirm. Now i'm thinking whether to let Dr Chan do the detailed scanning or go to TMC 4th level.

Hi Creamer and Mummy Ash,
You can try sitting with your back supported and if possible, raise your leg horizontal (like on the bed). It is very difficult at first whether it is the movement as it is very slight movement. You will be more familiar when the movement become continuous and frequent. Right now, with my hubby hand on my tummy, he cannot feel anything while I feel the kick.

Sometime, when I rub my tummy for a while, the kick will come.

sweethalo,my BB quite cooprate,can see actually but gynae said will cfm when detailed scan.so cute,u desc as 3 little peanuts,keke...

bbjun,how many weeks when you go to scan? if your gynae confirm then shld be correct liao.we also didn't really tell our family too,got to wait for another 2 wks plus,when is your detailed scan?

First Mum,mine is in 2 wks plus 4 days time,everyday counting down.

Shelisa,don't do OT,take care yourself and your BB..;-) Me everyday afternoon go to park read book or go mall with my mum.. time flies very fast.and thinking later on full time take care my Baby.

Re:BB kick
Last few weeks still not so obviously but recently if morning i woke up but still lying on bed then BB will kick me...

yeah the they really look like 3 tiny peanuts hheee..

what detailed scan are u all talking about? Is it the one that needs to be taken at NUH at 5mths?

Thanks Ladies for sharing your babe's kicking experience. I hv been feeling some movt and pinpoint pokes and I thought maybe the baby but I got really panicked last Sat when I saw my new gynae who asked me if I have been experiencing any severe cramps at the the bottom.

So I am really confused now as to whether they are cramps or pokes? haha... Was worried for a few days but decided to leave it.

Jess Ma,
I went for my regular check up at week 16 days 2 and gynae oredi confirm boy boy. Detailed scan is in week 19.

Still can't feel bb's movement but just muscles pulling and cramps on and off.

hi ladies, i felt "bubbles" in my tummy yday... told hubby maybe our gal is blowing bubbles... he put his ear on my tummy and said he heard bubbling sound... haha... so cute... i think everyone is starting to feel movements in the tummy now...

my tummy is still small though... asked my gynae how come 4 months still so small... he said as long as baby grows well is sufficient, i don't have to grow... i think what he said is true... so now, size of my tummy doesn't bother me that much...

Welcome cassey!

sweethalo,
mine is at the vaginal area, it's kinda of 'aching/tight' feeling (even i dun walk, i still have tt feeling today)..if slight pulling pain on the ard lower abdomen, it is due to the womb that is expanding. not too worry, unless it's severe cramping.
bb's movement are something like poking, somersaulting kind of feeling

firstmum,
i still can't really feel my bb's movement too(wk 16)..also getting quite paranoid. last rd, i can feel it on wk 18..

Talk about feeling fetal movement.. I've been looking out for it since week 16.. Now I'm already 21 weeks and STILL haven't recognise anything! My little fella just refuses to be psycho'ed into moving hard enough for mummy to feel.

Sometimes I feel gas or rumblings, but it's usually above the navel instead of in the lower tummy area and almost always accompanied by a burp so, I guess that just me and my gross body works =( Started to get paranoid about baby's health but thank God that the scans show the stubborn little guy is doing alright.

Sweethalo, I haven't heard anyone say anything about Gleneagles' antenatal classes. It's not essential but I guess it useful and especially good as it motivates hubby to take time out to come with you and be more involved if he isn't already. Heehee. I think many people make friendships with other preggie mums so it's a support group concept too.

That having been said, I know of several people who have delivered without going for any classes at all and they're coping fine. I would like to know learn to bathe a baby and learn more about breastfeeding and delievery so I'm definitely on for classes.

I'm thinking if I procrastinate anymore, I might not get vacancies in the classes of choice. Must decide within next two weeks.

sweethalo,
p.s. Charges for taking classes at non-delivery hospital usually only about $30-40 more. Not very much difference

Thanks Nozomi for your encouragement. I have been taking alot more rest this week just in case.

I did feel aching at the vaginal area twice when I was really tired from shopping (oops!) I think best to get more rest and early nights.

THanks Cassey, will check out then, cos it's more convenient for me to go to either Mt A for classes. Gleneagles is really out of the way and the jams on Sat are unbelievable!!!

1. Maclaren/Peg Perego/Maxi Cosi Strollers/Car Seats

2. Babymallonline, 2nd batch, still taking orders

3. Cot mobile / Play mats

4. Desitin creamy, california calendular cream still few pieces left. Also, drugstore spree closing Jan.

Pls PM me for info. Thanks

Sweethalo, same thoughts on my side.
I'm concerned about traffic during evenings or weekends. So considering either Mt Al or Thomson for classes.

wow so many of u feeling fetal movement so exciting! i have not too, i'm 17th wk already. on &amp; off feel tummy very hot very weird feeling... i also cant tell a cramp from other tummy pain i guess as long as it doesnt feel like mense cramp and persistent then shd be not cramp lor. sometimes too much gas also got intestinal gas pain haha. I'm also paranoid like the rest of you who haven feel the movement. last time alt day listen to my fetal doppler now every morn and every night... my boy likes to lie on my right lower abdominal so i find it a bit painful at times to slp on my left.

hey mommies, thanks for sharing the bb list and prefered brands, will check it out. i feel thirsty often. lips abit crack and constipation though i been trying to eat fruit and plain food. anyone felt more thirsty than before? not diabetes cos gynae every visit got test stripe mah. is it becos we now higher metabolism body hotter need more water?

heehe createjoy, feeling more at ease now abt the pains I feel. Thanks!

I think I am always thirsty all the time until now i bring a big container of water into the room so that don't hv to keep asking for favours to fetch water :p

I am paranoid abt baby's health too, first qn to gynae during scan is can u find heartbeat??? can? heee...

Cassey, are u signing up for Mt Al?

welcome to all mommies...

any mommies has taken panadol flu/cold? It's safe for me to take or muz I go to my gynea for prescribe med for flu huh??

jessma,
so gd, next appt in 2 wks. coincide with CNY. Double happiness

nozomi,
i tink i felt baby motion around 20wks for 1st pregnancy. am on high alert for that very first kick haha.

bluedream,
sad to say, i tink ikea is the only plc with nice children furniture at decent prices. anything in particular u are looking for?

kikismom,
do not take panadol cold/flu..my gynae only advised chlorpheniramine(chloramine-the small yellow tablets is safe). As for panadol, if any fever, just take the most conventional type (round ones) w/o any extra strong, etc. u might want to call &amp; check with your gynae 1st.

kikismom,
u can go normal gp clinics or can purchase at guardian, tell the pharmacist that u r pregnant..she recom me: piriton tablets from gsk(chlorpheniramine meleate 4mg)I think it's safer to check with ur gynae on the name b4 consuming. am very ks one..haha