(2008/06) June 2008

cactus,

haaaa, bec tmr i am on half day leave. so may not have the time to check in this forum. weekend i am usu busy so may only check at nite.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">tera, your boi ok now?

mine is caused by the teether attached to the walker.. think i need to child proof the house asap..

anyone know where to get the ermn.. protector for fan? i a small clicked fan attached to cot and i saw him once try to put his fingers inside, though the gap is narrow but think his small finger can still go in wow.. think of wrapping it with those net oso....</font></font>

ioio,
yah, can apply dentinox cos i brought him to see pd and pd gave something that was like bonjela to numb the area.

thanks, he's better today.
on tues nite was bad, seems like he was in pain and kept waking up during the nite. and also couldn't drink his milk, had to feed using spoon.

Girls,

I just wanted to share this recipe coz my gal loves it.

Broccoli Rice Cereal
1. Steam the florets till soft
2. Mix it with milk and mash it with a baby food masher.
3. Mix it into the rice cereal (am using Frisco)

JP,
thanks for the vibes!
feel kind of bad to say this but i can't be sure wat happened cos both hubby and i were not around when it happened.

my ILs were out of town on tues so we left helper alone with bb. we've left bb alone with her for couple of hrs previously and things were fine. guess it was the first and last time we will leave bb alone with her for such a long period cos she only told my hubby when he reached home around 3pm that bb had fell forward and knocked his chin on a toy + cut his tongue. this happened when she left him alone to go and wash her hands which she should not have done cos my boy tend to lunge forward when seated. then again, we can only assume that she is telling us the truth.

when my hubby asked why she did not call to tell us immediately after the incident, she said cos she did not think its that serious. sigh.. oh well, i've told her not to make such decisions on her own in future and just call us once something has happened (hope not). guess the redeeming thing is that she did not withhold this incident from us or maybe also we would have found out anyway from the bruise.

and thanks to the cut/fall, bb was cranky the whole nite on tues. he woke up like almost every hour, wailing in pain. see already heart v pain. thankfully, he was better yest and last nite + he ate his cereal and porridge. but he can only take abt 60ml of milk at one time and via spoon. so we feed him more frequently.

sorry for the long post.. ;)

Sorry to heara bout the incident, JP. ... hope your little one is better now. babies do bounce back from bad incidents quicker than we adults, but I know it's hard to forget these incidents...

I realise more June bbs being more keen to drink milk by spoon. that's the case with Matthew too... any idea why ah?

Tera,
oh dear....ur boyboy must be pain cos cut his tougue...got bring him see doc?Must monitor ya..

Ellysia,
u on leave tmr?

JP,
I also looking for those netting for fans wor..

ioio,
wow, u bery good wor, tks for finding the articles for us..

<font color="aa00aa">ioio,
The protector for fan normally is for those normal size fan and is like net kind of protector.
I assumed the fan u attached to your baby cot is those small fan, rite? If you are not able to find one matching the size, you can try to use the laundry bag, and tied around the fan.
But hor, to me i dont think this fan net is very safe coz baby's finger still will be able to go in if they forced their fingers in.</font>

Tera,ioio,
Aiyo! What happen? Nv read carefully cause too many post. Hope ur baby are fine now.

Ellysia,
5^! I also going for haircut tml.

Cactus,
From MRT how to go over? I Raffles Place idoit. I working at Tanjong Pagar so taking MRT down eat abit snake. Hee.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">tks JP and Felicia.. will go take at look..

Sharon, mine hit his gum on the teether while on walker and gum bleed but so far ok liao, tera's little darling fell and injured the chin and cut the tongue..</font></font>

Tera, ioio: Oh no.. So sorry to hear about your babies..

Hopefully they are better now.. Sigh.. Accidents do happen..

<font color="aa00aa">Tera,
I remember my mom used to apply 'jin feng san' on my #1 when she accidently bit on her lip. U can try it.
Btw, any swollen? It must be really painful.

