(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

my boy is 15 mths. recently he very cranky. i think his molar is growing. all his front teeth out already.
Anyways to help him soothe his pain.

Brushing Teeth
Jaslyn brushes w/o toothpaste. Jolene used to use First Teeth Toothpaste until few weeks ago, she refused it. Dunno why, she suddenly felt the taste weird and refused to use toothpaste, so now she just brush w/o any.

Shop n Save have some 20% discount off for certain brand diapers, I remember got Pampers Active, Pampers Baby Dry, Huggies Dry, Huggies Ultra, Pureen Dry 5... The rest I can't remember.
Huggies Ultra is selling at $12.70 per pack.

Vivian
same lor. Kim always yell when we ONLY wipe her mouth. But i think now must help her to keep teeth clean. i only bought the first teeth finger brush adn toothpaste last week. Dunno how to brush her also haha...

Adeline
U buy from outside aah??
Should buy from spree ma u see the price from spree hor u sure heartpain 1.

Vivian
U wanna try first teeth hor dun buy I still have that time KS stock up until now still using the 1st tube not even half yet....hahahha
Or u wanna try Spiffies. Its a piece of cloth that u use to wipe their mouth n teeth lor. D like it so much hor he machiam like suck it 1....hahahha

some recent pixs of caleb to share.

caleb with his 2 fave cousins during bro's wedding earlier this month
1085700.jpg

finally caleb got to meet bunny's joeie after 1 yr
1085701.jpg

and finally, caleb with bunny's jolene
1085702.jpg

Toothpaste
==========
I'm also using First Teeth Toothpaste but recently changed the finger brush to the Pigeon toothbrush step 2 cos my boy only has 7 teeth.

Toys
====

My living room is filled wif toys, dunno much abt educational value of these toys but prefer to let my boy experiment wif a variety... Wanted to get those interactive leapfrog stuff but witness my boy attempting to tear the pages from my fren's book so decided against buying so soon.
My boy's attention span very short so he gets bored playing wif the same thing very quickly that's why we have many many to keep him occupied... (Haiz, of coz it's juz an excuse for his parents to shop lah!!!)

Hi selina,
Caleb really looks like 'ah wang' wif that hair but he's an extremely handsome chap... Nxt time his GFs sure queue all the way to JB and beyond...

Vivian,
When you use the First Teeth toothpaste, Rhys may guai guai open mouth for you cos he wants to eat the toothpaste! haha. Anyway, my experience with K is we started using Pigeon step 1 toothbrush instead of the finger brush. Initially, he will want to hold the toothbrush like a lollipop to suck the toothpaste! Now when we say 'ah', he will just go 'ah' and let us brush his teeth quickly. I am still using the step 1 toothbrush though he already has 8 teeth. Think we will skip step 2 and go on to step 3. Step 2 looks scary will all the pointed spikes! :p

Hi Mummies, thank you for sharing your experience.I had always thought Char is abnormal been calling her a cockroach.

Toothpaste
===========
For Mummies who use toothpaste, does your bb swallow it or spit it out? I've been brushing CHar's teeth since she started solid, but have neve ruse toothpaste though I hv bought the first teeth tooth paste long ago. Cos I think she'll definitely swallow it.

Shoes
=====
Char also ba kah. She's wearing size 4. Lots of cute shoes can't but cos she can't fit in.

L'boymum, your incident also very funny. Dunno to laugh or be angry. ;)

coral,
Charlotte's feet size should be like Jaslyn, ba ba one.
Saw many cute and pretty shoes, but I can't squeeze them into Jaslyn's feet

Brushing Teeth
I think "new generation" parents will brush the kids teeth. Last time maybe our parents time din bother with this hor? Cos hor I think I used to brush teeth w/o toothpaste until I reached kindergarten age. And straight away used those cologate, where got bb toothpaste.
Actually I started Jolene on brushing teeth late also, think abt 14 mths like tat. Only when come to Jaslyn, I started once her teeth are out. But hor, I realised Jaslyn teeth not as nice as Jolene one leh

