2007 Buangkok Mom??

Hi Wan,
Before we fly back last Wed, HK already recalled Yili yoghurt stick & the Taiwanese pdts made w tainted Sanlu milk product. A week prior to that, there was a recall of Campbell's soup as well.

We actually had some China brand yoghurt while in HK just a week b4 the news leak but fortunately, it isn't in the list till now.

I think HK will be badly affected bcos most of its pdts & raw materials r from China.
So I would advise to minimize consumption of Greater China's (Taiwan, China & HK) pdt & even developing countries' to play safe.

Always look at the country of origin esp if buying from Sheng Shiong or those ABC shops bcos they like to parallel import the same brands/items from another source which might not have the same manufacturing base as the original's.

Even during normal times, do try to avoid these shops for confectionery items as they do not have the proper warehousing facilities to keep confectionery at 18C or lower. So there is always a possibility of maggots or mould etc by keeping them in normal warehouses.

Hi Slimz,
Nestle already refuted the HK press & assured its milk pdts are not tainted. I was initially worried too bcos we took a few cans of milkmaid & Milo different from S'pore packaging while in HK.

Vamiga,

I'm planning to go hk end oct. any precaution, things need to bring? initially tot most of the things can buy there if not enuf. now better play safe, must bring more milk powder than required for the holiday

my bb is on nan pro now. so far so good

so sickening rite... those suffering kids so poor thing... i've threw away all baby bites liao.. haiz.. tats my boy's fav snacks leh.. gosh.. has been eating it for so long liao..

today's news say even potato crackers are affected. I just had it for snack at the office this morning. urrgghh! all china products are being checked now

its irritating lor ... now gotta chk everyting b4 buying le ... these chinese bizman really stoop low to get their margins .. urgh!

they kept the scandal under wrap until after olympics. yili was even the official drink for the atheletes. small consumption over short period is ok, but the newborns really suffer...

mb for service recovery, they should make the spacemen drink sanlu on the moon!

hoho.. gals.. i jus tested positive leh...

slimz,

can imagine how tired little princess is after the foto session.

I brought my children to take passport foto. meimei also cried

vamiga,

any new places u will recommend in hk for the kids? planning my itinerary now...

bo lor .. aft the photoshoot we went tampines mall walk walk (the photographer is @ tampines) she still ultra energetic.. tink she jux din like to keep changing clothes =P

hee.. thanks gals! eager to see my gynae on the 10th.. keke..

slimz! ur gal so cute and chubby leh! i like the ones with swimming costume!

Hi May,
So when will be ur EDD?
Y wait till so long then see gynae?

I still had almost a full box of baby bites leftover fr HK trip too. Kept it away & hope Want Want can clarify its status soon.

Hi wan,
U v funny!!
hehehee...:b

My sons ate some of those potato crackers during CNY too. My BIL still gave them extra packs to bring home. All eaten liao *faint*
Else I won't have bot such snack for them on my own accord.

How long will u be in HK?
Definitely better to bring ur own milk powder bcos imported stuff can b quite ex in HK. E.g. Enfragrow A+ 1.8kg (w/o 4xDHA) was S$60 compared to S$44+ in S'pore. I told hubby to bring 2 tins over b4hand. Instant Quaker oat is avail & easy to prepare if ur bb likes oat.

Nepia pants/diaper's agent is in HK, so prices is comparable to S'pore's promo price. Other brands r slightly more ex, unless promotions.

I had brought Jx to Disneyland, Ocean Park, Science Museum & Space Museum. He told me he likes all but would choose disney when i asked him to choose only 1 place to visit in future trip.

He loves the star ferry & half-hour ferry ride to Lamma Island & the tram rides too. Taking mini-bus to Stanley mkt & double-decker up the peak would be interesting experiences for the kids.
Try to go to the theme parks on weekdays when possible, else it would b v v crowded.

If u have time to spare, the kids will like the huge toy figures at Megabox but nothing much to shop there.

Hi slimz,
Can't access ur link:
"Bandwidth Limit Exceeded
The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to the site owner reaching his/her bandwidth limit. Please try again later."
Any other link?

my edd shld be 29may09... haiz.. i also hope to see my gynae soon.. but now only 6weeks.. and the available date is only 10oct lor....
gosh.. stuffs in hk is so exp ah.. their living standards are higher than ours leh!

Vamiga,

thanks for the info. I plan to go 5D4N. Must go places include Big Buddha, Disneyland, Ocean Park & visit relative. Others would be bonus cos old folks & children can't tahan so much walking. gotta do it at their pace. In fact, I also almost didn't make to up the steps to Big Buddha. Wonder if I can make it carrying meimei in the sling this time...

my hb is considering to bring slow cooker to cook porridge for meimei wor. otherwise, all the food very salty for bb...

cost of living in hk is high but their salary also higher. their housing are expensive but most of them can afford to stay in private condos. their houses are really small. if u think our hdb new flats' rooms are small, check out theirs. their cars are affordable but not their parking. parking lots cost more but they dun have ERP. public transport is better than ours, but very crowded at peak hour

May,

Try to involve ur boy during your pregnancy. some mothers bring their child to see the ultrasound of their sibling. I dunno if that really helps. my boy not interested but he sings to meimei through my tummy. I can still rem after meimei was born, she seems to recognise her brother's singing! amazing

dun knw why.. my boss is so cranky these days..argh.. keep crying for attention.. wat also cry.. buay tahan leh..

bo lar.. we officially and physically sty in here liaozz =D
mabbe one of these days can pop by ur plc =D

oh sure! but tis week i'll b at my mum;s plc coz hubby out of town... when he back then invite! keke..

tis morning had a huge scare u knw... had bleeding.. then my hubby rush mi down to sgh...
had a scan and phew.. bb is alright.. pregnancy is still early, bb only 6weeks and only 2mm now... doc says there's a blood clot thats y... then i was given a hormone jab and pills to take for 2 weeks...
hope everything will go on fine liao..

