(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

During confinement we cant take plain water but we can drink milo & the red date tea
jayden & joyce baby is cute

Take Care

sanbebe, you are right. Total cost for confinement is quite costly including the marketing items. At 1st, i had booked 1 CL who charge me $1800 but luckly in time to change to this $1600 since I haven't pay any deposite to that CL who want to charge me $1800. Save $200 from here, and can used part of it to give as 2 red packets to the CL who charge me $1600.

speaking of ang bao, anyone knows how much to give to CL? Is there a market rate?

Btw, can we still drink cold drinks during maternity? Does COLD red date tea counts? HEHEHE...

wahahaha~ bbwow... you ah... no cold drinks and no plain water~ and cannot drink those left overnight one ok? must be freshly boiled everyday

Just came back from hospital yesterday.. had delivered on 1st oct.. Now super busy.. No time to update and read through..will update pics soon..

congrates to mummies who jus delivered and mummies who haven.. take care!

Joyce, jovial,

kindly update.. thanks

Babys Name: Jerric Chiew
Baby's weight/length: 2.900kg / 47cm
Mode of delivery: Natural without epi.

CONGRATS Joshmummy!

another Children Day baby!
take care & rest well... look forward your little prince's photo soon oh!

CONGRATS Joshmummy!

another Children Day baby!
take care & rest well... look forward your little prince's photo soon oh!

Congrats, joshmummy!

So exciting - oct mummies popping one after another. Wonder when my turn will be...

Congrats all mummies who have popped!

Wow i hardly get the chance to get online these days...but it seems like each time i manage to, SO MANY have become proud mommies of cutie pie babies liao!! WELL DONE!!! :D

OOh wonder when it'll be my turn! :p

Hi mummies, I have a question about storing of sterilised bottles. After I've sterilised them, can I store them all in one container and take out what I need as and when I need it? Will the bottles left in the container remain sterilised?

congrats joshmummy!! u can discharge after only 1 day?! wow.. n w/o epi somemore, how brave of u..

my CL charge 1.8k, wash bb n my clothes, cook for me, incl red date drinks, herbal water for bathing, sweep, mop flr, take care of bb n me, but as i want to bf at nite, prob she only wakes up once in a while to change nappies, if nec.. dun incl washing hubby's clothes leh

hope she's ok n dun fly kite, had a hard time finding tis replacement after the previous one fly kite, sigh

but now, just looking forward to darling princess' arrival

Hi all! JUz to share.

Baby Choong Guanwen has arrived on the 25th Sep. (mid-autumn festival) after almost 20 long hours of labour.

24th Sep
0930: Induce 1st tablet to open cervix
1430: Frequent contractions kicked in
1530: Went to gyne's clinic
1600: 2nd tablet for induce cos cervix only 1.5cm
1630: Doc asked me to admit into normal ward to wait as it'll be painful
1800: water broke but still only 1.5cm dilated
1930: checked into labour ward... pain getting really intense. Deep breathing & oxygen mask
2330: Surrendered & asked for epidural cos only 2cm dilated. *sob*
25th Sep
0200 - 0600: Felt pain even though there is epidural. One side numb, other side not numb. Kept asking for help & weeping liao cos BB's heartbeat a bit irregular. Moreover, so many wailing of babies being born in other wards. Super stress.
0630: Nurse checked. 3cm dilated. I almost want to give up liao.
0830: Nurse says I'm ready. I can't believe it.... started getting ready & teaching me to push
0911: Baby Choong was born! Phew & yeah!!!

Moral of story: Don't give up. Hubby's support is utmost important. He is my pillar of strength.

Now that BB is here, there are lots of changes & adapting to do. Really steep learning curve & sleepless nights esp now that i'm trying to TBF him....
Good luck to those who are still waiting & congrats to those like me have popped.
P/S: no time to upload pic. Feeding time....

Finally managed to log in now.
I have delivered my little princess, Kelly on the 28th Sept.

BB weight 3.5kg / 51cm via emergency c-section
Just came back from hospital yesterday and now trying to cope with the new addition!

Right after I went to sleep on my last post, my water bag burst and was in labour for ard 10hrs but I'm only able to dilate to ard 5-6cm and bb started to get stressed inside and hence went for emergency C-section.

Verdict, my pain ratio = 0 and epidural was my saver after 3hrs .....

karrie
i'll just mark whatever i can, n if i happen to pop b4 i finish, then no choice lor, pass on to colleagues. but i find it good to stay busy at work, coz it prevents me from getting overly anxious n too panicky about when bb's gonna b out. also hopefully the walking will help...

when's ur EDD?

sabrina, pinky, joyce,
ur little darlings look absolutely cute! thanks for sharing!

hippo,
clarified wif my mum, she say even if water is warm/hot also cannot drink, only can drink the longan red date drink. unless its milo or milk. oh dear... i had thought i could at least drink some water or something! hopefully won't get UTI. keep fingers crossed...

frostyfiona,
does red longan tea kept overnight in a thermos flask count? not freshly boiled but still warm ok?

unice,
wow... ur hubby can do confinement for u? pei fu pei fu! dun think my hubby know anything about this!!!

joshmummy,
congrats! how did u manage without epi? amazing... take care, rest well!

cin,
thanks for sharing ur birth story. woah... it was a really long journey but the result was super rewarding. hope when my turn comes, hubby will try his best to support me. he thought of bringing his computer game to play while waiting for me when labour starts. *faint*

totoro,
congrats! hope to see pictures of ur little princess soon. take care!

congrats to mummies who hv already popped!hv nt been posting for quite sum x liao...but did read on all the posting everyday..kekekeke...m in my 38wks nw,scared and excited..cos m hme alone and told bb can oni cum out after tis fri cos daddy will oni b bk in twn by then and he will b on leave liao..

