2007 sahm n bf mom

Hi, I'm new to this thread. SAHM and still Bf ,staying at CCK (yew tee) Have an Oct 07 boy (7mths).

I'm also an ergo mom. Bought mine at full retail price of $189 fr metro. My hubby lah!! cannot wait for better deals cos CNY was approaching and he wanted something easier to carry our heavy baby in to show off to relatives
Anyway, never regretted since.

Count me in for meet up.

gretel, thanks for your sms today.

hi jenny, welcome

re :ergo
seems like no regrets for ergo mummies. I was at causeway point on wednesday but did not see it. Then was at Paragon, the staff showed me and i realized it is quite big, mummies can i ask do you feel secure with it cos i saw only the support on the hips and the clip across the back.

re : sleep
gretel your DS does not scream when he tasted the new concotion ? how many days have you applied it and does your DS avoid it at night now ?

re : curved legs
ya me too thought it is natural ...

re : meet up next week. I am ok but will leave by 5pm to avoid the peak hours crowd.

1. jenny
2. jamie
3. vally
4. rachel (mami35)

Ergo: Causeway Point should still have. I saw it on wed. it's just a few boxes stacked in one corner of a table. near the Avent stuff.

feel secure. you have an elastic strap which you have to hook over the buckle which is an added safety feature. you of course have to adjust all the straps to make it comfortably tight so that the child won't fall off. Otherwise, it's as secure as it can get. Sigh, the Beco is really much prettier...

Actually, the US website is selling at USD92. Free shipping over USD130. I wonder if it's cheaper to get from USD then now that USD is low....

chergamine,

the sleepy wrap looks pretty good to use. are you getting it?
I'm using the Indonesian selendang right now. Basically a long sarong n tie it round my body as a sling. Can get quite tiring on the shoulders sometimes.

re: meeting next wed at wheelock

actually I've a couple of mommies coming to my place next wed 21may, about 3pm. It would be our 2nd time meeting each other. Would you guys like to come?

My blk is just 5 mins from the kembangan mrt station. For those driving, i'm beside the kampong kembangan cc.

give me your email n I'll let you know my add.

If not, can we arrange another day to meet in town? :)

Wed, 21may, 3pm @ Jaime's humble flat:
1)ange
2)mel
3)elaine (TBC)
5)

jaime,
oh yes im getting it.u c,my hubby is in US till end of may.So shipping wld be cheaper..
and the material-wise is stretchable unlike e slings ive got.
and instead of just one-sided sling/wrap..tis one requires both..so more evently spread.rite??
i tried on a similar type but an australian product;its pretty feasible..lesser strain

i manage to coax hubby into getting this sleepywrap as the price is pretty reasonable..hehe

oh btw,the indonesian sarong was my inspiration. I used to see my grandma & relatives using it on our young ones.(my family n hubby's is of javanese heritage)That made me so incline into slings unlike my bjorn.

mattmum, my ds2 arrived in the morning at NUH :)

dh's vocation is armour. i probably think both of yours and my hubbies should know each other. can always include me in your MSN. my hotmail is [email protected]

Welcome Jenny & Tabby

Being so busy recently. My son sleeps v little in day time these days. Normally he will sleep about 2-2.30 hrs for his noon nap, but now barley an hour. Dun know is due to hot weather or teething. There goes my rest (include logging on forum... )

Does any of ur bb grind their teeth. My son has been doing it the past 2 days, the screeching sound really get into my nerve... His upper teeth is erupting, pray hard not to come out so soon, knowing his pattern, he surely bite me lor..

chergamine,
i tried ur stew chicken today as my mil came over my place. I add mushroom & long chinese cabbage. They liked it v much, i use kampong chicken & the meat is really tender. Really no hassle lor, just dump everything into slow cooker. Any more to share or not hee hee

Jaime,
I also use sling. Agreed, i ve shoulder ache if sling for too long, my bb moves around everywhere, v difficult to sling him too. Dun know if it is too late if i invest in Ergo now? Can anyone share Ergo can use for how long?

Hi, Kembangan is abit far for me and Tabby. So we give it a miss for now. We shall meet in town later then cos Tabby's son is going for a jab on Tues. Shall we make it on Fri afternoon 3 - 5pm? At Wheelock Place?

