(2007/07) July 2007 MTBs

Amber,
oh babe...poor you. Its must feel horrid. Have heart and faith that it will be fine and be optimistic yeah? Dont think of the worst case scenerio and get yourself all worked up. We are all here to support you. Dont worry!

Yolk
Def go with Ikea high chair. Cheap and good, easy to wash down. Nearer for you to go to Tampines and they have stock - cause we just bought ours last weekend. Jack seems happy in it (loves tapping hard on the tray to some "conjoured" beat of his!).

Logistics at Ikea sucks man. The Alexandra brunch zero stock, nothing till mid-March. But when I checked availability at Tampines, they had 300 in stock! Someone's gotta resit their Logistics 101!

Bcube
Thanks for the warm welcome! Yes, Hynobirther, all natural to bouncing 3.9kg bundle! What I loved most of hynobirthing, drug free birth is how ALERT the baby is from the get-go!

Isabelle
I've already told Big Man, my hubs that the 2nd one, we'll still engage a Doula ( I had Ginny for our birth). Worth every single cent. Esp ours, which was a middle of the night/early morning birth. It was good to have them both on relay, supporting me at that ungodly hour!

Another gf recently gave birth to her 2nd one, Hypnobirthing with Doula (she didn't have either for her first, btw). She said she wished she had HB + Doula for her first! The actual birth was quick, but the labour still clocked some hours (can't remember how many, but not long, maybe 5-6 hours?).

You can't predict how quick subsequent births will be though, so if you employ a Doula, let her know immediately that you're beginning labour, so that everyone's expectations are managed.

Why don't you speak to Ginny and ask her? She's very open, I'm sure she won't mind you finding out more (about her experiences as a Doula with subsequent births, and repeat HBirthers).

If money isn't a huge obstacle, engage a Doula would be my advice. Besides, I always maintain a Doula is your natural Epidural! (close competition, costs wise eh!).

Bcube
PU/PD - I haven't re-read my Tracy Hoggs on that part, but if memory serves me right, basically you pick bubs up to sooth, and when she's calm, put her back in the cot. Try to make sure she's still semi-awake when you put her down, as you don't want her to depend on your soothing to fall asleep in your arms.

You might need to repeat this as many times as it takes to calm her down in one sleep session.
(it took me 20-30 minutes with Jack when we came back from our mad travels. 20 mins of crying, picking up and soothing and putting down in cot, over and over again. The key words - perseverance & patience).

Basically, you're giving her the assurance that you're there, but you're not abandoning her altogether when she goes into the cot. I always stay with Jack until I know he's well on his way to la-la land, before I leave the room. It's more a personal choice, as I don't want him to feel that I'm dumping him there and leaving him on his own.

Yolk - does my version of PU/PD sound right?

CONSTIPATION
What an awful word and even more awful feeling!
Today's Jack 3rd day with no "turtle popping his head out"!! Where's the poop man?!

The last time I fed him rice cereal was on Friday. He's been having apples past three days. Still BF and I've started giving him water.

I'm beginning to be very paranoid - cause I'm a serial "constipator" myself with IBS (irritable bowel syndrome, which means anything out of routine, I'm literally "full of shit"!! And we all know, routine and baby aren't exactly best friends!!).

Ok, maybe this is too much information for you guys!! But I don't want my son to inherite my "inner" issues!

I'm going to give him prunes tomorrow (from a jar..hmm.. maybe that's the problem... maybe I should make his own food...). Let's see if the magic prunes-in-a-jar will help him.

Lord, I pray for poop tomorrow! And everyday for Jack! Amen.

Good night everyone.

Amber
Will say a prayer for you and Ash.

It's good that you're on your way with the investigations and managed to get it on video.

Let's hope the experts will be able to sort this out soon.

Fingers crossed.

Ok.. I promise last one for the night!

If anyone is still looking for the Safety 1st chair, I'm quite sure I saw it at the Baby's section at Toys R Us (United Square).

