(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

bbjun,

i think on 2nd feb my appointment is in the afternoon. Decided not to go for TMC one ler, abit troublesome to call and rearrange, wait i need to take another day off for dr chan to review. heez =)

sweethalo.. so naughty!!!

hatemenot, then I guess we won't see each other then. Still wondering if she can give me one day mc for the review only... kekeke.. I want a long weekend leh after CNY leh. After CNY, no more public hols until May!!! Will have to ask the nurse when I am there.

chidori, i oso tink so lo...cos some exercise not suitable f pregnant wan & instructor will teach u something else...sometime nid partner oso so if got company will b beter!

Haha, ladies! Seriously... I specifically asked my gynae if sashimi is ok and he said, there's no need to make a big deal out of it. If well prepared and you consume immediately, it's safe.

Just to play safe, got sis to ask her gynae too. Same advise. I've been eating sashimi and raw fish sushi on average once or twice a week & the little fella's not complaining!!

Egg yolks also. Both of them said Sg's eggs imported from good sources so ok to eat raw yolk. My gynae's warning is to avoid unhygienic stalls and eating places more than avoid certain foods.

THOSE OF YOU WHO CANNOT EAT, time to change gynae! hehe!

Postscript: Enjoy your cream cheese too!

Those of you who love but have been resisting Philly cheese spread, good news. It's safe. =) Soft cheeses to avoid are "soft" in terms of culinary terminology, not the layperson's understanding of cheeses that feel/taste soft. "Soft" cheeses like brie or camembert are not commonly used in local fare.

Books, articles and gynae's have affirmed that CHEDDAR cheese is NOT soft cheese.

So ENJOY YOUR CHEESE, my dears! It's calcium!

First mum, i probably named my babIES about 3 years ago! haha... although hubby and I've not been able to think of any meaningful and nice-sounding Chinese names. =( We're not telling anyone the names we've chosen though! Suffice to say it's not anything pretentious, we hope.

Hi ladies, i think as long as we eat in moderation, anything is ok. Once a while, i also crave for coffee and coke. if don't take at all very depressing one leh.

Starting feel leg cramps liao but tummy still not so big or heavy leh.

goldiepooh, same same. Yesterday the muscle pull on my tummy was so bad that it spreads to my thighs. I cldn't even walk properly by the evening... walk super small steps. Then sit down, cannot come up without finding support. Thank god it's better today.

Hello ladies, long time haven't drop in.. the thread moving so fast hey!

JessMa, like jam75 said, I'm concern if the Aqua Aerobics by SSC suitable for pregnancy ? Also, I couldn't join Sengkang and/or Tuesday morning classes le.. have to work ma.. so far I still haven't found other Aqua-pregnancy class le.. really can't join the kkh's one as it'll be 3rd trimester liao.. the Jurong West that Chidori shared (thanks Chidori!) looks more interesting, timing looks good. very near my place too.. aha
but again, gotta check if aqua-aerobics is okay n safe for us..

Cassey, good on you to feel bb movement, when you lay down on your back, the movement would be more obvious.. today's Thursday, this evening will bribe my baby with chocolates so tomorrow can give us good positions for the detailed scan
hahaha.. Cassey, I like u, very witty n funny
I sent your Silent Hubby warning to my hubby..
thanks for keeping me awake at work..

Jam75, you're right, this Monday still couldn't notice it at all, but since yesterday the bump seems to be much bigger.. today one colleague come to me and touch my tummy.. aiyoh.. hubby keep askin me to cut my hair, he said very ma fan to be pregnant n have bb with long hair (my hair is waist long).. haiz, u're still nice HDB tai tai.. for me, with flat sandals, short hair, huge arms, huge buttocks, really ah soh leh..

Shelisa, my nose oso bigger le.. but my mum said that it'll go away after give birth.. so not to worry, just gotta bear with morning sinus..
waaiit... dun wax the tummy.. mine oso a lot lot, lot, it's cute ma, a bit ticklish when u rub rub cream/oil.. just like the linea nigra, after give birth also will go away lor..
I read ur post above, pls dun eat the half-boiled egg anymore okie.. let's endure another few months.. I told my hubby, once I give birth and safe from the bf period, I must have all-you-can-eat sashimi.. maybe can go with bbjun.. sashimi, kajiki.. yum yum.. (bbjun, ur compie full of drooled saliva liao ?)

Shelisa, u can feel that is baby kicking is it? Not like bubbling feeling ah?