Baby Doll, how heavy is your bb? For ergo, it's until about 18KG.

I'm also a 2007 BF SAHM. It's my first time participating in this thread and am interested to join u ladies on your outings. I stay in Bishan but will be at my mom's house in upper Bt Timah on Tue and Thur. So count me in for outings!

Hi Jenny,

Think I won't join you on the friday outing. Am bringing my daughter for her jab on Thu...in case she falls sick lah. :) enjoy!

yo mummies! phew! haven't log in for some days, ds is having separation anxiety - soooo sticky!!! hubby felt upset cos bb 'doesn't want papa'.

re: lime
it works. bb now dun bend down and head 'there' everytime i carry already. in fact, even when it's really meal time and lift up the shirt, he'll look at me like asking 'hey hey sure? can? taste ok?' then he's v wary! tis morning i want to latch him on, he looked at me for quite a while then LICK my teats and taste if it's alright!!!

babies are smarter than we imagine! ;)

but use the method only when you're prepare to wean. my milk ss dropped drastically now. i tink cos he dun suck so often now (actually just once or twice a day now) so no stimula.

sigh. it's a mixed feeling, bf has been a long journey...nvm, separate topic on tat. feel quite lost actually

but it's much more relieved on the other hand, now that at least hubby can help in bottle feeding...

re: meeting up in town
i can't. bb's having a bit running nose. maybe tat's y he's so grouchy last nite, ahhh... super tired now.

re: my hubby's also a regular ;) but navy ;)) always not ard - which i prob also why bb is more (in fact V much more) attached to me ;p

got to go, take care mummies ;)))

re : outing
sorry i have to skip the outing cos I got the flu bugs will join for the next trip.

re : ergo
gretel, did you check out the ergo over the long weekend ?

mattmum, i have not tried the ergo at punggol cos could not fix a time with seller.

hi, wee, welcome !

Hi jaime,
I dont mind dropping by your place this wed, as i stay quite near your place.
Can you drop me your home add and no and vice versa.

Oh and dear jenny, friday wont be able to go down as my daughter has gym class that day at 330pm.

Hi Vally,
You don't accept PM?
Pls give me your email add or HP no, so I can give you the details. Can come about 3pm tomorrow :)

Hope to meet some other mommies soon.

Goon goon - added you to MSN

Mami35 - do let me know if you are trying Ergo out cos I would really like to get one. My stroller's too bulky for me to take my boy out by myself. I only use it when I go out with hb, and when I go to the supermarket downstairs.

re: outing in town
wish I can join in, but my boy's down with bronchitis over the long weekend and PD said it will take up to 3 weeks for the cough to fully recover. I think I will have to quarantine ourselves until my boy recovers.
Ladies, do let me know if you have another outing somewhere next time...

gretel - lots of babies sick these few days yar. So many sick children at the PD clinic we went to. Your hb also a regular? Do navy guys travel a lot too?

hi all SAHM-BF moms!!

So glad to find this thread here (wonder how I could have missed it in the past :p) My DD is coming to 5 months and we are staying in the east (hi to all easterners)! I'm one of the lucky few who has parental support at home but have chose to stay home coz i want to witness all my DD's 'first'.

re: feeding and stranger/separation anxiety
my DD is one of those BF babies who refuse to drink from the bottle and i've given up trying. she's taking well to cup (using spout) though. *phew* and at the turn of 3 months, she suddenly didn't want anybody else to carry except my MIL and myself! guess it's coz we are the only people she sees most often. For about 2-3 weeks, DD refused to let my DH carry (he works late so she only see him on weekends and some weeknites). Up till now, she's only getting a little better when it comes to unfamiliar faces. She's one sticky baby (as I realised some of your babies are too) but i'm not the least upset with it (tho frens sometimes give negative comments about her stickiness). guess SAHM-BF moms can understand better why our babies are this sticky

I hope to meet the rest of mummies when we have our next gathering!