I just remembered that it looked the like the picture Irene posted.

FYI.

u may want to attend this

We're really excited that we have finally set-up a studio! We offer parent-and-child music & movement and play programes, which focus on newborns and toddlers up to 3 years old.

We are running a series of free music & movement demonstrations to celebrate the studio opening and would love to have you and your family visit us. Hope you can make it for this family-time session:

PREVIEWS FOR BABIES 18MTHS AND BELOW,

Date: Saturday, 1 Mar 2006
Time: 12-1245pm

OR

Date: Tuesday, 4 Mar 2006
Time: 1045-1130am

Venue: TANGLIN SHOPPING CENTRE #03-24
(between St. Regis & Orchard Parade Hotel - NOT TANGLIN MALL !)
19 Tanglin Road
Tel : 6887 5123 / Mok's hp: 9737 2008

We are keeping each group small, max of 8 children per session. Would appreciate it if interested parents can email me their child's name, dob, parent's name, contact and email address so that I can reserve them a place.

Mok's e-mail addr: [email protected]

hi bcube
yes!! i remember u, the sexy mummy.thanks for the assurance n kind words. but i really cant bear to look at my tummy. on bad days it looks like a pc of roti prata which can be flipped up n down.

hi susu ibu
haha!! your replies are always so funny, even my toes r laughing. hey, seriously u got to let your jack drink plentiful of water beside eating fruits. according to the pd, its the cereals that causes constipation. i really will not want titus to go through that again. it was sooo bad that literally the poo got stuck at the anus.i was thinking whether i shd use my finger to dig it out. thank god, i didnt, if not might lead to infection. he used supportory to loosen the stool though i dun want him to rely in future. so sad to see him crying n the anus bleeding.so better get jack to drink plenty of water.

hi amber
sorry to hear that abt ash. really cannot understand the worries u r going through but Jesus does!! anyway results r not out yet. we will pray against whatever IS that u r worried about. we plead the blood of Jesus to be upon ash. she will be totally fine in Jesus's name! we also ask for His strength to see you and your hubby at this point of time. do not worry ok?

I say 'Amen!' to Cin's prayers. We agree in Jesus name that Ash's health report will be nothing less than perfect! Hang in there Amber!

SUSU aiyo, so coincident, i also bought the ikea chair last weekend! I too went to alexandra first than had to drive to the other end of spore just to get that chair!

constipation scary lei. My boy doesnt drink enough water either. Right now, no signs of it. He just let go a pile yesterday-thank God! BUt how to make him drink more water? This boy thinks that the teat of the bottle and sippy cup are teething toys! i have to spoon feed him water only to have him spit it out or blow bubbles with it.

yolk thanks for the tip on storing frozen purees!

hi guys,

havent logged in for ages and just spent the last 30min reading the archived posts!!

amber, my heart goes out to u.. u must be sooo worried!! xy was admitted for spasms when she was 8 days old too.. had a batch of blood tests, etc done.. ended up being diagnosed with benign myoclonus though the drs didnt manage to witness the jerks during the 1night stay in hospital as the jerks came and went so quickly! really bawled my heart out cos was terrified it was seizures/epilepsy so can really understand how u must be feeling now. do the spasms come only when ash is asleep? or do they occur when she is awake? will pray real hard that all is fine for you and ash. be strong ya?? *HUGS*

bedebe, oh no.. veve got a glycerin suppository right? good to keep some of that in ur fridge as standby..btw, for the constipation, maybe u wanna consider starting veve on porridge? xy's stool is much softer nowadays cos she has a meal of porridge and another of cereal. think there is so much water in porridge that it is helping her constipation.. her nappies are feeling a lot heavier these days too. prunes arent all that effective for xy either.. had to feed her half a prune for 3 consecutive days b4 her poop made its way out!each time she poos its a BIG occasions cos we are all so relieved! so sad huh??

