(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

vernice - no probs

miss83 - dun despair.. u will sure can calm down ur bb.. normal instict that u mite not know u have in u .. soon r bb can be playing w u liao... and yes on FM -regardless big bb or not - that amount abt the same for all babies lah

idaarshad,
daylight robbery!

Vernice, idaarshad,
oic. ok will bring bb for her jabs this week then. better not drag liao. Aiiii looks like she will be very cranky this week then. The last time she came back form her hep B jab, she screamed blardy murder at home. :p

miss83,
I noticed that it became easier to engage my baby when she was about 6weeks. As in, she will try to mimic us when we smile at her. She's also starting to "reply" at times i.e. when we talk to her, she makes eye contact and makes funny sounds in return, maciam like replying us.

Also smiling and grinning more and more now. My hubby is getting more involved now, having seen her respond to his words.

Miss83
My #1 is total FM. He drank every 2 hr and every 8 or 9 days, i have to get 1 tin 900g FM for him. Each tin cost me about $37+ that time. So siong leh.....Now for my #2, I BF and give FM also. About every 2 to 3 weeks i need to get a tin of FM.

IDAARSHAD
my worst nightmare if bb doesnt want to be put down..these days I've been training him to sleep on his cot instead of falls asleep in my arms.
seems to work out but trial and error also..
sometimes after a few minutes, he makes alot of noises and moves..like agitated...any idea why?
he does that on his cot at night only..in the afternoon I put him on his playpen in the living room, he can sleep calmly..

babe,
yah I like huggies ultra too. The newborn sizes can only last up to 4kg at the very max. My bb has outgrown the newborn ones by now, have since changed to Huggies ultra S sized.

Jasmin,
agree. Yesterday my bb cried non stop for 50mins. It wasn;t until she gave a decent sized burp 50min later that she calmed down and went back to sleep. :p

kome
same here..giving my bb FM and BM...only need to buy another tin every 2-3 weeks. but now getting tired BF..thinking on total FM..but expensive too..haizz

miss83,
do you swaddle him? My bb only acts like what you described if I didn;t swaddle her.

I know bbs don't like to be swaddled, but it really helps. If your technique is right it can be really tight, not uncomfortable tight but enough such that they can't wriggle their arms out. My friend as well, previously she didn't like swaddling her baby. Then finally gave in but she swaddled with bb arms out. ... no use lah like that. Said bb doesn't like. In the end, after much persuasion she finally tried swaddling the full body with arms in and it worked like a charm.

miss83,
don't fret. It's just a matter of getting used to, for both you and baby. Will be tough during the first two days or so, like baptism of fire. Once you survived that initial few days it will not be as bad liao. You will only get better and better at it. Really.

But you must get organised with the barangs barangs in advance. Think about where you will usually tend to babies during the times alone e.g. living room or inside the bedroom? Rem, now you will be alone. So if you spend most of your time in the living room, you might want your bb to be within sight.

OR, if you have a good baby monitor that helps too.

Get ready a working station or diaper station whatever you call it. Mine is basically my dining table. Bath/feed/diaper change/breastpump/sterilising/chat on my laptop etc etc is all done at my dining table. So all my necessities are either on my table or near e.g. my brest friend pillow. Only thing is her day bed is on the floor of course.

miss 83 - yup like what alfafa said...u may wanna try swadlling... but then my bb also make those noises at times.. should be normal.. they at times wanna be cuddled too leh.. works like a charm for my boy... dun stress up too much ok.. enjoy ur bb

yeah... alfafa.. daylight robbery! that's y many mummies try to order in bulk to get cheaper lah.. go for ur jab soon ok

alfafa
thanks..I hope I get used to it very soon.
now CL doing all the taking care of bb in the day..I take charge at night from 10pm onwards..but the idea of tkaing care bb for the whole day really scares me.
actually my station is well set and organized..i have 1 station in the living rm..and another on the room.
are u now used to bath ur bb alone?
how do u manage to take shower/go toilet? what if ur bb cries?
I have bb monitor too..so far never use it..

