(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

bbc is so cranky lately. and she keeps sucking her fingers so much lately even when she's eating!! end up so messy! face and hi chair all got porrdge and cereal! but no signs of tooth yet. do u all think she's teething?

Sanrio
Pork/fish stock with cereal does sounds a weird combi…but since baby jarred foods also got chicken flavour type, then I guess no harm giving a go at fish/pork stock with cereal…cereal afterall is also made from white/brown rice, ‘angmoh’ style.

Taro
BbJ ‘sama sama’ with YX, prefer to eat rather than drink…that’s why sometimes when he cannot finish the milk, I add cereal to the remaining milk and feed him with spoon instead.
I believe our boys are the slim type kind…so dun worry too much about his weight ya…main thing now is to take good care of care and make sure he dun “catch cold” further….when changing him after bath, try to close the windows in the room and open only after he is dressed. Better avoid air-con for him too…

Pork stock sure got oil one, even if you use lean meat…. If you wan lesser oil, can try making fish stock instead.

Lovedogs
Oh…you got your new job liao… is it at Raffles Place? remember you mentioned you went for interview when we last met.

Cheezel
Javen sure is a good eater…hehe…Hey, have you look for his new bed yet?

milk
PD ever told me it's not really the per feed amt. Its the ttl milk intake per day. Hence, if small eater but multiple feed is ok. My boi is drinking 240ml, but he oni drinks morning, & supper. Lunch & dinner solid. PD says not enough, so now tea time hungry we let him drink maybe 120 or 180ml.

WB,
You try & feel the gum see if it's like full full. If it is, dan likely teething

jeanyard,
u noe hor, after i stop BF, my size is even smaller den b4, i tink if i have #2 n oso BF, i will b totally flat liao loh, sad.

wonder,
u can try Heinz juices, they have a variety.

lovedogs,
tink u gonna kill me. pls safekeep kellys sprouts ok, hee.

cool_daughter
heheh.i dunno how to feel..feels the same to me

kris
thx will check out heinz

now dat bb's poo has firmed up, bbC don't seem to be able to poo in her diapers leh..think the diaper blocking her anus and poo no space to come out..heheh..issit the same with your babies? she can only poo whn i let her lie down on the changing tray n open her diaper. how ah if she needs to poo when we're out? rush to find bb room?

lovedogs
new job? same field?
happy 8th month to bbTess.

Kris
u so funny, but bf is wonderful feeling rite?

wanderbaby
my ky also teething n at night he can't sleep well going to get him teething gel later.
can feel 1 small little teeth sprouting out from his right lower front gum.

lovedogs
is dat the job u mentioned to me the last time?

Kris
u so funny leh..my colleague oso tellin me..after BF..it shrink 1 size or so..

sgn
my bb still no teeth leh..i look at his gum..can see some white spots..but nothing come out yet..

zhuzhu
i din notice until he took my finger n bite 2 days ago. can feel a spike in the gum. then just now i open his mouth n can see 2 little crystal clear line on the gum n that's his teeth! so excited! cos he just learned how to wave his hand when we says 'bye bye' last wk, this wk his teeth is coming out is another milestone. every wk will have some surprise from him.

springdance, sgn, zhuzhu,

can't remember which job i told u ladies. but basically, i am in the same industry but different job scope.

web based msn is banned

sgn,

happy 8 mths to bbD too
any celebration?

kris,

let me know when u want to collect them ? before CNY?

lovedogs,
how's 1st day at work? beta bosses n colleagues?

sgn,
cher still 'toothless' :p did u take leave brg bbD go kaikai?

wonderbb,
noe wat u mean, so somtx my boy (last tx bb) n cher wld 'ren' until reach hm, sit on potty then poo. wen they (my boy) started walking, he like to walk to 1 corner, hide there, pretend to do/play somtg, then poo :p
sidetrack here:
now my boy is 3, he is very funny, i asked him, do u want to poopoo? he said, mommy, u mus say 'pass motion', poopoo is not correct, keke..

springdance,
i realised tat cher is very particular abt d texture n consistency of d porridge so i hv to cook it as close to cereal texture as possible n apr thread mum taught me to steam corn, strain d husk of d kernels, mash n add to porridge. cher seems to quite like it..
i try grate d cooked pork till super fine, add to porridge n feed to her, she spit it out. i told my mum tink she prefers vege n fruits but not meat n fish..

sanrio
hahaha..ash is really really cute! btw, where did u buy the potty with handles? do we hv to get one with a lid? what's the purpose of the lid when we wash immediately?

kris
cham! i'm already very flat..if stop bf sure become flatter

lovedogs/sgn
happy 8 months to tessa and bbD!