yolksac, thanks for ur advise over sms the other day! btw, u are doing so well in helping ems pick up chinese! believe u can get hold of chinese children books/song books from the shops in bras basah.. my FIL/MIL hang out there (book addicts!) and regularly cart home kiddy books to read/sing to xy.

susu ibu, welcome
btw, cant remember which webbie/book i got this from but the foods to avoid in a constipated baby are :

B(banana)
R (rice cereal - someone pls correct me if i'm wrong!)
A (apples)
T (??? dunno what it stands for!)

if u got the jarred prunes from gerber, u can mix it with a bit of water and voila.. prune juice for babies! otw, get hold of the sugar prunes which are in season now from ntuc and make ur own!

bcube, shucks.. i'm so worried xy has associated sleep with my boob too. these days she's soooo sticky to me.. only wants mummy to carry when she is tired, and more often than not, i end up nursing her to sleep. just now she rolled and yelled in her cot furiously for more than 30min until i just gave in and nursed her cos I was too tired to fight her (she can really go on and on and on..). the other day i was out from morning till evening, and the moment i reached home, MIL announced that xy had not slept a wink the whole day! apparently she was waiting for me (or rather my boob) cos once she saw me, she was sooo excited. as her feed was due, i nursed her, and within minutes she was sound asleep on my breast! how???? is R's night sleep getting better?

jules T is for TOAST!
me and mum were guessing what T stand for too, until i went to wholesome baby food webby to check! hey can i ask how much porridge does xy eat? My shayne only can down about 3 teaspoon (not sure if this is the correct measurement) and i thought not very economical to cook this little everyday lei. My alternative is to stick to cereal for now-but i want to avoid it asap to keep Mr constipation at bay. Do u know if we can freeze cooked porridge? hehhehe and oh i stumbled upon this website that teaches how to wean night nursing. http://babyparenting.about.com/od/sleeping/a/nightfeed.htm

cheok, huh why will our little ones be eating toast?? oh or u mean like in future? ermm re porridge, we usually cook like 1tsp of raw rice for each meal. after adding water and ingredients, this comes up to abt 2/3 chinese bowl of cooked porridge! xy eats abt 4-5 tbsp each time.. and mummy polishes off the remaining! since u are a SAHM, y dont just use slow cooker, cook more porridge and u can have that for lunch too! ya la.. a bit boring though.

think its not advisable to freeze porridge leh.

thanks for the article, gonna go read it now!

hihi july mummies,

i am a silent reader of this thread. no postings due to busy with work, and the postings here are moving too fast,, haha.. currently i am in a transition period, i stopped working just before CNY, and will be going back hk to visit my family for 3weeks... no intention to be a SAHM tho.. will be looking for a new job after my home trip... btw, my bb girl is called Nicole, born2 weeks before EDD on 30th Jun 07, was supposed to be a jul/07 MTB.. hehe.. hopefully will have more time to post fm now on..

Hi Cin,

ya, it's heartpain to see our bb can not poo poo, nicole last time got this problem for a few days, because she refused to drink water ( till now still not drinking much ..) so her poo is hard, made her cried when she's trying. we tried Gerber prune juice, but she simply refused to drink any fluid except milk, we diluted her milk and gave her Gerber prune puree mixed with rice cereal, she loves cereal, so after 2 meals, it worked ,next day she was ok already, hope this helps...

BRAT

Ibususu, you little man is constipated due to the 3 days of apples!!
Try stopping apples and give him pumpkin? That work like wonder for R!
PU/PD: I understand the concept of it BUT what hapens when she will NOT soothe when I picked her? She will arch her back and actually yell even loudly since I am carrying her and she expects to be nursed!