re:swaddling
yes! i might try again tonight. have stopped swaddling since last wk. because he kicked alot and I thought he felt hot and uncomfortable..so now only put him long sleeves/long pants with mittens and socks.
anyway..til how many months we need to swaddle bb?
do u swaddle only at night or all the time?

miss83 - i also doing both BF & FM for my boy. Day time he will be on EBM and night will be FM. I also want to give up giving BM sometimes. Even my hb now understands it's very tiring to even express out the BM. But try to persist and see how long u can go lor.

my boy also don't like to sleep in his playpen. i think cos it's much warmer. he prefers to sleep on those netted bouncer. but at night once he is in deep sleep, putting him on playpen is no prob.

alfafa - i agree swaddling can calm the bb. I always swaddle my boy and he falls asleep much faster

alfafa,
i'm staying at redhill close - walkable from mrt. are u near to queenstown mrt like at meiling st or strathmore? since i'm the one who needs a favour, maybe i shd visit u instead! i can get my husband to drop me off and after u shd taught me how to use the sling, i can hopefully go home myself : )

diapers - anyone tried both goon and nepia? any comparison of which is better?

Miss83: FM - i'm on abt 60% formula milk and i think i have used almost 2 tins in 6 weeks?

locia - anyone still having it after 6 weeks? i thought it was slowly finishing and had switched to panty liner but now suddenly the flow is very heavy for the past week and its fresh red blood. wondering if i shd be concerned?

vernice
do u swaddle him at noght only or during naps also?

re: latching
my bb always squirms everytime i latch on...like got wind or something..if bottle feed he seems fine..anyone experience the same?

swaddling, i guess babiess feel more secure when swaddle, but dun wrap till too tight. we tried not swaddle him last night, put him on long sleeves then cover blanket on his tummy n legs.
Daytime we din swaddle at all.

Baby cranky: zac was cranky for a few days. Then i realise that those days he was cranky is when i din on the nightlight. Then when i on the nightlight at night, he is okie, just wake up for feeds then sleep.

Goon diapers: the cutting is a bit big i think.
Huggies: huggies diaper are like bikini cut de... Very small cutting.

moomooland,

U get ur bottles ready and check with Mdm Rokiah on how to save the expressed milk for feed. Tell her u not enough milk. She did tell me before that can save but i think the session would not be so relaxing for u cos u would have ot hold the bottles. I never tried before.

miss83 - last time i swaddle him whole day. now after 3rd week, i only swaddle at night unless he is cranky during day time then i will swaddle him for nap.

Formula Milk...

I guess one mth, we will need around 4 tins of 800-900g de FM.
So if one tin is around $40, one month will need to spend $$160 on FM.

I'm trying to tell myself that to continue BM, if we can BF for half a year, we will save $960

hello mummies..
anyone introduce goats milk to baby and how many times or days your baby poo poo....

my son has not poo for 2 days...no bloating in the stomach..is this normal...he is 7 weks old

Daphne, my boy reduces his number of poos per day already. This week he is 6 weeks 3 days old.
Your boy is on FM or EBM?

Is Nepia good? Can't decide to continue buying Goon or change to Nepia

Miss83
Me trying to stop BF and give total FM, so now i will only express when i engorge never latch on anymore. CAnnot tahan BF my son already some more he is not those baby kuai kuai just latch on. He will cried while latch on and also turn his head here and there pulling my nipples while suckling.

ann, me me me.. Lochia has become fresh red blood and mine is coming 8wks! Can u imagine how many pads I've used? Haha. Wonder if should be of any concern, need to go back see gynae or not. Or if the fresh blood is menses returning, gosh. Hubby ask me go see gynae I say wait a little longer then see how lo..

Irene, vernice, I love goon. Tried nepia on my #1 and it leaks! A few time le.... So definitely not gg to use it. I prefer big cutting le.... Not so tight.