Toys
Kids attention span is very short. Like most of us were complaining is abt 5 to 10 mins right? I read somewhere and tried this method. When the kids are playing, I only give them a few toys (like 2 to 3) to play with. When they are bored with these 2 to 3 toys, I keep them away in box (disappear from their sight for days/weeks) and give them another sets of different toys to play with. After they sick of these set, I took out the other sets. Like rotating like tat. Somehow the toys they used to be sick with, suddenly become a new toys which rises their interest again. Those toys that are always at their sight, they won't touch at all. This is what I observe lah. Thats why I dun bother to open up the new toys for them to play.

pups,
step 2 toothbrush looks "dangerous" but then is very soft.
For Jolene, I started her on Step 1 (for a short while), skipped Step 2 and straight away into Step 3.

Jenny,
Yah, I know it should be very soft. But I don't see the point of using Step 2 so will skip it

Coral,
K doesn't spit out the toothpaste cos we never tell him to. :p But I believe can train him to rinse his mouth since my mum says after lunch she actually give him some water ask him to rinse and spit out and he did. But his lazy parents are too lazy to go get a basin for him to spit into cos we brush his teeth in his room after milk before he sleeps :p So, I do the short cut by using hankerchieft to swipe over his freshly brushed teeth

thks for your feedback on the jerking. seems like need to check with the PD already, though i'm not really that worried.

hi coral,

i agree with pups. babies/toddlers love the first teeth toothpaste! whenever i wash tricia teeth, she will eat the toothpaste, i think it should be sweet. after brushing, will wash away the remains of the toothpaste on the finger brush, and clean her teeth again.

as for toothbrush, i got a free toothpaste from EQ, tried on tricia, think she dont like it cos it's quite hard, so going to stick with the finger brush.

hi dor,

agree. the spree price of the toothpaste as compared to outside really a BIG difference!

hi jenny/coral,

tricia also "tua kah po". she also wearing size 4 now. my SILs pass my nieces shoes over and some are so nice but she cant even wear....

Adeline
hahaha I think now currently dun have lah but u paid $20+ for it outside right?? I bought 2 for less then that price leh. U see ex anot lor.
Next time u see the 1st teeth n desitin spree by jasmine u join to stockup lor since u will need for #2 also hers quite cheap.
Next time wanna try something ask here first lah then we tell u got lobang anot save money ma.

pups, jenny
Think we all the same skip the Pigeon step 2....hahaha
Dunno why leh I also skip it. Now I alternate the finger brush n the pigeon toothbrush cos can't decide which is better.....hahaha

1st teeth
----------------
Actually this toothpaste is design for bbs n toddlers when they still can't spit out so its safe for them to swallow n eat it. For me I dun bother to rinse for D or wipe again cos think he already eaten everything when I brushing. I brush him jus before his bath everyday n sometimes evening I use the spiffies to wipe.

Meaty Feet
-----------------
Think alot of our bbs feet are very bah bah hor. Cos D is wearing the Crocs smallest size 4-5. But when take off hor the top of his feet got those dots pattern cos it fits tightly lor. Then I realise my cousin's daughter going 3 yrs is wearing the same size Crocs leh....hahahahaha

Dor,
Think K also cannot wear crocs 4-5. The length is fine but the "height" is too low. End up the feet gets "stuck" halfway when wearing. So if getting for him, I need to get 6-7 and let him wear it long like a diver's flippers. Haha.

Taking a short break from work for a while.

TOOTHPASTE
Joshua is still using the First Teeth one even though he can now spit out. Felt that it's the safest one.

pups,
I find the bristles for the Pigeon step 3 a bit hard. I use the oral B one instead, got a cute Pooh pic on it.

Ok, back to the grind. The weekend is coming!
I'm bringing the kids to T3 tmrw!

