(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

bbjun,your gynae already confirmed with you liao so detailed scan will be same
hehe

First Mum,hope can cfm when doing detailed scan so can tell my grandparents and can start shopping more for BB.. ;-)

Mommies,my gynae will change to another hospital liao,can recommend another female gynae to me?otherwise i need to transfer to another hospital liao,actually i prefer this gynae but TMC and MT Alvernia too far from my place.

Sweethalo, not sure yet... My sister is 8 weeks ahead of me and attending Mt. A class now. heehee. But heard quite good reviews about Thomson - just that Thomson's parking is always a DISASTER.

Kikismom, I've been advised that paracetamol (in regular Panadol) generally ok. Anything stronger than that or containing more than paracetamol you'll need to check with gynae's approval. Just call the clinic?

I'M DYING TO FEEL FETAL MOVEMENT!!!!
COME ON, BABY BECKHAM! KICK KICK MOMMY!!

haha, cassey, you so funny! or u try to talk to/play with ur bb? sometimes got response. more likely when u are resting, the bb will move, cos no more rocking motion for them to sleep, then they'll wake up.

thanks cassey, nozomi
will call the clinic..
haha u so funnie, remember to response back to ur bb by tapping on ur tummy when u feel his/her kick...

mommies do u feel ur zz positon change after u preggy?? i dun feel comfortable sleeping on my back flat on the bed, i zz on my side maybe cos of the tummy

I will feel the movement when I'm sitting up..

wow.. so many posts to read thru..

mika, my baby was facing upwards, can see his face when doc was scaning, then try to scan from bottom & doc says she can see his wee penis but i really cant tell from the screen & then my baby shift again.. so doc says next scan which is my detail 20 week scan, she'll confirm for me.. haha

jess, ya, i really have to start planning on the stuffs i need to buy..
many thanks to Chidori and Styliciously for the list! Great help for me this FTM!

*envy* innocent... most of my friends no baby yet! so will be me passing things to my friends next time.. keke

i've not feel any baby movement *sad*.. only tightness & stretching below.. gynae says normally can feel in our 20 weeks of pregnany.. so 3+more weeks for me to go..

Cassey, if you're talking abt the prenatal class by TMC, the classes will be held at AMK hub, not thomson, so no worries abt parking..

Bluedream.. hmm will try your method tonite to see my bb will have movement anot.

Cassey, i tried talking to bb and ask for just ONE movement, at least let mummy feel there is a life inside my not big not small tummy mah. haha. How is your sister Mt A classes so far? Cos i book for that in early Mar date.

Whoa... so many people giving me advice. Thanks!!

I have been asking baby to move - nicely to fiercely to sternly to cajole to bribery to whatever you can think of..! I tap tap here, tap tap there, massage here, massage there, roll here, roll there, stand up, squat down, pat pat everywhere... I've even hopped around, curled up in foetal position and lain flat on bed - belly up, belly down, u name it...

Daddy-2b also jiggled my tummy, tickled my belly and made all kinds of noises - cooing, blowing raspberries on my belly, calling baby, singing bass and then soprano to baby...

It's just me. BOO HOO HOO :~(

I often feel a heavy blob blob sensation whenever I stand up from sitting or squatting.
Kinda feels like a lava/magma lamp with the wax blobbing up and down.

Is that baby?

Dovey, maybe we can only feel baby when we ourselves stop moving, that's why it seems baby moves more when we stop..?

Xuan, thanks for informing me that TMC classes are at AMK. That's something to think abt.

Sweethalo, have you shortlisted any hosps for antenatal classes yet?

creamer, my sis says first lesson was informative but speaker was monotonous so that made it really dull. She thought the information came a little late in the pregnancy cos it's about nutrition and she would have benefited from knowing it earlier.

She's only gone for 2 lessons so far and 2nd one seems to be quite ok. If you'd like to, can check out her postings abt it. She's user: patlpt in the April 2008 MTBs thread. I think those postings may have been archived already...

