(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Went shopping for CNY clotheings for hubby, baby and myself. Daddy and Mummy got "Qing Lu Chuang" and guess who has the most stuff.... Of coz its baby Emerson...Now he has some many new clothinsg my hubby says its enough to last him for 15days of CNY. I very K.S all bought 12mths clothings for him.

YB,
I think I saw another one in blue color but I 4got the cartoon...
haha... same here... my gal likes to chew on the seat belt, rocker chair as well as the stroller...

last nite, she's was in the walker... quietly go to the table chew newspaper... luckily saw it in time... stop her from it...

feeding: I think my gal is the most pathetic... she only drink abt 125ml - 6 times... so little...

eeyore, no she isnt. Emerson drinks 90-120ml each time...and its already improved coz PD presribe a appetite tonic for him. Now he can finish them at once. Last time, drink 90ml still must stop for 1/2hr before feeding the 2nd half.

Hi Yenny,
Ha..ha...my gal always 'fa dai' one...even when shopping.

Hi Sandy,
My stretchmarks are purple. Some already turn a bit brownish...

Hi PM,
Yes, I use the blender to make puree. Easier also. I bought the Braun one.

What happens when u r out in the evening? Do u bring cereal along, or just feed Emerson with FM?

OC, aiyah, my hanyu pingying very poor. Meaning me and hubby were similar clothings.... I bought one for him and so coincidentally i saw another one similar but not excalty the same design as his, so I bought for myself too.

YB - I recently just bought a food jar. So I feed him outside too, but can be messy. My hubby nagged when I buy the food jar and said I 3min heat, afetr awhile of "masak masak" I will feed Emerson with FM for convenient sake. HAhaha.

YB,PM
PM ur hanyu pinyin really cannot make it ah, only YB figure it out..haha!

Er YB think PM meant those food jar to keep bb food warm when go out,not those ready made bb jar food lah...

YB,
you and Kaylyn wake up liao ah??!! good life ... kekeke I wonder when will Charisse sleep till noon ... hmmm ...

Actually Charisse also chews on the seat belt but still prefers to kick. My HB says like creating base to the radio

Are you bringing kaylyn overseas? where?

OC, which brand of food jar is good? Tiger brand?

MTDT,
haven't collect the shoes yet. i paid 10.63 for one pair. quite reasonable compared to the other sprees/BPs. hopefully the quality is good. shld be collecting it this sunday.

Stretchmarks - Yah. Sigh. Wish there was some magic eraser or maybe Extreme Makeover can come to SG and Extreme Makeover me. hehe. Dunno how to get rid of the hideous lines. When I go swimming, can't use my old bikinis *sob* had to go buy a tankini to at least cover my tummy stretch lines. as for the ones on my butt n near my butt. got no hope. juz put towel around once i get out of the pool lor..

feeding. Sigh. Am waiting for her 6 mths PD check to feed her her first cereals. dunno if can anot. suddenly her appetite dropped, from her usual 4 - 6 oz now she only can drink 2 - 3 oz. n she suddenly hates the bottle alot.. needs to nurse on my breast (even tho there's no milk) n she gets very very angry when i try to give her the bottle cos i feel she's not getting enough. so poor thing

OC, ur girl looks so cute in a bikini.. her pose is even cuter still.. really like a big girl already!

Hi Lala,

My gal opposite,dun like to sit car seat. Will at most sit for 3 mins then will cry liao..sigh..dunno issit cos of car seat. Is maxi-cosi good ?

Hi Sandy ,
Hi-5 ! My tummy also flabby n creased, full of stretch marks, incl my thigh areas... so i just wear 1 pc swimwear to cover my tummy area lor...my stretchmarks all dark brown liao so my whole tummy look very "jiao jiao" haha

Peach, there's this pdt selling in Pharmacy, think its quite ggod but ex $200+. Strechvin or something. Can be use for wrinkles too...I dint buy coz its not recommended for preg n nursing mums.

lala,
I haven buy food jar yet but many say Tiger one quite good lor

peach,
mummy dun dare to wear bikini liao so make bb wear...haha!