Pups
Flippers??? hehehehe

btw I realised hor cos the Crocs shoes the front is a little broader then normal shoes n cos its rubbery its hard to walk when it rubs against each other. So if buy that for them need to give them a while to get used to walking in them. Cos when D started wearing his crocs to walk u can see he walk walk then he will stop n look at the shoes then he will walk with his feet wider apart.
My nephews says 'Giant is coming' when D walks....hahaha

<font color="0000ff">I just wanna check with you gals here before I post in the WTG section.
My colleague passed me a preloved booster car seat. Anyone want?? If no one wants, then I'll post in the WTG Section.
I think not for fussy, but still in usable condition.</font>

juz a quick one... <font color="aa00aa">thank you again for all e congrats n well wishes</font>

i was discharged on thur.. but as expected, isabelle had jaundice n had to stay for phototherapy.. i stayed 1 extra day till friday to accompany her... but her jaundice went up the nex day, so i discharged n left her there for an extra day... finally, today she's well enough to be home....

i was thinking, u all "hang up" ur breastpumps liaoz... im starting this process all over again..

now juz finish pumping... waiting to feed her in awhile's time b4 i knock out.....

paiseh, still havent downloaded e photos from my cam yet.. but will def share once i have...

super tired... tis time round, hubby commented i seem more energetic than e last time round.. but in fact im really not... i told him its cos i have 2 babies to take care of right now... since i came home, my mum discourage me from carrying Ayden cos she afraid my womb/uterus will be "pressed" down n not recover if i keep carrying him... so he seem quite aloof from me these 2 days... but juz now after my mum left, i fed him his night-night bottle, n talked alot to him during e feed... he was looking at me thru' out the entire time.. n his eyes like telling me "mummy, u very long time never carry me n feed me like this liaoz".. i felt so guilty... prob plus my postnatal hormones going abit haywire too...

<font color="ff6000">mango</font>
hey... u getting better now??? r u still taking e jabs n how r u feeling???

<font color="ff6000">selina</font>
i totally agree... esp on e other lady being a witch.....
caleb looks sooooo adorable!!! actually he n bunny's joeie looks abit alike leh.. both got big beautiful eyes.... btw, how's bunny? her 3rd princess shd be abt 1-2mths old liaoz rite???

<font color="0000ff">brushing teeth</font>
hehehe... paiseh to say, i also havent start brushing ayden's teeth yet... dunno if he'll let us.. will start within these 2mths since im at home...

Starz, if you can't carry Ayden, try to hug him often while sitting or lying down. Keep the bond close.
You're not enjoying the wonder of being a Mother of two. Stay cheery.

Selina, Caleb really got ba kah. US size 6 is still too big for Char.

Dor, where you buy the crocs huh? That day I went, the smallest I cant find is 6 leh.

Toothpaste
==========
Thanks Mummy, ok, now I'll start using toothpaste too.

By the way,my aunty who's MIA for 2yrs finally visited me last Thurs. I welcome her with mixed feelings. I hate the inconveninece, but I know I'm back to normal. But on Fri, my back aches like it's contraction.

Just to let off some bottled feelings
=====================================
Work has been rather busy but my work place is quite alrite, and my boss undertsnads my desire to see Char so at times he'll take over my tasks to let me go home. But hb and inlawas and my parents all heartache to see me working so hard had all been encouraging me to quit. Recently got a job offer that would give me 50+% pay rise and let me head the entire Spore biz unit. But I'm worried with more money and opportunity it may mean less time with Char, I turn down the offer. Everybody thinks I'm silly, but I think all other Mothers should understand ba. In fact, if I can conveince myself to let go of work, I really feel like becoming a full time house wife soon.

coral,
i totally understand how you feel. That's why i gave up my previous job for a step-down position here. My ex-colleagues felt that i was silly too since i was doing well at my previous place.
I'm happy now. Though it's very tiring having to juggle both work and family and the time spent with them is now reduced to about 2 hours each night, at least having a job has given me sort of a sense of self-worth and space for myself. I'm happy with the current arrangment and my boss has been quite understanding of my need to be with the kids. I'm allowed to work from home (which i did last week) when the need arises and i make it a point not to stay back late and pple here are fine with it.
Money is not everything for me. Most important is work-life balance.

<font color="0000ff">coral</font> i can totally comprehend your feelings. i took on this current job due to the higher salary too but like you said, higher salary comes with opportunity costs = less time with Caleb and like bbgrace, my time with him is also reduced to 2 hours daily.

i hope to save up enf soon so i can stay home longer or get a less demanding job that allows more flexibility. tho my coy dun allow us to work from home but lucky my boss is quite understanding and he doesnt breath down my neck so strongly so i get some leeway and coupled with i have over 60 hours of time off that i can clear so on and off.

guess i try to juggle as much as i can ba. u take care and remember that whatever decision u make, u know yourself best and are taking them for the sake of your family. kudos to you.

yes he has big feet. guess he inherited it from me.

