(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Rin: The cream is not the fondant kind, my friend can do butter cream/ cream cheese/ ganache, etc.

I did chocolate ganache for sunay's bday, not tt sweet (and i really cannot tahan too sweet things). Cuz the others, cream cheese etc, need to be refrigerated and i couldnt fit soo many into my fridge

babymummy,

its okay...i was just teasing u...

i may not make it tomorrow also coz Edgar not feeling well...lets see...hopefully he will be fine by later...he seems fine now after medicine and sleep..walking and playing on his own...

Wow...so exciting...got gift exchange??? Great!

Heard a lot of bad reviews about HT since #1 3 years ago until to the point that I avoid it totally. Now using either Organix or other cereals....

ponyo mummy, zambak can oso get at traditional provision shop or medical halls.

didnt know can use zambak for insects bites too....
currently my calendula cream serves all (except for blue black i fall back to zambak)....bites / diaper or face rashes + daily diaper area protector.

<font color="ff6000">thanks all for the well wishes

Edj,for a start no,must be on the ball to learn.Until I have the confidence of doing the job well,no sneaking out to lunches

Powerball,I'll be working in one of the offices on top of Isetan Scotts</font>

<font color="119911">HT cereal,
i think lilmoo posted here a while back and saw her pics.. totally grossed out ..
link was working yesterday but the sales manager was just very strange in that she kept insisting its the way mummies store the HT cereal and not their fault etc...
but whatever the case, just check the cereal before feeding to our babies..
i dun dare buy ANY HT stuff.. mostly, nestle, organix, bellamys
i think the big marts shd do checks to ensure they stuff they put on their shelves is safe for consumption and not expired!!</font>

pinkypink,
not soo sweet cupcakes is great and choc ganache is oki provided ow_mummy is not getting the choc zest flavor for mother's day cake.

<font color="ff6000">pravina, how's the gift exchange going to be like? Do we know who we are getting for? Any budget for gifts like what we did for christmas the last time?</font>

powerball, it's actually nothing new, just that a mummy found worms in her HT cereal and reported to HT.. then the person in charge handled it badly and the mummy was ranting on the thread about their bad attitude and so on and so forth.. She posted pictures of the cereal and the worms, quite gross! Anyway, it escalated to the extend that the pic in HT threaten to sue the mummy.. Too bad it's been blocked, I also want to know what happen next.
Maybe the people at HT received so many complaints abt worms in their products that they are immune already, so attitude like bo chap loh! but ya, like babymummy said, very bad, they posted the personal details of the mummy that complaint, hp number and all.. and never once apologize!

Personalised tees
i think its a great idea, just that i dun think i can coordinate it right now.
anyone wants to volunteer??

gift exchange,
i think we get neutral gifts for the babies.. kidz mentioned she had a game to facilitate gift exchange.
as for cost of gift, is $20 ideal?? steep/low/just nice??

sorry for the delay in collating and posting here.. busy with work, my boy's bday stuff and reno!!! argh!
=]

gallop, yeah i read, thats kaydenmummy's post .. someone else in the same thread posted that she had bought HT cereal from NTUC and it was expired.
the sales manager from HT also claimed that the batch of HT cereal that kadenmummy bought was like sold/soldout months ago.

i thot the whole thing was just odd in that HT wanted to do replacement of new HT cereal but dun seem to get the idea that they need better QC/QA..esp if they hv been getting similar complaints over years... very very sloppy and unacceptable esp for our young ones.

HT: haha.. i had the same problems half a yr ago, till i reported the case to AVA,when HT ignored all my emails. So e officer took my sample n went down to their factory n took another same batch sample to check.. so the officer came back to me saying that theres no problem as the packagng is sealed so noway that theres bugs o bugs eggs inside e cereal.. he say it shld b the burned oats(the black dots on e flakes of cereal) or sth...n say quakers oats haf more of this burned oats in the cereal..n then he gave me the sample pack he took from e factory...LOL..expect me to jus let my bb consume...i m like...speeechless...first of all HT services or attitude simply sucks...

Re robinsons sale tomorrow...

avent and pigeon are having 25% discount...but the porridge only have 3 flavors..and none with rice..only the fish and veg....

Hi mummies, sorry to intrude...
im a June09 mummy and i haf a problem, hope i can get advice from you all..

my coming 11month old boy has been rejecting ebm and fm... tried btl, cup, spoon, syringe, all dun wan. now worse, he's starting to reject ebm as well! he still latch on. however, im gg back to workforce soon and i cant afford to latch him all day.

any mummies can advise me? btl , cup, spoon all dun wan. dun wan fm, dun wan ebm.

how ar?

pls PM me with advice as i dun check this thread.

edj,

u going for robinson sale tomorrow? can help to get pigeon bpa free bottles and wide neck teat?

the HT cereal story is horrible, i remember lilmoo was sharing it when we started weaning our bbies.

