2007 sahm n bf mom

cookie,

i don't think you should worry about teeth growth. I have a fren, her son started sprouting teeth after his first bday and got his full set of teeth before 2 years old.

My boy got his first tooth at 4 months, already have 8 fully grown teeth now. and new ones coming. He is 9 months old.

Hey creamcookie,

thanks so much for the yoghurt - looks so easy! if only i've seen your post earlier tis morning cos i went market this morning! shd have bought the yoghurt

Re fat or low fat yoghurt/ sweeteners in commercial yoghurt
i read tat bb shd b given all FULL fat, only we adults worry abt too much fat, haha. and precisely becos commercial ones have sweeteners tat's why best to diy... ;)

mamil35, really abt that silver fish?!?! ok ok will take note thanks thanks. anyway, not often get yin yu too.

cookie, yap you're right, yin yu is per what u described.

re: ikan bilis
hey mummies do you all 'diy' your own ikan bilis? the 'real' ikan bilis from fook hua, market - i'm worried abt the high salt content...is it ok to give?? have not tried except for the stock (ikan bilis + soy bean)

re: ergo carrier
bb's adjusting to tis 'new toy'... hopefully he'll like it soon. now he prefers to be slinged still;p

re: steaming
i steam all the liao4.. so boil/ cook the porridge (millet, oat, brown rice) then the other stove steam all the ingredients for tat day.

re: beef
anyone given beef to bb already? i just bot the frozen beef cubes from shop & save (cos dunno how to select fresh ones
how huh? ;p

again, going to steam w the other liao4... ...bit worried abt the smell thou, wanting to give him beef cos red meat is good source of protein, iron and calcium!!

he's only exposed to chicken and minced pork so far.

1st time trying beef, hope bb will like it

re mami35- pampers comfort
i am using it right now, but its not really good. The cutting is too small even though it stated M size but keeps cutting my baby thigh.
And everytime she pooed it will leak out from the back and the material feels so "plastic".
I much preferred the usual pampers.

If you really wanna buy, get a size bigger than what she usually wear cos the cutting is really small for the size stated.

Babydoll, actually my husband can cook, and I can't so, these 3 weeks, have been learning from him, so its also a good thing that my inlaws were away so I can pick up some real cooking skills.

Sleek, I have kind of figured out how to use the beco, but like you, I also have aches, and also after a very short time like 10-15mins, so not entirely sure I have worn it the right way. Think I have to continue trial and error to find the right fit.

Hi gacc,
my gal also 4 this yr and my younger 8mo. can have our kids play together.. im in the west too.

regarding feeding, my gal REJECTS porridge. its a headache feeding her... food cant be too chunky nor does like her food too blended... still trying to cater to her taste and style...

The yogurt recipe looks good! will try one of these days. sleek, come come, let me play with your yogurt machine. ;)

Hi Coolmama,
u may like to try to feed ur baby Mee Sua. I use plain water to boil the mee sua. After boiled, cut into small pcs, then boil w stock for its taste. (For stock, i normally cook w pork meat, carrot & potato or just ikan bilis). My boy sometime also reject his porridge if the consistency is not right. Somehow ve to figure out bb preferences. My boy seems to like coarser food...

Hi vally,
For diapers, so far i tried nepia, mammy poko, Goon. All not too bad. Goon is good, got indicator to show if diaper is wet. Can last more than 10 hrs, hehe... i'm lazy mum, usually i will let him wear at night abt 9pm and will only change him next morning around 9.

Hi gretel,
I tried Heniz beef, but my son doesn't like the strong taste ... ven't tried the fresh one, also dun know how to select leh. Will it taste awful if cook w porridge ??

ikan bilis, i diy cos scared of high salt content. Own made is safer

Hi cookie,
thanks for the yogurt recipe, sound easy to make. will try this weekend if got time. Heard fr friend tat it will help to improve complexion if taking it regularly hehe

erika: I think the shoulder ache comes from the thin padding on the beco, cos I used the ergo for the 1st time today and I didnt have any shoulder ache like with the beco.

cool: you can have the yogurt I've made, for my future in-law anything also can
heehee

Hi baby doll,
Yes, i love goon and huggies. Huggies we usually wear when we are out shopping or at church service so can just pull it down and change.
Goon yes, very good i love their urine indicator like what you have just mentioned.