Jules,
aiyo I tell you she is a breast-addict! She actually emits this weird staccato crying sound when she is craving for it! Very obvious one! Ok here's the update for tonight. She woke at 11pm, I fed her milk (about 60ml)and she went back to bed..then woke again in 15 mins. So I gave her another 60ml and she slept immediately. Its been almost an hour now and all seems well! Crossing my fingers and toes....the night will be tough though..I dont think I can carry on the "training" as HB needs his beauty sleep..so..am in abit of dilemma now..grr...

the thread is really moving along... been really busy at work, not much time to catch up on the posts.

jenn,
are there still slots available for the trial class? I'm interested. could u share the details? do i make payment beforehand?

amber,
keep ur spirits up... i'm sure things will work out for u and ash. be strong...

Amber,
Be strong for your little girl. Ash will be fine. Let God take your worries away and may Him grant you a restful night. I ask these through Christ our Lord, Amen!

its 130am and so far so good...the impt hour is between now to 3am. Usually she will wake like clockwork for a "fix"..shall see how it goes...

sigh..still working...so tired...

Amber: Hang in there babe! I can imagine how worried you must be about Ash. The information about IS is really scary. Sometimes too much infor can make you worry unnecessarily as well. When we first got Ally's diagnosis, I spent night and day devouring book after book on the subject. Some of the things that I read was really scary and I made a list of questions to ask her doctor. Her doctor then very calmly told me that while its great that we did our research, handle everything one step at a time and try not to worry about worst case situations.
If you ever need someone to talk to, you can drop me an email at [email protected]
Take care of yourself, Ash needs a happy, healthy mommy to look after her. *Big Hug*

In Jesus's name i pray too!
Amen! Amen!

thank you.

i feel very scared. i guess it's an initial reaction.
but i do feel a little more informed and prepared now tht i've read up and know roughly wht im dealing with.

Jules, i can imagine how scared you were. to watch it haappen is very frightening. and at 8days old!!! but wht XY was diagnosed with is very harmless.
myoclonus just means muscle jerk, which im sure you know already.. i'm hoping Ashley's is benign too..
Infantile spasms is real scary stuff!
i saw words like mental regression, retardation.. loss of speech
eeks

callling PD first thing at nine to schedule EEG. which will be definitive.

Pita, =) i slept quite well thank you!.. but woke up at 4ish and took Ash outta her cot, walked back and put her in my bed and slept with her on me. hee
i needed the hugs.

Jillian... i was just about to print out the info i found.. make aa list of questions etc.. yeah, youre right.
i need to slow down and collect myself.
i guess also cos hb isnt ard.. i feel a need to be in control.. not make mistakes or overlook.. or forget to ask abt something.

Ally is a big inspiration.. you both are..
super girls!

thanks for the hug. will keep ya all updated.

Cin
Ya. water water water.
Ok. Seriously, how much water should we give a baby to drink? I need some figures, cause I'm blur! How many ML a day? SOS!!

Cheok
Damn Ikea! We told Jack his high chair costs us so much because of the taxi fares there and back!

Jules! Bcube!
BRAT (not you!). Why didn't I remember that?!!
** long piak! long piak!! (bangs head!)**
Oh my, a hallmark feel-bad-mummy moment. My poor Little Man, Mama has been feeding him blockers!
Ok, we're sooo going to OD on prunes today!

Bcube
I'm trying to wean Jack off his night feedings and read somewhere to offer him water instead. Hah.
Tried that last night and the little bugger cried MURDER!! You would have thought I was trying to feed him weed killer!

He obviously associates me with BM (btw, my sister in law has a cute nickname for BM = Boobie Medicine!). He completely rejected the bottle of water and executed a devil-possessed impersonation - the works man, arching back, screaming mouth, burried eyebrows, red flushed face, high pitch screams... all at midnight!!).

I don't mind giving him Boobie Medicine in the day, but it's the nights that I want to drop. But he just won't stop. Not sure if it's because he's just a big gulping machine. He's 10kg at 6 months.

I have the same problem about enlisting hubs to help too. He's soo tired when he gets back from work, and from Day 1 of his life, my "outlaw" said Big Man was one who always needed his sleep. So it's difficult to get him to help with the night weaning with a bottle. It's no excuse though!!

