(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Janet / Cheezel / Sgn / JeanYard
Thanks a lot for the concern…. Jonas is back to normal liaozzzz…. Hiaz…actually dun feel like bring bbJ to the wedding dinner in the very 1st place…but hor, my parents in law are the VIP RELATIVES for this dinner… and they want to attend as a FAMILY and “SHOW” their 1st grandson to the relatives…so you gals can understand the can’t “excape” situation now? :p

Cool_D
Wow…Jordan so brave and ‘guai’…lucky you can sail through the dinner…I guess my boy is just too timid and anti-social in character. Hope he won’t be ‘sissy’ when he grows up!! :p

YoYo
Think babies feel very insecure ba…must SEE our face every second….separation anxiety as what Ms Tan has mentioned some time back

<font color="ff0000">POSITIVE BABIES</font>

Thinking of signing my boy for a ‘Positive Baby’ trial class … so juz checking out if any mummy interested to join us?

If U keen, email/sms me or post here okie…

What is the class about?
> Yoga play
> Object play
> Simple sign language
> Exercises with songs and rhymes

Details of the class:
Fees - $26.75
Date - 19 Jan (Sat)
Time - 3pm to 3.45pm
19 Tanglin Rd, #05-18
Tanglin Shopping Centre

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Fish Names</font></font>
Anyone know wat is the chinese name for the following fish?
1) Ang Gor Li (english and chinese name)
2) garoupa
3) red snapper

Jeanyard n ji79

thks for your reply. bb refuse to latch on after she was hospitalise a few days so i pump out to feed her. e both of u still bf? or stop already? can pls share your experience w me? need to knw whether it is true that d frequency to pump out milk will reduce as time goes by since bb drinking more but less frequent. i will need to return work in abt a mth's time. so wan to get myself mentally prepare.

other mummies... pls advise too!!
thks!!

keki,

I have stop bf.once I also have this problem, bb refuse to latch once they take bottle. But you have to persist, try to latch on every feed and at the same time do the pump. It will be tiring and if I am not wrong, bb is screaming when you are trying all your best to latch on.
Trust me, finally your bb will latch on if you persist.
Breast produce milk by demand, if you feed more and of coz they will produce more.

hi keki,

You have to try to latch your bb on and try not to submit to giving bottles because she will grow to have a preference. I am currently still BF, my baby is almost 8 months. I did not give her bottle till she was about 2 month and i limit that to 1 bottle a day for her to try it out.

If you are intending to continue to BF, by the time you return to work, you probably will have to pump twice a day, you should be getting 3 or 4 bottles of 80-120ml. As baby starts on semi-solid at about 5-6mths, you will probably need to pump once a day and you should be getting 2 bottles of 150ml.

If you have not gotten yourself an electrical pump, please do so. I have used manual pump for the first few mths and i have a bad lump (more than 2cm) from 3rd mth onwards till 5th mth, in 1 of my breast. However i was lucky that it started to reduce when i went for breast checkup and lactation sessions in KKH and the lactation nurse advised to use an electrical pump. Persistency pays off! My lump is reducing and i think it probably is less than 0.5cm now.

Electrical pumps can pump both breasts at the same time, so it is more convenient and time-saving. They tend to clear the BM better too. Of course, no other machine clears the breasts better than your baby.

Hope the above helps.

Karen
was thinking of u these 2 days wondering why sooooo long never see u here then i tell myself ppl got 2 kids to look after n work sure busy.

1) Ang Gor Li (english and chinese name)
2) garoupa <font color="ff0000">shi ban</font>
3) red snapper

keki
i can understand ur tiredness but u will get used to it. try to sleep more during the day when bb is sleeping.
i dun have much milk in the 1st 2 months but after working hard to pump n latch i now supply is more than bb's needs so got to donate.
ur hard work is worth when u see ur bb is growing healthy n it helps u to lose wt too.

keki
it was very difficult for my bb to latch on initally..cos he took his very 1st bottle after he was born..but I persist n persist..finally he decides to latch on..now he is 8mth old..n he kinda dun like the bottle esp when I am at home..

any mummies using Angel bb wipes....this brand like disappear from the face of earth leh..