Dovey, ya i feel a lot of bubbling inside my tummy but i wonder what is my prince doing that i've got this feeling haha...blowing bubble ah?

hehe sorli bbjun (piak myself) but I am getting me some sashimi sushi this weekend! yeah!

bbjun, when i walk/ shop, i get a sort of numbing pain on the right side of my belly..feels like a vein pulling.

Ling, tmr after you go do your detailed scan. pls share with us what actually the gynae is doing and checking. i will be gg on 23rd but already very curious.

So so hard to endure. i endure so much food. i do believe that sometime pamper ourself abit will make us feel better but .. feel guilty very fast also.. haha

neeciel, i do have bubbling feeling but quite seldom. but i also not very sure is that call bubbling? yup. i do feel 1 time bb is kicking me. the feeling i can say like knocking door. haha. like. knock.. knock.. knock. (total 6 times) the feeling is gentle knock.

aiyo.. u all, very naughty, now I m dying to get sushi and sashimi for dinner and it's like one more hour before I can knock off leh. I have a super good appetite today after 3 days of hectic work and lousy appetite.

Sweethalo, my muscle pull is so bad that even if I sit down, it's there and quite painful. I think my tummy grew bigger the past two days and feels super stretched.

ling, for ssc dat i attend in jurong (near chinese garden) hv pregnant woman attend b4...if some exercise not suitable for pregnant woman she will teach u other things so should b ok...juz dat mayb hv preggie mommy to go 2gether will b beter...at least got company...

haha my hb oso comments i dress like auntie liow...wif no make up, arm pui, butt big, oso dress down myself le, everyday oso wear sandals to work! my sis oso comments i should dress up more now pregnant if not look like auntie...hee but realli no mood at all wo!

Shelisa, Neeciel, the bb kick at first felt very soft.. but now getting stronger, this morning I felt like my skin/tummy is being pushed from one point inside.. but very very cute leh..

Shelisa, sure will share abt tomorrow..
just hope that it'll be fast, a friend told me that if bb co-operate, fast one is abt half an hour.. if not could be longer.. that's why.. bribe bb with chocolates.. heh heh heh..

bbjun, I also drool saliva each time I think of sashimi.. but since the food poisoned incident, I stayed away even from cooked sushi.. dun think I can go thru that kinda fear anymore.. and after give birth, after bf, if I'm going for sashimi buffet, I'd prefer a 'proper' jap rest.. to be safe..

jam75, hmm.. really got pregnant lady attend ah..? in that case think I'll check the one Chidori posted, it's quite close to my place.. Chidori, is it the one at the stadium, sports complex there ? if yes, then the size of the swimming pool is quite good too, but I went there during weekend once, and it is very very crowded.. hopefully not in the evening tho.. jam75, u interested to join ? can join together for sure..
ha.. ur hubby quite honest comment le.. u oso wear sandals ah..? missing ur pretti2 high heels or not ? my hb told me, pregnant y still need to be so vain.. he dun mind, bb dun mind, wan to show who..? hahaha..

bbjun, I say go go! GO AND STUFF YOURSELF SILLY! I support you!

Ling, I read that actually, the position in which baby is closest to surface is when you stand up really straight. When you lie down, uterus falls backwards to your spine and can't feel as well. But seeing as I've waited SO long, you think I cared? I tried lying down and even sucking in my stomach. Not sure if it worked but I think not.

My sister's unconventional feel-fetal-movement recommendation is: WEAR SUPER TIGHT PANTS. She actually felt her baby move at SIXTEEN weeks when she was wearing a pair of really tight jeans. After that one day, no more movements until the following week. She says must share with you all. haha.

Ling, don't eat chocolates until baby tmr on a super sugar / caffeine high and can't stop moving! Like I said, mine took more than an hour thanks to my naughty boy! =( Prof & sonographer said good combination of baby and sonographer can complete within 20 min! Enjoy it. I hope your scan gets the all clear. Let us know the gender!

RE: Huang lian po / HDB tai tai
I think basic grooming is so impt. Esp during pregnancy when we have an excuse to flop around in loose clothing, with a big bottom, flabby arms, radiant skin, luscious hair and to top it all off, a duck waddle... I say GO FOR IT! You're not gonna have time / energy once the bb pops.

jam75 & Ling,

my arms..i would consider it as 'thunder' arms currently..cos' i used to be on the lean side before 2 preg..now, i do not even dare to wear sleeveless..all my sleeveless dresses are hanging there collecting dust..sob sob. when i grumble to my guy friends, they told me i've already signed lifelong contract, so it okie.Arghh..
hmm..but i think preg also must look hip hip leh..heheh when am already so auntie..

the more u all talk about the arms thing, the more phobia I get. It runs in my mum's side that her, my sis and my aunties has big arms leh. I m the only one so far that is still lean. Aiyo... please dun become big.

