(2007/07) July 2007 MTBs

1265139.jpg
1265140.jpg

Cheok, nana
Yo lor easier to say than done.. now they're much better oredi, prob coz of see my gal big n healthy or we're live far away (hehe)

Nana,
Really? i must apply another documents? do i have to pay extra?

would like to ask about jumperoo..

i know its a bit late... but it turns out that kaelyn love to be in it.. was wondering if will it be a wasted purchase since she is turning 8mths soon??

dorami : NICEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE kaelyn's schedule for photo shoot on the 10th.. hehe... when she turn 8mths... where u have yr photo taken?

Irene: instead of buying it, why don't you rent it for a month? Oh yah, I bought the high chair today, thanks!

Dorami: nice photos! Where did you have them taken?

gugi.. hee.. thks

irene.. mine was w foto-u.. whr u takin yours??

peck/jillian.. it's foto-u.. super tiring.. hav to make him smile is so difficult to make him smile.. but luckily stil managed to get sme gd shots

dorami, ya that's the diffiicult part lor... but look at the foto.. worth it wor...
quick quick!! go upload in your blog, i wanna see more hee

gugi
not too sure, as the application for maid is to work in s'pore, so if she were to go to another country, maybe some documentation needs to be done?? maybe can check with MOM?
as my sis-IL has a fren who initially wanted to move back to BKK to give birth and wanna bring her maid along, and think needs to apply for some documents.

dorami
hee, oooh jo is topless? cold or not?? :p
but it seems that he smiles so readily.

irene
hmm, yeah y dun u rent it? and is kaelyn very chubby? it seems that jumperoo will get abit squeezy liao. what if she will wanna be trying to walk rather than be in jumperoo in a few mths time?

nana.. no wor.. v hav to do peek-a-boo behind the photographer n make monkey faces at him.. my hb, maid n i so tired at the end of the 2 hrs haha

they lower the temperature of the studio when v took of his clothes.. surprising he smile more readily when he is nake haha

oh forget to let u gals know.. kaleyn can drink from a straw already!!!!!!!! hehe... i tried it yesterday... n she figure it out all by herself hahaha

hey guys, just wanna share something a ittle upsetting

Ash has been making these jerky movements lately. very scary lookin..

like involuntary spasms

twitch aalmost... it's happning more often now.

only discovred abt a week plus ao.. waiting for PD to call back. hope it's not serious.

could be neurological.. really dont know..

plspray its nothing

dorami...jo is sooo cute

jillian/irene, wat high chair u mummies toking abt? i intending to get one for rachel also. pls recommend. Tks.

amber, sorry to hear that. maybe u wanna bring her to KK. Rachel went thru the neurological scan as well. all turns out fine. will pray for u.

dorami : yeah mine also photo-u... hehe..cant wait!...

jumperoo: yeah i was thinking renting also.. but u gals think a waste if i do so?? or should i rent other type of toys like the learn ard playground

hmm.. highchair huh?? the one that i bought is quite good.. safety ist..

i got another ikea one... its a very simple design.. and kaelyn love to sit in it too hehe... i think the most impt is yr bb must be comfy in it..

i like the FP rainforest highchair!!!! but a bit too ex i find hehe... there are a lot of models ard... u could drop by robinson/ck tang or those bb hypermarts to have comparison...

Amber,
It probably(and hopefully) nothing.. def will pray 4 lil Ash!

Irene,
If renting then prob not a waste lor..
Its true what Nana said, if too chuby then tight area bit squeezy, my gal tight still can manage quite easily, but my mil just "alter" it for her a month ago so become bigger n more wind for her =)

Re: High chair
I've bought mine last month from COMBI, she loves it. the back cushion soft. she likes the high chair better than those bumbo seat.. such a waste leh. If i know, i wouldnt buy bumbo seat.

Amber: Hope Ash is alright.

Yvonne: Here is a pic of Ally in her new chair. If you're looking for something to put on the floor, this one has a good solid base.
1265433.jpg

hello mumsies,

thanks for your support..
spoke to her PD and shes asked us to record on camera the spasms. she said it could be a reflex,.. like a twitching habit or it cld be a form of seizures or leading to seizures.