Yvonne, Dexter's fever just broke today. Been having fever since Fri. It was also a nightmare for me. Had many sleepless nights as had to sponge him or wake up to check temp.

Powerball,

Thats good....besides fever, any other symtoms?
i am noticing a bit of runny nose now...sigh...

its going to be a long night tonite....

The temp hits 39 at 5pm just now....

Re: Gifts Exchange for birthday bash

I was thinking maybe we shld do away with the gift exch as $20 very hard to find something appropriate n we want all mummies to enjoy the party and not be scared away by the costs.

What do the rest think?

Edj, no symptoms other than fever for Dexter. PD suspect roseolla but no rash appeared. Just becareful at night as the fever tends to peak in the night that's why most kids have fits at night. I had to use the suppository a couple of times for this bout of fever.

Powerball,

u use voltaren or just paracetamol suppositories?
i am using voltaren...

yeah loh...thats why tonite going to wake up every 30min to take his temp...

besides spongeing what else can we do ah?

Yeah i agree with powerball...$20 really hard to get gift lei...the toys nowadays so expensive...especially for their age group...plus all our bb have just had their bday parties so no lack of toys at the moment ....i am sure...so yes..i dont mind doing away with the gift exchange....

There might be a viral fever going around.. Try to avoid bringing babies to crowded places for the time being..

Yeah, stressful trying to find a good pressie.. Nice idea but we keep it maybe for Xmas gathering?

haiz.. i m so glad that raynie has finally recover, but still have a bit of cough tho..
she had fever n cough then diarrhea, i oso got to get up countless time every night to sponge her becos sometime medicine don't seems to work or probably work for the first few hours, when the medicine wear off, her fever came back, it was scary at night, got to constantly remember to wake up to check her temperature.
there was one night, she was so cranky that i have to hold her n sleep, i was so tired n fell so deep in sleep that i forgot completely that i m holding her, i turned my body n the next thing i know, i dropped her on the floor straight from the bed, she cry like nobody business in the middle of the night..

<font color="0000ff">Yvonne:</font> Oh dear, sori 2 hear abt e accident. Dun blame urself - itz reali veri tough on us when our children fall ill. Somemore u wkg so xtra tiring on u. Take care &amp; hope Raynie recovers completely soon!

<font color="aa00aa">Nt joining in 2mr's lunch:</font> Nt sure if stl got 1 bt I won't b going liao. I found some rashes on Bastion's back when bathing him in e evening. &amp; I kant b sure if itz heat rash or nt coz itz more than he wld usuali get if itz e latter. So 2mr I wl b bringing him 2 PD. If itz nothing dan I'll get him vaccinated &amp; likely bring him home 2 rest.

<font color="ff6000">Zambuk + any other ointments:</font> I agree Zambuk is gd -- B1's CC applies it on e children when they fall down, bite each other, etc. Bt w our Apr bbs, most impt is ensure nt 2 apply on face &amp; also 2 monitor them coz they kan touch &amp; then rub on their eyes or stick fingers in2 mouth!
Dat x when Bastion pulled e shelf down &amp; kena cuts on his nose &amp; eyes, KKH Drs also dint prescribe any ointment 4 fear of him rubbing in2 his eyes or ingesting some... \clipart[crazy} They cldnt even put a splint on his nose in case it was broken coz he struggled &amp; pulled if off when they tried 2...

Actuali something organic or natural is best i.e. aloe vera cream. Even massage oil 4 bbs shd onli use those w natural &amp; safe-2-eat ingredients - like GAIA brand massage oil.

<font color="0077aa">Gift Exchange:</font> I'm ok either way - to hv or nt 2 hv it. Bt mayb budget of $10-$12 wld b sufficient? Lotsa toys or educational aids available w/i diz price range bt I tink lots marked 18M &amp; abv.

<font color="ff0000">Hey, if any1 nds help shopping 4 gift (if there is gift exchange) -- I kan help. Since I gotta bring Bastion 2 HFC 4 Gymboree, I'm always chkg out e kid's shops there &amp; @ Vivo. I went Mothercare juz now &amp; saw some things I like 2 buy bt wl go get fr West Coast Plz later since e outlet there has special opening discounts. Haha, end of e day I juz like 2 shop lah &amp; since SAHM, got x 2 shop lor</font>

<font color="0000ff">No AV equipment 4 B'day Bash</font> Oh, no TV screen or DVD player?
Dan muz @ least hv music 4 our bbs 2 boogie 2...