I agree that basic grooming is needed and as long as u are happy with how u look, it's ok. I am still hiao. No sandals. Nice flats or almost flats. Make up always on coe makes me feel happy for the day. When I fret abt clothes n my HB see me frowning at my wardrobe, he will drag me to the shopping mall to see what to buy. But then, need to save money. So always end up wearing those I really like. LOL...

Ling,
i heard from friends that u can try to drink orange juice before scanning..bb would be more active..my sil tried that cos' her bb very lazy..kept sleeping, so she got to return to the clinic few times interval. but not sure if it works on you.

I have 2 Brand New tubes of Elancyl Stretch Mark Preventive & Reducing Cream to let go cheaply. Over-stock as i will be due in Mar09. Interested, pls PM me for price & collection.

huh didn't kn that OJ makes bb more active, hv been drinking lots everyday but but but yyy bo movements leh.. *scratch head*

sweethalo,
hmm..i've not personally tried it. bb is moving everyday, perhaps still in early weeks to feel it for 1st time mummies. just for detailed scanning purpose if mummies want to know the gender.

Shelisa,my gynae will hv her own clinic in Apr,so if i follow her then either TMC or MTA liao,still consider..

Jam75,my arm and hip also getting bigger liao,and face also... I think it's also bc of everytime i sit on sofa after having meal..

Ling,i don't think i can join the sengkang class too... it will be better if your husband can company you also... Wait your good news tomorrow,don't forget to share with us your fun experience and how your BB look like when TA seduced by yummy ya.. kekeke..

Cassey, really ? when we stand upright ? Usually when I walked around, I don't feel much movements, just a few times after I took some cold frizzy drinks, and then bb would kicks regardless I was standing or not..
wow, you can still sucking in your stomach ? I find it much more difficult now to even hunch/bend forward.. oh goodness, chocolate really caused that effect ? I better pray for a good sonographer then..

nozomi, same here! my mum, grandma, great grandma, we all have the huge flabby arms.. gotta be real smart with our clothings then hor..
thanks for the tips on orange juice.. I got another friend who suggested me to drink lots of water before the scan too, so that can get a very very clear picture of bb.. gonna be quite bloated..

bbjun, you're so lucky.. even b4 pregnant I never wear sleeveless, as arms like kfc drumstick..
if u were lean b4 pregnant, most likely after give birth you can go back to normal once u loose all the extra pounds..

sweethalo, for 3D scan, I heard it's quite ex.. ard $300-$400.. so I'm thinking to get it a little bit later, maybe wk 25-28, so bb's features are more clear to see

wow biang today u all so chatty! long list to read haha. oh i having boy face very dry leh got peeling already.

Jess ma what activity? i join kkh antenatal class thur session. every mth 1st tue kkh support group, 1 charity art session just ended then early feb got a volunteer activity to promote postnatal depression awareness, mar start aqua class on sat. why? u bored? want join? kkh got alot activity and i not delivering there also never mind.

chinese herb i nt sure also, some herbs pple say dont tk like dong cong zao and ginseng but my sinseh had been giving me that before conceive. i guess as long as it's perscribe by sinseh at the right dosage and right time. better dont anyhow match and mix ourselves.

Another stupid question from me again. My mother warned me not to eat raw pineapple as it's apparently sharp. errh.. since CNY coming hor, there will be alot of pineapple tarts around.. so is that out of bounds too??

i'm not sure if i'm what i'm feeling is fetal movement leh. i dun feel that it's knocking, nor bubbling. more like scratching... scratch from the insides. sometimes a bit uncomfortable cos like very awkward.

how many times do u feel baby moving everyday? i think i only can feel it 2-3 times a day...

about pineapple right, initially i didn't dare to eat.. but later my mum say it's cooked so it's ok... and she say it's not like we eat one lorry of pineapple tarts everyday so should be ok...

yeah that's what my mum claims too.. she said pineapple tarts are cooked so can eat... gave her my usual confused look... hehee

Ling, positively true. Belly feels softer when I lie down. When standing up, can really feel firm hardness of uterus. But I guess standing up, it's harder for US to feel cos our bodies are not completely relaxed like when we lie down..?