Wah, May take care!
Luckily ur hubby back in town liao, else v worrying if u r alone w a toddler during an emergency.
R u going to get a maid to help out?
My friend who is going to deliver her #3 in March also detected blood clot & it finally shranked after a month. So u dont worry but rest as much as u can.

Jx was v excited whenever he saw Jb during ultrasound, esp there's once we saw Jb waving at him when he talked to him.
Ha! But Jx was already 3yo+ then, so can understand what's going on. Mayb younger toddler will b still quite blur?

Slimz! Welcome to the neighbourhood!!
hehehee...
See u ard!!

Hi Wan,
U might enjoy taking the cable car to visit the big Buddha & the factory outlet shopping at Citigate, both right at Tung Chung MTR station. I didn't go to the big Buddha but spent a whole pm shopping at Citigate! hehehee...:b

Slow cooker abit bulky to hand-carry rt? Still have to worry abt breakage if check-in.
There's a type of travel cooker suitable for cooking porridge & noodle etc.
http://www.overseas.sanyo.com/products_catalog/products/home_appliances/kitchen_appliances/rn_38nf.html

On short trips, I usually don't bother to cook but give Jb Quaker instant oatmeal if feeding in hotel room & rice cereal to mix w some table food if outside & no suitable food avail.
Hotel buffet breakfast usually has plain congee so can just add a scrambled egg, baked tomato etc.

When outside in HK, usually I give Jb some of our plain rice,soften it w some soup if not too salty, or w hot plain water & add veg, fish, chicken etc. Sometimes, I'll order fish/minced pork/beef porridge/bee hoon soup 4 him. HK food can be quite salty, so everything just give in moderation.

may, take care. u need plenty of rest.

vamiga, thanks. we are bringing the travel cooker. intend to cook 2 portion of plain porridge to bring out in the thermal container and add ingredients from what we eat out. I agree hk food very salty. hk hotel has no breakfast provided

how was shopping at citigate? I don't think I can do much shopping for this trip. mostly sight seeing and visit relative

may,
i'm more than glad for an invite to ur plc =D
but will it b too much a hassle for u esp now dat u're expecting.. we go over ve to make u bz bz ... =D

may,

d u just started work again? cos u mentioned on 2oct abt ur boss. mb that contributed to ur stress

boss = my son.. haha
slimz, wan.. probably gotta wait till i stabilise first ba.. nowadays i keep resting on the bed... even using the laptop on the bed...
poor hubby will be in charge of the housework liao...

may,

I tot so! that boss is even more demanding at this age. my son was older when I was pregnant. ur son just started walking right? so must watch out for him every second.

vamiga,

I will KIV citigate. how long is it to travel from mong kong to citigate by MTR?

wan.. now my boss at my mum's plc liao.. will only bring him over when hubby not working...
i cant carry him.. so cant take care of him alone.. v tiring..

may, good to hear u have ur mum's help

I'm running after my girl now. she is super fast, either crawling on the floor, cruising around or zooming on walker. My son wasn't like that when he was a baby. hardly crawl, only started walking at 18mth. My back is aching badly...

ya.. realily thankful for a helpful mum.. else i dun knw wat to do...

usually my boy will jus wander around the house on his own.. either in his room playing his toys or playing with the magnets on the fridge...
at first quite kanjiong, will wan to follow him everywhere jus to make sure he's safe playing.. but haha.. now i jus trust him la

at home today after bring meimei for her jabs. will start packing my luggage for hk trip.

as long as u childproof the house, should be safe for him to play around. just make sure he doesn't put things in his mouth.

wan! enjoy urself and meimei too!
i was hoping to go on a short holiday wif hubby and my boy.. but guess got to shelf the plan first... hubby n mum are against the idea of mi going on a trip now.. =(

may, actually I postponed this trip since I was pregnant w meimei. I tot of gg after 1st trimester, then nearly blacked out. to play safe, decided to wait until now.

this is my 1st trip since i was pregnant w my son, ie. 5 yrs liao

Hi Wan,
When r u leaving?
It takes abt an hour to Citigate by MTR.
Have fun!!

Hi May,
I also forego free trips to Seoul & Krabi when preggie w Jb, just to play safe.
Travel can come later. Better to b safe than sorry.

vamiga, leaving on 30 oct, 3 more weeks to go...

slimz, not sure if that was u I met downstairs ard 7pm just now. d u recognise me? (with the dark blue sarong sling)

hmmmmm... wan huh ... i duno leh ..
but i was at downstairs (went ntuc) with my girl..
i veri bad at recog pple de =P
my girl was in a blue combi stroller ??

slimz, was ur hubby behind u pushing stroller? then must be u. I hesitated to say hello cos my son was hungry, gg for dinner at kopitiam

of course I dun mind. can't offer my place unless u want to go anchorvale

but may have to be after I come back from hk in nov...

slimz.. so gd! i also wan to pop by.. now really not convenient coz whole plc v messy..

btw gals.. i got spotting tis morning again..argh.. will b seeing my gynae tml.. he asked mi if the spotting is lesser now and if there's any cramp..since slightly better n no cramp, better bedrest and see him tml..

cant help but worry abt the bb.. haiz..

So nice to see so many buangkok mummies here. I m staying a bit further @compassvale 201D.. still walking distance lor, but new favorite is buangkok ntuc and the lai heng carrot cake. haha. Brought my 10mth girl there every weekend morning for breakfast and SO many babies and kids. Maybe some of you here lol. Brought my girl for a nice dip at the SK pool.. her first "swimming" experience.. love it (although I love it more than her).