(2008/04) April 2008

wah comparing baby's development is stressfil :p

Adel can sit quite well and stand with support, even attempting to take some steps but super unsteady of course. but she can't get into sitting position on her own from lying down position.

still waiting for her to creep and crawl but she prefers pivoting on her tummy to change direction and then rolling over to get to where she wants, can happily roll from one end of the mat to the other and back. super lazy..

speaking of naps, Adel usually does not nap long, like 15-30mins max. then suddenly these few days take 1-2 hour naps 2 times in the day! then also sleep at 8+pm (very early by her own standards)! totally cannot predict her nap and mealtimes. but she'll smack her lips to let me know she's hungry and when feeding her she'll go "mum-mum" all the time, must be my mum repeating this while feeding her.

dun really like my mum to baby-talk her like mum-mum for eating, pong-pong for bathing and kai-kai for bring her for a stroll etc. i tell her can just tell her eat porridge/cereal, bath and go for a walk etc but my mum still baby-talk her. hiaz..

koori: don't worry!! crawling is not a milestone!

anyone cooking fish porridge? can feed the fish? now i'm using pork/chicken for porridge but not feeding the meat. wonder if can feed fish meat (strained of cos)..

i'm very wary of fishy smell, and my sis says threadfin (ngor-hee) is not fishy at all but cod fish is. what other types of fish can we use?

can use dried scallops for stock? it's a shellfish though, so dun dare to use.

Hi Lynn,
My parents hv been giving my boy fish(ngor-hee) mixed with brown rice cereal & oso mixed with veg for a mth oredi. My boy like is alot. I tot is ok 2 give fish.

lynn i cooked threadfin n cod fish for my boy. both fish i do mash up the fish and feed together with the porridge. i don dare to use scallop first cos it is shellfish and i rather wait till he is older then give.

koori maybe ur girl can skip the crawling stage and go straight to walking stage. have heard of babies skipping the crawling stage totally.

Koori,

Don't worry about crawling, it's not that big a deal. Kaylen's doing great as it is

My first niece just got up and walked one day, never crawled. Kaylen might do the same!

Ethan loves to bob on all fours, only crawls when we give him something to push off. No big deal really. I'm enjoying the fact that he's still 'containable' in one place!
I'll be happy if he can sit up unsupported by Xmas

Lynn,

I dislike baby talk too. It started with my confinement nanny of course; pong-pong for bath and the strange mm-mm for poop. Even if it worked, it was weird. And hubby didn't understand a word of it.

Since then, there's been almost zero baby talk since everybody uses proper words and speaks to Ethan like a big boy. My silly indo maid however, does make ridiculous baby sounds at him when I'm not around. I've caught her on a number of occasions and warned her that we don't like it.

I'm not sure why exactly but it really bugs me. I mean babies understand stuff and they listen to what we say, wouldn't we want them to be hearing proper words and sentences instead of goo-goo and ga-ga?

Koori, mine too...^5

Let's track our bb's motor development:

Can Flip and Sit with support:
1) mushloom's Ivan

Can Flip, Sit & Stand with support :
1) Koori's kaylen
2) Esther's Li Wen

Can Flip, Sit up, Crawl, Stand with support:
1) Winter's Ernest
2) Calamari's Kayla
3) Diva's Ethan
4) Angel's Dana
5) JuniorRain's Eshin
6) Julesmum's Julian
7) Puffish's Tristan (Required support when sit up too =D )

hi mummy,

i feel very stress to feed my boy solid..he vomit out porridge n cereal!!i am sure is not overfeeding, coz just give him a few mouthful then he vomit out! i already cook the porridge till "nua", but still the same.any mummy got same problem?

healthy time brown rice cereal:

wana to ask, is the cereal became very watery after add in only abit of milk? not like friso crem, only few scoop then the cereal become thik, the healthy time one i already add in 5-6 scoops but still very watery leh, how?

piggy mummy, did you try passing the porridge through a sieve? mine cannot eat even the very nuah porridge at first, must pass through seive so it becomes like cereal in consistency.

then only now start to be able to eat porridge that's not passed through the seive, but still must sort of use the seive to mush it up really well. today tried doing away with the seive and just using the back of the spoon against the bowl to mush it up, she rejected. then back to the previous method lor.

and yea, HT cereals need very little water, i feel that they're rather light and 'airy' compared to other cereals, so i add more cereal and the same amount of water.

lynn,

i already try porridge for a month le, even use blender to blend the porridge, he will vomit oso..sian..

may i know how much porridge ur bb eat? let say a normal bb bowl..me only 1/4 leh, sad