bb finally sleep. he's so funny fell asleep while sleeping. 'huo gai' lar, just now coax him to sleep from 10 till 1130 mummy almost eyes closed liao he still refuses to take his morning nap. now eat till sleep. i managed to filmed it down ahaha next time can show him ;)

mamil35,
hey sorry tink can't meet u anytime tis week liao. i seriously sprained my back can hardly sit/ stand/ lie still. it was v bad.. sigh, and no one to help today. so bad daddy has to take leave help ja-ga bb.

baby-doll,
the beef ahh! i added steamed apples and tomatoes hoping to cover the smell, i even throw away the water from the beef (i steamed it)..the smell is still SUPER strong!

bb gives me a 'yucks' look but nonetheless finish 3/4 of it, i didn't bother to coax him finish all cos as it gets cold, the smell got stronger, as i feed i also feel v disgusting haha! hubby ask me 'can next time dun cook such black black thing for bb?' the colour..ehh, reminds us of bb's poo ;p

ikan bilis
how to diy own ikan bilis?! must wash clean, dry? wouldn't tat be alot of effort and time consuming? and wat sort of fishes is suitable?

goon? wat;s tat? i tot u all refering to goon goon as in, the mummy. then realise it's a brand of diapers?? wat's the chinese name? sorry so blur.

my bb uses pet pet. cheap and good for him. no indicator but can last thru the nite (14 hrs) and the fit is good.

gretel,

thanks for the beef method. will try it next time

my bb also naughty today. Just fell asleep. Took a short noon nap at 1pm, only half an hour, play till 5plus, finally doze off. Tot he'll sleep a lot today cos it has been busy weekends. Visited my hubby's friend full month & to my mil house on Sat. Sun visited a friend who just gave birth to a bb girl, then rushed to buy gift for a friend's son birthday party in evening, before heading to my mum's place. Reached home at 12 a.m.

ikan bilis
I buy those withour head, this is how i prepare:
1. wash them first to get rid of the salt.
2. dry it under the Sun, then put in oven to dry
3. use grinder or blender to grind them into fine poweder
4. store them in the fridge
5. when porridge is cooked, i just take 1-2 teaspoon and mix w porridge

is actually quite easy

Goon diaper, it is a jap brand, can order fr www.diapers.com.sg. $60 got free delivery. i usually order tog w Huggies.

Hi Vally,
i use Huggies for day uasage as well

hi erika, i think a lot of mummies envy you leh .. DH can cook :) so would you or mil prepare food when your bb starts weaning ?

babydoll, ya i do steam ngor fish with ginger but he still rejects sigh .. the ikan billis you buy are dried ones ? so that means you wash and dry them a 2nd time ?

gacc, what is threadfin ?

vally, guess i would give Comfort a miss then. DS is also using huggies but i find it also gives him some rash at times.

gretel, oh no, i am so sorry to hear that. did you go to a doctor or tui na ? I hope you get better soon. me using pet pet too, yup cheap and good !

ange, tks for sharing! DD is now better with strangers. when she's in my arms, can play a lot with them. but when it comes to carrying, she only lets certain people (usually younger ladies) carry her for like 10-15min. one thing for sure, she really dislikes older men :p

looks like i've missed the 28th may session.

cream cookie
Re: diy yoghurt
i tried last night but how come the result is so watery, like normal milk? did i do anything wrong - qn: no need to BOIL the milk right? just warm it hor? and the MILK - is it any marigold, HL milk, i buy the NTUC housebrand. why 125ml? the smallest HL or MEIJI or MARIGOLD all are 200 ml.. just want to make sure. so the rest u drink up?

Pauls yoghurt - u said 1 quarter TABLEspoon or TEAspoon? u wrote tsp so i put TEAspoon - so v little like tat... did i do it correctly??? puzzled ;(

mamil35
thanks for your concern, i'm better after tui na 2x ;(

but shi fu advised not to carry bb still. how? it's almost like, mission impossible lor. esp when he's so attached to me.

today i'm back work (i work on p/t basis now). dunno how's hubby's coping alone w bb. i hope he's been fed, bathed, slept well! haiz!

hey! my hb loves the ergo carrier, and now bb loves it too!!! he fell asleep in the carrier ytd when hubby uses the back carrier method, bb seems v comfy inside. now he loves it. so glad ;)

back to work! bye! for now... ;)

for those who diy yogurt, can consider getting yogurt cultural powder from organic shops. getting those powder is more nutritious than use yogurt to make yogurt. as there's more active culture. if use yogurt to make yogurt, the active culture will reduce gradually.