PM
hey hey actually the mash potato i gave is from kenny rogers one. but without the gravy lah. i think if u make the mash potato urself, got to add a bit of FM so tat it is not so dry.

YB
u can bring the cereal and hot water out and feed him outside. Tat is wat i did sometimes when we go out.

OC
I understand wat u mean leh. the correct hanyu pinyin is 'qing lu zhuang', quite close wat.

Peach,
is your girl teething? Sometimes rejection of milk does happen...as long as she is not hungry, I think shld be ok

YB,
most (or in fact no )jar food does not contain preservatives. I normally buy Healthy times and recently bought 3 bottles of Organic Baby from NTUC. Normally is just the content of the food plus filtered water.

PM,
Ryan also drinks 120ml at one go only...about 4 to 5 feeds of FM plus porridge and brown rice cereals (with FM). Snacks will be either apples, papaya or babanas. Only for night feed, I increase to 150ml. As long as your bb is striving well, he should be ok. Every baby develops differently, at their own pace...most importantly, PD said he is ok.

Jurong gal,
I think the maxi cosi one is good. I think my gal is used to sitting on car seat coz have been transporting her to and flo my mum's place since after confinement.

OC,
yep instead of mummy wearing bikini and look awful, let the little ones wear and look real cute
Do you think it is necessary to wear thermal suit? Does Gillian feel cold in bikini? I wanna bring my girl for a swim too ...

I am currently trying out Enfapro as follow-on milk. My baby vomitted twice last night. Dunno whether it is beacuse of this.

Anyone got any recommendations for follow-on milk? Is promil gold good? Sigh... dunno whether this is ok for her...

OC, lala

I also wanna bring my girl for a swim but haven done so. Will they be cold on the pool with just swim diapers on?

cereals - hai. i was reading above about how white rice better for bb than brown rice at first. so.. went to purchase the heinz white rice "ORGANIC" cereal. was debating with hubby whether to get the organic one or the normal one.. haha. so clueless. so juz got the organic one (for 2 bucks more?). sometimes wonder whether all these "organic" stuff is juz a marketing ploy to make protective mummies pay more.. haha.. see la. business grad still kena "conned" by marketing gimmicks..

blessings, hmm that's a possibility i didn't consider. thot cos she was falling ill (had sort of a cough but it's infrequent).

PM, 200 bucks? *eyes bigbig* that's alot.. but if it's good will consider when i fully stop b'feeding. must get rid of those tire marks! n be determined to go gym!!! sigh.

may, hi^5. my girl wakes up at 7 - 8 am. only on rare occasions she will wake up at 9..

food jars, my hubby n i once saw a family with a small boy @ macs. the dad went to buy food n the mum brought out the food jar. WAH very impressive. think it's tiger brand. got one for porridge, one for meat dish, one for soup, one for veggie. haha. my hubby n i were gawking like suakus.. we also want!!!

Fai,
vomited twice? huh.. better bring ur girl to the pd or something? maybe they will have samples of other milk there for u to try? today i saw a mummy walking out of the pd's office holding one can of sample milk.

oh.. must praise wyeth nutri-line officer here. soooo helpful n pleasant to speak to when i was asking her about how to switch my girl from s26 gold to promil gold. tho she's probably doin her job, she sounded so pleasant on the phone. hai. make me happy also. hurhur.. 1800-688-6886 - nutri-line number.. can get sample milk also when u provide them ur details.

Hi lala,
Haa..haa..ya, but she went back to sleep at 1pm again..c lah, where got time to feed her? Play also no time...

I'm bringing her to m'sia during CNY to visit hubby's relatives. Go in morn, come back in evening...then in Mar, bringing her to cruise lor...

My gal now got another bad habit. Likes to suck on her toes! OMG!!

