(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

I'm quite slow in introducing food to my gal cos I'm scared of her having an allergy. I have very bad eczema & will react to food, so I dun wan my gal to follow me...Luckily, my gal is born wif very good skin (other than bb acnes)..

Julie, Blessings,
Dylan won't take food finger foods we offer him. Banana, carrot, biscuit.... He will let go of them. He's suspicious. Mummy giving me something and encouraging me to put it in my mouth? Nah! Too good to be true.... So we hid the teething biscuit (bickiepeg) with his toys and when he found it himself he was thrilled! Kept playing with it, passing it from one hand to the other, and placed it in his mouth. Haha. Funny little fella.

Hi eeyore,
Can't help u cos I'm still using the infant carseat. My friend also gave me a 2nd hand childseat...

I LOVE my infant carseat though cos my gal always doze off in the car. So even though I'm stuck in traffic jam, I can still b assured tat my gal won't be cranky due to lack of sleep.

Brought my ger for her first dip in d pool today

658847.jpg

658848.jpg

Hi OC, where you get that baby float from? Also which swimming pool did you go to - is it private pool??
Btw, need to put sunblock for baby? If so, whcih product or brand to buy for baby sunblock?

OC
She looks so cute! She looks like a proper little girl. Not a baby anymore. ;-)

Eeyore,
Dylan's outgrowing his car seat as well. His legs can't stretch out anymore. I would like to hear recommendations as well. I'm not sure about in SG, but over here the award winning brands (for our bbs age seats) are Maxi-Cosi Pirori and Tobi, Concord Ultimax.... Britax is very good as well.

YB
The hat comes in a set with d bikini so just let her wear lor, d morning sun at 10am was already quite hot so didnt want her head to be scorched! She was quite at ease when i slowly lowered her into d pool, then when we put her in d float she started kicking water herself, but it was so glaring due to d sun that she could hardly open her eyes, never cry though, so think she enjoyed bah

Lucida
Actually d baby float can be found in most baby stores, i got mine from Tom & Stefanie, only $6.90. I went to d public pool at downtown east. must put sunblock cos their skin still delicate, but i didnt have time to scout for baby sunblock so applied our own sunblock on her.

Z-lia,
Ya everyone says she looks like daddy. Haha, u can actually see all her baby fat bulging out of d bikini!

Zoe,
Yes u're right, in fact she didnt really look like a baby ever since 3 months onwards n maybe cos she is chubby n tall as well.

Hi OC, Thanks for the info. Wanted to bring baby for swim too but both my hubby and I not confident about this and we also concern about how to bath baby..

YB
Just read in a book that root vegetables, apple and pear are low allergen foods suitable for weaning. So there's quite a range of foods (root vegetables) you can quite safely feed your bb?

hi gals...

OC - wow, sexy gal leh!! so cute. :p

Peach - saw tat u bought the bb shoes from nat (tw auction) how's the quality? wat design did u get?

also, how much is the total cost (+shipping)
there is another thread selling the same patterns at $13 each. claimed tat it is made in China.

Wonder if it's necessary to bring baby for check-up with PD as he's reaching 6 months... The last time I bring baby to PD was about 4 months ago when he has constipation problem. For injection, he has his last 6-in-1 jab at GP on his 5th month. So I'm wondering if need to bring baby to see PD since he's coming to 6th month even baby looks fine??
Is it so long baby ok no need see doctor? In the medical book there's this Assessment at 6 months so I'm wondering if I need to bring baby to PD for him to assess.
Appreciate advice.

Hi Lucida,
I find it a challenge to bathe baby at d public pool shower room as well so went straight home after d swim but bcos we stay near.

Ya i have d same qn as u too, wondering if need to go for such assessment?

MTDT
U meant mummy sexy gal or baby? haha...
Hubby just "scolded" me for posting his pic cos he said that one he not handsome :p

kin,
Ya agree. Have to be firm and not let the parents have their way. That's why until now, I dun feel secure leaving him with either set of parents. So i stuck....only person I can leave my boy with is hb.

YB,
Must boil soup for 12 hrs so that all the nutrients will be in the soup, when you use it cook the porridge. Just put the bones and water in the slow cooker and let it cook.

Cubes are not advisable I think. To me, it's all salt, MSG and artificial flavouring.

Mrs Wong's advise was to feed white rice cereals and porridge, and keep brown rice to after 12mths. Because brown rice is less processed and it comes with the husks, so the stomach actually has to work doubly hard to digest it. And our babies systems are not fully developed yet. If you want to give brown rice then she suggests mixing 1 part to 2 parts white rice, so it will be easier on the little stomachs.

OC, your gal looks so cute in the swim suit. Does she feel cold wearing bikini for her first swim? I also have a set of bikini for my gal but afraid it will be too cold for her if she wears that.

Jul, thanks for sharing. I have been feeding my gal with Healthy Times brown rice cereal and so far, it is ok. Now, I am having second thoughts... hmm...

OC, lucida,
I think the next one shld be 9th month.
if ur PD didnt do it u can go polyclinic. It is free.

My PD did the assessment on 5th month.