Congrats all mummies who have popped!

Fell down in my office toilet yesterday coz the floor was very slippery . Got panicked , went to see Gynae , did a CTG , bb heartbeat fine . Was told to monitor bb's movement , so far so good. hope everything will be fine .

well done CiN! 20hrs!!!!

congrats totoro!!!

do take care leona...glad that you are fine.

Check with you mummies, I bought some bb clothes from the wholesale shop opp si ma lu guan yin temple. as I was washing them last week, realised that the clothes are a little bit rough. not sure whether I want to let my ah boy wear leh. Any advice? or should I get softer bb clothes?

thanks mummies for sharing abt confinement ladies

think i dun have a place for her to zzz in too, so no point engaging one lo...
hubby has to xin ku abit washing all baby n my clothes lo cos i cannot touch too much tap water

he oso has to boil longan & red dates tea the whole month , plus, he has to do housework for the whole month....poor thing...& no extra $1.8K (CL pay),no ang pow for him...heehee

WAH!!! me no log in for the afternoon and so many announced arrivals already...hehe...congrats congrats congrats

no worries junnie..me kpo lah..haha..also know u might not be able to log in regularly..got bb to look after now...but hor..now i really want to try wo epi...me dun like the vomit/giddy feeling coz im prone to motion sickness..and it takes me 2-3 days to get over that feeling.. think i try bear with the pain...

hhmmm....ok lah..if can drink milo as substitute...but hor..if no drink water...then wun the urine be super concentrated and the kidney abit upset?? wats the reason cannot drink water? anyone knows?

cin & totoro, CONGRATZ!

leona, take care and be very careful ya? glad u r fine..

gardendreamz, my mum also said cannot one.. but i begged her to at least let me have a good time in e hospital b4 discharge & real confinement time. thus, she reluctantly allowed e water drinking lo.. hope she keeps her word man! =)

unice, i tink ur hb will gladly do all these for u.. so sweet leh! dun have to "pay" him la.. u have already "paid" him for being preggy, enduring all inconveniences and later giving birth to a healthy & cute baby lo! keke..

wow, more mummies have popped! congrats

qoobee, guess it depends on how sensitive ur bb's skin is.. if u r concerned, maybe can get a couple more softer ones, just in case, or wait till bb's out to see if the clothes r ok with bb..

unice, so nice of ur hubby to help out during confinement, mine kept saying dun expect him to help out during wk days cos he need to work, haiz..

any idea why cant drink water? tink i'll get more thirsty after drinking red dates tea or milo.. plus threat of UTI, hmm..

dodo, how r u feeling so far? i mean ur movements, any swelling, pains etc? i feel miserable leh. haiz. itz pain everywhere.. n my legs are so swollen and getting worse. i dunno how long more i can tahan liao le. actuali ML starts 2mro but thinking of going home early today. i can't walk properly without pain so going to the toilet is such a chore! =(

Hi zinterz,

the old wives tale is that if you drink water you will be very bloated, water retention, hong and what not.. but how to don't drink water? hehe for my first pregnancy, i added lots of water to the red date tea to make it more diluted and less heaty and taste more like water haa

hippo,

poor thing... gal, i think u really shd go home and rest today, dun overwork urself.. work can never be finished, must take care oh.. tihnk the main priorty now is having good rest and preparing the arrival of our babies
i started taking mc today, legs not really swollen but duno why a bit painful... and backache on n off.. really tiring loh.. so decide to rest at home and wait for my D day...:p

unice,

if i remember correctly, yesterday was ur birthday right? Happy Belated Birthday! sorry for the late wishes... May all your dreams come true, and most important of all, deliver a healthy & chubby bb!!!

graden dream, some of the aunties told me cannot take those leftover food and drink during confinment. cos wait got "wind". so every meal freshly cooked and the longan tea freshly boiled everyday. i dunno whether keep in the thermo flask overnight consider leftover or not... but anyway, better dun take the risk lah... i rather listen to the aunties.. hahaha...

thanks dodo.. tink i will wrap up e loose ends here and go home liao le.. u poor thing also la.. seen e doc or keeping to ur appt 2mro? u rest well too. tink i can go home and slowly clean up corner by corner of my house. at least not stressed and i can sleep or rest anytime i wan to .. =D

unice's bday? happie belated birthday! and may all things great & beautiful come ur way... =)

unice,happy belated bday

gardendreamz,it better not to take leftover overnight food during confinement. i agree with frostyfiona, don't take the risk.