<font color="0000ff">starz</font> yes. the way she treated my AOM and me like we not worthy of talking to her like that. so mad. initially i refused to introduce myself to her but after some thoughts, i went ahead to self introduce cos i dun wanna reduce myself 2 b like her.

yes 3rd princess is almost 3mths i think and she is still on maternity. but this is a tough time for her cos my aunty's condition is quite critical now. she has to shuttle from home to hospital everyday.

starz,
make sure you have plenty of rest cos you need to take care of Ayden too. At this age, he can be quite active. Also refrain from carrying him. You are not allowed to carry him at least for 1 to 2 mths till your body fully recovered. Just give him lot of hugs and let him sit side by side with you while watching TV, reading books. After another 2 weeks, you can let him sit on your lap. Take good care and enjoy motherhood.

Coral,
I dun think it is silly of you to give up the job with more $. In fact, I feel that you are a great mum to Charlotte cos you turn down this great offer. I feel that the time spent with our kids are more valuable and of cos more worth than anything else. No much of $ can buy back the time if you miss them now.
I'm not ambitious in work. I just wanna a job that can give me some $ (so that I dun have to get $ from hb) but still have time to be with the kids and my family, not only with my hb but with my parents and siblings. I just feel our parents are getting old, I wanna spend more time with them.

Saw this... Maybe you ladies interested to get xmas gift

MegCorp Toy Warehouse X'mas Sale!
23 Nov to 2 Dec 2007

Up to 90% off character and branded toys like Superman, Rockman EXE, Barbie, Sesame Street, Hello Kitty, Dora, Sponge Bob, Pokemon, SpeedTech, Wow Wee, Playmates, Silverlit, Jakks Pacific, etc.

Time: 11am to 7pm excluding Sunday
Venue: Blk 171 Kallang Way #05-03 Kolam Ayer Industrial Estate
Tel: 6396 6338

Croc Shoes
==========

tricia is wearing hand-me downs shoes from my nieces now. actually feel quite bad cos she's not wearing new shoes. wanted to buy her a pair of sandals. i did not wear croc shoes myself but is croc shoes comfortable for toddlers walking? well, not so much on walking as tricia still dont know how to walk. i did try before but seems like croc shoes like no exact size for the legs.

hi jenny,

same thoughts. i'm not ambitious at work, that's why i'm in the same job for coming 6 yrs and furthermore on a contract. dont want to be independent on my hb for $.

thks for the info on the warehouse sale. another place for me to think of my X'mas gifts for my 8 nephews/nieces..

Coral
kudos to you! hehee..
For me, i have an 'underpaid' job BUT it allows me to go back at 5.30pm sharp and at times flexible timing if need be. I can visit kim regularly because of this which i feel that it's worth it. I'm not ambitious as well thats why i stayed to something which i dont like but i can spend more time with family.

Gemini
kimmy also wearing hand down shoes. She has a pair of white cros shoes given by neighbour.

Can I check anyone has this Little Tikes Surfing Penguin from Huggies Pull Up?
1090947.jpg

I've this Little Tikes swimming turtle for exchange the above. If possible, exchange by this Thur...
1090948.jpg

Agnez,
Your girl so cute...

WALLPAPER SERIES
================
Finally I got some time to start this again...
Managed to finish one for Jovan. Added it in the wallpaper album in yahoo group liao... enjoy...
NEXT > Reubern...

Hi <font color="aa00aa">starz</font>,

Is our little isabelle discharged ??
Quick quick upload leh ..
can't wait to see your princess hee...

My bleeding finally stop last week but still need to go for the jab every week...still to rest more.
You too...muz hve plenty of rest, not easy to take care of two bb..by the way how's ayden reaction to "mei mei" ??