Stay cool for your scan! Here's my two pence worth on the topic for all waiting for 20-week detailed (Fetal Anomaly) scan.

Re: Chocolates
My boy wasn't naughty cos of chocolates! I was kidding, Ling!! He curled up and flat out refused to get into the right position for his heart chambers to be checked adequately. Also, his arm was casting a shadow over the heart, which made it hard to verify the image. I rolled right, rolled left for scan. In the end, sonographer told me to go take a walk, do a pee and talk to baby.

Re: Drowning in water before scan
I'd advise AGAINST drinking lots of water. It's necessary for first 12 weeks when a full bladder helps sound waves bounce off more easily and provides a clearer image as the bladder is then blocking the small uterus.

At 20 weeks, you're sufficiently big to get a good scan without full bladder. Drinking heaps is just going to make you feel really uncomfortable on that table while it doesn't make a diff to the scan quality. Especially if your scan takes an extended amount of time and sonographer applies much pressure in some areas to get a good angle of bb, as it did in my case. (ONE HOUR WITH A FULL BLADDER?! Not much fun, I think.)

Re: Orange juice
Apparently, the acidity of orange juice stimulates fetal movement. Some mothers-to-be swear by it when baby gets bigger and starts moving less cos of space constraint (usually 8th month). I REALLY have doubt as to whether this is desirable for a scan. Baby needs to be relatively sated so that good images can be captured for taking of measurements.

One of my earlier scans, boy kept twisting, turning and moving from left to run, hiding from the "scanner". Sonographer struggled to get a good head circumference and femur length measurement. Said "Aiyo, baby, stop moving. keep still, I'm trying to get a head measurement!"

So, I'm not sure orange juice is a good idea.

jam75, Re: stroller.

Bit slow response ah. sorry. Hubby & I were considering getting stroller at later stage. He said strollers are so cumbersome and he'll carry baby.. but what if I head out with baby without him?! I sure don't want to lug baby around if I'm out all day!

We ended up getting a stroller-cum-carseat combo. A second hand buy - great quality, very well kept. Prev owners bought for a year, only used for 4 months as their boy was fast growing out of carseat and they wanted to get a new one. Retail price: $400++, it cost us $180. My sister and pregnant pal are so jealous. =)

Re: Exercise
Those of you discussing this, KUDOS TO YOU! I salute you all, babes. I'm also in the Pioneer area but am not active. My dresses and feminine tops hide a multitude of sins and there is NO WAY I'm subjecting anyone to my body in swimwear. Yeech!

AMK gal, I loved your lorry comment!

Sweethalo, everything in moderation, eh? I still have Haiwaiian pizza ma. There's also pineapples on there!

Wah, didnt come in for 2 days the thread is moving super super fast liao! My eyes "dou ji yan" after reading them. Quite loss liao! Ha..

I went for my gynae check yest and the gender of my baby is revealed. The doc say it starts with "M" and i ask is it 4 charaters and he said yes. So my first thought is its a Male! Den he jokingly fill in the rest of the 3 charaters "iss". Haa, my baby is a princess. My doc still put Miss World in my scan instead of the usual boy/girl. He funny lor..

A week b4 the gynae visit i have been telling my baby to cooperate and open the legs to show gynae the gender and i will buy her a present and she really did it. Very fast, my doc can confirm the gender >90% accurate. Gonna shop a present liao to honour my words to baby.. hee

Actually regards to the face breakout. I have been having heavy breakout on my face, pimples spots, marks and also dryness of my skin. Those around me guess it must be a boy! But is likewise for me, think its also up to the indivual hormone changes within us, so its not very true its a boy if face has breakout for my case. I have been to facial and buy a good moisturiser and i can see the improvement in my skin!

For those mummies who have not felt the baby movement, my doc said it is normal if it start to kick at 22 weeks for first mummy.. so im gonna wait patiently for the baby first beckham kick. Wahhaha.... =)

Hey cassey, gonna buy her first nice dress hopefully can wear for her first month.. hope to buy wif the cow print to symoblise her born year! Any idea to get a nice, sweet one? Saw a couple of cow prints clothing but didnt caught my eyes yet. Maybe its my first present to her, a little more choosy lor. HAHA

Ling, i didnt know detail scan need to take so long. try to talk to bb 1st. u must be excited as today bb gender will be revealed.

Jess, For TMC i heard before the bill is quite ex. But some ppl say it is cheaper then Mount A. I think have to personally go down check.