About 2 weeks ago, my #2 fall down from the bouncer, and got blue black on her forehead and i was almost at tear when saw it. My hubby happily put her on the bouncer w/o belt up, then she flip, tats why fall down.
But i always told myself, which kids dont fall? They fall and grown. hehe....</font>

Sharon, take train to Raffles Place, then locate the lift directly opposite the control station. take it up to Shops levels. turn around the corner and you will be at Basement of Cheveron House.

<font color="ff6000">Tera &amp; Ioio, hugz! Hope ur lil one gets well soon!

Sharon &amp; Ellysia, Hi5 too! Me gg for haircut tml. hehe...

Cactus, tml JL and Robinson got sales ar???</font>

Felicia, Angel, Crystal, Sharon, Feifei, MLP,
thanks for the concern, gals! Lucas is much better today.

felicia,

thanks for your advice on jing feng san. maybe later i go and buy.

yah, my mum also told me the same in teochew (fall down then will grow bigger). hehe.

is yu jie ok??

Sharon,

are u joining us on Monday? if so, pm me yr hp number n i will exchange num.. wat time are u coming? cos crystal and tera, K ong will meet up first then i will join around 1pm. If u want to join at 12.30pm u exchange num with crystal, tera and k ong.

U know there is a passageway underground MRT where there are shops, u walk until u reach Giordano and walk through the exit there, u will see yami yogurt. its just next to yami yogurt.

the subway at republic plaza is always crowded, i scare no place to sit.

but if u all feel more convenient to meet at RP i am also ok.. all areas me v familar.

Fennie,

Yr boy is clever
He learns. Maybe i should try to let him crawl on the floor too. Ya, I also let my friends carry Kyler when we are out. In fact, I find it a relief when friends help to carry him around and i can enjoy the outing more.

Tera,
i hope lucas beta now. I know can be v heart pain. I cry when Kyler fell and my poor husband got to console 1 big 1 small.

ioio,
i hope yr bb ok liao too. Thanks for the article. Talking abt fan...kyler pulled and destroyed the fan that we click at his playpen! The fan became botak! Very naughty boy! I din eat much crab when preggie but still he duo shou duo jiao.

Felicia,
I also try to console myself that all kids fall and grow.

JP,
thanks for info on grinding teeth. I hope he gets over that soon. He does it even in his sleep now.

I went to mph just now and found the book on baby whisperer. i tink my bb is textbook baby/touchy baby.

feifei,

half day only.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">on behalf of little darling... "thanks all aunties! i am fine"</font></font>

Tera : oh no
poor lucus

give him a hug from aunty K

a similar incident happened to my #1 2 yrs ago, helpfer left her unattended, and she fell down onto the marble floor - had a huge bruise on her face - helper didnt call anyone. my mum got home and saw the bruise, helpfer CRIED !??!!! and then said she felt very bad ...
mum called me to say something bad happened, but dont worry - of course i worrried !!! aiyo ...
then when i got home, the bruise was very bad, purple and swelling and all, but eventually subsided. i think babies are generally hardier than we think they are ... so dont worry, he'd get better soon !!!
try giving him some ice cubes made out of water or ice - that wld sooth the pain too !

ioio,
hehe, so cute, the msg from Qyan!

K Ong, bonjovi and ellysia,
he's much better now, thanks!
at least he was smiling this morning when i left the house. yest he was a grouch, understandably so.

K Ong,
thanks for the tip on ice. plus he can take the water, good idea! ;) cos he's been drooling a lot a lot more after the incident. i think cos he dares not swallow or something.

well, ur helper was prob scared by wat happened then. my helper was quite nonchalant. my hubby said she prob thinks its quite common for kids to hurt themselves. :p

<font color="aa00aa">Tera,
Now ok liao, coz oredy weeks passed. I used a kind of green color medicated oil/cream to rub on her forehead and the bum disappear within 1-2days. But she was bit frightened at nite, where she suddenly scream in middle of the nite.