<font color="119911">Sponging 4 fever:</font> Juz a reminder 2 sponge head, neck &amp; upper body i.e. armpits -- "hotspots" whc r veri effective 2 bring down fever. We actuali spray H20 on e kidz' head (hair) &amp; itz veri helpful tho kan c e H20 dries up veri fast. We use one of those containers 4 spraying H20 when ironing.

<font color="aa00aa">Ponyomummy:</font> Hope ur new job gives u enuf freedom 2 join in more outings!
Hey, Tasmania's absolutely beautiful!!! Bt frankly, I dun tink our Apr Bbs wl enjoy sighseeing as much as their mommies &amp; daddies - coz bbs stl 2 young. Stl, kan bring J 2 some wildlife sanctuary - I got 2 carry a super heavy wombat @ one of these in Tasmania. Oh &amp; go see e fairy penguin parade - I was told itz better than e one in Melbourne. Anyway, while we were watching them som1 coughed &amp; e penguins froze. Aft dat penguins panicked &amp; one stepped allovr my feet. It was quite funni
Anyway, lovely plc. My trip was in Dec whc was like 9-12 degrees weather &amp; Tasmania is veri windy.

Edj, using voltaren. But diff PD say diff things. First one say just use when temp is 39degrees. 2nd one say dosage quite high. Ask me to use only 3/4.

Yvonne, i also fell asleep at some point in the night n was late in giving him the meds. Woke up feeling so guilty then.

Kidz, very difficult to sponge. Awake, bb is moving about. Asleep, sponge the hand area, bb wake up. Haiz. I ended w letting him move abt in a wet tshirt or a wet hanky stuck to his back/neck.

Books are nice as gifts but is true that they have gotten quite a no. of toys/books etc for their birthdays.Cannot overindulge them. For the bash, i mentioned to kris before if we can invite some BP organizers to sell their goods at the bash, it would be nice. Then mummies can buy things that they want
Not sure if this is a workable plan.

Kidzskidz: we were thinkin that $20 budget is too lil for gift exchange ardy...

Gift Exchange: i think its better to do away the gift xchange as $20 budget is too lil to buy any toys for our kids.. n since their bday jus over had lotsa toys ardy...

Reali feel great to come in here to c all encouraging words frm mummies n c tat some mummies r sharing similar experiences..
When raynie fell sick, I have to work frm for tat whole week, my works were lacking behind, somehow or rather it seems like mummy always has to make the sacrify to choose between work or kid, at some point I was quite mad at hubby tat he can just simply say tat he got lot of works to clear n cannot affort to take child care leave.

pravina
so sorry, but i have to remove my name from the bash because my parents just told me that we'll be celebrating mother's day, my dad and my bro's birthdays on the 8th!! so unfortunately, wont be there to meet with all you mummies

Thanks so much for helping to organise, really appreciate it!

HT
oh no, i just bought a new box of HT Oatmeal cereals, so what should I do now?

Voltaren
edj, what is this for and how to administer it?
so far, doc only give paracetamol for fever leh.. and i have never given it to her in the middle of the night.. u have to wake baby up to feed ah?

Oshgosh,

Voltaren is to be administered through buttock..so can do it even when bb is sleeping...its supposed to be very strong for very high fever...

what was your bb temp? if not too high then u dont need that loh...

Yvonne,

yes...no one in this world can replace a mother lah...mothers can do a lot and sacrifce a lot for their children....and still feel happy doing it...sthing that man cant do/understand...

but becoz of that, the satisfaction that we get is also undescribable....right?

<font color="0000ff">Gift Xchng</font> Hmmm, i muz b veri lucky Then coz i often come across gd buys 4 eduational Kidz stuffs. Guess juz being @ rite plc @ rite x lor. Like last wk There was MOE tchr training near B1's CC - w books n toys table by wholesaler. i managed 2 grab lotsa stuffs 4 both Kidz. lacing Boards @ $10. Wooden Phonics word-forming set @ $30. The boss was Veri nice n xtend conf price 2 me so i call som frenz n help Them grab som stuffs 2
Now lil x 2 comb BP pg - has lotsa gd buys 2...

<font color="aa00aa">Bb drinking w straw:</font> i let Bastion try 4 1st x juz now n he Cld. B4 he was drinking som fr Doidy Cup or lots fr showerhead
Gotta buy him straw Cup tho, gave B1 The 1 i standby 4 B2...