(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

frostyfiona, my MIL will also be making red date + longan tea for me during confinement. She says can only drink that. Cannot even take plain water.

gardendreamz, kinda surprised that you're still marking exam papers.

I'm already on ML...leaving the marking to my colleagues. If I were to mark, I'd have 8 classes (about 300 scripts!) of Social Studies/History essays to mark. I feel a lil bad, but don't wanna regret getting all stressed up and affecting baby.

Been busy with my baby Natalie.
Attached her photo.
Take care all mummies
997622.jpg

997623.jpg

997624.jpg

girls, mum said e same thing to me too! no plain water.. omg.. how to quench my thirst leh?

sabrina, natalie is so cute =D.. u take care too & hear more from u soon!

i also went to drink milkshake just now but find it abit too sweet so never finish it. Me also same as you all, drink cold drink. Alot of oldies keep telling me not to drink too much or else next time bb will have asthma. But i really cannot tahan cos s'pore weather is very hot.

Natalie is so sweet!!!
seeing all ur babies make me more anxious to see my own baby lei....

ya, sadly to say, only longan n red dates drink is allowed...
for my cousin, she did not wan to do any confinement at all, thus she chose not to eat confinement food, and she only drank WARM plain water... i really not sure what this will lead to in future...but i choose to follow the traditional way lo...

any of u getting confinement food from www.newbaby.com.sg or any other catering companies?
I m deciding to get the 5 day package from newbaby and it cost $730 after TMC FBI discount...

or u getting CL? or MIL or mum cooking...

I was just wondering, at the point when we deliver, what do we drink in the hospital? Must we prepare the red date tea to drink?

sabrina, bb natalie looks so sweet! really starting to wonder how my little princess will look.

went to gynae today. she say bb engaged already. no wonder recently, have been feeling more aches in the pelvic area and lower back. i want to walk more, but my feet v swollen from water retention. so i'm gg swimming instead. hope it works as well!

congrats triniti!

chris, junnie, not sure if u still need advice on increasing bm. can check out the web for dr jack newman resources. he's a guru on bf topics.

there r several options to increase bm. can try physical simulation through freq pumping.. pump at least 7 to 8 times per day e.g. aft yr bb feed. also try to induce letdowns e.g. thru' breast massage before u pump, double pumping or try to imagine bb suckling or find ways to bond more with bb etc. dun forget to pump at nite coz the homone for milk prodn is highest then.

other than drinking papaya and fish soup, can try to take oats or just take fish. most important is to rest more and dun be stressed. take care and all the best

Managed to just briefly scan through the posts. Thanks for all the concern.

Am at Alvernia now. Bb was out 1 Oct, 8 plus am. She weighs 3.01kg, natural with assisted.

Gotta go breastfeed now, will post when I can.

bbwow, my mom-in-law will prepare the red date + longan tea for me to start drinking while still in hospital.

Congrats, Kris!

congrats kris...another bb with bday on a holiday for 12 years....

Tiffy, really? i thot confinement lady cost minimum 1,7k..... then if buy ingredients for food still have to pay her somemore...n food will be more becos she has to buy her share too..

congras Kris!! =)

sabrina
natalie is sweet looking!! =)

btw, I'm having tightening of the tummy area these 2 days n bb's engaged. Is this tightening braxton hicks or the real thing? The feeling comes quite frequent. I just went for my routine check up today n found I lost almost 1 kg in weight while my bb is 3.58kg at 37w6d. BB gained almost 0.5kg within the week. gyane didn't mention that anything except he's concern wif my weight loss so he's seeing me again on sat to do CTG. So far no show or anything that indicates labour but I'm kinda of worried n confused if the tightening I'm experiencing is the real thing. My gyna didn't do a VE to check if i'm dilated. how to differentiate the Braxton n real contractions?

sabrina...natalie looks so sweet

kris.. congrats..hv a good confinement..

to all mummy poping... i think u shd eat watever u feel like eating now, of cos @moderation.... if nt, cant 'enjoy' during confinement!! re fluid... of cos we hv to take the traditional logan red/black dates tea (depending on how your CL/mum/MIL prepared)... hmm... 4 me, i still take warm plain water on/off cos i find too much logan tea made me v heaty & i dun wish to hv UTI again (i had it for my #1 as nt taking enuff water)...

