(2008/06) June 2008

glad to hear that !!!

hope the move goes well !!!
btw, do u want a washing machine ? or a sofa ? heehee
am trying to give those items away

ioio, I don't plan to do much reno work cos the bb is still small, so we won't be having alot of furniture so he can play around safely in most parts of the home. Plan to just do the essentials like painting, do up the flooring. also upholster the living room sofa cos that's left behind by the owners.

Thanks for the kind offer, K Ong, but it's okay. the owners have left behind a sofa for the living room. I'll prob want to do shopping for the electricals with hb. no offense meant but I'm quite fussy with electricals... must be the perfect one before I can live with it.. haha! but thanks, thanks, thanks for your help and offer!

I was telling the home movers I plan to store the bed and mattress in the toilet.. all of them went "duh?!!!" haha! Cos the flooring not done yet...
but I can only move the stuff during CNY cos that's when my ILs not in Singapore - I'm moving just the bed and mattress from their home when they are away to avoid inconvenience to them.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus.. can still engage one that do all.. no nid to take the trouble to source for individual.. a lot of coordination work.. esp now u r preg.. </font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">Calling Veniz! Are you able to met up during lunch tomolo? Soree for last mins arrangement coz one of my meeting was postpone to next week, so tmr will be more free (unless my collegue suddenly go to give birth. hehe..)</font>

hi fellow mummies

don't really have much time to come in here, but i needed some advise.

Am thinking of getting a high-chair. any good recommendations?

Also, where can i get a baby food masher?

Or is it better to get a blender? Which one should i get?

You advise is much appreciated.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS"> i change the topic.. hee hee.. heard from news that a lot of rich businessman suffer great losses due to economy crisis and are unable to take it.. as cant downgrade themselves.. i thus begin to ask myself.. when ones climb too high, will they fall harder?</font></font>

ioio, you have msn? Who else have msn accounts here but I have added you in? Just checking niah, hope you all dun mind.

ioio, aiyah! I didn't know can get contractor to coordinate all this..
I was really very stressed today. still feel very stressed. today express only 2/3 what I usually express during lunch hour.. feel like crying liao.

Shycloud, yah.. I heard about the moving bed thing.. but I think never mind cos I'm not pantang .my hb and my parents also not pantang.. we're moving when my ILs not in singapore and we're moving from their home to our home. We no longer live with them, so I think never mind lah hor?! :p

<font color="aa00aa">veniz,
okok, no problem de. Monday cannot coz got meeting and the timing is always not fix. Shall arrange w u again hor. Look like my skype die on me. It keep connecting, so hv to come in here to 'look' for you. hehehe.....</font>

ioio, actually, my hb and I saved up very hard for this house. We managed to save up 2/3 of the price of the house. the remaining 1/3 is a cash loan from my parents. So in a way, I'm comfortable if we continue staying in our new home, cos my parents won't insist that I repay them immediately if we run into cash flow problems. I'm the only child, and my parents' finances are quite okay. They will not be selling their 5 room HDB flat when we move into our home, so even if, say I lose my job or my hb loses his job, we can rent out our home for some $ (currently, our home can be rented out for $4k/month at least), and we are prepared to move back to my parents' HDB flat to live with Matthew. My parents have only asked that we repay them back $2.5k/month.

erm, actually, I can't consider myself rich. I think it's a wrong impression that I have created. sorry... I don't have a car. My hb and I are sharing my parents' car.
We decided no need to buy own car cos we don't really need it yet.

but if one day, something happens, I lose all the material things - home, my parents' car, all the cash in my bank account, etc, I won't be upset because I still have my hb's love, my parents' love and I still have Matthew. I don't believe that material things can substitute love especially family ties. Actually, I feel that friends are important but family is more important than friends (sorry.. no offense meant). I'm very close to my parents and my extended family... I think family ties and close friends are more important than money or assets.

cactus,

get a contractor to do these simple reno.. its much much cheaper. get those from hdb shops.
Or u can go IMM or balestier road, there a lot of contractors there. If u want to get lighting, curtains etc, u can also go balestier road, or upper serangoon road.

when i am preggy tat time, my hb move the bed when he is chasing cockroach.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus... yes yes.. love.. but bread oso lah..

ooh hope we wun ended up in the bread and love issue.. hee...

i got what u mean.. understood but i change the topic lah.. ha ha..</font></font>