Sanrio
Hmmm…interesting…sounds like Cher is a vegetarian…maybe she’s the reincarnation of little Buddha…hehe..pardon me, juz a wild imagination. :p

Lovedogs
So can you work from work like what you used to do? Where’s your new office location now?

Dear Cooking Shi Fus,
I think I have never spent SO MUCH time in the kitchen on a weekend before the last 2 days. Oh yeah, and Saturday was the first time I've stepped into a wet market after more than 20 years I believe. Never felt so "sua ku" before. Anyway, here's a summary of how my first cooking experience went.

1. Visit the wet market.
2. Walked round all the stalls in the market to determine which stall had the nicest fish.
3. Bought $5 worth of fish bones & $10 of threadfin.
4. Rushed home to wash and cut fish & bones. Dump 1 portion of bones with a few slices of ginger into pot to be boiled. Divide the remaining portions into different ziplock bags for future use.
5. After 1.5 hrs, dump everything from pot to slow cooker.
6. After 8 hrs, and 1 hour of letting the stock cool, divide it up & store in used jollybean containers. Store 1 in fridge, the other in freezer.
NEXT DAY
1. Wash 1 tablespoon of rice grains.
2. Dump grains & stock into slow cooker.
3. Rush to supermarket to buy organic brocolli.
4. After 4 hours, push spoonfuls of porridge thru a sieve into thermos to keep warm.
5. Steam threadfin fish. Mash the fish as much as I can.
6. Steam brocolli. Realize cannot mash brocolli, so dump into blender.
7. Decided to dump fish into blender too.
8. Stir blended stuff into the mushy porridge.
READY TO FEED!

I was so proud of myself, but was holding my breath as my maid slowly put the first spoonful into Laura's mouth.
Laura's reaction - PUKE FACE
She literally gave me the "wanna-puke" look, with her tongue out and all. Broke my heart man. But I told the maid to carry on feeding her, coz I put in so much sweat & blood into the porridge. Yes, blood! I left the kitchen that weekend with bandages on different fingers coz of my lack of experience with knives. Anyway, with much coercing and distracting, we managed to feed her 3/4 portion. Sigh.

I haven't tried cooking porridge again. Need to rest first. Maybe tomorrow. Or maybe after my hands have healed. :p

way to go dudette !!

jia you, dont gv up . the 1st tm i cooked for maishia i had similar experience as u .n i also taped dwn her 'u just gave me poison' type of look during feedtms. but nw when meal tm cms, she will yell : 'mum mum mum'. n the first thg i open my eyes every mrg is think abt wat variety of food i shld prep that day .

trust me, the followg tms tt u prep her food will get faster n easier le . meantm , apply some med n let ur hands rest their battle scars first.

sanrio

maishia dont like pork too ..but loves fish n beef.. mayb when i was preg tm, i tried to eaet beef n fish for every meal kekeke. cos i also dont raelly like pork

Teeth

My girl also no tooth yet. My elder son had his 1st tooth at 5 months old. To me, I think the later the teeth come out, the better! At least they will not be so cranky about food at teething stage.

bravo dudette
sometimes when i cooked the porridge not mashy enuff..Markus oso dun wan to eat..end up i had to pour the whole pot away..and made him some cereals..

u got grind the rice? its easier to cooked till mushy when grinded..

no need to blend the fish..use a fork to mash it can liao..but be careful to check for bones..sometimes i just use fingers to mash the fish..at the same time i can check for bones..

actually i oso never been to wet market..i went to NTUC instead..easier..

wonder,
last time I used Gerber prune juice. Cookie doesn't like Heinz cos too sour. but now my mum feeds him banana and he'll just poo. must make sure bb drinks lots of water or dilute the milk with 20ml more water.
my personal favourite is Nestle gold with all those fruit add-ons cereal, bb will definitely poo! 1 feed per day? night time eat other cereal or porridge.

lovedogs
no celebration cos working yesterday n very upset about nanny cos she used a string to tie bwtweeen bb's leg in the walker when i went to fetch bb. her reson was her husband painting so want to keeo bb away from the wet paint.
i feel so upset n guilty cos i can't prevent this from happening to my boy.

sanrio
my mil also put corn into the porridge to add taste but never let bb eat the corn. the porridge smells very sweet.

dudette
what a great start, never mind Laura will get use to it maybe try to cook plain porridge n add mashed fish meat 1st and if she can accept and try other meal or veg.