miumiu..thks 4 your advice on bf...i'm quite sad no time to pump, min can only try 1x per day for past few days & supply is only 10ml... today even worst, no time at all..v. stress....cos brought bb lance to PD and his 2nd blood test showed jaundice 309 (ysterday was 284), hence, got to admit him (we choosen NUH nearer to our house).. now he under light, hopefully result ok after 24hrs, if nt cant discharge...though tonite can hv a good sleep w/o nite feeding (even got CL i still wake up everynite to 'look out')...but miss him sooo much liao...tml going to visit him again...

lavender.. i tink if gynae didnt chk VE tat's means u not dilated yet... if the pain getting unbearable & more frequent/closer..tat's contractions.... if only tummy tight is not...

hello mummies, just came back from gynae visit! baby is now 2.7kg at abt 36+ weeks (all my weight gain went to him!). not engaged yet but head very low liao... gynae use his finger to feel inside and say that he can feel baby's head liao~ wooo... getting more and more excited... kekeke...

anyway, after delivery cannot drink water liao... must rem to ask your MIL or mum or hubby to boil longan + black dates water and bring to hospital

Just to share a brief birth story

6pm Admit into hospitial. Nurses unable to tell if my waterbag leaking, but since I was having some contractions plus 1cm dilated, decide to go ahead with the birth

7pm Had dinner
8pm Put on drip for antibiotics plus drug to increase pain.
12am Contractions start
2am Ask for epidural 3cm dilated by now.
2:30am Epidural inserted. Started having bad shiverings plus vomitting.
3:30am 9cm dilated. The wonders of epidural
4am !0cm dilated, but gynae say to wait
Meanwhile, vomit plus shiver plus try to sleep but cannot
8am Gynae arrived. Start pushing but lack of strength due to lack of sleep, agree to forceps

Bb arrived!!!

congratz Kris! 6cm dilation in 1 hr! wow.. i want epi.. i want epi.. ha!

unice, asked mum abt e drink to consume while in hospital.. seeing that i m a 'water tank', she agreed to let me still drink cool boiled water in hospital but must drink e tea while at home.. and mum will be doing confinement for me. tink ordering confinement food cheaper else all e other costs u have mentioned earlier will factor in. moreover, a good confinement lady will set u back abt 1.8k?

pinky's baby very cute leh! i feel like pinching those cheeks.. =) thanks for uploading dodo!

Congratulations Kris and gingerleaf. MIA yesterday because gone for checkup. My gynae told me I still can work next week cause baby's head yet to engage. So sian...Feeling so guilty that I am going to take AL next week.

I have been trying to eat the food i wanted to eat. Sunday just went for chilli crabs. Maybe that is the reason that I put on 9/10 of the weight and my baby just took up 1/10...heehee.

I also take cold drinks almost everyday...cannot stand the heat in my body. There is really alot of believes to follow.

Some of my husband's relative even tell me not to shout or scream during my delivery so that i can keep the strength to push. Have to tahan the pain and don't use epidual.What sorts of things is that? I was so pissed off that I just told them off. Just feel like complaining cause dunno why my temper seems to elevate recently.

congrats kris!! just curious, how come u have shiverings and vomittings? side effects of epi?

junnie: what's UTI? was wondering if i can drink plain water besides red date tea during confinement, cos i'm always thirsty and drinking such drinks will make me thirstier! foreigners dont drink such stuff but they still survive, right?

Congrats kris...
another childrens day baby... good to hear both mummy and baby are doing well..... wah..u got side effect of epis manz... never mind..all over liaoz...enjoy baby k

zinterz...yep..its a side effect of the epi....and UTI is urinary tract infection....

pinky..ur baby is really chubby at birth...so cute....sleeping blissfully...haha...so adorable...

eh...drinking the red date tea dun make u more heaty meh?? then will it lead to constipation arh?

hippo,

ya, i feel like pinching his chubby cheeks too!

i think he looks bigger than his borned weight hor...

hi unice,

Mine CL charge me $1600. Recommended by my hubby's colleague who had finished her confinement in july. Her duties: take care of bb and me, wash bb's and my clothes by hand, wash my hubby's clothes, cook for whole family including my MIL's share and of course her own share too, sweep and mop the floor.

hehe pinky bb v cute

WAH! all the babies are so cute!!! hee...excited thinking about mine too. wonder who he'll look like more - daddy or me?? hahaaa....it seems personality wise he's starting to resemble the daddy oredi. gets very excited when i eat good food.