Vernice, my girl also sleep on netted bounced in the daytime. She loves it. But I hate it that my fil and mil will just sit there rocking even when she is zzz... Afraid it might become an addiction. Sigh.

Miss83, my bb sometimes do squirm and stretch when latching. Very irritating. Mostly is because she needs to be burped. So I will just put her on her tummy for a few min, then she might burp, or fart. If not, then latch back, if continue to squirm n is uncomfortable, then I will stand and walk ard to calm her down, while continue to latch.

kome
my boy also like that when latching. cry, squirm..turn head here n there..i wonder if it's like cindy said..needs a burp..or because no milk comes out??? or...didnt position him correctly???

mummies who take care ur bb alone
if u need to shower/warm EBM/make FM...do u leave ur bb alone crying for a while? is that ok to do that? getting really nervous as CL is leaving next monnth..

alfafa
ya i guess pupsik is my savour as i hurt my wrist badly n it hurts badly if i carry him too long which is when he din wanna sleep nor eat just wan me to cuddle or carry him.. oso wanna try going out but scare i might not handle him well enough when he cries.. =P

Re: swaddling
i stop swaddle my boy in his 3rd week.. coz he simply dun like n cries loud le.. but recently i found tat he is more easily frighten during hius napping time when lying on his back so most of the time i put him on his tummy.. but always dun feel at ease with him always on his tummy so might be swaddling him back again.. maybe my swaddling method gone wrong tatz y he din like to be swaddled..

Re: FM
wa so ex ar.. then like tat i really gotta work harder to do bf till he reaches one liao..

kome - so fast u want to stop BF? maybe u can just feed him with EBM still can save $$

elita - haha my mum will usually bounce my boy to sleep. i find that i have no such patience leh..sometime he takes 1 hr to go into deep sleep.

but as much as I hate latching n pumping, I always get a satisfied feeling after seeing my bb so full after latching..but the beginning it's always hard..hehe..

miss83
itz ok to let bb cry a while one.. mine very weird one.. he usually sleeps really good while i m not bathing nor eating, but when i started to bath he will cry, so i usually let him cry n if after when i am out he is still crying then i will carry him out from his playpen.. my case more jiat liat, when bb cries my dog will howl with him.. aiyo.. both harmonizing man n can be quite irrtitating one lor.. dun worry, itz not like u r going to leave him crying forever so just try ur best in finishing up ur current task before attending to him ba..

irene...ugin is on both BM and FM...in the day BM and night FM ( goat's)....

i am using mamy poko and fitti...i like fitti coz it has elastic band to suit and secure the waist...

cindy...
could it be menses???
i heard that at 2 mths the mense is trying to come back..so must be diligent with the pumping of BM if you wan to continue BM..if not once the blood comes in then is no more...i am not sure too..maybe some mummies can helop??
so i am trying to latch and pump more.

i tried to latch Zac recently also... but I have inverted nipples... so harder for him to latch on. Especially when he is hungry for milk and has no patiance to latch.
Latch on is definately time saving, dun need to sit down there and pump and sterilise and store the milk...

Cindy, you got your Goon Diapers from Gmarket? the promotion now is $17.80 after Gmarket discount.

irene - goon diapers used to be $14.90 after discount at Gmarket..dont know what happen, increase to $17.80. now considering twice about buying

Long time dint hav time to check the posts...saw some interesting topics being discussed...

Diapers
Tried Pampers n Huggies for NB...Ya Huggies Ultra NB ultra fitting...yesterday nite my mom fed him n felt something cooling down her leg...not milk but his poo!! My mom freaked out n i lost all sleepiness...we changed into Fitti brand...e Huggies Diapers a gift frm my frien so cant sell on e forum...