hi snxc,
rest assure dear,your dd will outgrown it soon.mine used to be till up to 3mths...then as he grows,esp aft 6mths...he's independent liao.
im a SAHM and still tbf.He will only run to me for food and 'bitty'..otherwise he's on his own.
I used to read dat bf babies tend to be more independent as they grow. As they have this 'intricate bonding' in em(a sense of security). *wink*
hope this help

tks chergamine! i'm a big fan of dr william sear's attachment parenting and if i'm not wrong, u prob read from one of his books abt the independence bit?? i'm truly keeping my fingers crossed that what he advocates will happen in reality too.

alerting mommies&babies interested to meet up in the East :)

some mommies are coming over to my humble flat in Kembangan coming Wed 28May, 3pm, for a little meet up session. (I'm just 5mins walk from Kembangan MRT. For those driving I'm just beside the Kampong Kembangan CC)

So far, we have 3 five-mth olds, 1 six-mth old & 1 seven-mth old.

If interested to join us, pls let me know your email add so I can give you my details.

*note: this is not a regular meet up session. time & venue might change for future meet ups

Meet up on Wed, 28May, 3pm at Kembangan
1)

Snxc,
my 5th old daughter is going thru separation anxiety too and cries whenever whisked away by someone unfamiliar. I've read somewhere that this is perfectly normal. So am giving her time to warm up to new people and lots of assuarance.There was a phase when she clearly preferred me to HB as he also works late n only gets to see her on weekends and some weeknites, but she soon got over that, much to HB's delight.

Mattmum and Goon Goon,
sorry am not on MSN but wld be interested in support gp since our HBs are all regulars.Do let me know when u meet up!

Vally,
thanks and looking forward to visiting!
I went to your new plc last week to visit a friend also staying there, its lovely.

Drinking water may harm babies
May 22, 2008 10:33 AM

Babies younger than six months old should never be given water to drink, physicians at Johns Hopkins Children's Center in Baltimore remind parents.

Consuming too much water can put babies at risk of a potentially life-threatening condition known as water intoxication.

"Even when they're very tiny, they have an intact thirst reflex or a drive to drink," Dr Jennifer Anders, a paediatric emergency physician at the centre, said.

"When they have that thirst and they want to drink, the fluid they need to drink more of is their breast milk or formula."

Because babies' kidneys aren't yet mature, giving them too much water causes their bodies to release sodium along with excess water, Anders said. Losing sodium can affect brain activity, so early symptoms of water intoxication can include irritability, drowsiness and other mental changes. Other symptoms include low body temperature (generally 97 degrees or less), puffiness or swelling in the face, and seizures.

"It's a sneaky kind of a condition," Anders said. Early symptoms are subtle, so seizures may be the first symptom a parent notices. But if a child gets prompt medical attention, the seizures will probably not have lasting consequences, she added.

Water as a beverage should be completely off limits to babies six months old and younger, Anders and her colleagues say. Parents should also avoid using over-diluted formula, or paediatric drinks containing electrolytes.

Anders said it may be appropriate in some cases to give older infants a small amount of water; for example to help with constipation or in very hot weather, but parents should always check with their paediatrician before doing so, and should only give the baby an ounce or two of water at a time.

If a parent thinks their child may have water intoxication, or if an infant as a seizure, they should seek medical attention immediately, she advised.

Source: Reuters

Hey Jaime, thanks for the article! i heard my cousin mentioning about this recent article but din get the chance to read it - so thankful you post it here!

this confirms my knowledge! esp tbf bb, they need not drink water AT ALL. cos bm is 80% (ard there) water... i get all the scorns and disapproval when pple know my son doesn't drink water when he's a much smaller bb, they tink i'm ill-treating bb, if only tis article came earlier i can shove it to them and shut them up! all the well-meaning pple i know, but sometimes they r rather irritating though!

hey mummies! i just went metro paragon to get the ergo carrier! they are having 20% sale. a promoter showed me how to use - i tink it needs practice, it looks a bit big for my frame but i feel the support will be quite good. can't wait to try w bb on later.

metro causeway pt - they have the carrier too but only beige and black with beige lining. all the blue are transfered to paragon. i got the blue one. not much choice actually (only blue, camel/ beige, black and maroon) but i wanted a colour lighter so not so hot.

the blue is quite limited in paragon as i checked just now, so go grab if you're keen. tink the maroon run out liao...