Tiffy, u got a good deal for your CL! I booked mine at $1900 (including agent fees) and she only washes my clothes plus baby's clothes, and only cook for me n hubby. but oh well, booked liao, plus she looks quite reliable...

She will be sleeping with me n bb in the master bedroom. my poor hubby gotta go sleep in the spare room which has been doubling up as a store room...

karrie
hehe, i will let my bb sleep with CL. When bb need feeding, then I will tell her to come over to my bedroom to call me lor.

wow, nice to see so cute bb photos of pinky & joyce... i still cant load mine cos poor hubby had been v tight up since i delivered - looking after my gal + house chores + lance admitting @nuh, today he returns to work...hiaz... lucky lance can discharge today, going to pick him up later on...(jaundice dropped after 24hrs of phototherapy 309 to 207 tis morning).

hippo, tiffy, karrie.. my CL charged 1.8K, doing standard chores, cook 4me + family (but my mum refused to join in so she settled her own) & look after bb, so far she didnt wash my clothes as i dumped mine togtehr with my gal+hubby in washing machine.. my CL will request for machine wash if she finds too much bb clothing lor... & she only clean/mop the kitchen, not whole house. overall for tis 6days, i rate her 7/10 as i dun rely her on nite shift since bb throw out milk (i mean she still feed bb at nite, but i'll also wake up to keep a lookout esp feeding/poo)...day time is ok. (cos cant expect a 50+ to b so efficient esp wake up middle of nites so many times)...

bbunny..thks 4 reply zinterz 4me.. ya, i do hv side effect w epidural, during & after inserting was shivering like mad but after a while ok... then vomit/giddy only comes after delivery which lasted for only a while. it all depends on individual reaction w epi... some ppl dun drink plain water at all during confinement, but 4 me, i drink warm water on top of red dates tea, cos if not i find difficult to pee & UTI sure attack sooner or later...

karrie...my CL requested a room for herself & bb when she arrived, but too bad i told her we got only 3 bed room, my mum occupied one, no spare room avail so she got to sleep with me, where my hubby & my gal sleep in the smallest room which supposed to b our 'storeroom' (ours old type 4 room flat no store room at all).

congrats Kris!!!

All the bb photos are so adorable!!!

I am also hiring CL at 1.8K. she is on standby now, hopefully she is good.

junnie, glad to hear that lance can go home liao! =) take care ya? dun worie abt e photos, just take more now and upload them at one go so we can ogle! haha!

hi junnie,
i did told my CL beforehand that my MIL is staying wif us so she said no problem in cooking 1 more extra share. As for washing clothes, she said she will wash. For bb's clothes, she said will handwash. But of course, my MIL have to wash her own clothes lah, hehe.
As i'm a 1st time mummy, i don't know anything abt taking care of bb, so i have to learn from the CL lor. Junnie, think you have to ask ur hubby to clear some of the thing in the house or else will be v messy becos you do not have store room.
My bb's things getting more and more so my hubby clear her cupboard empty for me to put bb's things or else her cupboard is full with luggage and bags. Now all bags is inside the store room liao, only left 2 big luggage which is placed on top of her cupboard.

So exciting to see bb photos.They are so sweet and cute !

I engaged my CL thru agency and paid $1850. She will sleep wz bb in a room and mainly take care of me and bb. She will hand wash bb n my clothesn machine wash hb clothes. She will also do house chores like sweeping n mopping of the house twice a wk. Hopefully the food she buy doesn't cost too much but I read in other thread tat the food alone will cost roughly more than $1k. Plus 2 red packets, hmmmm...the cost for confinement does cost a lot. Rally envy those ang mo dun even need to do confinement at all.....