(2008/08) Aug 2008

gayle, catherine
thrust can spread.. i ever see a baby with thrust in the mouth and then on the baby's groin end up also got thrust..(this is due to where it go on and where it come out.) better dun use it soak.

gayle,
did the gynae explained what your condition is? cos i had bacterial infection before and the GP i visited gave me anti-bacterial oral medication and cream. he said it's cos some of my milk ducts are not cleared completed and caused some blockage, breeding bacteria. and that it's best i continue to latch so that the ducts can be cleared. the medicine he gave me is ok for bb to take. meanwhile, i continue pump after some feeds to make sure the breasts are emptied.

gayle: so sorry to hear that.
.but good thing u know this early, so u can at least take some precautions.
must keep pumping otherwise u'll have engorgement and supply drop.
and sometimes in times like this u have no choice that u must give bb formula. I know must not be easy for u because I also never give misaki formula since she was born.
but dont feel bad okay. if u still have some ebm in the fridge than even better.
take care and get well soon.

gayle
there is info saying that mummies with nipple thrust still breastfeed but i think the gynae ask u to stop breastfeed as maybe due to the antibiotic that the doctor had prescript.. maybe call Joyful Parenting or Singapore Breastfeeding Association for advice

gayle,
ya, i agree with ruixuan. check with more resources. if want to continue latching and not waste your ebm, mb can change med?

thanks everyone,

doc confirm is thrush so have to take anti-biotics..he even say he give me 'strong-strong' type (his own words) to help me clear completely. this doc like abit weird. at first when i came in i was explaining my nipple v pain, he say "then u come see me?" huh? then see who? i blur leh...who am i supposed to see if just nipple pain, lactation consultant? they can prescrib meds meh? then i added, ", i also have abit more discharge"...then he check n agree say is thrush.

next time i will take the effort to go see my own gynae even if its further. this new one, appt at 10am, 1130am then go in. crazy..i peep at the appt book..like so many names on the same timeslot! stupid.

so is it only issues regarding 'down there' then see gynae?? i thought gynae deal with all womens issues? can someone enlighten me?

ya i read up, thrush is easily spread n sometimes persistant, just pray mine goes away fast. so i guess i have to throw the milk, if not will just be a vicious cycle n go on n on. at first i thot can still breastfeed, but its the anti-biotics that make me have to stop. the thought of throwing away a whole weeks worth of milk is sooo sayang!

i wonder how evie will take to FM...any brands to recommend? i really have no clue, the ones i have at home is for 0-6 mths i bought last time for emergency. now gotta buy 6mths+ milk right?

really feel a little pek chek that i'm forced to stop breastfeeding after trying so hard in the beginning.

its not just the feeding, i think her whole routine will be off. actually she not much feeding routine to begin with, just feed whenever she want. FM how to man...imagine i have to make a bottle everytime she want a bit milk. eee..actually hor...breastfeeding is v convenient. at night i dunno how man...so used to walking to her room, pop her on the boob, feed then back to sleep.

n think she also like to comfort suckle, had such a hard time putting her to nap just now. me too used to using my boob to make her ZZZ.

looks like the pump n i will get aquainted v well again...:p

i saw a BP organising CB produsts...anyone can recommend what are the good products other than the candenula cream??

shirley...
i use their diaper cream too. very good with my boy. and 100% food grade quality.
heard their body wash not bad too. i'm thinking of getting their sunblock for bb to go swimming. :D

Hi Ruixuan
David was born on 15 Aug. He will be exactly 6 mths this coming Sun. He was 9.5kg last week, hence I estimate that he will be about 9.6kg when he turns 6 mths!