God i hope it's jusr a reflex.. i dont mind if she grows up and looks weird or has involuntary spasms.. i'd much rather tht thn seizures.

i'd much rather non at all..

i cldnt get much on camera and hb going off on business trip tmr.. sigh wish he were here to see this through
if i cant get video footage thn have to wait a day or so before seeing PD

yvonne, remember you telling abt Rachel's scan.. wasnt painful was it?

irene.. i'm sure u'll enj it.. tiring but worth it like peck says when u see c end results hee

as for the jumperoo.. i tink it's quite worth it.. jo loves it

similac milk powder

hb juz lugged bac 8 cans fr jurong polyclinic.. each tin cost 29.90! so much cheaper than the supermkts.. mummies who r interested better go grab them.. heard the promo is on for a mth only

hey all! thank you for your concern on lissy.. she better; as in no more throwing up but the temp is stil a bit high. was having difficulty getting her to take her med but i used reverse psychology and it works: i carried wairah and told wairah(in front of lis) that big sister is so smart and take her med diligently. wairah was looking at me blankly.. hahah.. but it works! lis was ever so eager (and ego!) to show kiddo that she's one brave elder sis so she take the med without force.. solve one problem.

I think this is one of the probkem we face as a mother; be it working mom or SAHM. when our child starts school and gets exposed to germs and external environment and virus from other chidren (or teachers/ outside ppl); they tend to get sick more easily.. worse is when there's more than one kid at home. when one gets sick, the other(s) is more likely to get it too

and yah, it takes a lot for working mom to break the work routine and tend to a sick child's demands. and sometimes the work place can be a damn bitchy place with inconsiderate bosses & co-worker who just don't simply understand the 24/7 "job" we as moms take upon ourself. there was once lis got sick and my monster-in-law called my office to ask me to take lis to doc as she was throwing up milk each time my mil feed her. i told my boss i need to apply half day in afternoon to take my girl to clinic. you know what? she got the cheek to ask me if there is anyone else who can take my girl to clinic, can't my mil do it?? goodness!! i gave her a cold look and said my child is sick and i want to be the one taking her to the clinic. and there isn't anything urgent nor important to be completed that very day! i think God wanted to show her something: the following week her daughter fall sick and she took time off to send her girl to the clinic. i wish i could have the priviledge to ask her the very thing she ask me then.. then again, that would make the same as her right?

dorami
that is a nice photo shoot! i think i'll do one of my 2 gals

Amber,
babe i hope Ash is ok.. pray for you and her

irene,
wow! thats great! i gave wairah straw and she chew on it.. guess not her time yet..

Hello gals

My internet connection was down all day so only just managed to log in and read posts/emails. Please SMS me if you need to reach me urgently ok? Suspect my internet connection will be patchy over the next few days until HB sorts it out.

Also, I'm going to break this post into a few parts, just in case I lose my connection again.

Amber: Oh no babe, just read abt Ash. You started noticing the spasms last week? Do they tend to get worse at certain times of the day, eg after eating or waking up or when she's sleepy? Do hope she'll be okay - hopefully it's a passing thing. I will definitely say a prayer for her tonight! When are you going to see the PD?

Dorami: Handsome Jolovan!! Such a cute little guy! Does Foto U have a special package for baby shots or did you just fall under the Family Photography category? Could you share details of the package - think I shld get some shots taken of Ems (just Ems, I'm way tooo F A T to be captured on film, haha) for my MIL and other relatives.

Irene: Can you recommend a high chair for under $100? Or is that too tall an order - maybe $150? Ems already has a fantastic Svan one for home, which we love, but I'm thinking of getting one for my parents' place and don't want to spend a fortune on that one. But I do want something rsbly sturdy and suitable for my pint-sized bb. Any recommendations?

Bedebe: Oh no, didn't realise Veve was constipated, good that PD got that sorted! Did you try giving Veve prune purees - wonder if that might work for the future in case this happens again. Always does the trick with Ems; in fact it makes her poo several times in a day (prob not good also lah).

Cheok: I totally agree with Bedebe! A lot of relatives have really outdated ideas abt child care, try not to take it to heart. I know it's easier said than done and I know how upsetting it is to hear these things sometimes. On a funny (maybe somewhat related) note, I found out from my granny today that I was fed only FM from birth to 6 months, and only FM + Nestle rice cereal from 6 - 12 months. I only got other foods after my first birthday. TERRIBLE right?!?
Can you imagine if I tried to do that to Ems now?