Anyone here planning on being a SAHM (Stay At Home Mum?)

Mummy Ash, I'm quite the same as you.

I've just gone into my 21st week and sometimes find it hard to remember I'm pregnant - except when I drink my milk and eat my supplements. Only my tummy looks bloated. (I.e. I just look fat.)

I long for someone to give up a seat for me on the train but am not shameless enough to stroke or caress my tummy in ppl's faces.

Similar to you, I was hoping for a girl and making valiant efforts to refrain from buying any of those many beautiful dresses. When gynae and then later, sonographer confirmed I'm having a little warrior, I must confess I felt a little lost instead of elated.

I found me telling myself, nvm, my dad's waited decades for a boy in the family. He'll be happy... And since my sis is having a girl 2 months before me, a boy works out just fine for the whole family. Growing up in a family of girls, I find the idea of caring for a little penis owner quite daunting. I can't help remembering what I read in the magazines and thinking, he's going to pee in my face when I release him from his diaper!!

Even now I look at the gorgeous dresses and think if I get desperate enough, perhaps my "warrior" will get dressed up as a princess in the privacy of our own home. MUAAHAHAHAHAHAAA!!!!!!!

bluedream, Ikea has a changing table with drawers. Can take out the table attachment and it can be shelf. COmes in white colour. I saw it at the Alexandra/queesway branch. I m sure Tampines one also has.

Cassy!!! You are so funny! ... guess what! I was worse! I've even bought some cute and pretty baby girl clothes when I learnt abt my pregnancy... its weird, i got this strange gut feel tt bb is a girl.. but imagine my disappointment when my bb turns out to be a boy! .. and I have my hubby standing beside the u/s scanning blissing over his wish coming true ie to have a boy! heheh.. but oh wells, lets stay happy and have handsome boys, pls dun dress him up as a girl at home!!! I once heard my friend's son who fell in love with cooking toys.. and one day he ask his mum: 'Mummy, I want to grow up to be pretty and SEXY also..' ... tt mummy almost fainted.

Btw, Im coming 17 weeks, no baby movement yet.
Envy those all those who had interacted with their babies !!! but I just cant seem to feel the baby ..

Talking abt aches and cramps in the lower tummy, have any mummies felt something like spasms or some sort like 'pulling feeling' which comes and goes at the vaginal opening? .. sounds really crude, but tts what i told my gynae exactly, and she said its normal, due to the baby growing and sitting on some nerves down there... hmmm

Meanwhile, I will just cont to wait to feel my baby move!! hehe .. Take care all mummies!!

Hey Cassey hvn't decided if going or not to the classes or shortlisted anything yet.

My hubby was hoping for a girl because of all those nice dresses and clothes we have been seeing - some how the girlie ones are so nice and the boy ones are just so boring! No Fair!

Many ppl told me that they thought I was having a boy before we knew, especially my parents and my facial lady, so I sort of thought of the baby as a boy all the time. But my dear was just hoping against them. The week before we went for the scan, it suddenly dawned upon me that cld be a girl becos a few said they thought it was a girl. I was kinda worried- cos how to suddenly switch fr thinking and talking to baby as a boy to a girl suddenly... hehee...and then we saw the 3 lil nuts on screen.

Cassey, the blob feeling think is bb, but just mild movement.. the kicks should be felt soon after Wk 20
I like the way u seduce the bb.. very cute.. hahaha..

Hey Ling, REALLY!?! That's terrific news! But ermm, I'm already 21 weeks... ?
I've been wondering about my blobbing but most ppl just say it feels like rumbling or gas. That sounds so mild so I figured my clumsy blobs was just the increasing weight of the uterus combined with squished bladder.

Mummy Ash, if I do dress my warrior up as a princess, it'll be in the early early months. =) Not when gender confusion may start to set in, I hope. But let's hope I resist temptation and my doting hubby doesn't give in to my whims huh. I won't know what to do with a sexy boy. ha!