hi keki,
i tbf my bb. yes i mus agree is tough esp deprived slp. but if u persist, it wld get easier along d way, as ur ss is established n bb drking intervals/hrs becum more or less fixed (unlike nb, drking on dd n short intervals). for me, i set fr myself short term goals, af 1st mth, i told myself my next goal is 3mths then next is 6mths then my current goal is hopefully till my bb is 1yr old.
do share w us ur concern/problem on bfg if any, n we wld try our best to help

springdance,

poor jonas..think coz wedding dinner so many people, everyone talking loud loud, etc... plus the yam seng portion rather rowdy.. i guess if possible best not to bring kids to wedding dinners... i used to find all the kids super irritating when i attended wedding dinners :p

yoyo,

me at episode 56 now leh... very kan cheong... 4 more episodes.. think will cheong 2 more episodes tonite...so that tmr nite still got something to cheong... else finish liao very sian.. or perhaps can u please give me the url to find recent and new TVB titles and picture? I can't read chinese characters very well...so the pictures will help me alot :p

keki,

i gave up pumping and bfg when bb turned 4 mths. however, took me 1 month to stop the milk flow...so bb was 5 mths by the time i stopped totally... breastmilk is good but i guess if u end up being deprived and depressed...then dun be too hard on yourself...many of us grew up on FM and we turn out fine right...for me, after i stopped pumping...i sort of gain back my sanity and normal life coz once u start work... if u have to express, work, look after baby.....i decided to use the time for expressing milk to sleep more or watch tv....

keki, all the best in yr BF challenge
If you think you can still take it, continue to BF k? It is a challenge and sometimes just feel like giving up. It depends on what your priorities are. If you need more "me" time, then giving up BF would free you up for things you want to do. If not, just keep doing it, after all you won't have to BF for life..just for the first few months of life

Personally I do what sanrio did..set short-term goals to BF. With regard to frequency of pumping, it's really up to you. If you need to pump to relieve yr breasts, just do so accordignly as long as there's enuff milk. No need so strict lah. And I've never gotten up at night to pump coz I don't want my breasts to think more milk is required at that time.

sgn,
i grind at girst coz scare the rice too hard for bb to bite, but it looks ok after a while, so i stop grinding.

jeanyard,
i tink my BM ss can last Kelly till 1yr old, i still have about 60 packets left. gd luck to ur 2nd one, hope the ss is as much as cookies time. we look 4ward to ur Da Shiong
btw noe the gender of bb oreadi?

Lovedogs
I didn’t bring baby into the ballroom for the “Yum Seng” session…stand outside far far lor…since his reaction was so bad from the start when MC went on stage before the 1st March-in… in fact, we only bring baby back to the ballroom at the 3rd or 2nd last dish…. Me, my hubby, MIL took turns to stay outside with baby before that.

Karen
Red Snapper is "Hong Ban"

<font color="ff0000">RE: POSITIVE BABIES</font>
The website address is positivefocus.com.sg…. let me know by Friday noon if you gals are joining the class yah.. I need to revert by this week to the Centre Manager.

Cheers! :D

springdance
maybe jonas is not used to the unfamiliar environment. so far i brought ernest to 2 wedding dinners, so far so good. he slept after the 2nd dish is served...

sgn
ya..agree dat pigeon is easier to pull up..but then angel is cheap lor..

lovedogs
now i dun pump in the office..wow..i felt so much relaxed when i reached home..no need to rush to wash n sterlised the pumps..now i only bf at nite lor..

in case anyone wans to get the thermos lunch jar (model is JLQ 805)..isetan is selling it for $47..can referred to this thread for the pic..

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1122517.html?1197471084

Jesmine
Ernest didn't wake up when the MC went on stage to speak? What about 'Yum Seng' session?