Hi Yenny,
Oh, then have to bring bowl & spoon also arh?

Hi Fai,
There are other follow-on milk available in the market. Mayb u wanna try them out? My gal is currently on Similac follow-on. Other than having slight constipation when I 1st introduced it, she's fine. Now tat she's used to the FM, no constipation liao...

peach,

sigh...i am monitoring her now.

so u tried promil gold huh. i think i will get the sample for my girl to try.

so have u tried feeding your baby with the cereal u bought? in my opinion, it doesn't really matter whether it is organic or not. i have been buyin the non-organic baby food and cereal. so far my girl enjoys these and she is doing fine.

Fai,
Not yet. will try tomoro onwards cos my can of S26 powder running low... So gonna do alternate feeds of s26 n promil gold.

Ya, actually I'd declare that I'm pretty healthy n fit. n I guess I grew up on non-organic baby food also. hehe. Just kiasu n kiasee... hai.

Hello YB and mummies, my gal also not drinking a lot of milk. Here is her feeding schedule for the past few days.

8-8:30am Latch on
11am plus Latch on followed by veg or fruit puree and sometimes cereal
2pm plus Latch on
5pm plus Latch on
6pm plus Cereal with fruit puree
8pm plus 150ml FM
11pm plus 120ml FM or breastmilk

Like OC, I use the feed at 11am to let her try new food.

I also find it troublesome to bring out food for bb leh so I try to schedule our going out times.. hee

High chair: Bought a second hand Jane Activa. Find it good but it takes up space.

YB, yes, your girl can really sleep leh... mine wakes up latest at 8plus without fail everyday!

Fai, oh dear, hope it's nothing serious. My gal is now on Enfalac A+.

Fai,
My girl is now taking BM and Similac, will be starting her on Similac Follow-on soon... I heard that if the FM is not suitable, baby will vomit.

PD says S26 has more oil in the milk, thus some baby may vomit. Usually baby okie with Enfalac.

YB,
sucking toes ah ... must be very cute, got pic to show?? Does your girl blow saliva? My girl does it very frequently nowadays, wonder is it a bad habit or is she teething.. any idea?

Wahh ... Kaylyn is going for her 1st holiday soon
Cruise should be easy coz afterall still in the ship ... if taking those planned tour, can be tough. My friend brought her 6 month old daughter to Korea and swear will not do again coz too hectic.

Peach,
I give non-organic stuff ... if go all the way for organic, can be very expensive.

Peach,
Wow, you say after you wean off, wanna go gym ... suddenly wakes me up ... and feeling guilty now... think it's time for me to be discipline in gymming since me weaning off soon. You still latch Kristen or express milk?

YB
Yeah lor, I brot along the bowl and spoon and kept them in a zip lock bag.

Sigh, my son oso wakes up ard 8am. When he wakes up, whole family wakes up wif him...Last itme b4 he was born, we always wakes up late on wkends so eat only brunch. Now we wake up and go for proper breakfast becos of him.

Peach,kloe,

Wow! u ladies still breatfeeding?? I stop about a month ago. My supply was super low. I couldn't even get 100ml after not pumping the whole day.

Anyway, how do i get puree baby food?

Hi Yenny,
Talking abt b'fast.I haven't taken them since I stopped schooling..I always take brunch now...

Wah, then really got lotsa barang barang to bring hor...

YB,

I also never bring my girl food out. Bring her milk and stuff is already a lot of things. I can imagine how messy it will be if i feed her outside. Maybe one day, i will try.

lala,
actually i supposed to go back to gym already. juz lazy to get my butt to the gym n always have to rush home after work to take care of bb so that the maid can cook for the family. hai. shld try to go during lunch hour. they started charging my membership again already. pui.

i still breastfeed n express tho my BM supply is super low.. 3 - 4oz max when i dun express after 12 hrs.. so sad. can see she's not satisfied also.. sigh. n she very angry not enough. =( she will pull at my nipple, hit me, hit the bottle when i try to give her the bottle.. sigh. that's what happened for the past 2 nites already.. very angry child.

