(2008/04) April 2008

Hi Mummies with playmat

I just received my playmat last nite, expect my son will love it and will play with it...but out of my surprise he is scare of it...now he don't want to even sit on it..he will cry if if i put him down .OMG...anyone face the same problem?

Hoon,

Initially Ethan didn't like lying down on the mat, the surface felt strange to him as he's almost always on a soft surface like a bed or couch.
He too would cry and panic when we put him down, but soon grew out of it as he got used to it.
Put Javier on the mat often and be sure to stay with him, talk to him and reassure him that you're there and the mat is alright. He'll be fine with it eventually

Hi Diva
I think he is afraid of the big pictures on the mat...I will put all his toy toy and play with him there..hope he will slowly adapt to it. if not will be wasted...so expansive. hee

After feeding cereal or porridge for 1 hour, julian will cry for milk and he will finish the whole bottle. Is this normal? I tried increasing his solid but he don't want to eat more at that point.

Jolene,
I can't seem to find my measuring spoon, that's the problem! But we estimated when we gave it to Ethan at breakfast.. I'll have to find that darn spoon today.

Hoon,
Javier will get used to it, don't worry. It's kinda cute that he's afraid of the big pictures, is yours Yellow Bear?
Ours is and Ethan is so captivated by the pictures and colors, he'll go up close and stare

ya mine is the yellow bear....same as yours?
he so sute when i want to put him sit down, he straighthen his leg muscle. die die also don't want to bent...

Jules' Mum,
it's normal, my mum attribute it to baby wanting to hv milk (aka ni gian - or craving for milk). my boy also same, wanting to drink milk abt an hr or so after solid!

My boy is havign constipation since he started FM. he will squeeze until his face is so red and cry.. but only a small stool come out. ..
Probiotic really can help?

hi all thanks for the votes.

rain, can try cooking apple porridge. i tried that on my son on 2 occasion and he pooed on those 2 daes. not sure if it really works but worth a try. i also feed papaya to my son to make him poo cos he oni poos between 3 - 5 days.

hoon my boy is quite ok with the playmat. mine is sweet bear. both sides he oso ok or infact i should say he don really bother himself with it. guess u try to sit on the mat with him play wif him on the mat or even put his favourite toy on the mat to play. i guess it is just a matter of getting used to the mat.

hoon, u can try covering an area of the mat with a plain sheet? like plan bedsheet if you think your son is afraid of the busy prints?

rain, my girl also no crawling mah, dun worry lah.. the pear is the green one, or u can try prune juice (thos baby jar ones)?

Winter & Maro,

at least I know it's acceptable. I found it so weird. I tot I'm not feeding him enough or wat. Julian's so picky nowadays. He is hungry yet he don't want the maid to feed him. No matter how we entertain him he just don't want. If me or my hubby take over, don't even need to entertain he will finish.

I gave my son some papaya on sunday. He reject. Don't even wanna open his mouth. He prefers veges like spinach and brocolli to fruits.

Rain,

Did you try putting things he like in front of him so that he will try to move forward? Also, try to support his foot so that he can push off. I did that with Julian and he crawled soon.

hoon
i think he just needs to get used to having it in the house. i recommend u leave the mat somewhere prominent and let him get used to its presence for a week. babies, being naturally curious, will sometimes venture to take a closer look in his own time. after one week, try putting him on it again.

Lynn,
Thanks. Will try the pear for him.

Jules,
i tried. he refuse to crawl just cry and cry and his forehead just dropped on the mattress.. in the end i have to carry him up. scare being suffocated.haha..

**shake head**

Hi mummies, anyone's baby only poo when put on potty?

Mine won't poo in the diaper already. Only at potty then he will poo poo. Hmmmmm, go out how?

He will keep making the 'hmmm hmmm' sound until he's on the potty.

winter, wah...yr baby save you lots of diapers $. LOL! I havent started potty training kayla yet.

Kayla oso refused to crawl. I have been enticing her to crawl with toys placed infront or pushing her feet with my palm but to no avail. She will roll around to get to the toys instead leh.

Jgal, tks so much for the probiotics. I have started kayla on it. Hopefully her ecezema will clear, its still quite bad around her mouth.

Lynn, kayla simply loves your taggies! You have really done such a beautiful work on it that all our frens commented how pretty it is when kayla was chewing on it during church service. Hee... it acts as a blankie during her car ride too!

