(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

bbjun, Dr Chan's detailed scan cost $110 (before GST).

just went to look at stroller. the capella 705 seems to be pretty good. a smaller version is going for 199 at mothercare i think. maybe if we all are looking at the capella 705, think we can do a bulk purchase? and ask for better discounts.

amk_gal,
no harm buying early when tummy is still not very big. Its good to have a checklist also so that u dont have to send someone to do last min shopping. now at least still got sale. next big sale in Jun/july we'll be in confinement. btw the pigeon standard neck can fit NUK teats is it? But y u choose the Pigeon bottles?

bbjun, do u know if can use VIP card for changing station/bathtub or highchair? My sis got a cot but VIP discount not applicable.

hi neeciel, ya, you are right. That's the model. Light but has some minus points. I dun wan stroller with BIG wheels or too small wheels too cos too small can kena stuck in some grooves. Big ones are not very convenient leh. I paid for the card with some purchases of baby shower gifts for frens. If I rem correctly, it's like $10-15.

Lovelytulips, ya. Perhaps we cld do that later together.

styliciously, I m not sure about that. I know the member discount does not apply when an item is already on sale. Perhaps that's why no discount for your sis' cot??? I find Kiddy Palace bathtubs more ex. Places like Baby avenue, baby kingdom and cherie kids are a lot cheaper. Maybe u want to check these plcs out?

Bathtubs> was looking at ikea. at $12 it seems pretty cheap but yet to check out the real thing... saw mothercare selling at ard 40+. wonder what's the big differences........

bbjun & xuan,

congrats to yr little princes

yesterday went for my checkup, gynae told me dun need to bear any more hopes liao, double confirmed it's a boy, somemore give us a pic of e bb genital.

lovelytulips, it's the quality, look and feel lor. I saw the one at Ikea and didn't really like it at first sight. There isn't those boards available to be bought together for bathing infants which is usually available for most bathtubs I saw. Cos 1-2mths babies are smaller, they have that to help us support baby better in the bathtub which is big for such a tiny baby.

Thanks, bbPotato. Actually my gynae also gave me a foto of the genital but I can't make out anything. Just blur to me. LOL.

bbjun,
when u say doing detailed scan at TMC do u mean on the 4th flr? mine wld be done by another gynae at WC Cheng clinic (1st flr of TMC).

nozomi,
i c. thks! hopefully the scan is as successful as my oscar, which took all of 10 mins!

daffodils,
yes i heard of the method of looking at the tummy. but duno how to c ley. although my tummy does look rounder than sharp to me and hubby =)

bathtubs
ikea ones are small. mothercare ones are big. for ave sized babies, mothercare ones can last up til child is 2 to 3 years old. but both plain ones with no bath support, like bbjun mentioned.

omg... there seem so many things to buy before baby comes out?!?! I am getting stressed just by reading at all you guys had planned so far!!!!

morning!!

guess i got to relook at the bathtubs again.... i saw mothercard selling a sloping board kind of support so that u can rest the bb while bathing him/her..... is that the board that u gals are talking about??

Mummy Ash, yes yes, alot of things to buy... but dont be stressed. enjoy the process. hahaha

there's a list for to buy stuff which u can obtain from the cashier at the kids dept at taka. so for clueless MTBs like me, can go pick it up and use it as a guide.

first mum, yes, that's right at 4th floor of TMC.

lovelytulips, yes, that's the board we are talking about. I think it wld be useful for FTM cos we may struggle at the beginning with bathing a small infant.

mummyash,
dun kan cheong. Like what lovelytulips says, u can get the listing from kids dept from taka or check with some experienced frens. Then u can take some time to sit back and customise the list according to your needs. U can also add the timing which u plan to buy so u know when to start looking ard. Some of the listed items I set aside for my frens to buy as gifts for first month celeb. U can do that, too, at least for your close frens. Then u won't have duplicate items by then.

bbjun,

wah, u still have friends whom u can ask to buy u as gifts..... probably i'll ask for vouchers / cash instead. hiak hiak.... think alot will buy toys and clothes....

thanks, i'll go check out on the board. i used to see my grandma just use one hand to carry and the other hand to clean.... like so easy. think i'll be "hand like leg, leg like hand". :p

any recommendation for car seats?? now looking at car seat models that can be used from infant....