Coral
The crocs smallest size only comes in the mickey mouse version so Char can wear the sweet pink 1 match with D blue 1......Wahahahhahaha

Gemini
Personally I won't wear the kind of crocs I buy for D cos look like big feet to me.......hehehhe
But it feels soft n is comfortable so I got it for D as to me their first walking shoes must be very comfortable so their feet can learn how to walk properly.
But hor its really expensive lor I feel cos I couldn't bear to fork out so much for the shoes my mum bought it for D as his bday present cos she is able to get 20% off.....hehehe

mango
Good for u. Must still rest more okie.

Starz
I feel hor becos mommies are so Wei Da. Even if we are tired we will still be able to have energy for our kids no matter wat 1.

Actually I was waiting for u to post Isabelle's photo 1 but since u busy to post I jus post the 1 I took that day first to weet their appetite....hehehe
1091681.jpg

well... yesterday i fell sick liaoz.. diarrhoea n fever.. think cos e nite b4,i went to sleep at 1am,but isabelle kept me awake from 2-6am, and also woke gor gor up many times thru out e nite... didnt hv enuf rest... end up yest reli suffered.
but thankfully, by lastnite recovered liaoz... today went for gynae n PD checkup... everything is ok with me, gynae had no idea wat brought on e sick-bug yesterday tho... n isabelle's jaundice is at an "acceptable" lvl, tat we can cont with sun-tanning...

<font color="ff6000">dor</font>
no prob... i only JUST downloaded my photos only, havent gone thru them yet...

<font color="ff6000">coral</font>
can totally understand how u feel....
im not ambitious at all, and now, i long to be a full-time mummy more than anything else... but due to financial commitments, unless i strike TOTO, tats impossible.... no matter how much compromises we make....

<font color="ff6000">selina</font>
hehehe... siao siao qi... she's like tat 1.. i kinda same "title" as her wat, but she behave as if she's e CEO like dat.. i juz bo-chup her since day 1 cos we dont need to interact, n i see her face buay song...

<font color="ff6000">agnez</font>
aiyoo!!!!! LA is super super cute!!!!! her smile so sweet!! i wish isabelle wil let me doll her up like tat nex time too... hehehe....

<font color="ff6000">mango</font>
good to hear tat bleeding stop liaoz...
ayden reaction quite mixed eh.. at e hospital, e 1st day he came to visit, he was sooo happy to see me.. keep smiling at me.. he also "sayang" meimei by touching her body (isabelle was all swaddled up).. then after tat, pay no attention to her at all...

but when we came home yesterday noon, it was really a heartwarming moment... i was carrying isabelle n my maid was carrying ayden... he came over to meimei, n sayang her by lightly stroking her head... n he bent over and kissed her!!!!! we were all soooooo surprised by his action!! cos Ayden is super duper "ngiao" with his kisses 1... he havent kiss me for e longest time liaoz.. n he kiss my hb even lesser... so for him to initiate a kiss to meimei... i was soooo touched!!!!! n we regretted not having e camera "ready" for this type of moments....

then now... when u ask him "where's meimei?", he knows and will point to show u liaoz...

tis afternoon when isabelle cried, ayden actually pointed to her packet of pampers tats on a table opposite her cot.. but i thought isabelle wanted feeding... who knows after 5mins, she unlatched n started fussing... then i realised she's dirty, and maybe Ayden understood her cries n told me to change her pampers by pointing to her pampers?!?!?!?!? hahahah......

ok lah, here's a couple of photos to share...

1091849.jpg

1091850.jpg

hehehe.. hope u all dont TL with me for "soliciting" here ar... anyone got girlgirl clothes dont want liaoz.. can "hand-me-down" to me??? lasttime for ayden i got tons of boys clothes cos friends n relatives mostly got boys... now with isabelle, dont have hand-me-downs... any "contribution" is welcome.. hehehe....

starz,
isabelle is so chubby. Don't quite look like Ayden leh.
A is so sweet! Maybe he understood her baby cry better than anyone else. haha!
Aiya, i just passed emma's stuff to my fren whose girl is 6 mths younger than emma. Ok, next time i leave some for you. But hor, girlgirl clothes so sweet, you'll be tempted to buy new ones for her.

Glad that your fever has gone down. Better rest well and drink more fluids.

