(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

vernice
hahaha.. i din do anything but just let it leak lor.. coz i usually will be wearing nursing bra n breast pad so the leak will go into the breast pad lor..

tuskywoolie
wa.. ur bb drank so much ar.. mine 6week plus now only 90ml le.. if more than tat he will go merlion liao.. sometime more jiat liat will be out from his nose as well.. think like wat kome mention maybe it depend on baby's size ba.. he quite small build compare to other baby boy.. sometime my breast will feel itchy as well when too engorged..

Re: Diaper
i think by far the best diaper is mamypoko liao.. coz from then i never experience any leaking.. i manage to grab one packet nia for the promotion.. too late..

jitho
dun be sad.. heed ur hubby's advice.. if really cannot than go on fm lo.. the most importantly is to bond with ur little one n enjoy motherhood.. dun be depressed.. bb will sense ur unhappiness too.. just stay happy n let ur boy be a happy bb as well..

Just quarrelled with him again. every time over the same thing. bb cry and hunger. everytime holding back my tears. dont know should give up bf... i feel so wei qu. hate the bb at times...

reverie
dun be upset.. bb will always cry not only becoz of hunger but other factors.. remember bb isnt there to get u, they just couldnt express themselve thru language so crying is the only method they can do to convey message across to us.. maybe u shld ahve a good talk with ur hubby becoz quarrelling over bb's crying n hunger is pointless, he has to learn to be more supportive over u doing bf... itz afterall the best for bb ma.. on the other hand, think he might be xin tong over u being so xin ku in doing bf n oso bb's crying made him fustrated as he might feel helpless in helping u out n to calm bb down...

reverie
u mean yr hubby ask u to give up bf?dun hate the bb lah, not bb's fault.

Sometimes bb will also get on my nerves when he cry non-stop and I will jokingly tell him "U cry somemore, I will put you outside MCYS office" haha...but that doesn't have effect on him lah. I think sometimes we have to say some jokes to baby to relieve our stress

sung,

Are u still having problems with bb latching? My problem is more or less solved now. Went to parentcraft on Fri and found out that i use my brest pillow in wrong position and also teach me how to latch. Actually i know how to latch, bb also know.. paid $40 to learn how to position the brest pillow and be patient in waiting for bb to open mouth and be decisive to unlatch when it hurts. Yah.. parentcraft say dont give the breast if mouth not open. U might want to try.. I latched exclusively from Fri until today.. now bb no longer chew on my nipple even if she dont open her mouth wide to take the breast in. Still a little pain sometimes, esp at nite, i feed in the dark, so bb and me cant see properly. heh.. but overall so much better and very bearable. There are times i din even feel any pain and wonder whether she drinking or not... then i see the jaw moving with a gentle tugging feeling on my breast.. hee..

Now i going on to train latching without the brest pillow cos cant be bringing the brest pillow everywhere i go right? Would look ridiculous.. lol.. After i train my arm stregth then i would train latching with the nursing cover... let's hope i can do it before i board the plane. Heh.

*sayang reverie* babe try to chill... take a breather.. its not easy... initially i felt very alone in everything... and cried many times alone... hubby wld be sleeping.. he wld nvr hear bb cry and i had to wake up latch her.. feed her.. change diapers... put her to sleep... bathe her.. everything also i do... hubby wld jus play his computer... then when i walk past the study room i wld always tear/cry... nw more or less getting used to bb's temper n everything... so nt so bad.. plus hubby getting bit more involved.. i get him to help bathe n feed baby.. sometimes look after bb while i do my stuff as well.. try to talk to ur hubby... *hugs*

sung - what u can do is rub the ru yu oil on bb's tummy then wrap the tummy with binder or nappy cloth... old ppl believe the wind is becos expose the belly button la.. so jus rub the oil and then cover with binder or cloth... bb shld sleep better... good luck!!! =)

guys... sigh...
i guess they are tuned to auto immune at all times...
when Zac wakes up for milk and start crying loudly, hubby can just sleep through... *faint*
Ask him make formula milk, the milk will be darm hot.
Ask him wakes up to feed Zac, he can feed while his eyes closing...