keeping my fingers crossed tat tis will be a good investment, i hurt my back AGAIN and my waist..went for massage the lady say my posture from carrying bb is wrong... huh?? then how??!?! sigh. hope tis carrier helps

hi jamie, thanks for the posting. to think something as harmless as water could do so much harm !

hi gretel, is the 20% for members only ? have you try on the ergo ? how do you feel ? like you , i feel it is a bit too big for me so i am still considering if i should buy.

erika, how was you 2 weeks "home alone" ?

re : feeding
wonder if any bb here dislike fish ? I tried feeding DS with ngor fish on 4 occasions but he does not like it .. and could not finish his porridge. I even separate the fish from the porridge to avoid the "fishy" smell / taste but results still the same. Wonder if i can feed him salmon and cod ?

mami35,

i started with cod fish den salmon.. haven use ngor fish yet.. hehe..

i dun really enjoy feeding fish to my boy... after the meal, he'll smell fishy all over.. haha..

Re- feeding
I feed my daughter yogurt sometimes, to aid her digestion as she is starting on solid now.
I also give her silken toufu and steamed egg.
Now its a real good stage to expose her to more variety of food.

wow tis thread is active agn.

mattmum,

sorry missed your qn. ya, hubby travels quite alot. short but frequent trips. meaning, he's away for 1, 2 or 3 nights, come back 1, 2 days, then off again. wat to do, his schedule is like tis since i know him 10 yrs ago :p

heehee back to the flu part, abit embarrassing but nvm i still want to share ;p brought bb tat day to the GP and GP feels i'm over reacting hahaah. he says 'he;s alright, no need to see doc actually, just abit of running nose and blocked nose is ok, if you already have med you can self-medicate him'... i asked 'but the med states for running nose my boy's blocked nose can or not?' he says 'it's the same' - so mummy u may like to know. well, i still keep to my stand - not sure ask professional. better to err on the side of caution, u agree? SO, in the end no med given. paid $18 for consultation ;p but at least now i know, next time can self medicate (of cos check the expiry of the med). basically the doc advises 'as loong as he's still eating and playing well, esp PLAYING, no need to see doc, let the body build it's own immunity'.

mami35,

stil no chance to use yet. cos i wiped it now sunning it. sms u my verdict agn ;)

so angry. hubby dun like the blue, i purposely go down paragon for the blue now he tells me he prefers to the black w camel lining we saw at causeway pt. arghhh. dun care liao.

oh, the 20% is for everyone. it's GSS.

re: fish
try yin yu (silver fish) - my boy prefers tat and ang gor li compared to ngoh hee.have not tried salmon.

vally,

do u make your own yoghurt? any mummies know how to diy yoghurt? which one to buy if it's the commercial oneS? i have been wanting to let bb try but not sure which...

re: silken tofu
i give tat too - at 1st i even buy the unicurd organic ones. till i read somewhere tat the tow kwa is better, more nutritious, and cheaper. tat's part of bb's meal later too ;)

re : feeding
jang, ok i try cod, but mil says if DS does not like ngor fish, will not like cod cos of the buttery taste .. fish is brain food .. so i hope DS will pick up fish really soon !!!

vally, how old is your DD ? DS is only 10 months, so cannot feed egg yet right ? I tried tofu, but DS got hard poo poo not sure if it is related so i stopped for now ?

gretel, i went for the weaning talk at polyclinic, the nurse says sliver fish high in cholesterol so dont give so much, the normal ikan bilis is better

re : yogurt
I know kenwood has the machine, think there are a few more brands nows. as for the ingredient, just use milk and a tub of plain yogurt, also use only glass / plastic ware and ladel, do not use metal ware while mixing / feeding.

hi vally, i thought can feed eggs only after one year ! good that she is ok with it :)

re : pampers comfort
has anyone tried it ?

HI Mami35

Thanks for asking....it was actually 3 weeks w/o my inlaws. It was pretty manageable actually cos my husband tries to come back earlier from work to help out and also he does most of the cooking for dinner and lunch
Now I am still tired out cos my baby is teething, his bottom front tooth has emerged and the other is also making its appearance, so he is rather cranky

long din post here, my DS kept me occupied ... His 2 upper front teeth has appeared, look so cute, hehe. he is turning 9 mths in a week's time. He has been v active, ransack my whole living room, taking out VCDs, playing w fan wire, standing up w everything he can support. Now carry him so difficult, his body will turn here turn there, v keipoh to look around.