Rain,

I was reading a book. It is encouraged to give babies more tummy time. Thinking back, I always try to put Julian on his tummy. Maybe that's why he learn to crawl before he learn to sit. Till now he can't really sit steadily. Goyang goyang if he don't use his hands to support. Haha. When he learn to crawl, he also keep bumping his head on the mat. I so sim tia but no choice la. He love remote controls so we always put remote controls in front of him. julian likes to find holes between pillows and hide. Once he fall asleep like that. My hubby worry he suffocate. Took away the pillow and he woke up and cried. We had to put the pillow back and he continue sleeping.

Winter,

Julian loves to poo when we are out for lunch or dinner! Quite paisay. WHen we eating then he gek. then poo very little. when we bring him to toilet, he will play and don't concentrate. I wanna try potty but he don't want leh. He refuse to sit down. Rather stand. How to stand and poo right!

Calamari, disposable toilet bowl liner? But the hole so big... later he fall in how? :p

Jules' Mum - I always make sure there are toys nearby, so if he wants to stand up, I will use the toys and force him to sit and poo.

Rain - my boy used to be like that too, cake till red, but nothing. So we started to put him on potty. Find he can poo much more on potty, and doesn't cake that much.

Jule's mum - Hmmmmm, sounds like my boy, he loves to place a pillow on his face. U remove it, he will cry and wine till he has it back, at the exact spot.

rain i juz cook porridge as per normal juz add chopped apple n mince meat to the porridge

tink i gonna have a hard time potty train. donno when he gonna poo.

mushloom

haiz i went to see the pd and informed him that i am preggy now. he was saying that it could be coz there are changes to the taste of my ebm and that is why he has decreased his milk intake. now am adding abit of formula milk to his cereal to his diet to help with his intake. for me to get him to finish his bowl of cereal, i add japanese seasoning powders for babies by pigeon at isetan supermarket to his cereal. he has recently been able to finish his cereals ( 5 tbsp per meal).

winter, which potty are u using? i tried to let Adel try using the potty but the foc one i got isn't very suitable cos must open the legs real wide and it isn't comfy to sit on.

Adel now will only poop while sitting in highchair/car seat/rocker, anything that's pretty much upright. can't poop while lying down leh. when we go out always have to stop and change her diapers like 5 mins after moving off. cos strap her in she begans to try to poop!

jaspire, no problem at all! glad Kayla's enjoying it

We went to Mothercare Harbourfront earlier to buy the Aerosleep ventilation pad for Ethan's car seat.
Ethan's been perspiring a fair bit during car rides, especially at the back of his head. He perspired on our way there but we used it on our way home, and no perspiration!

Winter,
If you're looking for travel potties, do look around in the WTS thread as I've come across a number of Tommee Tippee travel potettes there. If you want to buy brand new, Mothercare has them.

every since my recent block ducts, my supply has been low even though the ducts are cleared liao... i was thinking of supplementing wif formula. intro him to formula will be another headache for me

yaps agree that its another headache.

coz i am having lots of problems with my boy now. he want s to latch on but then he plays instead of really drinking milk. only the night feed he would really drink and he wakes up at 5am of the morning feed. otherwise he does not drink milk during the day.

Esther : i take over from you.. :p sorry for the trouble..
Please transfer the amt to my acct DBS saving plus 001-1-053838

Goodbb : yes.. add in your order..

www.vitacost.com spree (all items allowed )- by jgal
Please use sgd1.5: usd1 as exchange rate and place deposit for your pdts.

1.deposit have to place before order
2.deposit to DBS saving plus 001-1-053838
3.collection only at my place or you can arrange someone to pick for you

Childlife colostrum is ard SGD22 -$26 per bottle.
1. Esther x 2
2. bebe11 x 2

re yoghurt

I fed Paul's natural yoghurt to my son without knowing that the baby version exists. Anyway, it was ok since he is already on formula hence no allergy to cow's milk. But PD recommended a baby yoghurt since the manufacturer probably did something to it to make it more suitable for babies.

Baby yoplait comes in a box, but Petit Miam comes in 6 little tubs joined together.

Amy,
I saw the Baby yoplait at TPY NTUC! Going to grab this weekend.

re crawling

Hehe.. my son started crawling around on his tummy, then learnt to sit up on his own, then learnt to rock on his hands and knees, before he finally learnt how to creep on knees and hands.

Now the mat is quite useless unless he is willing to play with his toys. Otherwise, he prefers to crawl out of the mat to play with other objects.

Diva: I bought the ventilation pad from the Harbourfront branch a month back too for Kayla's car seat as she was perspiring in her car seat too. Works really well. Am going to grab another one for her stroller!