I guess it's better to do everything ourselves then ask those guys do and end up, we ourselves are pissed off or sad...

<font color="119911">misscandy, irene,
u r rite, i juz quarrel wif hb oso, a big one. he asked me y i picked on him over little things, he dunno dat its all those little things dat they do dats piss us off, sianz.</font>

reverie island,
sayang dear, dun hate bb. bb is the miracle of your love. sometimes crying out helps to relieve the stress and tension. talk to someone, a close friend or relative if poss to relieve as well. better yet, if can, talk to your hb to see if can solve?

asura,
thanks dear! bb still chewing sometimes on my breast but better dis few days. i realise he will bite and chew more when i get blocked ducts. prob coz he's frustrated he can't get the milk out so he bite (ouch!) :p i got the nursing pillow from my brest friend too but not using yet as when i tried that out 1st month, it added pressure on my c-sect wound and caused pain. tink will try using after 2nd mth coz bb is getting so much heavier and straining my waist. jia you jia you! you can do it, i'm sure you can latch bb without nursing pillow in time for your plane ride. must tk care during the journey!

missycandy,
thanks. now bb wearing clothes that cover the belly button which is also covered by the diaper. still need to cover with clothe? any idea where to buy the binder? haha he's still dragging till 1am+ to sleep. so tired just now that i put him on my chest and lie down to sleep too. actually works but so heavy load haha...

irene, haha my hubby also same, sleep thru n formula make dammn long

kris, my hubby call me a slavedriver hehe

jean/reverie, I feel like im in the same situation as u. blocked ducts, fever 3 times, worst thing is I can't spend time wif bb, coz not well. saw mdm rokiah twice..but still painful on the rite breast...maybe go buy syringe to try suck it out...

Grace,
Oh, ok. I understand the meaning of your "5 bottles" already.

This must be about the only time you totally support your hubby and his passion about soccer matches? :p

Devil,
I hope it is just a passing phase for your baby then. No... I will not be able to handle the kids if not cos of the help from my hubby. He has been great, esp when it comes to looking after the older one.

Yes, I only pump twice a day. In between it does hurt, but I have no chance to pump cos baby can wake up anytime or just simply need me to entertain her. I am not so much afraid of the pain, I am more afraid I am slowly killing my supply this way. But well, I just do the best that I can.

miss83,
my #2 is 6weeks old.
Just do whatever housework that is necessary. From the past few weeks (I started doing everything on my own since 3rd week after delivery cos confinement nanny had to leave cos of home emergency. Even had to cook my own confinement meals), I have learnt to prioritise and plan. Meaning as I am feeding baby or tending to her, I would already be planning in my head what will I do next or the sequence of how I will be doing things so that I maximise the time in between. For things that I really have no time to do, so be it. Do later in the evening when hubby is back, or at most leave to next day.

Oh, don't worry about not being able to fit into your jeans lah! Give your body some time. It had stretched to accommodate your baby and the delivery of your baby, give it time to go back. When I had my #1, I took about 10 weeks before i can fit back into my pre-pregnancy pants and skirts even though I only gained 9kg for the pregnancy. It had nothing to do with weight gain, it is more of the enlargement of the pelvic girdle. Try wearing looser dresses during this time. You can still look like a yummy mummy ;)

sung,
I do wonder where I got the energy from. I am quite drained... but it is "just got to do it" kind of thing. No choice. Just do. Day after day...

HI Mummies

Need some advice. My breast has been hurting since Sun and last nite I developed high fever. Thing is, after I took panadol can I still pump and give the BM to BB?

For C-Section mummies,

Have your tummy flatten? My massage lady said can't do the massage in that area, must wait for 4 months before she "push up" for me. Now I still look 3 to 4 months pregnant, though already given birth 5 weeks ago....