Egg yolk can be introduced at 9 mths, not sure if mix w silken tofu nice or not? hehe, may try one day...

Mami35,
u may try to steam ngor fish w some young ginger, my son will reject the whole porridge if i cook w rice tog. He will take it if i steam separately.

Erika,
ur hubby v nice, even cook u lunch. Nowadays v hard to find a husband who can cook... My hubby the most will only da bao back for me.

Yoghurt,
i tried yopliat (not sure if it's correct spelling), not too bad. But i think home made is the best & much cheaper. Read somewhere, just mix 1 litre of fresh milk & mix w a can of plain yoghurt, warm it till around 34 degree, then leave it at room temp for 8 hrs, can keep fridge for 3 days. Try to mix yoghurt w mango, it tastes v nice.

Hi mummies, this thread is active again

I bought an ergo for myself from Metro paragon yesterday. They still have black with camel or green lining, blue with green lining and camel, there is no more cranberry. I already have a beco butterfly but it keeps giving me a shoulder ache that starts after only 10-15mins of use, so decided to get an ergo after trying a friend's ergo for about 10mins w/o shoulder ache.

<font color="ff0000">Erika: have you figured out how to use your butterfly?</font>

<font color="0000ff">jang: do you get any shoulder ache with your butterfly?</font>

re: yogurt. I bought a yogurt maker after trying unsuccessfully to get a yummy plain full fat yogurt in supermarkets. If you notice those baby yogurts like petit miam and baby yoplait have added sugar!! And as for those plain yogurts, they are generally low or non fat but I read on kellymom that babies need to have full fat yogurt.

i m a sahm with 2 kids. 1 boy turning 4 this jul n 1 girl 13mths old. i m still tbfg my girl. my boy is currently in cc. i stay in d west. i can mt up in town. fridays wld b gd.

mami35,
my girl dun like fish. if i add fish to her porridge, shw ld take much longer to fin n wen abt to fin, she wld give d 'wna to puke' look. but if i add meat like pork/beef, she eats much faster.
so wat i do: i dun add d fish all at 1 go to d porridge, tink she dun like d fishy taste. i give her steam threadfin.

Hi mummies,this is really an active thread, have not had the time to read everything since I last left off.

yougurt: have been making my own yogurt for DS since he was abt seven mths old, there is no need for yogurt maker, very simple to make. but read from another discussion that it can only be given to babies after 10 mths. So stopping for now till I speak to pd. here's the recipe:

ingredients:

1) fresh whole pasteurised milk, 125ml
2) natural yougurt (I use paul's), 1/4 tsp

1)warm milk using very low heat till it is at body temperature.

2)pour milk into bowl (I use a glass container with lid )

3)stir in the natural yougurt.

4)cover the container (recipe book says can also use cling film but I personally don't, worried abt BPA)

5) leave the yougurt at room temp in a cool place to set for not more than 12 hrs.

6) refrigerate. can only keep in fridge for 3 days

7) keep a bit of yogurt as starting culture for the next batch ( I usually don't bother as the whole family will have the fresh yogurt for breakfast)

it takes quite a while to set so be patient. I usually do this in the evening when it is cooler and leave it till the next morning. the longer you leave it at room temp, the tangier it gets.

Fish: gretel, is silver fish the translucent ikan billis looking fish? I also steam fish separately. will give cod a try next, so far have only fed ds ngor fish and ang go li.

eggs: fed ds some egg white by mistake when he was younger, luckily he showed no adverse effects. have not had the courage to try eggs again ....

DS turning 10 mths soon and still sporting one tooth. He had that tooth since he was 4 1/2 months. Now it is super long but no sign of the rest...you guys think it is normal?

sleek,

so far, butterfly is quite ok, maybe u didn't adjust properly? After awhile, definitely will have shoulder ache. Actully i prefer Ergo but Beco is prettier :x

If i were to give marks, Ergo is 9/10, Beco is 8/10.