Jgal - HappyBellies Brown Rice/Multi-grain/Oatmeal Cereal

HappyBellies Brown Rice/Multi-grain/Oatmeal Cereal
http://www.webvitamins.com/SearchResults.aspx?searchText=happybellies&x=0&y=0

Cost of Six Can = USD27.00 + 1.50(shipping)
Cost of each can = USD4.75 = SGD7.40
Est shipping :SGD3 - 4

Collection :
Self-collect : Redhill MRT , Jurong East MRT

Please transfer SGD10.40 for each can ordered.
ATM transfer, please email([email protected]) the time and date.
Account to transfer to DBS Saving plus 001-1-053838 (Shenton Way) . Please specify your nick during transfer. :)

Brown Rice
1. jasminechenx (6cans)
2. cheesycake (3 cans)
3. Puffish (4 cans)
4. Serene123 (1 can)
5. sputnik (2 cans)
6. choc (2 cans)
7. dolly23 (1 can)
8. cyl_16 (1 can)
9. na_na (1 can)
10. jolenebeh (3 cans)

Multi-grain
1. jasminechenx (2cans)
2. cheesycake (1 cans)
3. Serene (4 can)
4. sputnik (1 can)
5. zentan (2 cans)
6. beans (1 can)
7. cherishbebe (2can)
8. na_na (1 can)
9. jolenebeh (1 can)

Oatmeal Cereal
1. jasminechenx (6cans)
2. cheesycake (2 cans)
3. Serene123 (1 can)
4. sputnik (2 cans)
5. Lynn_ (2 cans)
6. zentan(2cans)
7. dolly23 (1 can)
8. beans (1 can)
9. cherishbebe (3cans)
10.jorel_mum(1 can)
11. choc (1 can)

serene- paid $65

any mummies have carrefour receipt for pampers active baby L size receipt (those sold in box).

my maid finished up the XL ones than told me no more diapers.

or anyone interested, can sell 25% discount.

piggy mummy, i've not tried using blender for porridge, but my experience blending starchy stuff is that the texture turns really glue-like, quite gross. how's the blended porridge texture?

just gotta keep trying varying the texture, temperature and taste of the porridge, dun give up

just to share that my girl absolutely refuses to eat cool porridge/cereal but she likes both warm and cold stuff, just cannot be room temperature. She'll give me a disgusted look and spit out the porridge/cereal when it cools so i gotta keep the bowl sitting in a biger bowl of hot water to keep it warm.

is your boy drinking a lot of milk? i dunno if mine is taking too much porridge/cereals, these days her milk intake dropped to below 400ml
she's taking 2 times porridge and 1 time cereal daily. after struggling to feed her solids for over a month she suddenly decided she likes soilids better than milk.

mummies whose babies are taking 3 meals of solids a day, how much milk is your babies still drinking?

Koori,
Crawling and creeping are not milestones. Some babies move straight to walking. So don't worry about it. Kaylen is doing fine

Yesterday i let my gal tried Nestle Oats and prune cereal and now she has patches or rashes all over her tummy and the back of her hands and fingers...
Am wondering if its food allergy, Kidslink Sembawang was closed today and will be closed tomorrow morning, guess i can only bring her to the PD tomorrow evening...

Sherin,
I also aspire to be a wfhm... These few days have not been packing work home to do and i totally totally love the time i have with baby gal... I feel like i m missing out so much in her life

lynn,

julian suddenly decided to like milk more than solid. sigh. dunno wat to do with him. drink about 800ml per day. he used to hate milk. cereal about 3Tsp and porridge 1 small bowl.

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning!!

Re: Porridge
My boy does not like runny food so no need to blend or go thru the sieve. just use the back of spoon to mesh b4 feeding. guess all babies are different.

piggy mummy,
i've tried cooking brown rice porridge, does not take long leh, only 1 to 1.5 hr using the double boil method, yummy and my boy loves BR rather than white rice.

lynn,
understand adel does not like milk but milk intake at this early stage is still important. perhaps u can reduce to 1 porridge and 1 cereal and see if adel will drink more. my boy takes 1 porridge and 1 cereal daily and his milk intake surprisingly increase, used to take less than 500ml daily but now can go up to 700ml.

maro, you double boil your porridge? like double-boiling bird's nest like that? are u using a double boiler or just using the stove and putting the porridge into a container in a hot water bath?

i also wish i can feed her more milk rather than solids, but she will only drink milk when she's sleeping and not while she's awake. these days she'll take a rather long nap after her solid meals and when she wakes up she'll be hungry and smacking her lips but won't drink milk so i gotta feed her solids. cos i dun have the heart to starve her and wait for a few more hours till she's tired and falls asleep before feeding her milk. how?

can i check if any baby ever had the anus area very reddish? my boy no longer has constipation, poo poo as per normal, sometimes one or max twice a day. but his anus area is v v red, wonder why? or shd i bring him to pd for check!