Sleep/Feeding
BB sleeps better w swaddle for 1st mth, i tink...if full swaddle makes ur bb sweat, try 1/2 swaddle...ie leave his hands free...my boy likes to sleep w his arms spread out...but muz put a husky pillow over his chest to make him feel @ ease...i place one side over his heart so tat got some ss...
Feeding By 4th wk, bbs should consume 140-150ml a feed...nowadays when my breasts r engorged, they feel kinda itchy, guess e MS is increasing. I can pump up to 140ml when breasts very full...
Most of e time, e MS ranges frm 80-120ml...
Cost of FM...itz really costly; for those w more than 1 child, really muz budget but new parents probably get waz convenient...tink muz applaud those who try ur best to cut costs...i muz learn frm u...

Changing of Diapers
I try to change him everytime he finishes his feed, taz 3-4 hrs. My hb better @ smelling poo...donno waz wrong w my nose.
My bb usually more relaxed when his soiled diaper is changed...then he continues his unfinished feed...

Bathing
I have started to bathe him in e morn n sponge him in e evening...initially very scary cos hez so wobbly but after 4-5 times, i kinda enjoy cos i like to b clean clean...jus tat one needs to b fast in bathing n helping him to wear clothes so as not to catch a chill...Sponging ard 10 min; Bathing ard 15 min...

Miss83, noe ur worries...sometimes we jus need to b brave n spend time communicating w e bb...i for 1 not a very expressive mom...so spending time to talk n play w e child is like stepping out of my comfort zone...moreover, i hav yet to stk up on mobile toys n nursery rhymes so i try to talk n sing impromptu a lot w e bb...u muz really hav energy to talk 2 e bb...

Last but not least, whether TOTAL BF/TOTAL FM/ Partial or Combi BM/FM...

Guess it al boils down to ur...
a. endurance (how long u can th)
b. availability (how much is ur MS)
c. convictions (beliefs on BF)

Do not let others sway ur decision...SAHM w sufficient MS can do it @ a longer period

Those going back to work...can do EBM/ FM or Combi...

As long as bb is growing healthily n e caretaker enjoys taking care of him, taz wat really matters...besides BBhood is juz e starting, there r still many milestones to overcome...

In no time, our little ones will grow up n b sensible kids...hopefully!

I heard tat if bbs r hard to manage in e beginning, e moms will hav an easier time later on n vice versa...Not sure how true this is...

Oh, my bb n i doing our hair n ritual this week to signify his full month n my end to confinement...cant wait n b free frm confinement!

Will share when i bring him out on his virgin trip to outdoor...

moomooland, ya loh.. price increase... but Zac's diapers is using up soon and I did not grab the mamy poko offer. Just ordered from Gmarket.
Nepia is cheaper I think.. maybe next round will order from Nepia.

diapers - i like nepia.. i bought 2 packs NB... used finish le... currently using Fitti... after that will be mamypoko... i see when finish maybe il get nepia again... that time i shared with my frn... huggies ultra i find the cutting very small.. ntuc good ah.. maybe il go tk a look later...

FM - she is almost on total FM now... my MS dropped le... is really not enough to feed her... plus currently im doing my post natal massage... i cant stand latching with the smell on my body leh... next week Sat then finish the sessions... anyway, after that i will try to latch her on again... meanwhile i hope somehow supply is still there.. HAHAHA.. i will pump only at night after my bath and before the massage lady comes in the morning...

Vernice
I don't want to cause harm to my children. Coz i always eat fried stuff and all those unhealthy food.

Irene
Although NTUC is not cheaper than Giant but it is still on offer for mamypoko there. UP: [email protected] now offer at $21.45 You may like to get 1 pkt first?

Miss 83,

My boy oso likes to turn n squirm his head/body/buttock as he is getting stronger...w all e milk n most imptly, they r growing!

Another reason could b they r trying to find e most comfy position to get latched on...itz normal...

Now tat they r heavier, even though BF is by far e cheapest n most convenient, itz qite xiong physically for e mom...as for me, i hav more security by seeing e qty so i prefer ebm so tat i noe he has enuf...