Maybe for our case, the sound was really impactful ba coz the ballroom was quite compact and we were seated at the VIP table in front of the stage. Another reason could be that Jonas is more timid in character...hiazz...hope when he's older he will be braver...else sure kanna bullied. :p

Zhuzhu
i prefer pigron lor cos now bb flip so hiong that all the cleaning agent must be within reach. can't cope with holding bb up from pool of shit struggle with digging the wipes (when it does't pull put automatily) STRESS!!!!

bp for the food jar does them still accpecting orders? i bought 1 at tangs $47 which the thread is selling $34, very temped to get 1 for nanny.

zhuzhu
JCG300 - 0.3L FOOD BEVERAGE JAR
BP price: $34

which is very good can keep warm for very long n can use as milk warmer when go out (for 4oz avent bottle).

zhuzhu
i bought the stainless steel/ black now just make a pre order the blue color one hee hee.
also thinking should get the 500mls one as bb will increase they intake.

zhuzhu,

which of the jars shown in the url can be used to store porridge? thanks

springdance,

aiyoh, like that very bo eng hor... hope your MIL "learnt" her lesson and will not insist bringing jonas for wedding dinners in the near future....

thks for d advices...

zhuzhu
how u manage to latch your bb on? my bb has been on total bottle ever since she was hospitalised when she was 4 days old. is it u laych bb on every feed? ignore bb cry cos if hungry sure must drink fr breast? how long it takes b4 u succeed? pls share cos i wan bb to latch on again do. thks!

lovedogs
the one Sgn bought can use to store porridge..the one i got got 3 compartment..so can put porridge in 1 compartment and veggie in another..

keki
i sorta force him to latch on lor..
initally cos supply not enuff..so i supplement with FM and i try to pump..the later i get a bit lazy..so i decide to BF him lor..so every 1-1.5hr..i will latch him on lor..u can try to let bb go abit hungry 1st..then let bb latch on lor..

Morning mommies!

How has everyone been? Seems like lesser moms are posting nowadays. Guess most are busier, now that our little one's needs are more. No more drink, poop and sleep, drink, poop and sleep liao. Now must entertain, must cook, must train to do this and that. Headache, but fun! :p

Anyway, I have been reading the past posts, and I must kowtow to Ms Tan, sanrio, and who else ah... oh and SpringDance, and a few others. It is because of you guys, I have gotten the inspiration to COOK for Laura. The thing is, I know NOTHING about cooking, so this was a BIG decision. :p

My first child was solely taken care of by MIL, so since she was supposed to be more experienced, I let her dictate what to give my boy then. Come to find out now, my poor boy had only cereal every day for a long while. Good thing he loved his milk then, or else he would have been really undernurished. Now I can only slap myself for not using the internet to find information for myself, and for thinking that all MILs are experts in taking care of kids. Sigh.

So now, ME is gonna dictate what Laura eats, don't care what MIL says. So far so good, coz I've been giving her HT for her 2 meals a day right now. She doesn't like anything other brand of cereal. I've add either apple puree, or pumpkin puree, or pumpkin + peas puree, or jappy sweet potatoes puree. That's about all she's tried so far. Then out of the blue, MIL decides to feed her carrot juice everyday. Had to use the maid to tell her to stop, or Laura would die of nitrate poisoning! Didn't dare to tell her myself. So, right now she has kind of stopped liao. Thank goodness.

After knowing that babies can start having porridge at this age, I am gonna try to introduce that to Laura this weekend. But then hor, I have some really newbie questions... coz like I said, I dunno how to cook AT ALL AT ALL!

1. To cook porridge (white rice + brown rice) in a slow cooker, how much water (or do we use stock) to add?
2. To make chicken stock or fish stock, do we just boil the chicken parts, or the fish parts alone? Or do we have to add other ingrediants?
3. To add vegetables, do you cook the vegetables seperately first, then mix together into the porridge when everything is done, or you can just dump in everything when you start cooking the porridge?
4. What about adding meat, like fish or lean meat. Do I dump into the rice grains + water or add in at a later stage?

Sorry for the many questions. I tried to search the internet, but all never tell me in detail how to prepare porridge.

duette
to cook porridge for the 1st time it's better to use white rice, cos brown rice harder to digest.

i used white rice cook till very nuar then add grined carrot (can add steamed veg if u dun want to use carrot) then b4 severing 1/2 hr add grined fish meat (ngo her) and that's it!

i gave my boy fish 1 week then if no allergy then add pork( spare rib or lean meat which less oily).

for steamed veg add b4 feeding into the porridge.