SNXC ..hee hee my DS also likes pretty young things

gretel, glad to hear you are better now .. wah your DH good hor, handle bb all alone .. so the egro is a good investment !

dont know what is wrong with DS these few days, he would hit his head on the left side with his hands. He used to do it when he was younger and when he is cranky but has stopped since. wonder what triggers it again :-(

YL: how much powdered culture do you use, cos I used 3ml for 1 liter of milk like suggested and my yogurt never set!

sleek,
heehee... your yogurt still cannot ah... waiting to eat leh!

Gretel,
same! gave my girl beef with tomato, the 1st mouth she ate, she shivered! ate 2 table sppon and she was waving "no-no-no" & shut her mouth!

Hi babydoll,
yeah, haven't try mee sua for her, will do that. she like soft rice, noodles and bread so far.. but the texture sometimes too meshed cannot, too hard also cannot. abit tough to judge when she like what. just that my MIL and relatives keep asking how come my baby don't eat porridge when everyone's baby does. Think i will just shut my ears from now onwards. :p

Help! My baby's pee is very yellow and not much. Tried to give her plain water but she doesn' like it. Any suggestions?

hei jaime-
I give val heinz juice diluted with water. And she accepts it very well, and she is seldom constipated even after starting on solid for almost 2 months now.

sleek
i trial n error n realise tt the recommended amt is too little. i usually make 2 glasses of fresh milk which is abt 500ml, i added 3 tbs of the yogurt cultural powder. i used the spoon tt comes with the powder.

Hi gretel.

the recipe is for 1/4 teaspoon. But I don't bother to measure so accurately. Normally I use about half a pack of the milk, so abt 500 ml and stir in big tablespoon of yogurt.Somtimes use chinese soup spoon. So I think it is definitely more than what the recipe calls for. Sorry should have metionned earlier. Also, must make sure all your utensils are clean and dry.

Do no bring it to boil. Just heat up the milk till it is at room temp, I check by scooping a bit out and feel with my fingers. It should be at body temp, so not hot or cold. Most of the time, I accidentally overheat a little and it'd be warm so will leave it to cool before covering.

Tried with farmhouse and marigold. Result is the same. Texture is not as "firm" as the commercial yogurt but not watery.

Try leaving it out for longer till it is not watery before refrigerating it. Once it took abt 14 hrs for my yougurt to set. If it is not fully set, it will be watery and lumpy. Taste is more milky and not as sour as commercial ones.

Thanks YL for the info on yogurt culture. Will try it next time. I wonder if the indian grocery shops carry the non-organic ones. My ex indian colleague used to make his own yogurt every day. pity didn't ask him how he does it

tks creamcookie!

been waiting urgently for your reply cos i'm not sure if i can eat that watery stuff in the fridge - i tasted it, it actually taste quite good - as in, yoghurt lor (i like yoghurt to begin with). but really too watery already. so 1st attempt failed. ok tonight i shall try agn, will put more yoghurt set tis time round;p

Hi cookie,
where can i get the yogurt culture powder? any place to recommend to get it?

Hi jaime,
It will take some time for some baby to get accustomed to, so just keep offering her water, she reject nvm, just keep offering. My elder gal only started really drinking water when she is 1year old + but she is only breast milk, so still ok. waht about your baby?

hi mami35,
ikan bilis: i bought the dried one, i wash & dry second times to get rid of the salt.

my bb also takes v little water. He can drink fr spout, but most of time he still like to bite it.

If bb is constipated, u can cook barley water, as suggested by my PD but try not to add sugar. in case they dun like water next time.

Re: teething
Has anyone tried making "pao(4) seng(1)" w rock sugar for bb to drink when they r teething? Some aunties told me tt bb will not ve fever & painful gum. Cook for my son, v nice taste but my son doesn't want to drink, think i put too much pao seng (strong taste). I drink up myself hehe.

I also cut apples or pear into small pieces & wrap them w a hankerchief (or Munkchin net) for my bb to chew. My bb likes to suck the jucie from it.

jamie, i gave gripewater mix with water for 1 to 2 months. now DS takes water without any gripewater without fuss. As for constipation, i learnt from a mummy that to feed 1 spoon of water for every 5 spoon of food. DS did not have constipation problem, but on occasion also got hard poo poo. If your bb does not take water at all, maybe you want to try to feed food and water in one spoon so bb does not taste water.

re : ikan billis
thanks babydoll, i will try to do it next week.

re : feeding
coolmama, babydoll, wow your bb tried a lot of food ya ? I am still preparing porridge for DS. I have bought baby pasta but not try out yet. when can bb take mee sua and bread ? as for texture, DS does not chew his food yet, he swallows and even when i did not blend his porridge he still swallowed the minced pork, in the end he had hard poo poo, i think cos the food were not digested well ?