Irene: Wow, straw?!!? How did you teach her? Just stick the straw in her mouth?

Susu: I hear you mama! PU/PD is tough isn't it? My heart just wasn't in it today. Actually felt kinda lousy the whole day, very listless and tired - not sure if my body is fighting off a cold which my HB had recently. Maybe. Anyway, I PU/PD-ed without much enthusiasm and Ems only took two single-cycle naps in the day time. Then she went to bed at 6:30pm, woke up at 7:15pm and had milk and went back to sleep with PU/PD (not a big struggle) and then woke up at 10pm. I BF-ed her and tried to PU/PD but she was quite awake. Eventually, couldn't take it any more - my back was killing me! - so hb took over. And it took him at least 30 mins to PU/PD her. Sigh. Hope she sleeps thru tonight. (She did last night, which was a huge YAY!)

1266085.jpg
1266086.jpg
1266087.jpg

pict 1 : lis & wairah reading; pict 2 : wairah cruising in her arms-reach co-sleeper; pict 3 : wairah's attempt to drive

yolks, babe hope you'll get your good night sleep, and Ems too.

i'm joining the girls in lala land now!

Kat: Thanks very much for the info! Yes, the site is very slow - comme un escargot (sorry, been listening to Ems' French poetry CD)

Nor: Oh dear, is Lis feeling better yet? Wairah and her must have been happy to spend the afternoon with you. Give Lis a hug from me!

Jillian: Hmmm...Veebee play-yard and Ems. Still a bit too early to say, I think. I placed loads of toys inside and I was able to hang lots of pull toys, toys with ring connections etc from the connecting columns, so she can crawl to different columns to get to diffrent toys But she's only happy to be there IF THERE IS SOMEONE SITTING NEXT TO IT TALKING WITH HER AT ALL TIMES. To me, it kinda defeats the purpose. Was hoping that I could leave her for say 20-30 mins during play time in the yard, but she fusses. She wants someone to sit next to her and talk to her while she plays with her toys. Oh and on the first two days, she couldn't pull to stand on the perimeter of the Veebee as it's soft mesh and she had nothing to hold onto. But guess what? She's now figured out that if she places her palm on the soft mesh and bears her weight against it, this gives her sufficient stability to place her other palm slightly higher and so on...until voila, she's standing up and calling out to us. *Faints*

yolks, actually i only took half day morning as lis was better by late morning. in fact she was dancing along to Hi-5! went to office in afternoon as i had some urgent testing and a meeting. wairah cried when i walked out the door.. my heart aches!

Nor: So glad Lis is not throwing up! I like your reverse psych trick, haha Wairah is your unknowing accomplice, so cute
Yeah, it's gonna be terrible when I go back to work - can imagine being really torn. My "team" can barely manage on a day-to-day basis; think it'll be a nightmare if Ems gets sick etc. Oh well, will worry abt that later on. No pt worrying now right? Goodnight babe - hoping for a gd night for you too!

bedebe thanks for the comforting words, babe! by the way, how did you tell veve was constipated? i dont know if shayne is leh.

amber I hope Ash spasms is nothing..will keep u in my prayers. Now that u mention it, i do notice Shayne has spasms every now and then. Not alot and not very obvious so i had thought it was like some shivers down the spine. Hmmm, i should be concern too?

nor i salute you and all other working moms juggling work and children. Its not easy and kudos to you and all for enduring this far! I guess as we are the only beings on this earth who have this supernatural ability to do this.

yolk yikes i hate it when the internet is down, i get withdrawal symptoms. Thanks for your positive word.

oh can i check if anyone can get hold of LV mini lin speedy at a better price than Singapore? *winks*
think the RP in Sing is $1150? not very sure lah but i'm thinking of getting this bag..

cheok, yeah it takes a lot but i believe God will not gives us something that we are not capable of taking up/ doing.. and thank you to ALL of you here for giving support to one another! love you gals!!

dorami lovely photos! You look great yourself!