Zoe,
a frd of mine ever commented that Britax is not comfortable. She recommends maxi cosi.

kloe, PM, Z-lia,
You're most welcome. If Mrs Wong din mention when we asked, I would have given my boy brown rice and ikan billis stock also. Coz it's so commonly practiced. I even bought 2 boxes of HT brown rice...coz my mum keep telling me shld feed brown rice.

My hb and I trust Mrs Wong a lot and we'll take her word for it, coz she is trained in the area and very knowledgeable. We feel that she has a good balance of chinese practices and medical knowledge. Been impressed by her since antenatal days.... Am just sharing what she told us here, entirely up to mummies to make their own decisions hor.

So far, I'm only able to feed my gal solid once a day. Cos she can only b awake for 1 hour plus before she needs to nap again. So I only replaced her noon feed to brown rice. I'm afraid if I feed her solids immediately after milk, then it'll b too filling for her. Normally, she can only take a few spoonfuls of apple & sweet potatos puree, then she rejects.

Can anyone tell me their bb's feeding schedule? Incl. feeding semi-solid food?

YB,

my boy's feeding schedule:

815am - FM (210ml)
11am - cereal (5scoops)
12pm - FM (150ml)
4pm - FM (210ml)
6pm - Cereal (5scoops)
9pm (before sleep) - FM (210ml)

u notice i feed FM almost immediately after his cereal. actually i feel my boy is ok with that. just like adults, we also need to drink something after a meal. :p

for the 6pm cereal - i din follow up with FM as there is not enough time liao. will usu pick him from IFC at ard 645pm.

Hi kloe,
My ger didnt looked like she was cold although i felt d swimming pool water was cold, it was a very hot morning but i did quickly wrap her up in towel after we brought her up.

hong
Thanks...i dun have a regular PD, didnt know can do it at polyclinic for free...yeah!

YB
my bb's feeding schedule

0930hr - Cereal (4 scoops)
1300hr - FM(180ml)
1600hr - Porridge
1900hr - FM(180ml)
2200hr - FM(180ml)
0400hr(nite feed) - FM(180ml)

actully i dun know is it coincidence but eversince i feed my son 2 meals of semi solid food, i find that he can sleep better and longer at nite.

Zlia
For my case, it's my dad who always secretly feed my son food. I try to close one eyes lor. Sometimes I oso break the rule, when we go out for dinner, I'll feed him some bread to stop him from making noise. Can they eat bread?

lucida,
when I brought charlene for 6-in-1 jab, doc mentioned i need to bring her back @ 6mth for assessment...

I bought the car seat already... @ bb kingdom, a brand call Venus from Poland... I like maxi-cosi color but cannot lie down more... only 2 position... if bb is aslp cannot lie down... cost only $139/-, maxi-cosi got more variety and cost $289 & $359 (i think...) I saw a combi one, it's looks so confortable, & guess wat, it cost $700 over...

swimming, thot of bringing C for a swim yesterday too... but she got flu so try again this weekend... i bought her a hello kitty floating wheel

659865.jpg

Zlia,
Oh, I didn't know can express on alternate day, okie then I will take a break tomorrow

Regarding feeding porridge:
My mum started feeding Charisse with porridge when she turns 6 months. She added spinach (or carrot or cauliflower or pumpkin - 1 different type each time), lean meat and cod fish into the porridge. Put in the slow cooker to cook at 7+am, by noon, the porridge is like puree liao ... The lean meat is added to make the porridge taste sweet. No salt or seasoning at all, yet the porridge is yummy ... no need to boil broth then.

Regarding feeding fruits/juice:
Charisse is also taking fresh apples and bananas. She loves them. Try not to give too much melon fruits coz a bit "cooling". Initially I fed her diluted fruit juice (from heinz), but after a while, she refuses to drink plain water, thus stop giving her that.

yenny,
I think better don't give bread to baby coz bread is made up of white flour with sugar. No good for baby to take sugar at this moment. After 1 year lah ... why not feed your baby with baby biscuits instead (no sugar added), thus he can eat while adults are eating.

Zoe,
Regarding the bibs, I want the one with red and navy. Thanks for your help

lala... so sweet hoh... i think for a few months b4 i buy leh... first time when i saw it, i ask my hb, he'll normally ask how much first, when i went back there again i dun wanna ask him already, i js buy... hahaha...

Hi YB,
Im still trying to establish my ger's feeding schedule so still trial n error but i also facing more or less d same situation as u.

Maybe u want to try feeding her d vegetable or fruit puree before milk? Cos if they only take a few spoonfuls initially which is normal, it's not enough (for my ger's case) so will still give her normal amt of FM, or u can mix d remaining puree into cereal then this can be considered her second solid meal of d day.