mummies, just like to know when would you let your bb try outside / grown up food ? DH wanted to let DS eat famous amos cookies, ice cream but I disagree.

re : teething
babydoll, i did not apply anything for DS when he teeths cos he is just cranky but otherwise ok. but this time round he is teething 4 teeth at the same time and gosh he is biting me like crazy !!! but i still did not give him anything special. I love pao seng drink too !

re : wolfberries
wonder if it is ok to give wolfberries to bb ?

yl: thanks for replying. I have to trial and error with fresh yogurt as starter too. Too bad the instructions are not accurate, wasted the milk a few times.

mami: my 10mo son loves to eat wolfberries that have been cooked in the soup stock (no salt added yet) or in his porridge, but since he only has his bottom 2 teeth and cant chew it throughly, we can see it coming out in his poo the next day, heehee.

if your son doesnt chew his food well yet, perhaps you might want to stop giving him meat for the time being. I haven't started on meats for my son either. he's on pasta or porridge with various veg cooked with chicken or pork soup stock.

Re: outside food, I wont let him eat outside food till he is past 1 yo and even then it must be certain foods only as I am quite particular about salt and sugar in his diet since his body is not able to process it yet so would prefer not to give them to him.

HI mami,

my gal not eating alot..thou she has 2 little up emerging teeth. mainly cereal and puree still, baby biscuuits, yogurt()am buying the bottles of yogurt fromn heinz), bread, some rice and noodles. Meat wise, she doesn't seem to like it, even pureed opens but i give her other "protein" food like tofu and spinach.

ask your Dh to wait a while more for the cookies and ice cream, eally too much sugar in them for our kiddo's gentle tummy. anyway, enjoy them while you can, soon they will be snatching from you and DH! lol.

The recent discussion on home-made yoghurt is great. Gretel and Sleek, have you managed to make it successfully?

BabyDoll,
thanks for the ikan bilis recipe. I've been wondering how to include that in babies' meals. Will try it when my daughter is ready to have porridge.

SNXC,
my daughter's reactions to unfamiliar people is very similar to yours! She's happy when my younger sis carries her, so-so when my Mum does and cries when my Dad talks to her! I visit them every weekend, hopefully, she'll take to them soon.

Mami35,
my daughter usually pulls her ears and scratches the area behind them, with quite a lot of force, when she starts getting sleepy. The funny thing is, she doesnt seem to find it painful. i certainly do! i wonder what's with our babies n self-inflicted pain...

ange: I've managed to make 2 rounds of yogurt successfully using fage total, http://www.totalgreekyoghurt.com/ as the starter
my boy also loves to scratch his ears when he wants to sleep, like you I dont understand how he doesn't find it painful even when it is sore or bleeding!

Hi sleek and ange,
my gal likes to scratch her head when sleepy... very forceful too.. but she look very cute when she doing hat! :p

ok, sleek, we come and eat yogurt already! you guys make me very gian to make my own yogurt too! but havent go buy the culture powder yet....

re : feeding
sleek, coolmama, i would have an uphill task if i dont feed DS with meat as i would get an earful from mil and DH. I am still blending DS porridge so i guess it is ok, I am just wondering when is DS ready for more coarse and textured food as he does not seem to like it, but is ok when it is biscuit. Again, mil is nagging me about blending porridge cos she says DS is old enough to be fed soft rice and blending is not necessary.

DH has a different view from me about outside food and feeding, he feels i am over reacting and being over protective. He feels babies should be exposed to such food.

sleek how do you cook the pasta ?

re : scratching
sleek, coolmama, ange, DS did that too with all his might and bleeding. So i resort to having him wear his mittens, even when he is now 10 mth i still let him wear it at night cos he still does it when he wakes up at night. Really headache about it. He also starts to scratch his head to indicate he is sleepy, but not as forceful but still leaving bits of scratches and blood on his scalp.

mami: actually you can stop blending his porridge as porridge is soft and you say he can eat biscuits, dont let it become a case of still eating only blended porridge at 3yo. my boy doesn't have blended foods ('cept those bottled ones), I just use the fork to mash them after cooking

re pasta: I'll just boil it in water till it is soft, almost mushy then add to homecooked veg or bottled food.

sleek, i did try to give DS porridge without blending, he just swallowed everything without chewing (but he will chew the biscuits !!!) , he ended up with hard poo for a few days i thought that might be cos he could not digest the bigger pc of food yet, i am not sure, but i will try again. How do you prepare the leafy veggies, beans and asparagus without blending ?

mami: I have not introduced beans or asparagus yet. but recently gave him some squash and as usual, just mashed with a fork after it has been cooked. for veg like spinach, just cut the leaves into very fine pieces and by the time they are cooked, it dissolves into the porridge.