First Mum, talking about the shape of tummy vs gender. pple say if someone looks at u from the back and cant see that u'll preggy, means no protruding tummy at the side, it means boy. if can see from the back that u'll preggy, then it's gal.

dont know how true though...

lovelytulips,
I have some close frens who will definitely just ask me what I need so that they will buy something we will use. Already one group has asked, that's why I have to do this. Else, later I don't know what to do with duplicates.

Have not recce for car seat cos my colleague wants to give me hers. She has three and hasn't used one of them cos it was a gift or something like that.

Ya, I have heard the same about the view from behind. So far, it's been quite true for some of my frens who were carrying princes. All look like they are not preggie from behind, even at 8mhts!

hi ladies, went for my gynae visit last sat... he said 90% is a gal...
will b gng for detailed scan first week of feb, does anyone knows for FBI, is it valid only for those delivering at TMC? I will deliver at Mt A, but detailed scan is at TMC... was told will cost ard $100+...

Dovey, i think the FBI is only valid for those delivering at TMC. and i think if u're only getting it for the discount for the detailed scan, then it's not worth it (although there are freebies) cos the membership is 140+ for 2 years while the detail scan discount is only 10%.

creamer, at some point, my gynae oso gave me tablet to insert, but like u say, seems very serious so I'm a bit scared lah, I applied cream, use non-perfumed panty liners, and change them as often as I can, then the itch go away lor..

bbjun, my digestive system was already pretty bad b4 pregnant, now almost everyday depends on the antacid suspension (mylanta), trying to be more careful with food too now.. u very strong leh, I've been eating sushi (non sashimi type) since day one..

Dovey, like u, I oso delivering at Mt A but detailed scan at TMC as my gynae from there, dun think have any FBI disc leh, it's only for mothers delivering at TMC if I'm not wrong.. I oso paid abt $200 plus for the detailed scan and the previous NT scan.. I registered for their parentcraft class as well, oso no disc, standard price applied..

stuff for baby
sterilizer: avent or pigeon
bottle: pigeon
diapers: pampers (for first 3 mths), aft that might change to nepia or huggies for day time use
wipes: pigeon w moisturizer

haven't decided on others yet..

morning MTBs,
went for my 16th week visit last fri but could not cfm bb gender cos it was in an awkward position. dr saw from one angle the buttock and said he cannot see any "balls" so most likely will be a girl. after reading some posts here, i realised i could have turned a bit and see if bb chg position. nvm..too late now.

my neighbour just gave birth on sat and i went to visit her yesterday. she's also FTM like me. i see her so stressed ah..bb was crying and she like don't know what bb wants cos she just fed him. we both just coo to bb hoping he'd calm down.

think i will be like that too so i better go over and help her more often..can practise before my turn comes..hehe.

btw, anyone here have experience or know anyone who changed gynaes halfway? im thinking of changing now, because i went to ESH on fri and saw the maternity ward was very diff from how i remembered it many yrs ago..when walls were pink and the lights were nice ambient orange lights. now the walls are blue and lights are white - not such a warm feeling for me. i haven't been 100% happy with my gynae either so adding this up..im considering changing to KKH and see dr benjamin tham (whom i saw for my 1st visit at 6 weeks before i was recommended to current gynae by my mum).

went to KKH after fri appt to book antenatal class, find that the hospital ambience is very pleasant. i didnt view the private suite but my neighbour said it's good.

btw, anyone going for class starting on 21 feb? i know it's a bit late cos i'll be in week 22 but they didn't have anything earlier so just took it.

hope everyone's well and enjoying their monday so far!

thanks lovelytulips and ling... then we will just pay for the detailed scan at TMC...

caramelle, starting antenatal class at week 22 not considered late, right? i signed up for mine at Mt A, and they said advisable to start week 24, else u will forget what u have learnt... so i'm gng for the class starting early march... anyone gng for that class too?