Sweethalo, I kept resisting the urge to talk to and pray for baby in female terms from the beginning though hubby and I both would have loved having a little girl. So we always referred to baby as "little one, babe, it, etc". Now I keep talking about him and to him as "ah boy, or boyboy" to try to get myself accustomed to it.

After being clinically "infertile" for almost 2 years, we're just really really thankful that our little warrior was conceived naturally and has done well thus far.

Cassey, u are real cute..... maybe ur bb do feel your tappings, your briberies etc except that you cant feel it yet. Imagine he starting to kick you hard when u request for it next time... then u start saying, dont kick me that hard. are we humans always like this?? haha....

busy with work and argued with someone yesterday at work. think i was "tramautised" till i didnt slp well last night and thoughts of the subject kept appearing in my head/dream. haiz... think must be softer. "tai jiao"... hiak hiak

gals clothings are so so nice.... can wear skirts, dresses, pants, and all the nice sweet colours. hahhaa.... but i'll tell myself i can dress my boy as equally cool and hip as he grows... hahahah....

bbjun,

i think mine is in the afternoon. i feel like bringing forward my detailed scan and do at TMC too, just like you.. abit cannot wait. 2nd Feb was supposed to be my appt for detailed scan with Dr Chan, but i will be almost 21 weeks.

about bb kicks, i can feel it occassionally, sudden light kicks like dat.. but when ask bb to kick some more, or kick for daddy, then the bb never kick liao. =__=

dovey, i've read that bb sleeps while we are awake & wakes up while we are resting. it's cos when we are awake & moving abt, we will cause the fluid to move and thus rock the bb to sleep. when we stop moving, bb doesn't get rock and will wake up and 'exercise'.

Jess, ohh!! so envy you. U seem to be so relaxing and enjoying. But.. do rem to share with us if you have any good information from book. How i wish i am you?? sob sob.. Thanks but not to worry, no OT for me as i everyday need to rush home to cook dinner.

reg bb kick, i also very blur. sometimes i also feel like my tummy got someone pulling my vein. But i am quite sure last sun that is bb kick. But this 2 days talk to bb again but she seem to ignore me.

mika rei, oic... so most of the time bb should b moving lah... mayb will start feeling from week 20, which is another 3 weeks for me...

wanna find out from mummies here... did your appetiete greatly improve since after 1st tri? i noticed that i get hungry v eaesily, esp in the mornings... but evenings, the amount i eat is ard the same as pre-pregnancy...

some mummies have already passed the halfway mark of week 20... to the rest of us, jia you and stay happy!!!

gals clothings r really cute... i've already thought of how to dress my gal next CNY, she will b in those cute little chinese costume, pink colour for her...

cassey,
i left my job when my girl turned 2 YO and became a SHM. its been a yr now. after no. 2 comes along, i guess i would continue to be their main care-giver for as long as our finances would permit.

dovey,
tink im the opp. i was always soooo hungry in the first few wks of pregnancy! now im ok, back to normal.

hatemenot,
if that's the case, u better call Dr Chan's clinic and arrange with the nurses fast cos they need to book with TMC. I requested for a morning slot for the scan but kena lunch time instead. I do the scan during my week 19(CNY week) and review results with her on 2 Feb. Hope can see u on 2 feb!

i felt bb's movement yest. night! finally, yest. night was just a hard kick and i kw it's my bb.. this morning, bb was poking here n there..but it's not regular + mild as am still very early but it def does brought a big smile to my face.

cassey,
r u planning to be a sahm? am thinking about that tt..if no one takes care of my bb, i'll prob stay at hm 1st.

wow..mentioning about bb's clothes..pink colour is def so irresistable..i've already got my bb's room painted in pink before i shifted in..heheh. and decorated the room with girly stuffs already..

lovelytulips, that's kinda like what my sis said. She said as bb gets bigger, the kicks become more painful. She actually msged me once saying her naughty girl seems to be draggin her elbows or knees against her abdomen. Sounds painful. I want gentle boy..!