Hi Gayle
Sorry to hear that you have thrush. Can understand your frustration and 'panic' because I'm also TBF / latching on so it can be quite a throw off now that you cannot latch on now.. then must think about FM and all. My boy is also being very used to being nursed to sleep so I can understand what you are going through. But hang in there.. continue to express and your supply should be ok. I'm sure she'll gladly return to your boob once you've been cleared

tim,
so diaper cream good? me been using the candenula cream as a barrier for ger leh, not rite huh? aiyoooo

rata,
so okie the wash? they got so many types leh aiyoo dun noe get which one leh..keke the rpices also dun noe okie a not me never buy their products before my one and only candenula cream was bought from vone thus also can commend much

shirley,
I bought the CB calendula cream fr the organiser's last BP. I find it's gd for rashes, esp my bb's skin is sensitive.
Ya heard the sun lotion should be gd.
If it's the same BP organiser we're talking abt, then I think this round the shipping charges and forex rate might be abit higher. But I think end up still cheaper than Watsons.
I knw Watsons is selling the Calendula cream for $29.90 while I got mine fr vone and the BP organiser abt $17.50/tub.

gayle,
Must been damn nasty affair to hv thrush. Tho I don't breastfeed now, I can understand how you feel too. Do get well soon w the meds.

As for which brand of FM, u hv to trial and error. Most of us here give Enfalac. There're other brands like Nestle NAN, Similac, Friso, Mamil etc. Each baby is different so u hv to let Evie take and see how she reacts to it. Maybe u can get the 400g tin first to try... Think Giant should also sell in 400g tins instd of the standard 900g.

Feeling so lethargic and tired today, AF is here

Carry/rock baby to sleep, I can feel the back abit "suan tong" Ouch...

shirley...
i use the calendula as barrier too. it's ok!
i use e diaper cream for night. cos i don't change him for 12hrs. n also when he has some rash or reddish anus. when i put for night...his rash usually clears by next morning.

rata,
what is BGJ class? is it something like shichida methods?

gayle,
Sorry about your plight. I think you don't have to buy a new can lah, since you are going to continue with BF once the thrust is cleared. can use back the same can provided that the milk powder is ok, ie, stored properly. As for switching, I think you need to first give your FBM to your bb first, then you have to mix the FBM with some FM so she won't reject the FM. try to gauge how much FBM you have and try to mix until you can start latching her again. I'm just a little worried that she may not want to take the bottle and the FBM if she is very used to latching on...

Ruixuan,
<clap>!!!
Thanks so much for the good table!

Paperdebris,
Any medication given to your gal? i wanna try it for Jerold...

Hashisan,
Is Misaki better? Did she manage to sleep ok last nite? very scared when kids are suffering from cough and cold and flu...

oh yes, Nini, Braiden is very cute in his jumperoo! He can be a good spoke person for the Jumperoo! I'm tempted to get one too for Jerold...

Samantha/mummygiraffe,

mine too, around 5 or 6x150ml per day... though the 150mt usually cannot finish, he ends up drinking around 120-140ml

hashisan,
just realized that i've not pumped for the pass 10 hours!!!!!!! oh no! hope my body is not mistaken that i'm wanna wean off now. cannot afford to do that now... 1st, i'm still fat and 2ndly have not stored up enough BM yet. now to the storeroom. no time no time...

ruixuan
thumbs up.. only u can do all the tables stat here

Nini
So funny uh... he sure do enjoying the toys... now i'm really thinking hard shall i get that 1 too after exersaucer ?

think my boy is 1 of the heavy weight champion. he weigh 9.7kg at 5mth 1wk. suspect now should hit 10kg liao.

Survey on BB's Weight
April's Denzel - 9.5Kg at (5mts 1wk)
mummygiraffe's Anna - 7.8kg at (5m 2wk)
Hashisan's Misaki - 9.7kg at 6mths
Smurfette's Kaitlyn - 7.2kg at 5mths
Brie's Isaac - 6.6 at 6mths
Sylvia's Meredith - 8.3kg at 5mth 1 wk
celynlee's yu ze - 6.2kg at 5mth
Shint's Kai - 9.5kg @ 5mth 2 wk
snow74's zynn - 7kg @ 5mth 2wk
Rata's Jacinta - 7.9kg @ 5mth 2wk
M2B's Mae - 7.5kg at 6mths
vern's Izzy - 7kg @ 6mths
Wendy's David - 9.6kg @ 6mths
catherine's bernice - 7.15kg @ 6mths
TreeN's Jerold - 9kg @ 5mth 2wk
Gemini's Tristan - 9.7kg @ 5mth 1wk

finally this morning, for the 1st time my gal can nap laying on her stomach :p so surprising hehehe.. bbs... they always amaze us uh ?