JJ
i prefer bb teething later too cos i worry about my nipple as i heard got mummy's nipple got tear of during breast feeding!

kris,
don't think your breast shrank lah, maybe you're just used to being da shiong for more than a yr (including preggie period!)
now you just stuff more cotton wool to create a cleavage.

Moxi,
maishia can say 'mummum"? wah, so impressive. Cookie just screams and cries when he sees his milk bottle. don't know how to control him.
but I like to lie down beside him when he drinks his milk, he's very stylo.

Dudette,
you need to try something simpler first. now your yuan qi da shang (all internal energy wasted). at least need to pat you on the back for your efforts. **pat**

me not at speaking terms with MIL now cos that day Cookie cried after falling down and she snatched him away from me (2nd time).

sgn,
my mum ties Cookie's leg to the stroller too cos the hole is big and she's afraid she'll fall out.
maybe you can suggest your nanny put him in the playpen during the paint works instead?

Jeanyard
i just find it very chan ren to tie bb's leg lor.
she din really tie but just use a string to tie across the walker n restrict bb's leg movement.

sgn,

oh dear... i will feel horrible too if i see this... i still dun understand why ur nanny did that... she can just put bbD in the playpen or carry him to avoid him touching the paint..or accompany bbD into a room without paint... did u tell your nanny off?

dudette,

congrats!!! dun give up... perhaps Laura is not used to the taste yet? i recommend u to try again..

jeanyard,

how r u doing? how many months now?

moxi,

tess also "mummum" "mea mea" "M" "M" for more than 1 month already.. few times also "ma ma" ... but i dun feel she is calling me... coz she does that to anyone when she feels like it...

springdance,

yes, can work from home if i need to.. but not 5 days a week lah... anyway, now still got to settle down first... so dun plan to work from home so soon...maybe next friday i have but need to get vpn and token set up first....

wonderbb,
d potty (u saw in my blog?) is fr robinsons, during ash's tx.

sgn, jeanyard,
tie bb's leg to stroller??

dudette,
well done! dun wori, 1st tx is like tat. even till now, often cher still give me d 'wan to puke' look even i spent tx n efforts tinkg hard wat to cook for her n cooking it. there was once, i even cooked 1 pot of fish stock, 1 pot of pork stock at d same tx. fish one she rejected, pork one she ate a little only. other days, she not a very keen eater too thou she like to say 'mum mum mum' oso..
dun wori, perhaps af a few trial, laura wld enjoy eating

moxi,
ok i wld try beef. how do u cook d beef? me oso nvr like pork. but i like beef. during my both preg, i cant take fish, jus dun like d smell n taste even w lots of ginger. but 3rd trim, i managed to force myself to take some fish.

Dudette
Good job, congrats that little Laura finished 3/4 portion. Her intake makes it all worthwhile isn't it? Initial rejection is natural so dun give up. Jia-you!

lovedogs
Buy non-fatty parts and cut out the remaining fats before dumping into the pork. For stock, I use those metal oil-drainer.

U-like grinder
I tried to make apple juice using the soy-jar, turned out chaotic! I put the thinly sliced apple into the jar & water outside the meshy tube. The min I turn on, the machine went bonkers, lid flew, apple splat all over the kitchen & on me, machine danced itself, plastic at the base of jar cracked and got grinded into the juice. Dogs dashed in to check out what happen and enjoyed the apples on the floor & cupboard & fridge doors. The jar in in the bin now. Good try, haha!

ms tan,

oh dear...the kitchen must had been very messy. bet that PPP must had a good time enjoying the apples.

i got ur email last nite but then logged out liao. then in the office can't access gmail so cannot reply u. How much is 1 pack of the mini pork floss minispringroll? how big is the pack and any branding? I worried if buy wrongly for u.... i will take a look during lunch later and let u know...

metal oil drainer? how does it looks like? where can i buy it from? thanks

Lovedogs
ys later when bring bb to nanny's place will talk to her. hope she understand.
hope just becos of the paint n not she always did that cos i can see her daughter and her face show's guilty.