Dovey, several books say 4-6 months are the binge-n-put-on-weight months because before that you feel sick, after that the baby is squishing your stomach and intestines so indigestion sets in even after small meals.

I completely lost my appetite (& a thrilling 4kgs!) during first tri, even though I wasn't throwing up or having severe nausea (thank God). Only now at 21 weeks have I regained the weight loss and I'm kinda hoping to keep my weight gain in check as much as possible without going on a diet. I'm loving sweet things... Yum! Sometimes order a wholesome savoury meal but when it comes, it doesn't whet my appetite at all. I end up eating a bit then having bubble tea or something.

A point of vanity: May I just say that only NOW do I appreciate being busty!? ^-^
I'm thinking I prob won't swell so much up top and my bloated belly still looks quite "small" in comparison.

nozomi & First mum, yes. Mum offered to hire a second maid in their home as a childcare solution for my sister and I since our babies' EDDs are less than 2 months apart. But after hoping and praying so long for a child, I have no wish to leave my baby to a caregiver now that I'm finally pregnant. Thankfully my hubby and I have shared this same conviction from the beginning. So as long as finances allow and hubby isn't, I'll be a sahm (or Work-From-Home mum). At least until the child(ren) are in school..

First mum, what's it like? Does your husband appreciate the hard work and sacrifice or does he just think he's the one doing the real work while you enjoy life at home?

*Thought to self* Whoa, must quickly get my Warrior out, then can start trying for a girl.. HAHA!

do you know if after the maternity leave..what is the notice period if we want to resign?

i heard it's like 1.5 months?

Shelisa, so envy u i barely feel anything yet...only some bubbles in my tummy which i dun even know is my bb or some gas =(

neeciel, for bb kick. i also very blur as no one can tell me how we will feel. but on that day i know that is sure is bb kicking. But im hoping for more, but she so stingy. kick 1 night only after that don't bother me liao. haha

i read from book, they said btw week 16-22, we can start to feel bb movement. Maybe some ppl early some ppl late. try to talk more to bb in diff language, maybe got diff effect?

do u all mean the blob blob feeling is baby movement? I hv that blob-ing feeling occasionally and thought it was gas... hehee

neeciel, i read a book, it says initial fetal movement could be bubbling sensation, so the bubbles could b your bb saying hi...

sweethalo, mine is like got ppl knocking the door like that.

sometime i do feel someone pulling my vein. i also not sure is it bb doing something inside.

initially the fetal movements for me were like popcorn popping... it goes "thup thup thup" but recently it has evolved into twisting and slushing. i can actually trace the movements from one end of my abdomen to the other side as the baby somersaults.

like... sigourney weaver's Alien.......hehe

dunno when I can start feeling fetal movements. I think I m too pre-occupied with work and running to hit deadlines and giving my BB stress as well.

Can't wait for CNY to come to have a break. 23 Jan, please come soon!!!!

caramelle, I do not think there is a stipulation across the board as to post-maternity leave notice period.

It should remain the same as what is stated in the appointment letter you signed at the beginning of your employment. If your notice period is 1 month, it's 1 month. If originally 2 months, it stays 2 months. Just that maternity leave cannot be used as part of the notice period - so I guess that means you can only tender your resignation after using up your maternity leave entitlement.

shelisa, agree that some books say 16 to 22 weeks. But 16 weeks is supposed to be fortunate cases or experienced mums who know what to look out for and thus, are able to identify movements easily. Generally the conclusion seems that most women feel recognisable fetal movement between weeks 18-22, with most falling at about 19 weeks. Apparently overweight MTBs typically take longer to feel.

stickymouse, wow, your abdomen sounds really sensitive and your baby a talented athlete... Enjoy the workout!

cassey, u so funny! haha i share ur sentiments. everywhere i go i see sweet pink, floral dress! cute ,sweet little girls..but our warrior cant wear them! learning to talk to my boy & training myself to think of his little elephant and not panic... i'm also in a femine family. 3 nieces, 1 sis.. never seen elephant clearly except hb's haha.