Leapfrog playground thanks to all of your influence, i also went to rent that toy...hehehheh

yolk hmmm, infant chair, maybe you can try Safety 1st Easy Care Swing Tray Booster Seat. My bro-in-law has it and i find it quite sturdy too. Its $49.95 selling at toyrus but not at all outlets..http://www.toysrus.com.sg/toysrus/specialoffer/jsp/newSGListProduct.jsp?action=babySubCat&index=Feeding&lang=en Other than that, i am happy with my cheap $33 Ikea high chair. I love love love it!

yolk: hehe i used the mag2 cup.. using the straw top one... i just put in her mouth... at first she chew on it... then i make those slurp slurp sound... then she suddenly figure it out herself... hahahah kinda cute... of course she cholk the first few attempts... but now she could drink from it easily.. hehe

highchair : do u go over yr parents alot? if its like once or twice a week.. i suggest u dun spend too much on the highchair...hmm recommendation huh? if solely for doing the job done .. ikea highchair is good enuff.. hehe its not much of a looker... but its could

if u wan to save space.. booster seats are quite good as u dun need an extra space for a highchair... u can just attach it to yr parents dining chair..

i saw one peg perego highchair.. looks super comfy... i suggest u bring ems along to try out the highchairs... get one that she feels comfy in...

Irene/Cheok: Thanks for the tips! Ack, think I'll just get an Ikea one! Cheap and good! Why didn't I think of that?

Irene: Wow, well done Kaelyn! BTW, thanks for offering to let me come over to have Ems "test" the VeeBee but I decided she needed more extensive "testing" so I went ahead and rented one.

storing of frozen purees er, i bought some cheapo ice cube trays and use a plastic wrap to cover the trays to store the food. But as i research more, seems like we need to store the food in an air tight container? How are you gals doing this? i know some are using LJP but the rest who doesnt, are u doing the same as me? Do share with me thanks!!

Cheok: Just remove the cubes from your tray once they're frozen and store the cubes in a freezer bag. No need to be air-tight now that our bbs are > 6 mnths, says the Wholesome Bb Foods site.

yeah.. actually i wasnt too keen on the ikea one also.. but one day i went ikea to have dinner.. kaelyn was so happy in it Well.. it makes me happy too since it doesnt really cost much hahaha...actually i am thinking of getting another one to put in my plc... since she love to sit inside it kicking her way....hahaha i actually put her inside when i show kaelyn yr baby can read vcd at my mum place hahaha.. she can sit thru the whole cd...

no prob about the veebee... it will be hard to judge if its only for a while...

It comes with a strap right? They're secure in it? Ems wriggles all over the place - am worried she'll fall out of a high chair one day.

Nor: Glad that Lis is better. Love that photo of your two darlings reading together, sweet!

Yolk: You might want to consider getting the safety 1st chair that Irene recommended to me. I got mine at taka since they are having a 20% discount but I think Yvonne might have bought the last one for Rachel

Its a booster that can be strapped to a chair. I place mine on the floor cos you know what my monkey is like. It fits Ally well, unlike a lot of others where they are far too big and she just "swimming" in the seat. Bought mine for about $83 if I remember correctly.

As for the play yard, I suspect that Ally would react in the same way. Each time I put her in her play pen, she wants me to be around to talk to her cos she can see me through the mesh. And you're right, it does defeat the purpose.

Have been really busy this week. It's exam week! Endless marking....

Yolksac: Thanks for the info on the ice- cube trays. I went to Isetan to get them. They are really good and love the fact that it comes with a cover for the tray.

By the way, the ice-cube trays are going for almost half the price. I paid only $2+++ for each of them. I think it's really worth the buy for those of you who are still looking for one. The quality is really good.

My MIL just did a batch of apple purees today. Haven't tried dislodging the cubes yet. Will get her feedback today.

Highchair: Mine is a hand me down Ikea one. It's a good no frills chair. The only thing which I'm not quite happy about is the strap. It only straps the baby across the lower abdomen. Personally, I don't feel that it's very secure so I always stay with Matt when he's in it. I haven't seen other high chair yet, how's the strapping system?

Yolksac, can you show a pic of Ems in the Svan high chair? hehehe.. want to show my hubby...

Amber: I hope Ash is well. Will keep her in my prayer list too.

Thanks for the telephone no. Will call soon.

Maid:
Just trying my luck here...
By the way, does anyone know of a good maid who is due to leave the employer cos' the employer doesn't need her anymore. Sigh... I'm so tired of looking for a new one. It's a gamble that I always lose. I'm thinking of getting a tried- and-tested one as an easy way out. Praying for a Godsend.

Dorami: The pics look nice. That reminds me that it'll soon be Matt's shooting session soon.