Oso now tat my breasts engorged, there r a few times when bb tries to latch on, e milk squirts on his face...Yeeks! Scared his face has milk rash...moreover feel tat my milk getting stickier than b4...

I onli bf when my ebm runs out or i too lazy to sterilize bottle for FM...

One way to beat crying for long is to take note of his wriggling of body n moving of mouth...Oso when he cries out really loud, this means hez hungry 4 milk...easier to finish e MS too; otherwise wasted...

irene, Moomoo is right, it used to be 14.90. Think too popular, they up their price. But nevertheless, I will still stick to goon. Too lazy to go ntuc lug back Haha.

Daphne, sigh, me on Tbf le.... On full latching Somemore, really Sian if menses is back. but for my #1, it came back at 2nd month too.

Vernice, me also no patience to rock. Haha. But the old folks seem to love it, so I let them be. But sometimes it gets on my nerves when they just rock rock rock even when she is in deep sleep. like a yaolan. So worried it might lead to addiction.

kome - ah ic..i think me also leh..how ah? thats why my mum say if i go back to eat outside food often, my BM also no good quality. but FM very exp leh..n i still need to lose weight

does ur BM leak after u bath? mine always leaking...think due to the hot water use.

elita - haha my sis loves to bounce my boy...my mum will scold. but later maybe will be using yaolan so have to train the bb somehow lor..i also haven think that far yet...

vernice
mine as well.. think is the hot water ba.. seem so wasted hor..

tuskywoolie
i cant wait till too engorgement than latch him, if so will have either sqeeuze or pump some out arbo he too hungry will drink faster than usual n with my forceful let down he usually ganna choke lor.. *faint*

Vernice
Ya lor, my mum had always scolded me for taking bubbletea lar cannot eat this and that coz not good for baby. I am so tiring as she had restrict alot of my liking. I am very chosey for my food, if this cannot eat that cannot eat i also not sure what i can take already. Although FM exp but also no choice, i don't want my son later after taking my BM, got rashes etc (touchwood) and my mum blame me for it.

when i bottle feeding my bb, intially she will turn here ture there then she will take a while to know that, this is milk, then she will drink.
But she has been trained on bottle-feeding from day 3. How come she still like not sure? any babies like tat?

p3pp3r - ya lor...then what u do? i quickly splash cold water to stop the leak

kome - ah...my hb will sure scold me if i tell him i want to give up BFcos i want to indulge myself

Hi p3pp3r,
Itz better to express when breasts more engorged; pumps faster leh...i use electric pump...
I cant feed well w engorged breasts too...somehow bb cant latch well as my nipples get smaller in length...he n i equally pek when this happens!

Vernice, i try to pump out milk b4 going to bathe. Sometimes when engorged, milk keeps leaking...shirt instantly wets...I oso don qite like wearing nursing bra n breast pads but wat to do...taz why BFing depends on how much u can do w inconvenience...either tat u muz b very disciplined...i tried squeezing some out b4 shower but as usual very wasted lor!

Food wat to eat after confinement...my mom says outside food can eat but try to stick to soup/dishes w fish ingredient or Western food like chicken / lamb cutlet. Food cooked using pig bone should be avoided till one reaches 100 days...Muslim dishes oso ok as halal...mayb cut down on e spices part in case bb cant take hot stuff...now w e hawker food scare, those on bfg muz really exercise caution...if bb's sleep more regularly, cooking on ur own is an option...u never know if e food consumed outside is good for bb...sighz...

mummies, anyone using talcum powder for your bb? i remember antenatal class taught us not to use as the bb will breathe in the powder and no good for their health, but the hot weather is making my bb's neck developing red rashes. anyone the same?

btw, is there a guide of how much our bb should drink based on their weight or age?

re: locia- glad to know i'm not the only one! i'm due for my gynae visit in abt 2 weeks time when i'm 8 weeks post partum.. wondering whether i need to call up my gynae to ask if this is normal... sigh...