<font color="0000ff">Dudette that was a great try!</font>
By the way, next round you try, maybe can “play cheat” abit by not steaming the fish &amp; vege separately…simply put in the slow cooker to cook with porridge around ½ hour before feeding time. Nutrients will still be there (although steaming separately will retain the most nutrients), porridge will taste nicer and not so tedious for U….

<font color="ff0000">JeanYard</font>
Omigosh…you &amp; your MIL at cold war again…..your husband know about it? You preggie now, better dun get too worked up and try to stay calm yah.

<font color="0000ff">Lovedogs</font>
Oic…if your office nearby mine, we can catch up for lunch…at Central or Far East Square. :D

<font color="ff0000">Ms Tan</font>
I also never know about metal oil drainer…you bought from where? Best Denki?

jeanyard,

me just read your earlier post after springdance's post. Everything ok with your MIL? hope she will respect you are cookie's mother...not her...

sgn,

yah loh... i dun even agree in tying a dog up at home... my dog is free everywhere in the house and i do not believe in tying him to an area only. hence, i really cannot accept someone tying a baby ! hope ur nanny will understand. try to talk to her nicely, yet firmly.

springdance,

far east sq ok for u? that is great!!! we can meet for lunch! i went far east sq for lunch yday with my hb!
let me know when u r free
sometime next week perhaps

lovedogs,
for pork, i used lean meat (ba tao), almost 'fatless'. beef i wld choose those leaner cut oso.

ms tan,
oh no, so is d grinder/motor still useable now?

Anybody interested in buying the red packaging Pampers? NTUC having sale. But I think a lot of babies are using L size...as I went around a few outlets, but L size always sold out.

Sanrio,
My baby also gotten flu from me...so now, quite thin too...dont worry, as long as your baby is active, I guess there are some things we just have to let go...that is what i have been telling myself. Because no matter how we push, babies just dont want to cooperate, so be it then..dont make ourselves so sad...

My baby is only taking 3 tablespoons of cereal / fish porridge. and the rest is all milk...900ml per day. has lost a lot of weight due to my virus...She also not so into solid food.

Just hope she will gain more weight soon.

wonderbaby,
where is your PD? mine didnt even ask whether my baby is eating enough. Sometime, I feel PD is more into curing diseases and not so much into babies' diet.

janet,
ya lor. i jus cook n try my best to 'pian' her eat. if she dun wan, i wld cont to try n try. hopefully 1 day she wld enjoy eating like her korkor. i agree pd usually not so 'concerned' n wori like mummy. pd tell me she looks fine, not seriously underwt, looks alert. as long as hse takes somtg, is ok. their fav phrase 'is ok, no problem'..

darlie,
welcome
i alwy tot 1 boy, 1 girl twin. so nice. but d taking care part mus b tough. i hv 1 older boy, 1 bb girl, chuan.. :p

ms tan,

sent u an sms...did u receive it? 1kg for $32. let me know whether u want and I can buy for u tmr.

darlie toothpaste,

welcome.. r u working or?

janet,

i dun use pampers red... now still using nepia and MP. but bb still on M size.... think L size is 9kg or 10kg and above right? ur bb using L now?

sanrio,

think lean mean will still have "oil" hor? i think i will try to search for the oil drainer mentioned by ms tan.. but dunno where to find and how it looks like. ask u something, so far, have u been away for more than 1 night from ash or cher since they were born? if yes, do u miss them? i need to go for a biz trip for 4 days soon... dunno how...sianz. but have to go... after this... i still have to travel occasionally as well. worried bb will forget who am i...

Lovedogs
No prob...Probably we can arrange next thurs or fri..but furthest I can go from my office is at the 'metal' gate of Far East Sq...the stretch where Mr Teh Tarik is...errmm...you know where I referring?

Dun worry abt Tess forgetting U, I believe the mummy-daughter bond will always be there...an Apr mummy went to Indo for 9days, her boy recognise her almost immediately at the airport when she came out.

Darlie
Nice to know u...WoW..Twins...so incredible...are U breastfeeding both of them?