I'm just wondering if I created a wrong impression on this forum.. I'm actually very thrifty... when I was waiting to enter Uni, after A level exams, I would give tuition but would walk to and fro my students' homes. I wouldn't take bus... and I would walk up to 30 minutes per trip.. haha! Stupid right? Erm, when I was preggy, I never took taxi. I would take train to and from work (Bishan/Tampines to Raffles Place) until I was about 32 weeks.. then I would take car from Bishan to Raffles Place.. but I would still take train from Raffles Place to Bishan/Tampines. During that time, few pple would give me a seat despite being heavily pregnant.. but I still took a train cos hb and I don't own a car, and I didn't want to trouble my FIL (whom I lived with during weekdays) to drive me around. But having said that, one thing about me is if I truly like something, I will go all out to save up for it, and I will buy it only when I'm positive it will not have much repercussions for me and my hb. I don't buy branded stuff actually, and I buy stuff from sales only. haha! Erm, one reason that I bought this particular home is also because of the rental value. The rent is quite good even in a weak market.. and my back up (in the event hb and I cna't repay my parents their loan) is to rent it out and return to stay in HDB flat. Even though I'm the only child, I want to repay my parents their money ASAP because it is still their hard earned money and I want them to be able to enjoy using it when they are still healthy and "young".

Thanks for recommendation on lighting, Ellysia, but I don't think I'll need it cos the home is old home... the lighting is already there.
Nice and not nice, just have to live with it. save trouble.. don't want to change too many things!

tailwhack,

high chair- i get from kiddy palace. can adjust the level, i find not bad.

blender - i get philips from NTUC, cost around $49. quite good, got 2 buttons to choose (2 speed buttons). can even blend cauliflower until puree nice.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">yup yup renovator normally does all.. dun hv to get individual.. do a checklist for all the things u want to do and ask for a quote.. get ur floorplan ready..
they may want to visit ur place inorder to qoute u..</font></font>

tailwhack, if you want to grind rice, get a blender with a mill attachment.
I bought Philips too, but from Giant. Think it cost me $45 or $49. forget now... sorry!. The model is HR 2002.

yah.. I called the painters and floor pple.. they said they need to visit on site. I will have to wait until get the keys for that. I may even need a locksmith incase some of the keys are missing... stress stress stress! Never move house before is like that one...
so suaku! My hb is on leave 1st week of Feb - he asked me to get the info and work plan out for him to execute.. that's why I'm doing all the info chasing now..

cactus, u r right! I rec'd Robinsons's pamphlet ytd and i forgot abt it!

I need to get those fan net liao cos when i carry bb while walking across fans, his itchy hands will try to reach! DAISO, here i come!

His Lucky Baby hand also very pathetic. left 1 blade out of 3! bo hong already!

cactus,

trust me, me is in this line! though nt doing renovation but sometings i do know..

when u stay in, it be v hard to do renovation or changes.

if u stay in old house, suggest u do the following:

1) check the water pipes and sanitary pipes. water pipes tend to deterioate after 5-10years.

2) check the air-con. air-con need regular maintenance (dunno if the previous owner has maintain or not).

there are also a lot of hidden things which u never know as it can be cosmetic, look nice but will show up within few mths to few years.
i move house three times ored. once is to old house. my parents didn't have much money so we use back a lot of existing stuff. the water heater failed within 6mths, and the water heater pipe connection - we are told by plumber tat it is poorly connected. lighting - the light bulb fused and my dad want to change the light only to discover tat the light cover got stuck and can't be opened. we have to change the light fitting. toilet ceiling and main pipe leaked within 1-2 years of stay.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">warrior.. tts fast!!! congrat!!! make me feel like changing oso ;(</font></font>

Ellysia, maybe you can recommend renotalk to cactus, telling her which section to check for info. I haven't go there for quite a while thus never really see which sections are best to check for wat info.

ioio, ok, will add you. JP, I will get your email from facebook.

girls, i have created a group for June mummies on fb. i have sent out invitations for those on my acct to join. pls spread on and get the other mummies to join too.

Ellysia, not bad, at least your hb is there to advice, talk to them leh, hee. So i guess for him is take care Yuzhe, play games and go in to chat lor.

JP,
Hope your boy is fine. To be hit by a toy and cut his tongue at the same time seems coincidental. Maybe he stick his tongue out and fell towards the toy.