anyone experiencing 'aching/tightening' feeling on the below part(vaginal)? nowadays, just walk abit, i would feel the effect already.. kind of worried..gng to call my gynae to ask.. aiyo, nowadys my backache is coming back..& i've just caught a cold.

hi all, anybody went or is going to kkh for detailed scan? may i know where should i go when i reach there?

rosel, how r u? din hear from you for quite some time. is the day CL still available? do you know the rates?

daffodils & bbjun, when tummy is pointed, do u mean looking fr the side the protruding tummy is 'elongated' instead of the normal smooth round? now my tummy is about at the belly button height, shld b big enuff to see if it's pointy or round bah. for the mummies who already know the gender of the bb, is this accurate for u all? i eager to guess mine. hehe!!

saw some mummies thinking of getting avent sterilizer but piegon milk bottles. if i'm not wrong, avent sterilizer can only work with avent milk bottles... so do take note.

Ling,i will share with you if i can find any other place that offer aqua classes.have you recover? we can't eat those rall fish and those not fresh veg.and can't eat veg salad also.

Dovey, I'm starting my parentcraft class at tmc in my week 28, I asked for earlier slot, but they suggested not to come too early.. should be okay I guess..

nozomi, hope you're feeling better, I have had flu n cough too, already 3 wks now, but better and clearing up liao, just drink lots of warm water..

amk-gal
I would recommend that you get peg prego instead of maclaren. Cause peg prego is more sturdy n u can hang thing on it without worrying that it will topple. Of course the weight is much much more heavier compare to Maclaren. My current stroller is from maclaren, my only comprain is that it will topple when i hang thing without bb in it

Re : Pigeon bottle with NUK teats??? U better check if they are workable.

nozomi,
At time i also feel suan suan/aching at the vaginal area. Dont worry it ok, all due to too much walking

chidori,thanks for sharing those useful info.

caramelle,i going for calss starting on 21 feb 11:15am-2pm,how abt u?I might need to ching to TMC but see same gynae.still consider whether change gynae or change hospital.

Yesterday we went to kiddy palance,brought two set baby's wear and 1 top wear for myself.

Re: Stuff for Baby

sterilizer: AVENT
Breast pump: Medela
Dapers: pampers for newborn,don't know if use it whole day will cause diaper rash or not,so might be 尿布 and night using diaper.

mika rei,
I think at this point when our tummy is still small, it's still look round. I guess at such early stage, if tummy has made your normal width (facing the mirror) bigger than usual, it's likely to be a gal. I look pretty much as usual if I were to face the mirror. Most people can't tell I am preggie if I am wearing a dress but oredi have a bulge.

hi Jess Ma,
Im going for the morning one because 11am slot no more..good luck for your class!

not sure if you are considering btwn change gynae or change hospital, if you then maybe a bit like my case. only thing is quite clear cut for me cos i want to see another gynae (who to me is very good) and he delivers at KKH (which from what i saw was very nice). so i guess it all works out, so now must decide whether i should change bcos i already did blood test at ESH. should be no problem to transfer the results im sure but like a bit troublesome.

also noticed some of you going for detailed scan already..for those delivering at KKH, can you let me know if the dr is the one who refer you to do it? and how much?

thanks in advance!

Ling,
thanks. glad that u r on the road to recovery.
am having mild sore throat too..been drinking honey with lemon. just went to gp, given 4 diff types of medication..wow..i guess will only take the cold tablet..was wondering if i could use the natural remedy of fresh ginger drink?

Jackie,
staff nurse just mentioned preg weight/hormones might exacerbate the suan/aching. do u also feel it's kinda of tight discomfort too? it has been a couple of weeks, for the last few days, whenever i walk a short distance, i would also feel it, seems to get worst. but if i rest/sit down, the discomfort would go away. Did'nt feel tt way during last pregnancy..perhaps am getting paranoid again..heheh

nozomi, whatever medication the gp gave u, better double check with ur gynae, the last time gp gave me medication, some of them not supposed to be taken and he changed my medicines, e.g. dhasedyl syrup, we're not supposed to take.. ur flu, is the mucus coloured ? if yes, means it's too heaty n if pro longed may need some anti biotic, but if it's not coloured, you may try natural remedy, the nurse at my gynae office told me the best drink is warm water..