The only way I can think of weaning is for someone else to offer the bottle and not us, the BM providers.

Amber - It's tough when your hubs is away, and you feel you have to shoulder this all by yourself for the time being.

Hang in there. I agree with Jillian, don't let this train chugg off the track.

You have the experts to help you now, and us to support.

Will continue to pray for your family.

i think kaelyn is getting too smart for her own good... yesterday dinner, she threw a tantrum!!! a REALLY big one... she scream n scream.. but i ignore her.. and firmly say NO.. then she went n look around for her grandma!! pengzzzzzzz

lucky hb was supportive that grandma do not interfere.. if not i be branded as MEAN mummy again...

well... i think she scream a good 20mins before she start to quiet down.. NO TEARS u know!!!!

her grandma was so panicky...pengz.. i think my 2nd one i better take care of her/him at my own place and ALONE! somehow i getting traumatize staying with in laws and having a baby in 1 house... really not a relationship builder....

amber : u hang in there gal... i know its tough...

Everything happens for a reason.. we just have to have absolute faith in God..

bcube n susu
thx for your views! Have almost decided to engage Ginny again, just that I really needed to hear from other hypnobirthing mummies too before I commit. U have no idea how valuable ur input is to me!

cin
hihi nice to meet u in this thread after so long! Yep, we r mummies now. My girl is almost 21 mths old.

CONSTIPATION
My girl used to have that too cos she was tbf for 6 mths and din like to drink water after that. Consti started after she went on solid food.
PD told me the follwoing can cause/worsen consti
Apples
Banana, Brown Rice
Carrots

I also tried to flavour the water naturally using the follwing mtd:
1 big apple, peeled, cored and sliced
Enough water to make a 250ml drink after boiling

I boiled the apple slices for 20 min and let it cool. Then I strained the water.
At least she drank more.

Also tried with pear. Note: Diff varieties of apple give varying sweetness.

Occasionally I boiled barley, but mebbe it wasn't sweet so she din like. If u dun mind u can put a bit of rock sugar.

IKEA HIGH CHAIR
Thumbs up for this one!

However, a note of caution.
Do not leave ur baby unattended. The chair does not have a heavy stable base.

I used to put her in it when she was naughty and leave her in there by herself to face the wall for a few min as time out.
However, one day, while i was checking on her, I discovered when she was making violent movements (she was crying and throwing a tantrum), the whole chair can tilt backwards!

I stopped making her face the wall after that. The chair needs to lean against the wall and I always have to be very near to monitor her during the time out session.

hello mummies

AMEN too! Amber...lean on Him for strength yah? Ash will be fine. i know too how tough it must be for you with hubs away. we've got you in our prayers. be strong and dun let the enemy mess up your mind.

abt constipation. jules...i din know we must keep those suppositories in the fridge. i've got another 17 :p (not that i'm pessimistic but it came in such a big pack) jules...veve takes a serving size of abt 1 prune a day but still no effect when the stools have gotten too hard. so now veve has been downing lots of water and having pumpkin + prune everyday and her poo is soft like puree :p gonna make sure she drinks loads which fortunately she likes.

previously i din wanna give her too much water cos i was scared she'll not have space/want milk anymore. how i squeeze water into her diet- adding water to her carrot or apple puree and making it into a drink. she prefers to drink it from a cup than from the spoon. oh btw she's learnt to drink from a straw too! i just cut short the usual straws. occasionally she'll release all the fluids in her mouth. but otherwise, it's such a relief...spoon feeding can take forever!

jules...have you figured out what you're bringing along to feed XY on your trip next month? i'm still considering how tough it is if we go to japan in april. initial plan though was to wait till she's able to walk...and better still able to eat the same food as us then i realised that could take some time :p

bcube...i know what you mean about the staccato cries. veve has these lusty ones too when she's hungry. and yes, our japan trip totally ruined her sleep-thru-the-night routine. it's been 3 months and she's not back to it yet tho she's fully capable. sometimes when she wakes at night and i'm in the shower, she'll only stop crying when daddy picks her up to find me and then she'll be staring at my breasts non-stop lustily...yikes!