hey mummies whose bb is above 6mths and on FM Enfalac...have u move on to the next milk stage for 6mths and above har?
dunno to switch or not leh...

ling ling...
they're so funny huh? mine from birth hated to sleep on tummy! once u put him on tummy...he wakes up and start screaming. after he learnt how to flip...he always sleep on tummy. even tho' he knows how to flip back. wierdo huh?

ling, tim,
ya loh ya loh, scare me a few times in the middle of the nite, i even have to check whether she is still breathing a not leh kekeke

Yup, Tristan is a big boy!

Here is my input,

Survey on BB's Weight
April's Denzel - 9.5Kg at (5mts 1wk)
mummygiraffe's Anna - 7.8kg at (5m 2wk)
Hashisan's Misaki - 9.7kg at 6mths
Smurfette's Kaitlyn - 7.2kg at 5mths
Brie's Isaac - 6.6 at 6mths
Sylvia's Meredith - 8.3kg at 5mth 1 wk
celynlee's yu ze - 6.2kg at 5mth
Shint's Kai - 9.5kg @ 5mth 2 wk
snow74's zynn - 7kg @ 5mth 2wk
Rata's Jacinta - 7.9kg @ 5mth 2wk
M2B's Mae - 7.5kg at 6mths
vern's Izzy - 7kg @ 6mths
Wendy's David - 9.6kg @ 6mths
catherine's bernice - 7.15kg @ 6mths
TreeN's Jerold - 9kg @ 5mth 2wk
Gemini's Tristan - 9.7kg @ 5mth 1wk
Sabbath's Josiah - 8kg @ 6mth

Hi Shirley &amp; Val,

I'm interested in getting the CB calendula cream/aloe cream, if you hv leads to good buy, pls let me know. Thanks very much.

Rona,
She saw twice GP and once PD.... tried illadin and a steroid nose drop but i didn't use much on her.
She seems better with sinuphlegm and ventolin which the PD gave her.

timmin,
California Baby has diaper cream? hehe I didn't knw. Your baby can tahan the diaper wetness for 12 hrs? I think mine will weh alrdy...
Had to dilligently put diaper cream else the area will become red.

re: giddy

rem we had some posting on giddiness... anyone still experiencing it? or has the reason why?

mine seem to be getting worse... haiz...

timminbuzz
ya lor... she used to hate sleeping on her stomach.. whenever she flips in her sleep, she'll sure going to lift her head high high and cry... :p
so today when she started this, I'm amazed lor... finally can put bb sleep on her stomach liao cos heard they sleep better like that rite ?

Shirley
hehehehe... cos so far she never can sleep on the stomach.. but just started for nap.. dont know whether she's going to flips too in her nite sleep but I'm relief cos she turned her head aside so i know she breathes lor.. :D

Samantha
me me ... today feel worse... The giddiness actually has started like last week.. tot of lacking sleep then on sat, hb helped with nite shift.. sunday woke up feel not bad but today feel very giddy actually.. like if I lay my head down, for a while the feeling will come again.. haizzzz..
afraid if got very very bad then cant take care of bb

valnsw
yup! CB has diaper cream. i think it's good, cos it works with my boy. rash/redness will go away, even tho' i don't change him overnight. i'm a mummy who needs her beauty sleep, if not i cannot 'work' the next day. hee...:D

ling ling
mine will just flip on his own and sleep on tummy now. i think he likes it better. hee...