Lynn_, Ernest is taking 3 meals a day and usually 390ml of EBM.

6.30am - 170 ml of EBM
9.00am - porridge (3/4 bowl)
10.30 - 110ml of EBM
1pm/2pm - porridge (3/4 bowl)
3pm/3.30pm - 110ml of EBM
7pm - Cereal (4TBsp)

Maro.. me me! Ernest' anus always very red after poo poo. So I put a lot of diaper cream, but he never scream or cry. MIL says poo too hard, tt's y.

lynn,
yeah, like cooking bird's nest. i'm using stove with a container (glass type) in a cooking pot, can use slow cooker also but takes too long (abt 3hr).

ic.. if that's the case perhaps u can check with pd if adel needs supplements cos solid food alone cannot provide nutrients found in milk.

maro,
issac's anus also red red..dunno y also...he no constipation de...
I use water to rinse his backside when diaper changing...now less red liao..mayb u wan try tis method?

winter,
so put diaper cream at the anus area hor.. ic, normally i apply at buttock area only to prevent diaper rash! yeah my boy also nv cry when cleaning him this morning. but saw so red a bit worried.. wil let my helper know. thanks.

winter, Adel's feeding is similar to Ernest's but maybe one more time of milk but total also not exceeding 400ml of ebm.

maro, i'm worried about her not getting enough nutrients if i feed her solids, but PD said it's ok. anyway i'll ask again when i bring my girl for her jab next week. so i give her at least one feed of cereal cos at least that's fortified with vitamins and minerals etc.

jgal... my latest order is 2 brown rice, 2 oatmeal..payment made
To Account DBS Savings Plus
001-1-053838 jgal
Amount S$41.60
Transaction Reference 2008465584

Jgal - HappyBellies Brown Rice/Multi-grain/Oatmeal Cereal

HappyBellies Brown Rice/Multi-grain/Oatmeal Cereal
http://www.webvitamins.com/SearchResults.aspx?searchText=happybellies&amp;x=0&amp;y=0

Cost of Six Can = USD27.00 + 1.50(shipping)
Cost of each can = USD4.75 = SGD7.40
Est shipping :SGD3 - 4

Collection :
Self-collect : Redhill MRT , Jurong East MRT

Please transfer SGD10.40 for each can ordered.
ATM transfer, please email([email protected]) the time and date.
Account to transfer to DBS Saving plus 001-1-053838 (Shenton Way) . Please specify your nick during transfer. :)

Brown Rice
1. jasminechenx (6cans)
2. cheesycake (3 cans)
3. Puffish (4 cans)
4. Serene123 (1 can)
5. sputnik (2 cans)
6. choc (2 cans)
7. dolly23 (1 can)
8. cyl_16 (1 can)
9. na_na (1 can)
10. jolenebeh (3 cans)

Multi-grain
1. jasminechenx (2cans)
2. cheesycake (1 cans)
3. Serene (4 can)
4. sputnik (1 can)
5. zentan (2 cans)
6. beans (1 can)
7. cherishbebe (2can)
8. na_na (1 can)
9. jolenebeh (1 can)

Oatmeal Cereal
1. jasminechenx (6cans)
2. cheesycake (2 cans)
3. Serene123 (1 can)
4. sputnik (2 cans)
5. Lynn_ (2 cans)
6. zentan(2cans)
7. dolly23 (1 can)
8. beans (1 can)
9. cherishbebe (3cans)
10.jorel_mum(1 can)
11. choc (2 can)

lynn,
u shd ask pd, i kiasu want to give supplements but pd say no need since he drinks milk well even at 500ml, of cose pd says at least 600ml daily!

Lynn, from the photo u posted last round, Adel got more 'bah' than Ernest leh. Maybe I should try to feed him more milk too.

I have tried to wake him up at 9pm for one more feed, cause he sleep at 8pm. I tap him, carried him and talk to him. He jus open his eyes, give me a stare and go back to sleep
I got a sleepy baby.

winter, Adel also last feed of porridge at around 7pm, after that she'll fall asleep at 8 plus or 9pm, but then she'll refuse milk at that time cos she'll be too sleepy and wants to seriously sleep already..

maro,

my boy also had red anus, and tears previously. PD recommended salt bath (sea salt) to the butt area. And it worked v well. can try this wkend. =)

Amy,

you go to Dr Oh too? =)

Calamari,

The replacement we decided on has problems in Phili and won't be coming to Singapore after all!