abt toast. i believe they can be served in place of teething biscuits.

question: how do you protect your babes from the cot rails when they pull to stand. veve loves to mouth the railings...aargh!

another question: do you find your babes eating less solids when they're possibly at the height of teething pain? the lil ger hardly touched her solids yest...food that she wolfed down quickly previously all went down the drain. mama is not looking forward to 1h feeding session today if this continues...

irene...oops...i feel for you. but then again, it's sometimes nice to have other people around to care for kaelyn so that you have some me time ya? hang on in there!

First Teeth Toothpaste
Used to use infrequently for a while before I read the ingrediants and found it contains propylene gylcol, which is also found in engine brake oil.
I din wante her to ingest that! So I switched immediately to Earth's Best Toddler Toothpaste.

to add to isabelle's comments on ikea chair.

ensure your babe does not get a foothold of your lap or leg or anything as they can use it as a base to propel themselves backwards. this is extremely dangerous especially when they're strong/heavy enough to cause the chair to fall backwards.

i face veve when i feed her in the chair...so sometimes she'll kick off from my knees and she's slid the chair a few inches backwards before.

bedebe: You can buy cot rail teethers to protect the rails. Not sure if they sell them here but I'm sure they do. Its just a rubber like strip that goes over the top.

Argh, my internet was busted again last night and my back was acting up again so I didn't wait for HB to fix it, just collapsed into bed.

Missed so many posts! Can't reply to all as we have playnest today and lunch afterwards - catch up with you all later today.

Just two quick things -

Amber: Oh sweets, I'm so so sorry that you and Ash have to go through this stressful time. After we spoke this morning, I said another prayer for Ash. I hope it turns out to be nothing at all or something so benign that treatment is not necessary. Whatever happens, we're here for you both!

Cin: Hey, miss seeing you each week! How was Aquaducks? Is Adrian back? Oh no, poor Titus - that can't have been fun! How is he feeling now? Pureed prunes work wonders for Ems (tho not for Veve, bedebe's kid) - give it a try and see if it works. I buy Australian sugar prunes (fresh) from NTUC/Cold Storage (I think I last saw them at GWC Cold Storage); then boil them for 5 mins, then dunk them in ice water; then remove the skins and the pit; puree the flesh (usually 2-3 pulses is all that is needed) and serve. You can freeze any remaining bits for future use. I haven't managed to find pure prune juice that I'd feel comfortable feeding Ems just yet, but there combi juices (another fruit + prune) which are available. For me, since we found the prunes, I figured I might as well make a puree.

Sigh, yesterday Ems produced two big lumps of poo while I was trying to get her to go to bed for the night, then she yelled out as the third lump got kinda stuck. I removed her dirty diaper and sat her on her potty (doing the EC thing) and sure enough, out came the third lump. Wonder if sometimes it's hard for them to get poo out if the diaper is there in the way, you know?

Babe - just realised I don't have your mobile number or email addy - can you send it to me at [email protected]? Wld be good to keep in touch even tho we won't meet on Fridays any more.

Similar to isabelle, my mum has started slicing apple to make apple juce (i.e. fuji apple) since my girl started solid at 6 mths. My auntie has used this method too to get her girl (1yr+) to drink more water. Better to have home made juice then those off the shelve (you never know wat preservative they add, etc..

I thot this is fine as I read some prof website that says we can let baby drink the leftover apple "juice" after you steam apple for puree, that's where the vitamins are.