Cactus,
Tenah Merah, and not District 11/21? :p Concurred that location is one of the prime determinants of house price. As for the insurance, you need to decide which types is suitable for you. I remember coming across one that's term-based, translating easy "breathing" on the pocket end, with some variations on the coverage. I think it's by NTUC. The way you save can be compared to my wife. Anyway, it's good to have some form of investment, after all, the CPF may not suffice throughout, especially when medical gets more expensive as we talk. BTW, I am impressed that you are doing up this reno when you are pregnant. A strong mind goes a long way.

Warrior_Angel,
Pse PM on what events trigger the change for the soul searching...It would be interesting to gather some insight. And congrats on finding a new in such poor economical climate.

ioio &amp; JP,
Pse continue to post those articles. They are interesting reads. Just a thought on the circular pattern, realise it's often clockwise and not anti-clockwise? Does this has any relations to left vs right brain linkages or connotation towards why the water always flow clockwise when been drained from the tap?

Bonjovi,
Your nick makes me feel nostalgia of the younger days. Ha-ha. . I do not disagree that I could be argumentative in certain sense, but most of it were done with a good sense of logic and rational. At the end of the day, the "peace" treaty is necessary. I think it's too long a period for the ego and pride to overtake judiciousness. Besides, its getting unhealthy (cos I am enjoying the peace and tranquility...hee) While i may be unwilling to conduct a peace talk, but it's essential.

Blunt and direct are perfectly OK if there are sound and logical. I appreciate your perspectives.

Bonjovi,
I oso bring my girl out on most weekend, but that doesnt affect her nap leh. In fact, she's eager to go out. Will be smiling widely when she knows that we are bringing her out.

Felicia,
I said that too. Baby must fall, then will grow up. Just that day, my girl got a long scratch on her arm. -.o"
Ya, ya, my mum oso say that every house that has a baby must has zambuk, ruyi oil and vicks. But I dun like zambuk and vicks. Sticky, sticky de.

<font color="aa00aa">bleh,
maryann had previously created our gp in facebook liao back then in mar 08 when we r all still preggie. the link is "Singapore Motherhood forum - June 2008 MTBs" in case u r interested.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">bleh,
maryann had previously created our gp in facebook liao back then in mar 08 when we r all still preggie. the link is "Singapore Motherhood forum - June 2008 MTBs" in case u r interested.</font>

I am still in teh office. Stuck big time. -.o" Cant bring my girl home tonight. I miss her so much..

hi zuen.... wat happen? how come still in office?

anyway... felt a tooth in my ger's gums today.... can see something like going to come out liao.... lower left incisor...

Six Teeth
1. Kyler (Bon jovi)

Four Teeth
1. Eunicia (Priscilla)upgraded frm two hehe
2. Yuzhe (Ellysia)

Three Teeth
1. Travis (Bleh)

Two Teeth
1. Lucas (Tera)
2. Gwendolyn (Crystal)
3. Vivienne (Veniz)
4. Floyce (War_angel - Jessica)
5. Gianna (JP)
6. Matthew (Cactus)
7. Nicholas upgrade from bogeh club
8. (candys/fen)
9. Lil ZuEn (ZuEn) - cutie lil teeth, but d88n hard to come out!
10. Qianying (iamsnow) - upgrade from bogeh club!
11. Qyan (ioio)- fresh upgrade from bogeh club!
12. YuJie (Felicia) as of 07 Jan 09

One Cutie Tooth
1. Reanne (Janiviy)
2. Andrea (Rizty)
3. Ivory (Sharon)
4. Masean (Tinyfeet)
5. Evelyn (soyabean)

Waiting for Tooth Fairy to Visit (Bogeh Club)
1. Kyan (BabyCupid)SUPER die hard member of Bogeh club as at 7/1/09
2. Jared (Fennie77)
3. Cedrik (Feiling)
4. Elyssa (Mogudog)
5. Zhi Yu (bizznow)
6. Jade (shycloud)
7. Jayden (MLP) Still die hard member of Bogeh club as at 2/1/09
8. Charlotte (feifei)
9. Rex (jn80jn)
10.Gwenneth (tinyfeet/esther)
11. Nadia Marshya (danryan)
12. Yue Han (star)
13. Nicole (Piyo)
14. Cornelius (tanlengleng)
15. Siying (sandra/spritzer08)
16. Athanasius (Mag/liteonmag) Still die hard member of Bogeh club as at 2/1/09
17. Sheryl (angel_z)
18. cheri (ariesann) still dun knw how to flip.
19. Nicole (cynthia) love been toothless
20. Lucius (shern) lurve his gummy smile
21. Isabel (krispy) bogeh as at 3/1/09