Blubell,
I had the same situation as u. For me, I dun dare to give my ebm, not becos of the panadol but the fever. Afraid I will pass virus to bb

Hi Mummies, I have a Combi COCCORO S car seat in good condition for sale. Used for less than 1 year.
Can be used from 4 months old to about 4 years old(Up to 18kg) in backward or forward facing mode. User guide available.
Shopping centre selling at $339. Our car was scraped last month, no longer need car seat. Wish to sell at $250.
Cash and carry at Jurong West St 61. Pls contact me at [email protected]. Thanks.
2370131.jpg
2370132.jpg

i'm from May thread and i will c-sect end of april. Can i just check with u mummies whether did u switch on air-con at nite time and napping time?? how abt open the windows and fans??

this is my #2 and i hope to do a proper confinement so that next time i wldnt have any pains when i get old..

p3p33er, srumpee, misscandy, sung

not give up on bf. he said i not enuf bm and asked me to mix fm. he gets frustrate and gang jiong when bb cry and always turn to me, bb wants milk. u no milk then give her fm. he said i bad temper. i wonder has he been more understanding or he forget to compromise to our so call post natal blue or he himself having it...to him or many, bb should drink and zzz. i asked, dont bb cry or they zzz and drink only with no noise?

i am going to try to pump all my ms out today and feed her on all my ebm which can last only 2 feeds! i want to know how much is she feeding and how much can i produce. think i have to resort to fm by end of today...

shers,

I on air-con in whichever room I step into ie. bb room, study room, master bedroom, elder son room, except in living/dining area where I would have my meals and hang around to watch TV. For these areas, I would on ceiling fan which is not directly above me to circulate the air and occasionally get some gentle breeze. if don't on air-con, cannot tahan, especially for my rooms, either get the morning sun or afternoon sun, so cannot tahan! I guess it's ok to on air-con cuz the air is dry, even my CL said it's ok!

reverie - ooo hmmm i gave in to FM long ago. Heh. Really cant meet demand of bb plus my latching always wrong.. end up with sore bleeding nipples... currently bb is on almost 100% FM already... but i am going to give it one more shot when i finish my post natal massage this Saturday... I will latch and top up with FM if need be... I actually tried to latch her on yesterday becos yesterday my massage lady off day.. so my body doesnt have the oil &amp; the wrap... surprisingly still have milk and bb still able to suckle... heh heh heh.. i actually stopped pumping as well... =x i let her suckle only awhile la... then later on in the evening experienced some let down.. my singlet 2 wet patches in front.. heh heh... anyway Jia Yu!!!

ps ... the Men will never get it ...

shers - initially i didnt on fan or air con.. sweat like dunno what!!! then after that i on fan but more to circulate the air in the room... so not so stuffy.. then after that MIL says jus on if u really hot.. cos her time she also on the fan.. she buay tahan... LOL... then once in awhile i will on the air con... currently baby doesnt like the heat.. so for her i on the air con.. kekeke.. but my bb already 6wks la.. heh

oh ya jus to share with ya'l if ya'l interested... this amazing web for teaching ur babies... =P

www.brillkids.com

nt say i KS or what.. but i actually bought some black white infant cards.. as well as picture cards to show to baby.. heh heh.. ive started showing her pictures of the black white card few times daily... you can actually download free images from the web above... Have Fun!!!

asura - we only managed to save 50ml using 1 bottle, this time round , alot of blocked ducts, even after the session i could still feel the blocked ducts, at night as usual, the pain comes back, especially when i bend down...its really up to us to massage and compress...we cant depend on Mdm Rokiah forever.

Mdm Rokiah advised not to pump in the middle of the night, coz she felt i was too stressed, and not getting enough rest..

alfafa, u got the baby bjorn carrier right? have u used it and which model is that? original/air/active? how is it compared to the pupsik and sling? my hb refuses to use the sling when I want to ask my maid to teach us and he said he would prefer a carrier.

moomooland, i always pump in middle of night cuz bb only manage to drink one side and fall asleep so if don't pump, wouldn't the blocked ducts get worse?

you're right...shd pump to empty the breast..

but in my case, she felt that the reason for the low MS is due to stress, so she wants me to rest and more and not stress too much on MS...

i see...moomooland, maybe dun be too worried abt amt, even if can't tbf, any amt is still gd.

countdown to end of confinement...2 more days to go!!!!