Bonjovi,
The fan you're using is those lucky brand fan? Coz my Yujie oso pull the fan and now become botak and i hv to get another fan. *sigh*</font>

<font color="808080"><font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">ioio/tera,
hope your babies are well now, we have to be extra careful now that they are no longer newborn, just drink milk &amp; sleep, they moves alot now, when they start to stand up &amp; moves, have to make sure all the window grills are locked, i have a problem because my grills are all loosen, may have to get new ones real soon

bonjovi,
yes, it is indeed a relief when ppl can carry my baby when i am out, if not, i really have no mood to shop, having to carry 8.7kg with me, i usually use the MIM pouch when out with baby &amp; hb, find pram very troublesome as I am not confident of using escalator.</font></font>

Tera,

tat time got once my boy he dig his thumb too far into his mouth and he spit out blood on the floor.. we also got v shocked. but after 1 day is ok liao.

Sending over lots of quick healing vibes to all babies who had some accidents!!! (((hugs)))

Tera - Thank goodness he is A-OK now.

cactus - No me lah, Tera's boy (Post Number: 1540)

feifei &amp; ioio - You are welcome! I too have the netting for my fans. But, I still place it way up high so that both my kids can't touch it.

K Ong - Same here....my #1 fell off the sofa coz DH kan cheong wanted to take photo #1 standing ..heng ah, no a high one. But still....wail and wail. That time 1st time mom, quickly brought to PD and teary eyes. PD even gave us a list of things to watch out after the fall. Heng, everything OK.

I hope you don't mind me chipping in...if I sound naggy, apologies.

Pls child proof your homes now. You know, our baby is already crawling and such. They also love putting their fingers into their mouth and anything they can find. So...better to be safe lah.

Child Proof Your Home Before You Need To
Author: Shari Hearn

When's the best time to begin child proofing your home? Although your newborn's not crawling yet, the time will come sooner than you think, and if you wait till then you can find yourself scrambling to make sure your baby will be safe. This is definitely one of those cases where an ounce of prevention equals a pound of cure.

A walk through the baby department of a store will surely make you wonder how you ever made it through babyhood. There are safety devices for everything, many of which didn't exist when you were a baby. There is a danger, then, of two opposite ends of extreme thinking. 1) They didn't have these things when I was growing up and I made it; or 2) There's danger lurking behind every corner. The key is to provide safety for your children, while not becoming paralyzed with fear. Yes, there are dangers in the home, but they can be dealt with by using some common sense, coupled with some simple safety devices.

Common Sense

Here the powers of observation are critical. Take a slow, observant walk through your home and notice everything with a new eye - a baby's eye. Are there items in the room which may topple over if your crawling baby tries to lift herself up, such as a bookshelf? Perhaps you might think of securing the bookshelf to the wall. Are there heavy objects on shelves which might tumble down in the event of some tugging? Are there cords hanging from window treatments which might pose a threat? Or cords from appliances on desks and shelves which the baby might pull? Can your television be pulled over?

Where will the baby's crib be located? Is it away from any tempting cords? If you live in earthquake-prone areas, you must make sure there's nothing around the crib or on the walls which might fall over on your baby.

When you make your commonsense walk-through of the house, make sure you write your observations down. Some things can simply be moved or removed entirely, but some things will require a trip to a hardware store or baby-safety section of a department store. Note the number of windows which will need baby locks, the number of toilets, the number of doors leading to the outside.

Be on the lookout for small object lying around that your child could pick up and swallow. This could include buttons, coins and, yes, small toys. This is something you will always be on the lookout for, not just in your initial commonsense walk-through.

Move Medicines and Cleaning Products

Where do you keep your cleaning products? If you're like most people, you keep them under the kitchen sink. And what do curious babies and toddlers like to do? They like to open little doors, like the one underneath your sink. You need to move any harmful substance out of the reach of your children. And, you have to change your thinking about what constitutes harmful substances. A bottle doesn’t have to have a skull and crossbones depicted on the label to be dangerous to your baby. What about bubble bath or other bath products on the ledge of your tub? Do you keep a razor on the ledge of your tub, or on your sink? Move them. Also, don't think that just because some of these products have child-resistant caps that they are safe. While it's true these caps can't be opened by the majority of children, you don't want to find out that your child is one of the few who can open them. Again, be sure to store these items out of reach, perhaps in a locked area.