Or any mommies give birth at Mount A or TMC before? can share with us abt the bill thing? Thanks

Creamer,same same. im also looking for dresses with cow print for my little princess. but i search for 2 mths liao still dun have. will try to search n keep u posted.

sweethalo, pls go ahead to eat the pineapple tart. for cny, no eat pineapple tart where like cny? i ate alot this whole week but i dun feel anytin diff. My mommy said as the pineapple is cooked so not to worry.
cheers to the pineapple tart!!

Everyday read i also cannot catch up with the threads wor.

Have not feel any fetal movement leh. Getting a bit anxious. Somemore tummy not big, colleagues don't even know I am preggie. If not for another colleague whom only knows slip mouth, they would thought I am just putting on weight.

Besides the occassionaly cramps, nothing liao. Tomorrow going for check up after 1 mth of no news, hopefully nothing's wrong.

ling, haha tink my hb prefer b to b mei mei...last nite i tell him tink mostly when u pregnant & bcome mommy dun realli bother abt our look mostly concentrate on their bb le...i got a fren oso used to b v ai mei but ever since she pregnant now till her gal 4yrs le she realli dun bother abt her out look...frankly speaking do like auntie le...tink bcos of the weight gain wear simi oso not nice so don bother at all le....hope i realli hope dat aft dlvy i will slim down & can da ban again!!

hmm regarding aqua aerobics when i am in Jurong side got 1 pregnant lady join la not sure abt pionner there lo...but pionner too far f mi le & timing oso can't mk it...so i won't b joining lo!

ling,
gd luck for ur scan today! knowing the gender is very exciting cos thats when all our shopping can start haha!

shelisa,
i tink it depends on the type of ward selected. like for single bedder, TMC is the cheapest and for four bedder, mt A is cheaper...something lidat. they have the price comparison charts in the TMC lifts. will check out for u the next round?

for my last stay, natural delivery with epi in single rm, after medisave deduction(i think 2.5k?) we paid close to 3k in cash. but then again it depends on the gynae too.

PINEAPPLE TARTS
must eat! my fave!

Hey thanks Shelisa... at least my hardwork of helping out to make the tarts won't be unrewarded! hehehe :p

I am getting more and more convinced that the blob-ing blob-ing feeling I get maybe fetal movements afterall. This morning when I was laying on my tummy, the frequency intensified.

First mum, thanks. i think gynae also play apart. some ppl gynae delivery charge cheap but some ex. i think mine is on the higher side.

sweethalo, ohhh.. u know how to do pineapple tart? I LOVE PINEAPPLE TART. so far i already ate 1 bottle. I brought 5 bottle to pamper myself.

sweethalo, initially when i felt this very frequent and consistent "thup thup thup" i thought it was the baby, then i realised it's actually my pulse. now i touch my tummy everywhere i can feel a pulse so i had to learn to distinguish that from the baby's blobbing hehe... you try putting one hand to the tummy and the other hand on the heart, see if it's the same beat?

jam, it's very sad that a woman ends up revolving her life around her kid and never da ban for her husband! must continue to seduce husband mah!

i so nearly bought a pair of Fox baby shoes yesterday, but sensibility advised against it. sigh....

going for 3D scan later during lunch, keep you ladies updated

Shelisa- I dono how to do, only help to make nia aka Production Line... heehee

Stickymouse- yeah i think I felt the thumping sound before too.. this blobing feeling is different. It's not continuous. Just on off but definitely there- blob bloob... silence... silenece then blob again... hehe

wow 3D scan... pls tell what it is like... quite excited :p

hi all, anybody knows how braxton hicks feels like? is it a bit pain at the lower abdomen but not menstrual cramp or need to go to toilet those stomachache? arghh... i don't know how to describe.

Hi Mika,
Braxton hicks is tightening of the tummy. Will only experience it during the 3rd tri. Maybe u want to call your gynae can confirm.

jackie, i read it starts fr 6 weeks onwards, but not obvious until mid term and later. i'm in my 20th week. i don't know if it is. it's just in the morning when i wake up, but aft i move around a bit or go to the washroom, then it goes away completely. mayb it's cos of the full bladder? hmm... i'm going for the detailed scan and also to my gynae next week, mayb i'll ask.

Mika I think maybe you should call your gynae too. According to my new gynae, we should not feel any cramp pain discomfort in best case scenerio. Ask if Salbutamol is necessary to lessen the tightening cramp for you.