reverie
hmmm.. ya think man cant handle bb well especially when they cry desperately, my hubby oso like tat one, can play half way with him n when he started to cry nono stop he will pass back to me... hahaha.. but to be frank bb cry dun usually becoz of hunger, mine finish eating liao still dun wanna sleep one.. his eyes will open big big n wans to be played with before he guai guai sleep.. think itz a good idea to pump out n see how much milk she needs oso per day.. if she is 3 weeks old now, maybe she is undergoing growth spurt, mine oso like tis n i m so stress becoz i simply do total latching from day 1 n when milk supply hasnt increase as fast when he needs more, he simply cry every 1 or half an hour for milk, so itz kinda stress n siong during tat time coz i simply cant rest well..

those who on BF...do u eat alot? I'm worried my MS going down..CL said I must eat alot if i want to BF. just an hour ago latched bb and 30 mins later he seems hungry again but not much milk come out..
but I also realize my breasts never engorge anymore..always soft eventhough after 5-6 hours i forgot to pump at night ..is it really a sign the MS going down?

miss83, my boobs also feel soft all the time. i think the body has gotten used to that amt of milk that baby needs, so didn't make more? I hope wor.. as for eat a lot, depends, but i do take a lot of small meals, sigh. TUMMY still here loh, probably the reason why.

baby driving me crazy today. super fussy. aiiiii finally get her to nap, first time today. Been 10mins so far. Hopefully she can sleep this time. Anyway, hubby just got back so he is on standby (now he's busy doing his gardening stuff, his precious) :p

Fairy,
I bought Bay Bjorn Air. I bought a BNIB one at the resale market (grey white) for $115 + another $10 for 2 baby bjorn bibs from someone else (gently used). If you don't mind buying from resale market I will forward you the links whenever I see them. You can also search in the WTS and WTB sections here. Someone selling $100 for a navy blue baby bjorn air, another selling $110 and yet another at $120. Usually you can try bargaining. Think those are gently used ones.

Baby Bjorn Air is excellent for singapore weather BUT the conventional advice is, AIR is for weekend or light users only. If you are a heavy user i.e. you expect to be walking with your bb ALOT and very regularly, you might want to consider SYNERGY for better back support.

Yah same. Hubby doesn't like using sling/pouch. Anyway, even if hubby doesn't mind using my sling/pouch it is technically very troublesome cos need to adjust size every time

Reverie,
*pat pat* I also feel like killing my hubby a while ago. It's true, they just don't get it. I admire you for your persistence despite the obstacles. Good idea to go on exclusive Bottle for a while just to guage how much MS you have and how much your bb is drinking. For all you know, you might have no problem with MS at all; bb could be crying for a variety of reasons. Like mine today lor, I definitely don't think it's my MS low, but she has been super cranky and fussy. In the end to pacify her I just keep letting her latch. I'm like a human pacifier.

Miss83,
I eat rubbish during the day one leh. Usually cookies, biscuits, down with alot of milo horlicks for some nutrients at least. Didn't affect my MS wor. But I try to have proper dinner.

Speaking of dinner. OMG! Last night I almost started a fire in my kitchen. In fact I did. I roasted a chicken with stuffing for dinner last week, left half which I froze. Yesterday wanted to re-heat in the oven for dinner while I prepare pasta on the stove top. I was too lazy to shift my tray of chicken to a lower rack while I use the top grill, in the end my aluminum foil caught fire! Waaaaaaaaaaa nearly heart attack. I quickly got a big flask of water, opened the oven door and just splash the whole damn flask onto my chicken ...took me 2 secs only but the fire already spreaded t the whole top level of my oven, almost coming out to lick the stove top liao. My heart almost exploded.

Heng my chicken was salvagable if not no dinner liao. Actually ... HENG I was there cooking pasta and not elsewhere cos if not my kitchen sure catch fire one. So scared just thinking about it.
Maybe I should get pte housing insurance.

Idaarshad,

l;atest update re vaccines. I brought my BB to the clinic today only to be turned away. Apparently because my bb has taken the 2nd hep b dose at polyclinic, the next jab should be at 3mths. I don't need to take 3x 6-in-1 type of jabs because of that too.