Yenny, haha.. SAME. last time weekends can sleep in till 11 plus... now even 9am is a miracle.

hello all mummies!!!!

I know its a very stupid question.. but how do you all make porridge? I am totally clueless about cooking and have no experience. Worried bb eat already will diarhoea. But at the same time i don't want my MIL to cook for me (although she bought all the fish/meat already)as I'm worried she will put funny things inside and i dunno. She did that before so bb have diarhoea and i stop feeding him porridge cooked by my MIL.

Any advice will be appreciated!

Fai, ya, I am still breastfeeding my gal. Wanted to stop at 6 months but didn't lor. I don't think my supply is alot cos my gal is not drinking much. What is your gal drinking before Enfapro?

eeyore, so little hor. really waste milk sometimes. sometimes i prepare 6 oz thinking she'll be hungry then she'll only drink 2 - 3 oz n hit the bottle n push out her tongue. oh well. as long as she's full?

Mrs T. I'm also clueless as to how to make porridge. paiseh. hehe.

peachsorbet, normally I'll make 5oz, usually she'll drink and left 1oz then this morning still left 2oz... I start wondering if I should make only 4oz...

zoe,

i don't think GE Supreme Health covers outpatient but it may be available as a rider. U can check out website (http://www.lifeisgreat.com.sg). This wasn't impt to us as my company covers medical expenses for dependents.

As for car seat, I'm using Britax Royale. Joshua loves it, it's very comfortable. He will usually fall asleep. It's convertible, so can use from NB to i think 15 or 18kg.

Blessings,

Kin is right, it has to do with the water temp used to prepare cereal. Cannot be too hot. Please do not use HOT water, even for FM (destroys nutrient).

Julie,

PD says to give teething biscuits only from 8 mths onwards. Mainly to avoid choking hazard.

eeyore,

I bought the Pigeon mag mag. There's a promo pack now with 3 stages of growth (teat, spout, straw). Joshua is drinking well and loves the bottle. Always think it's a toy and swing it all around!! I have to make sure he doesn't hit his own head..

OC,

I finally got a hand-me-down Ikea high-chair. It's fit for purpose (easy to clean). I see no reason to buy fanciful one.

Mrs T,
I think someone here mentioned before... Put rice, water together in the small slow cooker.(6.30 - 7.00am) After one hr later, you can add what ever you want, eg. a piece of meat(for taste)and carrots/ or broccoli and just let it cook slowly, by 11-12am will be done. Remember to stir as it might stick to the bottom of the slow cooker.
If you are short of time, you can just boil in a small pot rice and water with the meat for about half hour. The rice will puff up and when it breaks open, you can transfer it into the slow cooker. However, dun add too much water becoz the water dun evaporate from the slow cooker unlike when we boil over the fire. You may want to try one veg and one meat first.REmember: DO NOT ADD SALT OR SOYA SAUCE at all. Babies do not need added sodium....

Gladys' feeding schedule.

7.00am : Latch on
10.30am - 11.00am :Latch on OR Porridge and(Nap)
1.00pm : Latch on OR Porridge/ CEreal
2.00pm : Latch on and afternoon nap
5.30pm-6.00pm : Porridge and latch on shortly after
8.00pm : Latch on
10.30pm : Latch on __Sleep
Night Feeds : 2 feeds

WHy my schdule is so funny and erratic becoz, i have to fetch my older gal from sch abt 11am everyday. Then She got to eat dinner abt 6.30pm.
Gladys have a growing appetite for food now. So I just give her 2 meals. She is about 8kg now..I find that she latch on lesser during the dat and more at night....heh heh...

peach,
same here ... me very lazy. Best to go gym during lunch coz after work, have to devote all my time to my ger.

By the way, is the hearing aid good? See any improvement in Kristen?