We're not impressed with the other maids the agency has, so we're stuck with our current maid from hell till we find another suitable one. Should be soon we hope as they'll be getting more biodata soon.

I've a good mind to keep her till the end of the month and give her the boot whether or not I find another.

She made me so angry that I screamed at her both yesterday and today. She showed that Ethan's safety is not #1, I really flipped out. Hubby was shocked at how fast I flew off the handle.

I was so angry that I swore at her, had to wring my hands so I wouldn't reach over to slap her.

She's such a bloodsucker, I've asked the agency to send her straight back to Indo when I'm done with her. She should not be sent to another family only to torture them too.

Hi Diva
if maid is intolerable, best to send her off ASAP. not good for her to remain and antagonise you, baby also feels the bad vibes. since you are baby's main caregiver, you could manage with part-time cleaning help.

usually after the year-end festive season there will be more maids coming down esp from Phil, so take heart u should have more to choose from in Jan!

Good morning everyone!

Maro,
I fancy that Ethan's anus is a lil red after a poop, but I don't find it excessively red. He never screams or cries during pooping, just the usual red face and grunting.

I use a wet wipe to clean the poop off and then follow with heaps of wet cotton wool to cleanse the skin and also to wash the scent from the wet wipe off. Even unscented wipes have a scent, as far as I know. All these are potential skin irritants if baby's skin is sensitive.
I believe that it's very important to use water to rinse, especially at home when it's easily accessible.

Diaper cream then goes on everywhere, especially the anus when he's just pooped. Try doing that for Davien if you haven't already done so.

Could your maid be tugging and rubbing at Davien's anus too roughly? I've seen my maid rub and wipe so hard before, I put a stop to that immediately. They may think that the harder they wipe, the cleaner it'll be.

Maro,

Ya. I feel that he drink more milk after taking solid. Maybe they know milk easier and faster to drink. Solid must sit there so long. Haha. I don't remember him drinking so much even before taking solid. Will slowly intro the 3rd meal to him.

Lynn,

My friend's PD actually tell her not to worry about milk as long as baby is taking balanced diet. Her gal only takes milk at 630am and 3pm. So, ask your PD for her advise.

diva: aiyo... i really empathise wif u cos my previous maid was like that too. Agree with Joelle that you better send your maid back hahahaa. I was afraid I will end up on the cover of Straits Times, hence quickly send her back. And had to live without a maid for 3 weeks. But do note that Fili maids also will 'choot' pattern. Most Fili maid are very 'smart' and will give you attitude. So its really good and bad of both types - indons and filis. For me, I think I'd rather see her attitude once a while than stupidity.

I haven't been able to find any good maid agencies too. Try Nation and JPM. They could be slightly better. :p

Hi Calamari and Diva,

I have a very good agent. Do you want to try? But she only has indo maid but her maids are all very good. my family + cousins + aunties etc got their maids from her all very good.

I got my 1st maid from her and she was very good. however, i din know how to 'appreciate' her and sent her away after 2 months and went to another agent to get fili maid which was horrible x 10. then i went back to the 1st agent to ask for another indo maid whom i using now and is happy with her. my 1st maid set such a high standard.... actually til now my current maid i think still cant reach that standard but she's quite good also.

But this agent fee is higher than other agencies. most of her clients are rich people staying in bungalows so they have a few maids and some specialise in looking at babies so they are quite good at it. My current maid used to work for a doctor couple who has 2 maids. her job is babies and cooking so she's good at these and housework also not bad.

If you want u can email me at [email protected] for her contact.

maomi,
salt bath is like dissolving sea salt into water and soak the butt area right?

diva,
yeah, i use cotton wool too previously. now u mention, think my maid &amp; mil has stopped using already. think have to remind them again. thanks, will also tell my maid to stop wiping too hard. i agree they may think it will be cleaner.

jules' mum,
ya, same here.. think after taking solid (porridge &amp; cereal) his milk intake is more.. as mentioned previously, my mum says they are craving for milk

maro,

yupz..1 tbsp in a small tub of water...not the big bathtub tho..mabbe diameter big enough for baby's butt? when i did it for sean, he was abt 4 mths i think! smaller sized then. =p

dun soak too long...5-10mins? anyway my boy was not so patient. you can do it mabbe 2-3times a day for a few days. Should help. It helped for my boy. =)

maomi,
thanks, will try that this wkend using normal table salt. :p

piggy mummy,
oops, cant help u on this. my mil has been eating this organic BR so she just passes some to me. i know she buys from those provision store at neighbourhood area, 2 kg per pack. anyway, i'll check and let u know again.