Personally, I tried the "apple" juice, slightly sweet and pretty light to drink. Once my girl is used to water, we alternate pure water (say morning) and "apple" juice afternoon. So far, she doesn't have any constipation though she take 5tblspoon of brown rice cereals 2 times, or at times 3 times a day.

bedebe thanks for the note on the ikea chair! I didnt know the kids can be that strong....

susu hahaha, i named my baby, "BOOBY BOY" because there was a period when he wanted to nurse as long as he was awake! Do you nurse Jack direct? I wonder is it because i've been nursing shayne direct since day one that's why his addicted to the boobs...my friend is experiencing the same with her new born.

novem WELCOME!

irene wow, i hope the tantrum is just one off thing!

morning!

bedebe, i've seen the cot rail teethers in JL i think. but only for the top rail, and not the individual vertical bars. hey veve so clever!! how did u train her to drink from straw? xy will prob just chew on her straw, as she did for the spouts of the mag mag cup and the ikea sippy cup.

and yes, xy's stool is like puree (quite messy!) when it comes every 5-6 days (yup.. she still poos infrequently but at least she doesnt cry at all when she poos now). btw, do u find veve's skin yellow if u give her pumpkin everyday? kinda worried that giving a yellow/orange veg/fruit everydat(eg sweet potato, pumpkin, carrot) will make her look yellow

amber, sometimes ignorance is really bliss! do update us on the eeg results ya?

jillian...yes yes...i've been hunting for those. now i'm wrapping towel around the top rails and fastening with safety pins

hey jules...thanks for the tip. shall go check out JL- which one did you see it at? i saw those rail guards at BP section from prince lionheart. went a hunting at mothercare and kiddypalace and they don't have it unless they get it from the factory for their cots which is not a guaranteed sure fit cos you know veve's bed's not the usual cot.

how i got veve to drink from the straw. i put it in her mug and then i did a sucking in demonstration. then i put the straw in her mouth and did the sucking in again. at first she din draw enough for any fluids to reach her mouth. then i cut the straw shorter so that less effort is required. after 2 tries, she did it
oh...i think veve's also a straw chewer like her mama :p

Ok, I would like to share my experience,
As what i mentioned before, since my gal teething, her sleeping habit changed, wakes up many times. I tried PU/PD from the books that i read as well. But my backache quite bad, i couldn’t afford to keep bend over to pick n then put down my gal. Hubby oso unsuccessful. So beat up n tired, i decided to do lil bit of modify.
I drag my gal’s cot to my room, side by side with my bed, but put back the full cover bumper, after her last meal n she already v sleepy, I put her on her cot and pat2 her back side, in e middle of e nite if she cry, instead of pick her up, I just put in my hand through the cot n pat2 her without voice, if she cry out loud, I have no choice except pat2 her while sing soft song or carry her in e worst case, but just before she sleep on my hand, I put her back , I do it persistently. Of coz lots of cry and even scream, but after whole horrible 10 days, she finally understand that she has no choice except back to sleep on her cot, and she started to sleep through the night again. Last nite is the 3rd time she sleeps through e nite, so I think this method works, plus I don’t have to break my back.

I found that wrapped her oso helping, coz when we carry her she couldn’t move much, prob wrapped oso give e same feeling? (I’m not e expert so cant say that I’m sure)

Ok, hope my share can help.

amber, <<hugs>>, hw did the scan goes? keep us updated. its probably nothing...be strong...js like wat jillian says, sometimes reading up too much tends to send shivers up our spine, cos its always negative points. me too, read up alot when the doc say rachel's condition cld be possible seizure/fits. i broke down &amp; cried, cant tink of anything; kept asking myself, why does this has to happen to rachel.... blah blah blah..

tink of more positve factors...tell urself, hey, its nothing...ITS NOTHING!!! Ash is perfectly perfect!

bedebe : hehe kaelyn n veve can do a straw drinking competition hahahaha do u realise that they drink more if using a straw... i nowadays need to top up the water WHICH never happens before hehe..

oh oh... i am in my office now hahaha... so far so good... these 2 days...

kaelyn doesnt cry for me etc... UNTILLLLL she saw me hahaha... then her whining and manjaness come out .. pengz!!!

yesterday brought her to my FIL club house to swim.... after showering her.. i gave her to her daddy... GUESS WHAT>. she CRIED n SCREAM the club down!!! until i came out from the changing room.. pengz.............