Ling, yah, i apply the cream only and so far quite ok.

Dovey, i also booked for Mt A classes and they also advise me to go after 24th weeks as they say too early for feb, think scare we forget cos heard pregnant woman will hav falling memory. My class start on 6 March and subsquent on Sat 4-6pm. How abt you?

Nozomi, i heard this b4 and it happen when the day b4 u have 'intimate'. But will go off the next following day..

Ling,
yup, the prescribed cold medication chlorpheniramine is safe. thanks.
will try to switch to warm water i/o room temp water.

first mum, my gynae say 80% as my baby was sitting with his legs curl up. so had to scan from another angle which my gyane says she saw his private but then my baby shift again.. notti baby. Thus she say 80% & cfm only when i go back for my detail scan next month. haha

i haven't bought anything for my baby yet except some clothes which friends help buy for my baby from HKG disneyland. Was going to wait till the baby fair & buy everything at one time. looking at the mummies here, tink i better start planning.. been too lazy so far..

bbjun, if i wear a black top and stand in front of a tainted mirror just to see my silhoutte, i think i may not look pregnant. don't know if i'm disillusioned or wat. mayb i look slightly fatter but i'm trying to tell myself i'm already like tat before preg. ha! but at least still hv a bit of curve at the waist.

jess ma, thanx! 2nd floor, adc. i'll be going thr next week. hubbies are allowed to stand thr throughout the 30mins or so scan right?

xuan, which other angle did your gynae try tat saw ur bb's pte parts? bottom up? did the angle need to be directly bottom up before something can be confirmed? if slightly angled may also cover right? i can't figure out my scans.

lovelytulips,
my cousin who's 20 wks now carry her tummy high and pointed. everyone says must be boy. but gynae confirmed its girl. so i guess only ultrasound scans are 100% accurate =)

xuan,
i c. haha. so cute.

I've been a silent reader all this time and just haven't registered til now. I'd like to join the ranks pls!

bluedream, would you pls include me the next time you update the list?

Nick: Cassey
EDD Estimated: 01 June
Gynae: Dr. Gordon Tan
Del Hospital: Gleneagles
Expecting #: 1

Welcome Cassey!

Mika, I also still have abit of waistline. keke. Actually, I don't how true this is but just observe my frens who were preggie before me and found some commons trends. I am sure there are always exceptions cos our bodies are all different. Agree with first mum that scan is still more accurate.

Thank you, bbjun! =)

I barely have a discernible bump as yet and find that my gynae's routine scan and recent detailed F.A. scan definitely verified bb's gender before I can even attempt to guess from bump shape!

Haven't signed up for any antenatal classes, still trying to decide where to attend. I've checked out Mt. A and Thomson..
Has anyone been to Gleneagles' classes? Any feedback?

I just met with a confinement nanny and she recommends that the baby sleep with her.

Does the confinement nanny sleep with the baby in a separate room so that the baby doesn't disrupt the mum's rest? Is that common practice?

I would actually like to have the baby sleep in the same room as my husband and I.

Any thoughts?

newbie mom,

it's really your personal preference. My cousins and frens usually let the BB sleep with the CL so that they can rest at nite. The CL will bring the BB to them for feeds at nite when needed.

I believe this is usually done since u hire a CL so that u can get proper rest and recuperation after delivery. U can shift the bb to sleep with u after confinement period. I am also planning to let BB to sleep with CL during confinement.

chidori, thanks for the list...

i've not done any shopping for bb stuffs yet... both me and hubby are like headless chickens not knowing to buy... this list provides as a guidline for us... anyway we also only intend to start buying after CNY... meanwhile also trying to get as much stuffs as possible from friends so that we can buy lesser...

yesterday went to a friend's house and drove back a car full of bb stuffs... baby cot, playpen, cot bumper set, newborn bathing tub and also some toys... kekeke... save a lot liao... those stuffs if buy can cost a lot... and probably at later stage, can get some clothings from her too... :p