It goes like this

1st jab at 3mths 5-in-1 type pf jab (no hep b) $75
2nd jab at 4 mths 5-in-1 type of jab (no hep b) $75
3rd and final jab at can't rem when 6-in-1 type of jab (w 3rd dose of hep b) $100.

Total $250

Rotavirus seperately chargeable at $90x2.

Ann,
sorry didn't PM you in the end. In fact BB has been difficult since last night. Suspect she might be going through growth spurt. so tired.

By the way, I would be m,eeting someone at Redhill MRT station at 12noon this sat. My spree purchases lah. Hubby bringing me there. If you just want a quick view of how I use my pouch maybe you can meet me at the MRT station around that time too?

Then another time when you are more comfortable we can bring baby out ourselves for coffee. Sportyger also
She prefers town by the way.

Ladies, whoever who wants to bring bb out alone and wants some company feel free to ask me. I don't like to stay at home so I will bring BB out at every chance. But sometimes very boring to go out alone, so if any mommy wants company just ask me yah?

ok she making noise again aiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

I had a session with Mdm Rokiah today,also experience fountains of milk coming out from my breasts but when I pump 3 hours after her session, the supply was so miserable. Mdm Rokiah said could be my pump. She said Ameda pump is the best, may I know who is using that and how much is the pump? Thinking of switching. I am currently using Avent ISIS pump which I felt that the suction is not good enough.

alfafa, i dun mind bringing bb out. let me know again.

Y dun we organise one gathering at someone place and gather all babies. Then we took photo of all babies in a row. Haha will then see all babies laying around. I saw Jan thread that they r doing so. so cute.

srumpee
is ur pump AVENT manual? I'm using that...I thought so far so good.. but i've been wondering too if other pump is even more effective. dont want to invest another pump but end up result is the same.

hello mummies...

aiyah i am so distuirbed by the recent news....in taiwan there's a stupid man threw a 10 mth old baby into a boiling hot water to cok her....apparently she's not his child it's the gal frens'..he even ignore the crying baby and cont cooking his noodles..
now the kid was brain dead and i thik she's dead..
saw the picture of her..all red and screaming and crying in tears..
it's so pitiful yet sad..

i hope the man will get the same treatment in jail and for life...

srumpee, i do have fever during my confinement too. I took panadol and it healed. If u r Bfing , it is ok to feed bb. That time i dunno so i threw away 400ml of EBM.

daphne - serious? wahlao!!! dunno what is happening to the world now.. so many horror stories... argh!!!

my bb also refuses to sleep after drinking milk... nw wans to be rocked in the bouncer... grrr... when i stop rocking she wake up... -_-" then feed her... 2hrly... dn jus nw 5 she cry for milk again. becos last feed at 3.. so ok i go make milk.. dn she guzzle guzzle.. i tell her drink slowly... dn remove the bottle she cry cry... next moment... MERLION... all over my shorts n kena my floor... wah so pek chek man... grrrrr....

alfafa
ya i would love to join in an outing session too.. but scare tat i cant handle bb well outside if too long especially recently he is quite colicky...

i think i give up of ever letting bb to sleep on his back liao.. i try swaddling him today n oso apply telon oil n even give him ridwind drop but all no use.. he slept for not more than 15mins apart n woke up screaming in a sudden with no cues of awakening one.. just place him back on his tummy sleeping n it went on well more than 30mins liao... suan le, think this is the best way to allow him to have a longer stretch of sleep.. poor thing, suddenly cry on top of his voice one, think he has very very bad colic...

i'm using the ameda pump... Per session get around 160 average every 4 hours, morning can get around 200ml after 6 hours since last pump.
Recently after i start dragging the interval from 3hrs to 4hrs per pump, i feel my breasts still hard after pumping... I suspect blocked ducts... Later gotta massage during shower... Hopefully can clear

pepper, if he sudden woke up screaming means he is frightened. my gal also like that. maybe u can try put zing feng san with some water on his back of ears and head.