Janet
My boy still wearing 'M' size lei...actually your gal was quite "bah bah"...so even though she lost abit of weight after the flu, it's really alrite...moreover, she drinks 900ml of milk per day, which is quite alot!

thanks mommies for the welcome! yep, not easy having 2 at once! but can manage so far although there are times when i feel like tearing out my hair! am a FTWM so my mum and domestic helper take care of them during the day.

characters are indeed very different. kor kor very manja; mei mei very gung-ho, now crawling all over the place and devising ways to escape from her cot :p

they are on porridge now after feeding them with bb jar food since 4mo. so everyday we'll plan their menu for the next day and tax our grey matter with new recipes.

lovedogs
U bet... For the mini pork floss minispringroll (non-spicy), I think its abt $22/kg. No brand, U want, they will pack by weight. Thx for checking.

Lovedogs, SpringD
The oil drainer is just a ladle with fine mesh. I got it from a make-shift stall outside NTUC some time ago. $10. Shld be avail at the bigger supermarkets I think. Boil in hot water for 5 mins before 1st use.
1199877.jpg

Sanrio
I use 'yao ruo' for pork, beef I use sirloin steak for porridge. For pork stock, I use "Ruan gu" + big bone. For big bone, I boil them in a separate pot for abt 5 mins for them to 'bleed' else the blood tat ooz out will 'dirty' my soup. Then I put all the bone into 2 white cloth bags and dump into slow cooker. I started using bags for making stock recently, the soup is clearer.

Jean
I understand how U feel. Cheer up, your MIL is just being kan-cheong abt her grandson. Imagine Cookie is taken care of by a nanny who doesn't feel the pinch.

Anyone feeding bb fresh fruit-juice? Do U add water?

hi springdance, i stopped BF after 2 months. they were on FM since birth so mine was a supplement.

have any mommies tried cooking frog porridge? so far we have have tried frog / pork / beef / white bait / ikan billis. but no chicken yet. then add veges to mix and match. they seem to like all types of combinations so far, no complaints from them yet!

lovedogs,
so far i use lean meat, dun c 'any oil' in d porridge, cos i wld trim away any fats i can c :p b4 i add to porridge, i wld put in hot water for 5-10min.

ms tan,
i din use 'yao rou' cos cher dun like/eat d pork so i use 'bat tao'. hvnt tried pork bones. only few tx, i made corn n carrot soup or lotus root or zuchinni or potato n carrot soup w pork ribs (din add salt) n add some soup to her porridge. so sweet (cos i cook for many hrs), but she still dun fancy..
some days i wld jus give her HT cereal w steam pumpkin or apple or whatever, 5-10mins, she can fin 1 bowl n wld kip opening her mouth.. i dun even add bm, jus water.
does f like cereal?

Ms Tan
Oohhh…..I have that at hm….just that never realise it can be use for draining oil…use it mainly when we cook noodle/bee hoon…to scoop up from the boiling water.

Errmm…so to drain oil, is it let it cool down in the fridge and the oil condense to form a lyer on top, then scoop up the layer of oil with the drainer?

Darlie
Old folks say frog legs porridge good for baby legs….heheh…tot of trying it before it…but need to buy live frogs to cook lei…and not many markets in Singapore sell &amp; “process” the froggies….

Then you boy start to crawl yet? My boy still dunnoe...slow slow.....

heh heh, my boy slower compared to the girl. she was already very mobile at 6mo. can belly crawl while the boy lies on his back, refusing to flip onto the tummy. now he's on his tummy but refuse to move any further! start whining when he can't move so we have to rescue him
so now you can see the girl crawling and stomping all over her brother while hanging onto the cot bars.

i started them on the FP Jumperoo whe they were 4mo and it does make a lot of difference. the gal loves to jump in it so now she can move very fast and her posture is very erect when we hold her up to 'walk'. kor kor just sits in it and he very nuah now..... refuse to stand or move... hiyah.

my mum actually buys the whole frog and asks the uncle to chop it up. think 1 frog just nice to make porridge for 1 baby as we cook 2. the smell and taste quite mild and sweet. maybe tekka mkt will have? my mom buys from the wet market in pasir ris.

darlie
My boy exactly like yours! Dunnoe how to move forward and start crying for help...

The market near my house dun sell "tian ji" ...and we kinda no time &amp; lazy to travel far to other markets by public transport...we dun own a car. :p