Hi junnie, haha glad im not the only one who's not sleeping with hubby during confinement period...i told a few frens abt it and they were like "how can??" but i dun want bb to sleep in the dusty storeroom lah...hence this arrangement.

gardendreamz..ok..now im tempted to ask my colleagues if they have scripts to let me mark haha...u're right it takes ur mind off things! my EDD is 22 Oct but my c-section is scheduled on 16 Oct because my bb is in breech...

As for drinking water during confinement...luckily my mom or mil didn't say anything abt that so I'm just gonna act blur and continue drinking water muahahahaa...i cannot stand it if i can't have water!! and i'm gonna bathe too!

Congrats all mummies who have popped!Good Job!!!

I have a query here. My mum who is doing confinement for me always asked me not to wear sleevless shirt not to wear so short pant ...
But the weather is so hot nowadays, anyone here have the same problem as me.. Do u all think is fine?

karrie, u so gd..can act blur n drink water. i'm not allow to drink water and will use herb to bath. but once reach aftnoon when my MIL went to work, i'm going to on aircon to cool down myself during my confinement, hehe.
My sis in-law told me for 1st mth, let bb sleep with CL, so that I can recover my health faster. She said we only recover 80% in the 1st mth, so we need plenty of rest or else will take longer time to recover. That why i will still sleep with my hubby and let bb sleep with CL. 2nd mth onward, bb will sleep together with us in our bedroom cos easy for me to take care after CL left.

Forget to add the vital information of my BB yesterday.
He weighs 3.28kg, 50 cm. Natural with Epi. @ week 39.

For those whose hubbies are doing the confinement, be prepared for adjustment. For my case, MIL cooks & does the laundry for us but we are doing the rest so can be quite stressful cos hubby still has to work. I've been touching water like nobody's biz cos have to wash & sterilise breast pump & bottles after every use. Then have to bathe BB, change diapers etc. Sweat like crazy partly due to nervousness so totally did not heed the advice of not touching water or wearing long sleeves or not using the fan. =p Really lack of sleep.... logging in only to keep myself sane. Have to jia you.

Tiffy, yah...luckily my parents and my in-laws are the modern sort...we all think confinement practices like dun bathe, dun drink water prob meant for cold/temperate regions in ancient China. We're living in TROPICAL Singapore! How can apply the same things here??

Yeah lots of ppl also advised letting bb sleep with CL so that hubby n i can get better rest...but logistical constraints lah. that's the downside of not having your own place to stay in. we're staying with my hubby's parents, my hubby's stuff collected over the years is everywhere and it was hard enuff trying to get him to clear them out of our room!

oh karrie, my hubby do not have any crazy collection of things that will take up lots of space. haha. In fact, my bb's bedroom is full of bb's things, haha. Same lor, my MIL had a room to herself cos she stay wif us. I have no problem in term of space in the house as mine is a resale 5 room in woodlands and it is spacious.

Think drink abit of water won't cause any effect lah. Those angmo don't drink red date tea like us, they drink water too mah.haha

Cin, how abt trying to wear glove when u washing n sterilising the bottle. Think when i'm doing confinement, if my CL don't know how to operate the sterilizer, i will tell her to wash the bottle then i will sterilise it, v easy for me, just press button to sterilise only mah, hahaha.
These few days v hot, must be tough for u, just endure ok.

Congrats, CIN and totoro!

Leona, it must have been frightening! Glad you are fine.

frostyfiona, tiffy, if the food is cooked, say, 4-8 hours before the time to eat, is it ok? Or is it as bad as eating overnight food?

I went for my checkup today and doc said baby is about 2.8kg now at 37+ weeks. She gained about 300g in 3 weeks. But my own weight is the same. I guess that's a good thing?
Doc also said my baby's head is "almost engaged". My checkups will be weekly from now on. Getting closer! A little nervous and excited at the same time...

tiffy, you stayed at woodlands too?? me too! i think we can still touch water, but best is dun let the water dry itself... like bathe baby all that liao, then quickly wipe yourself dry lor... hubby still allow me to wipe my body but strictly no bathing and washing hair... sobz... but he say is for the best for myself...

valerie, i am not too sure leh. i heard the best is to cook the food before you eat. but the pig trotter vingear is ok i think.. can cook one pot and drink for the day.. of cos no leftover also..

HI all mummies!!
im back home now.
super engorged since yesterday. i think im a cow or somthing, kept dripping milk. hubby so bad somemore, ask me turn off the tap. zzz. and baby is like a sponge, drink non stop.. nipple so sore liao. sob.
will update more later.

i recall vaguely reading somewhere that long time ago, women have to chop logs to start fire to boil water to bathe, very tiring, hence they were told not to bathe instead.. but s'pore so hot how not to bathe, plus cant imagine so dirty n sweaty carrying bb around or BF somemore!

as for red dates tea, tink i'll ask nurse b4 i discharge to see if i can drink plain water on top of tea, hehe..

cheers mums n MTBs!!