Outlets, Drawers, Cupboards and Toilet Lids

Again, children are curious. While curiosity is good in a child, it can pose some safety risks when the object of her curiosity is an outlet, drawer, cupboard or toilet. There are many safety products geared for these specific targets. Be sure to note all the targets which need locks or covers. You might also consider a simple outside lock for your refrigerator.

Block Stairways

If you have a house with multiple levels accessed by stairways, you need to be particularly diligent in protecting these areas. Stairways should always be properly gated. What's properly gated? Properly gated means they are mounted with screws or bolts. Never use pressure mounted gates at the tops of stairs. Your child may be able to put enough pressure on them to break the pressure mount.

Block the Fireplace

If you have a fireplace, you should be aware that it's probably a big curiosity to your baby. Let the baby see the fireplace and fire from afar with a hearth gate.

Keep Windows Safe

Lock windows or use guards to prevent windows from opening too far. Screens may keep the flies out, but they will not keep your child from falling out of a window.

Monitor Outside Doors

If your doors aren't already alarmed, consider installing door chimes which sound when the door is opened. This way your toddler can't slip outside while you're not watching. This is especially critical if you have a pool.

Teach Your Children Safety

Although you're taking all the steps possible to protect your baby in the home, it's good to teach your children about safety. Again, it's a fine balance. You don't want to paralyze them with fear, but you want them to have the knowledge to protect themselves.

Sharon,

If u coming by Raffles MRT, u can reach caltex hse by here:

1) exit from the exit nearest to the accessory shop (name of shop is aries)
2) walk out and turn left, u will see a row of shops underground of mrt. U will see Polar cakeshop.
3) Walk to polar cakeshop and continue walking (do not turn left) until u reach Giordano which will be at your right. exit from a side exit (just next to Giordano).
4) once u walk from the exit u will reach caltex house basement and u will see yami yogurt. its imm next to yami.

In the event if u feel lost when u exit from MRT, ask people where is Giordano or where is caltex house basement. there is only 1 basement there.

Sorry JP, Sorry Tera. I'm going crazy liao... trying to get quotation from home removers.. so stressed!!! My milk supply also drop cos sressed today..

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">jp.. no lah.. its always better to be careful than sorry..

thanks all mummies for the concern ;p

my fan is the mini fan with click but run on electricity type.. not the lucky bb.. bought it cos the big fan is far from cot and block by bumper so no wind liao...

baby can use zam buk or not, want to buy one and keep..

ellysia.. dig till blood come out.. sound scary.. gum bleed?

tera.. hee ..u rem his name.. ha ha..</font></font>

cactus - No worries
Even I not moving house also sometimes read salah. Do take a rest coz you are still in your 1st trimester. Need any help?

cactus : hey, u want a recommendation ?
i got this contact from a lady who helps with moving items for needy households - and he's very reasonable and friendly.
i'll pm you my mobile and u sms me ok ?
i cant check pm from worok

ioio,

dunno is gum or tongue or anywhere. by the time we found the blood, can't see where is the area. he just keep crying and have prob drinking milk. it happen when my hb just finish cutting bb nails and bb just stick his finger into his mouth.

thanks for your recommendation, K Ong! I spoke with him, he's very nice and friendly. And his quote is reasonable! He charged me $80. That's one of the lowest that I've received. Compared that with the 1st company I approached - cost me $460! Luckily never go with them.. kenna slaughtered!

erm, anyone have recommendations for painter, sofa upholsterer, marble and parquet grinding/polishing/varnishing?

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus.. u r getting individual contractor? easier to get one that do all.. or a interior design co.</font></font>