Lovedogs
Actually it should be my FIL learnt his lesson. Coz it’s his relative getting married. :p

Caused his wife, son &amp; daughter in law to be so busy with baby throughout the dinner and most of all, his grandson to be so unhappy… but can’t blame him for not helping out coz he dun really know how to take care of baby and baby is not close to him as compared to the 3 of us lar.

Dudette
Just to share my personal view/experience only (but dun take this as THE must-follow answer!):

1. I add one rice bowl of water to one tablespoon of white rice. Mine is ground brown rice which I add around 1hour after the white rice is being cooked in the slow cooker. Cannot add from the very start coz the brown rice powder gets cooked very fast and will make the porridge “gor gor” and stick to the bottom of the pot.
2. Good to use fish or pork stock for the porridge to make it taste nicer and also for extra calcium (if you use or fish / pork bones) but I use water only lar.
3. To make fish/pork stock, only need to boil the fish/pork meat + bone over the stove on its own for ½ to one hour…But if follow Ms Tan’s way of slow-cooking the soup stock for more than 10 hours, the stock will taste better.
4. Vegetables best to steam separately to retain the nutrients. But for lazy method (especially if you managing baby alone and no time to look after the cooking), can dump into the porridge at the very beginning OR after porridge starts boiling in the slow cooker.
5. Fish can add with the white rice to cook at the very beginning coz it breaks down more the longer you cook it…for pork (I use lean meat slice and minced up on my own before cooking), you should add in only at later stage coz the longer you cook it, the harder it becomes and baby can’t eat.

springdance
I must have missed the 'Ms tan receipe' post, but I am really interested to know .. .. so, for slow cooking, juz add meat &amp; water into slow cooker &amp; cook 10 hours. After dat, can keep in freezer? And when cooking, do we add stock + water, or juz stock?

MIL also started cooking carrot &amp; gor her porridge for bbJ but he does not seems to like it .. too bland I tink.

Kris
Aiyah. As usual lor, so busy, sometimes don’t even have time to makan or go toilet.

Sanrio/lynn
Thanks. Y’day went to the Chinese med hall and they said is good for kid. So I bought abit for bbS to try. Intend to add into the porridge for taste only. Hee

Cheezel

Zhuzhu/sgn
I have bought a thermos food jar from the december istean private sale. The Foogo B3000. this can keep food warm for 5 hours and cold for 7 hours. So far has bought her porridge out afew times liao.

serene,
add only later wen porridge is half/ 3qtr way cooked. as 'gou qi zi' if cook for too long, may give a sourish taste to d porridge/soup.

dudette,
1) remb to soak brown rice grain overnite cos white breaks fast, brown takes longer. water i use 'agaration'. if use slow cooker, not too much as wld take very long to cook. if in midst of cookign, not enough, u can alwy add. remb to add hot water n Not tap water else take ages to cook in slow cooker. for me, i dun grind nor blend anymore.

2) yes boil d chicken or fish bones. wash very clean to remove d blood. if u use pork (lean meat) or chicken breast, u can add directly into d porridge.

3) vege, usually i steam separately. then wan to feed, jus mash n put into porridge. if add into porridge, add only wen porridge almost ready else lost nutrients if overcooked. u can also put sweet potao or carrot directly into porridge to sweeten it.

somtx i cook pork, carrot, potato soup (boy can also eat, i dun add salt) n use it as 'stock' n add to plain porridge.

got to trial n error. cher is 1 tat still prefer HT mix grain cereal to porridge as of now.

soft_pillow,

I will keep a look out of the foto-u thread and update you accordingly. When are you thinking of going for the shoots?

dudette
me oso duno how to cook..unless u count cooking instant noddles as 1..

for fish stock..i add in 1 slice of ginger..to remove the fishy smell...usually i cook a bigger pot of stock..then i freeze it to be use for another 2 times or so..