Coolmama
beside vitakids the organic shop` in Great World City also hv the powder. I got mine from Greart World City. it's $30 per bottle.

I have 7 months old baby. He started on solid since 6 mth old.

I'm confused whether I better use the toyomi double boiler or slow cooker to cook baby's porridge.

Any mummies care to share with me what the difference between them?

Tks a lot in advance

i use zojirushi rice cooker for porridge when my boy was younger. works well for me. the porridge is quite mash too.

hi YL and mummies, do u know if the Shuttlechef or the equivelant can cook porridge mashy enough for babies of 8mths? i m thinking of cooking the porridge daily and bring to my mum plc every morning but i wont hv time to cook til its mashy at home. so i tot on the way when it reaches my mum plc it should be well cooked? if it can do the job, i considering of buying the expensive thing

the problem here is my mum will cook porridge for my DH, but she will cook the SAME thing everyday,. it happened to my son when he was ard 1yr+, refused to take porridge one day. i read that it could be due to the same old thing everyday...sick of it..so when i took over and chaged some vareiety, he began to like to eat again. But my mum is very stubborn sometimes, so rather than arguing with her, i tot if i make the porridge for her then she wont complain so much

re- porridge
i just used a normal pot to make porridge.
corn and carrot porridge so far its the most appealing to my daughter.

thanks sleek, will try later on cos these few days DS appetite is no good, taking only half a bowl only. not only that he is taking only 1 nap a day instead of 2, and crying a lot in the evening when it is time for the 2nd nap but just could not fall asleep.

eufraisa, i use normal pot and cook on stove to the consistency i want.

S@L, I have the shuttle chef but it is the 6L pot. I use it to cook porridge as usual and keep warm but it did not turn out to be mashy. But I believe if you cook it long enough it will be mashy. Then again how mashy do you want it ? If you can wait i can try out on the weekend when DH is around and i have more time to experiment and let you know the outcome.
By the way are you referring to the small shuttle chef that is retailing at $86 ?

mami, really? u can try out and let me know? ya i m referring to the small portable one.

i think if its soft enough for 8mth old bb whereby they dun usually chew n jus swallow.

Hi Coolmama,

Bought the yogurt culture last sat at the organic shop at harbourfront. It's abt $30. managed to get organic mee sua too. They told me me they have another outlet in clementi.

The Vitakids shop at vivo city does not have the yogurt culture and the salesperson is not sure if the other branches have it.

Decided to get slow cooker as it has more benefits and is most economical for me. Low in watts. Affordable in price. Hee...

YL, mami35. Tks for sharing

are you all sahm n bf moms?

it's tiring hor become a sahm n bf mom.

i gain 17kgs then lose 19kgs in 6mths... also turning into an ugly panda..

btw, is any of yours baby become fussy and irritating in the middle of the night when teething?
mine does. he wants to nurse but dun want to latch.. keep turning left and right and cry / scream a lot.. makes me frustated..

care to share?

I also use slow cooker to cook porridge. Much easier than cooking on stove. Many times porridge ganna burnt, maybe i dun stir often enuff or i put too little water? Only on weekends when my hubby is around to look after my DS, then i will cook on stove, it's faster as we usually need to go out on wkend. But i read fr somewhere (can't rem if it's First Food bk, saying that better dun use slow cooker as it'll destroy the nutrients).

Hi Eufrasia,
I'm SAHM n still bfing my 9mths old son. So good u've lost weight. I also want to loose weight too
still ve stubborn fat around my waist & arm, so sad can't wear back my old cloths. my stupid boobs become so big, can't wear s size blouse liao, even L size also must see cutting. So depressing
i've feeling so tired tat i dun bother to exercise. v bad hor !

I think ur boy feel painful to latch on cos of swollen gum, just imagine his mouth is full of ulcers... Will he stop crying when u nurse him? If so, maybe just comfort nurse him during teething period or try to rub teething gel on his painful gum.

I am quite bad, my boy starts to pick up pacifier when he's teething. He keeps waking up at nite for comfort nurse, so i stuff him w pacifier one nite & it works... but fr then on, he needs pacifier in order to zz. Bad also cos another bad habit to kick off... hopefully will wean off soon.