I seems to feel abit movement, does it feels like accupuncture? muscle twitch abit suddenly at a spot...??

Hi mummies!! Talking abt baby clothes, I was shopping at raffles city today and I cant seem to find cute baby boy clothes for newborn!!! In each shop, its prollyu 1/4 dedicated to little boys, and the rest for gals!!!!! ... There are so many cute and pretty gal clothes but I just cant buy!!
my colleague said good for me, cos im gonna save loads of money from buying too much clothes for baby... heh

For mummies having boys, whr r u guys stocking up?

Hi Mummy Ash,

Not easy to find colourful cute baby boy clothes. So far, I saw some not too bad ones at Tanglin Mall and Osh gosh is not bad.

Cassey, yup yup. you are right. so i am still waiting for my princess to kcik me hard. my mommy say when bb bigger, if she really kick you hard, you gg to cry soon.

Jess, Thanks for sharing. Have save the blog into my favourite. Actually i prefer reading chinese then english as use to read chinese newspaper since young.

Err, why cannot use gas? I scare use electry the bill come will cost a bomb as now then bill is getting higher n higher. I have no choice but to cook myself. both my mum not free, and i scare outside food too much MSG. Then i was thinking 2 meals already settle outside, at least 1 meal shld be more healthy.

reg boy. actually i love boy wearing those polo tshirt. i feel they llok smart but that is for older age. i agreed with sweethalo that Osh gosh boy products is quite nice.

i have problems looking out for boy clothes too but i don't intend to stock up on outdoor-sy clothes too much because the most we'll bring baby to church on Sundays and he'll prob stay home most of the time and grow out of his clothes quickly.

nonetheless, we have very blessed to receive some gifts already and they're so super CUTE!!! the following are all gifts from my mum, sis and a friend. all from the US but the labels can be found in singapore (Carters/Osh Kosh).

i totally love the James Bond bib!!! and i definitely prefer boy rompers with 'pants' rather than those with V-shapes bottoms... (prob like how i prefer to see men in surfboard shorts than in speedos hahahaha)

http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n34/violachee/IMG_3099.jpg

http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n34/violachee/IMG_3100.jpg

http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n34/violachee/IMG_3107.jpg

http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n34/violachee/DSC03271.jpg

cassey, the fetal movements are very sensitive to me because i sit reeaallly still and just wait for the feeling. and it's quite predictable when baby kicks 'cos i realised it usually happens when i'm in the car (morning or evening). i take it as a sign that he likes the rocking motion of being in a car, it'd definitely make rides easier for us in the future when we strap him down hahaha

Re: Boys clothes

mummies with warriors can try getting their clothes for bbFox. they've very nice & colourful rompers..I like boys wearing rompers so cute so I let my boi wear rompers till he's 18mths
& daddy start saying he's too big to wear rompers now :p

wow envy mummies hv bb movement feeling leh...mi now in wk 19 liow but no feeling f bb movement leh...

btw for those confirmed expecting bb boy do yr face hv out break?? hmm heard my fren say if expecting bb boy mommy not pretty huh?? izzit true??

jam75
I also heard tat mummies who carry boy will experience outbreak & mummies carrying gals will becomes prettier..but i think it depends on individual hormomes..
when I was having my boi I dun experience any out break but not now carrying my gal I have one or two...

Shelisa,i read from book,is not really good to us and our BB when you use gas.. if not wrong electry fee will drop start from Jan.. what's did you cook everyday?I also need to cook by myself start from Feb.

Re: Boys clothes

Kiddy palance and my mum said it's good to have those clothes open from front for new born baby.