Veggie: I bought the banyam(chinese spinach)..then steam it..then when cool..i will chopped until very fine..b4 throw inside the porridge

serene
u remember how much u paid for the food jar?

leadpad
anyone getting this for their bbs? I keep seeing alot of sprees for this system..duno useful o not..

serene,

the food jar u paid is at a very good rate! i so far have not bring porridge or cereal out. I try to go out after i feed porridge or cereal. is it messy to feed bb porridge or cereal outside?

zhuzhu,

i want the whole thing can put porridge loh... so think the one serene got is the best kind? however, missed it during the isetan sale liao... too bad...

dudette,

me too, i dunno how to cook except instant noodles and fried rice kind. nvr ever steam fish before in my life. been steaming threadfin to add in porridge for bb nowadays...realised it is really easy.

as for spinach, i use the bruan chopper to chop till super fine...then will add in the porridge to cook together for abt 5 mins... as for the fish, i will steam it seperately with a few slices of ginger... then will use a fork to shred it till small pieces.. when the spinach and porridge cooked, i will pour the flaked fish in and stir... then serve liao..

for fish stock, my mum used threadfin bones. she boiled for 2 hours. added some ginger slices as well. then used the milk bags to freeze a few packets

for me, i am using short grain brown rice. I add some water into the rice grain and blend it till smaller pieces.. so when u cook, it will take less than 10 mins ready liao...

zhu zhu/lovedogs/serene
i bought the foogo food jar long ago but still have not used it coz i dare not feed bbC outside coz very messy..hehehe.i go out only after feeding her

dudette
i will normally cook the porridge first. then add in chicken breast/fish meat and lastly the vege. then before feeding, i will take out the vege and meat to blend and then add back into the porridge for bbC

keki,
everyone here knows i'm a "pumpaholic". because bb refused to latch on and rather sleep and afraid he suffer from low blood sugar (cos I had GD), I worked extra hard during my 3 mths of maternity leave. I pump for 30min on both side at the same time every 3 hrs, even in the middle of the night. The Ameda motor is rather quiet and newborn likes the sound of it, even when sleeping. I max at 300-400ml per pump then. but when start work, I changed to pump every 12hrs and after 1 week, due to stress, I stopped. but bb drank on frozen supply until 6mths old.

kris,
what's da shiong? I'm thinking of not wanting to know the gender this time round cos HB say 2nd one so fast, not so excited. so this suspense can be element of surprise.

zhuzhu, sgn,
can order by phone Angel wipes? Angel from china, pigeon from Japan. Yi fen qian, yi fen huo. if wipe hands and mouth, can get the pigeon anti-bac type. if pat pat, get cheap ones lah.

Dudette

Wah good to know u're inspired to cook!

I have no time to do so..only on weekends. So weekdays just feed cereal lah... so bad

I wonder if any mummies here r getting tired of their jobs? I am... and i wonder if anyone has any ideas for flexi scheme or part time work? Thanks...

jeanyard,
dats big breasts, heee, remember hw suisui n i used to tease u
my fren oso dun wanna noe the gender of his 2nd n 3rd bb, in the end, she got 3 gers.

lovedogs
nevermind lar..isetan will sure to have another sale one..but the one serene bought no stocks at isetan at the moment..

i bought the seperate one..so dat when bb older..can have seperate dishes..or I can dun use all 3 compartments..can just use the bigger one to put the porridge inside lor..

jeanyard
remember me n lovedogs were teasing u.."oh the gal with LOTS of milk"..

this angel wipes..dat steven guy..like missing in action...cannot get him..then the other lady dun sell anymore..

my colleague said CK department store selling this looney tunes one..cheap $1/pkt..i told her to get some for me to try

dudette

long tm bo chat liao . we missed u at the last marina outing lei. Just to add on to the advice alr given, for PORK/ CHIX stock (to make the porridge with this stock) , dont 4get to blanch with hot water first b4 making the stock hor.

ur post abt MIL feeding ur boy only cereal reminds me so much abt my MIL . she has this notion that maishia at 8mths shld be adquately sustained on milk n a little bit of cereal as a supplement. like u, i also find it tough to tell her the frank truth that it is SO not enuf =P. maishia takes 2 solid meals of porridge a day n a snack if i cn summon up the energy to enter the kitchen agn.