Susu Ibu, Bcube,
Yes, i think that what PU/PD is about..
Regarding the water, by rite, every kilogram is require about 150ml of fluids; Means 8kg bb would require abt 1200ml.. from milk, water, diluted juices, soups, etc.
Yup, that is the theory.. but my gal 7 months old, 8 kg, still didnt reach that number yet. I guess she onli consume bout 800ml fluids (600-700ml milk, 50-60 diluted juice, and 40-50ml plain water). I dun noe if its "healthy" enough for her but she refuse to take more.. *sigh*
Luckily she doesnt really hv prob with constipation.. (coz evertime i notice she didnt pass motion, i'll diluted her milk)

Isabelle
I dun noe bout that!! aioh.. i already order 4 tubes! How 2 get this to Earth's Best Toddler Toothpaste? is it exp?

Irene,
Is it becoz of you carry her all e time? so far i stay at home with my gal, onli both of us.. and lately if i leave e room, she'll cry as well, but not to the level she'd choose me over daddy.. i better do something bout it before she do that or else my back will break..

I have a bad backache, i dont know if its because of epindural or what.. but its v annoying.. sometimes feels like can not move my leg!

hahaha ya... kaelyn has a nickname : KOALA!!! and i am her tree... she is super duper clingy to me... if i am around.. she doesnt want anybody else...

if i am not ard... she is ok... she is just being manja ... coz she gets to see mummy 24 hrs a day...

now if i walk away from her.. she will start to whine... hahaha not a good sign.. thats why i take morning half to work... so i leave house when she is still asleep

gugi, didnt know dat abt water/fluid thingy. so every kilogram bb = 150ml of fluid? hmmm...my girl is only abt 6.5kg = 975 ml of fluid. minus away her milk intake of 4oz = 120ml, bal ml is 855ml - mixture of other fluid... gosh...i dun tink my girl consume dat much of the balance either. ( lucky thing is she loves water, so m trying to give her as much as possible).

hvnt start her on fruit juice yet but currently giving her glucose &amp; barley water once a week.
but then hor...rachel is such a garbage (bad mummy). she eats anything u give her..haha

irene, same here...m also the tree...rachel alternates between me &amp; her grandma. if i am ard, 1st priority is me. otherwise, grandma is her paradise. haha...having said this, daddy is a little jealous. whenever he carries her, she will push away &amp; will wanna look for me instead, even to the extent of trying to turn her head "360 degrees" to look for me. keke...

so i will tell hb : take heart...haha...ur son is sticky to u anyway...

welcome new mummies, susu &amp; novem

amber....my heart goes out to u...

I have a verse for you-
"But those who hope in the Lord shall renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles, they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint".. Isa 40:31

be strong in the Lord ok!
praying for you &amp; ash..*hug*

bedebe: Found the bed rail teether at Mums and Babes at united square. Its $29.90 and it comes in 12 inch pieces not one long strip. Hope that helps!

novem
welcome

amber
hang in there! hope everything's gonna be alrite with Ash. take care ya. *big hug*

bedebe
eeew...horror maid story u've shared! haa.
haiya, now having a myanmar maid.
hee, have u tried pampers active stage? can really contain lotsa pee and no leak, since lucas has lotsa sleeping positions all over his cot.:p

gugi
ooh ya, since u are from indo, u can source for a maid yourself from there!
at least u know abt which kampong..yeah get polluted by those who have worked before. true, treating them right doesn't always = to them treating u right.

isabelle
ooh thanks for the info on the toothpaste!

yollksac
oh dear, doesn't PU/PD cause your bulging disc to attack??