Starz
Ayden so sweet will kiss his meimei. Glad that Isabelle's juandice is better now. I really can't stand the blood test leh they cry so pitifully when they poke their feet.
U rest well okie now got 2 to care for must recharge.....hehehe

bbgrace
At first I also dun find isabelle look like ayden but the 1st pic Starz post she really look like Ayden to me leh.....hahahaha

btw I finally got my Maclaren Quest from bb hypermart liao......hehehe
So happy. Tml will be bringing D out in stroller for shopping. Already told hubby liao if I BTH straight away flag cab home....hahaha
Wish me luck.

Hiyee Jenny

rem I ask you about the extra CD of "Baby Can read"? noe that you have asked whether anyone of us is interested to have it.. a few months back.. just wonder do you still have it?

Angez

Aiyoh... your little baby is such a cutie.. The photos are also very well taken..

Starz
Congrats congratzz!! so happy for you..
Ayden so clever.. noe how to sayang his little mei mei.. so sweet.. isabelle is really cute loh.. I love her chubby cheeks.. and those little lips..looks more like u.. I suppose..

Selina

If you brought Caleb to wedding dinner, will he usually kwai kwai sit throughout the wedding? I brought my boy to my friend's wedding last sat.. he cldnt sit still.. hubby and I had to take turn to bring him outside for a stroll.. and in the end we din manage to enjoy the whole event..

Vivian
Thank you so much for your time and effort.. looking forward to see Brayden's collage.. hee.

Dor

YOur Gymboree classes ended already?? Din see you there for a couple of times leh.. Btw, how much you bout for the Maclaren Quest?

starz,
too bad, I've cleared all the clothings and passed to other friends. Like what babygrace said lah, you will be tempted to buy cos gal clothings are too sweet to resist hahaha...

Kareen,
I dun have Baby can Read lah. Mine is a dunno wat music CD from Similac lah.

aiyo... baby isabelle so cute!! Pretty leh..
Actually I find her look more like starz lor.
Starz, you take care leh. Not easy to take care of 2 kids now plus you just gave birth... so rem to take care of yourself first. Without your good health, how to take are of your kids... So rest more and JIA YOU!!!!!

Ayden is so sweet... kiss mei mei somemore...
My ah beng hor, go gei gei "pinch" my sister's bb leh.. haa... maybe not happy that he snatch his favorite ah mah away... bth..

LA dressed up as Lady bird fairy for her Infant Care/ Child Care Centre graduation Ceremony last friday.
All babies are invited to dress up although they have not graduated yet

Hi Star,

I still have LA's old clothings, but what I kept is those bigger ones, I think from 6 months onwards, those 3-6months ones are also hand-me-down ones, must check how their "condition".

Let me know if you want them

hi doreen,

know what u mean by the big feet....esp me already "tua kah po", if still wear, even bigger..

hi starz,

pai seh, cant remember A baby fotos, but find that isabelle eyes look like yours leh..
tricia clothes, esp those for newborns, most of them are hand-me-down also. but hor, as i'm planning to have a 2nd one, so dont think i'll pass them to you. pai seh, pai seh..
but actually if you dun mind, can let isabelle wear gor gor clothes at home, then if she's going out, then let her wear girl girl clothes.
but i tell u, though i got those hand me downs, but cant resist buying of those girl clothings, they are SO pretty and cute..

Starz
isabelle so pretty! i simply love her cheeks! kekee.. Kimmy's clothes also hand down + she going to have a younger sister.. so the clothes cannot pass down also! sorry ah..
i agree with gemini wor.. at home can just wear ayden's clothes.. go out then wear sweet sweet clothings.. heheee..

Ayden is so sweet to his mei mei!

Shirley

Will the gathering still take place with these couple of babies? Gatherings are getting smaller due to work commitment (so sad).

1 Dec 2007 12 pm gathering at Shirley's place Sengkang
==============================================

1) Shirley, ZacZac and Lele
2) Adeline, Kimmy and HB (might be late cause gynae appt in the morning)
3) Ling, Maximus, HB
4) Freshpoison77 & Kayden

I can contribute the drinks (will get a carton of drinks on my way there). Have already pm you my no. cos i might not come in here everyday, pls update me if there is any changes. Thanks.