For me im still giving 1 X cereal a day (dinner). For lunch would be a veg/fruit puree followed by FM,either immediately or 1 hr later depending on how much of d puree she had. If like ur ger, she cant wait already cos sleepy then i will just quickly give her FM then let her nap. But im ok if lunch is not totally replaced by solids yet cos i find it a good opportunity to intro new veg n fruits separately during this meal so usually they will only take few spoonfuls. Then at least i know she is not allergic to any of them n i can simply cook them with porridge thereafter replace milk feed totally in future.

eeyore,
Yep, very sweet ... too bad, I got mine liao ... where did you buy from? Aiyo, if ask HB, will def think of cost + many qns like is it a necessity to buy cute cute one, blah blah ... men .... haiz hahaha

I also want to bring my BB to swim but hor i got stretch mark on my tight so obvious and ugly.. any suggestion how to hide or lesser it ?

Good morning mummies,
I also will like to bring Ryan for a swim but then my mum say NO NO to me....said to wait till 1 yr old. But will need to get a thermal suit first...

OC:
I like the baby float...sure to get one for Ryan

High Chair:
Any recommendation of a good and durable high chair?

Blessings,
yep, me also thinking to get a thermal suit.

My friend recommends Ikea High chair ...

Which brand of baby carrier is good?

eeyore,
yah d float so sweet! where u bot n how much ah? u so funny, think few months then buy...haha

hong,Lucida
I went to check d health booklet, i so blur, they already scheduled a 9th mth assesssment appt for my ger liao. I took 5 in 1 pkg from polyclinic, didnt know they will do.

Lucida, anyway d health booklet's assessment page states 6 mths to 10 mths, so anytime during this period can liao, d next stage would be 15 mths to 18 mths.

eeyore/YB,
My girl also loves to sit on carseat ... the moment she is on it, will start kicking happily. Mine is Maxi cosi too. I got it as a gift from my colleagues, can use from infant to 4 years old. Think car seat is a good investment ...

Hi YB,

I where got small size, everywhere so fat, esp my tummy, fat n flabby, tink i still look 3-4 mths preggie..sobsob..

Hi OC,
Ur gal very cute n sexy ..woowooh ! i wanna bring my gal for her 1st swim this sun...hopefully it wont rain..

Hi Eeyore,

Where did u get ur hello kitty float ? very nice ! My gal loves pink !

Hi Dsiitan,

U okie oredi ? i just finish pumpin in office, very xian of pumping actually..haha

lala & OC,

i heard ikea high chair is good and reliable too... i bought the float from kittylove @ united sq... now selling $10.99 (i think)

Hi MTDT/Yenny,
Wah! Ur boy takes 6 meals a day arh! My gal woke up earliest at 11am. She only takes abt 4 meals a day, incl 1 brown rice feed (usually about 2pm). She takes only 170ml per feeding.

11am - FM
3pm - Brown rice
6pm - FM
9pm - FM

Normally, I'll introduce snacks in between the 3pm & 6pm feeding. I.e. Apple/sweet potatos/bananas puree. Not sure if it's enough for my gal leh...

YB
I think boys have generally bigger appetite. My father and hubby commented tat my boy has a gigantic appetite, u give him anything, he will eat. Very greedy. Actually I restricted his intake with 180ml of milk. he cries everytime we pull out the teat when he finishes his milk. i think he wants more. My boy oso eats snacks in between, usually banana.

Hi Yenny,
Ur boy can swallow bread arh? My gal can't even swallow mash potatos...have to be very soft & fine, then she'll except. Else, she'll just puke out.

Hi eeyore,
The hello kitty float is so nice! Only sold in Kitty love arh..got any other designs? i.e. Doraemon?

Hi Sandy,
I also got stretch marks on both sides of my waist. But I dun care & still wear bikini somemore...Aiya, ppl will know u r pregnant b4 once they saw bb. So, no need to be embarressed. My tummy fats also spill out & I dun really care...hee..hee...

Hi Jurong Gal,
Compare to u, I think I fatter leh...

Hi lala,
Haa..haa...ur gal likes to kick arh..my gal likes to chew on the seat belt. Even the stroller seat belt she also can't resist.

Hi Yenny,
Ya, I guess boy eats more than gal. Currently, I'm trying to establish a feeding schedule for my gal. But if go out, then will miss the solid food leh, cos very troublesome...how?

YB
I have to tear the bread into very small pieces and give to him. Wah mash potato is his favourite, he always scream for more when i gave him tat.

Now my boy likes to scream, very noisy. When we go for shopping, can only hear his screaming in the shop very pai seh. Sometimes when my hubby carries him, he will scream for me, won't stop until i carry him.

OC - Yr gal look very cute leh, and this pic will be a very good "photo-framed" picture coz daddy and galgal has the same post. Hahaha, next time u blank out yr hb's face lah, but too late, we already recognise him liao.

Yenny, how u did the mash potato? Emerson dont like to eat.

YB - Did u use a blender to make the puree? If not, how u do it??

My feeding schedule

11am - FM for breakfast
Wake up for nap (Usu 2+pm) - Porridge (Either broccoli, carrot, potato or pumpkin)
Around 3 hrs later (5-6pm) - FM
1 hr later - Banana or apple for tea time
Nap

Around 7pm or when he wakes up - Leftover porridge or cereal for dinner

10pm - FM for nite feed.

Stretchmarks - I have them all over my body
and a very dark and flabby and creased tummy
((((

I also dare not go swimming, although I very much want to "play" water with my boy.