(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

i think u gals are gd mummies. When he wan carry, i normally dun unless we are out. the most i carry 15mins then put him down to rocker liao. He used to be able to stay in rocker and cot for very long now he just wan to play and keep 'calling' until he get angry if we hv no time to play w him.

i think SAHM and FTWM in my case has no difference. after pickup fm chilcare we will be w him and even weekends, there is no one to take care for us even we wan to take a little break. Sigh! long story lah... so we got to take leave during his time in childcare to take a break.

hunnipot,

Hee, tat hainanses saying quite chun leh. at least it happens in my family and friends.

Mrs Ho,
you can still rub yr bb head everyday in circular motion and it will go back to round shape again. i did tat when he is 3mth old n now his head not tat flat liao. My mum scold me for letting him sleep on one side lor.

twinkle

I also noticed that it is quite chun for my hubby's family and friends.. my MIL was saying cos in the past, hainanese men were very lazy, as they always sleep while the women work hard in the farm.. thats why they got flat heads...

twinkle,

U hainanese too?? Me hainanese

U notice that hainanese has high foreheads too

hunniepot
your explanation for flat head so funny.

twinklestarry
i agree. i'm a FTWM and i am completely exhausted! every day 'piah' so hard at the workplace, in the evening go back cannot rest cos must look after bb together w hubby. every day sleep late, wake up early. the other day i overheard my hubby tell my bb, "next time you become rich, don't forget your mummy and daddy, ah" so farnee.

kk,

Haha... meaning hainanese women are hardworking and intelligent whereas hainanese men are lazy and intelligent
Seems like alot of hainanese have surnames Foo

hahaha....twinkle- starry u must be a hainanese woman.they always say hainanese man very handsome also not true wor. :p

Recently i find my son no longer can slp thru'out anymore. he will just wake up for milk and back to slp. hmmmmmm but i alr feed him cereal lei and the last fed usual the milk is mix with cereal. anyone will kw why.........

fussiecat,

i am FTWM too. Very tired hor? I am very bad, as sometimes i need to continue working at home at nite, i basically leave my bb with my hubby. He will do all the feeding before bb sleeps. And he will prepare her for sleep at times too. I am too exhausted at times to do all these.

mom_yam,

I always hear that hainanese men are very responsible family men heehee.. so it is a very good thing to marry hainanese men :p

Hi Hunniepot,

Flat heads for hainanese? I didnt notice.. but I ntoice that hainanese men have protuding chins..

My male colleague who is a hainanese told me its one of the dialect characteristic..

One thing about hainanese men, they really leave the house to the wives and hainanese women loved to do housework all day long.. Thats what I noticed about all my husband relatives.

Not fair for the wives now as we are also working. My hub still dunno where the screwdrivers in the house are.. My FIL dunno where my MIL keep the things in the house (They stayed there for 30+ years)

Ray,

True leh.. my hubby leave the house to me.. and till now he doesnt know where i keep the plasters, so he went without a plaster when he cut his fingers, and waited for me to come home..

My FIL also leaves everything to my MIL, and my MIL LOVES to do housework all day long.. my SIL also... got nothing to do, and got to find something in the house to clean

<font color="aa00aa">fussiecat</font>, yr hubby so funni leh

<font color="aa00aa">mom_yam</font>, ya me hainanese, i think hainan men are handsome is a myth lah, these days with mtb input tonics and taking care of foetus there are more handsome boys around

<font color="aa00aa">kk</font> u also huh so qiao

Look like many mummies here married Hainanese men hor... except me.

Hunniepot,

Haha.. My MIL told me that she feels that time is wasted if she sits around to relax. Whenever she comes to my house to help to look after my son for few hours, she starts to clean my house.

And Hainanese have a thing for sons.. (sigh..), they still believe in passing down the surname/genes thingy. FIL said cannot reprimand/discipline children even if they are naughty, children cannot beat...

Ray,
really huh maybe tat way my mum is too excited tat i had a boy and tat leads to many arguements and she is very possessive over him and of cuz very upset when i BF at tat time.

Twinkle-starry,

My husband's aunt once chided her daughters in front of us saying that they should have married hainanese men...

It made me feel that hainanese still prefer their children to marry within same dialect..

Anyway, I personally feel that in hainanese family... the men believes in bringing the dough in and wives are still suppose to take care of the house/kids.

So.. we are SUPER WIVES!! hahah

Twinkle-starry,

YES YES... they are so possessive about sons. I had the same problem too, but I dun argue.

I keep quiet till a point I can't tolerate and go home &amp; nag husband.

My MIL also dun like me to breastfeed intially till an aunt told her that breastfeeding good for brain development, then she started to bring my son automatically to me.

I was not encouraged to carry my son when I discharged too, till my husband told her to let me do whatever i want, if not, I will have post-natal blues. Everyone around me warned my husband about me yoyo temper before I give birth.

Even now, everyday, have to fight to carry my son when he is at my in law place

hmmm...thanks for the advise....think must rub my gal head liao...
hey, gal...here mummy come to rub ur head har....
attached my gal new hair cut by her ah ma....like mouse bitting ....
501187.jpg

Ray,

i can complain to my hubby but no use mah cos it is my mum who create trouble. Now everytime i go back home i m stress. Well bottomline, tat is life

U r right abt marrying the same dialect. My dad generation all married the same dialect, only my generation whereby all my cousins we married out of the dialect grp so heng i dun get chided lor

Ray

Whenever my MIL comes to my place, I observe that she is trying to spot how clean / dirty the house is.. she ever mentioned that she can spot right away whichever part of the house is dirty.. and my SIL will come over to my place and then report to her the state of my place.. if not up to their standards then she said she wants to clean the house for us! I find that hainanese families are very close knitted, but sometimes to being too overly-possessive, which is a bad thing

Very much agree that they have this thing for sons.. my MIL tried for 20 years for a son, after 5 girls... and she was very disappointed that my baby is a girl, she was in denial when we first told her that Im expecting a girl, after the detailed scan and she kept insisting that its a boy until I gave birth... but my MIL believes that we shld discipline our kids from young..

twinkle

Hehe.. my FIL (b4 my hubby met me) wanted to introduce his friend's daughter to my hubby (of course same dialect lar) think my MIL would have preferred a hainanese but my hubby was in his thirties liao.. so she was ok with the cantonese me.. but she says that hakka is not compatible with hainanese.. dont know why

hunnipot,

mine is opposite fm yours, my mum tried 4 girls and still no son. When i expecting, they ssy any gender will do but when they know i expecting a son, they are like planning what to do with him etc.... Once birth, more problems lor and so possessive and my mum will scold me if i dun follow her style. sigh!

twinkle

Hehe... my MIL actually revealed to us that she scolded my FIL during his funeral... said that he better bring her a grandson... think my FIL purposely gave her the opposite as he always loves to go against her

What to do? My MIL loves to control us also.. so what we learnt is that to agree with everything that she says.. no point arguing... but behind her back, we seldom follow what she wants us to do..

hunnipot,

ya ya hainanese always comment cannot married hakka. I think my mum talk too much and end up i married hakka who cannot speak hakka. ha ha ha

twinkle

Hehe.. then your mum got make noise when she first knew about your hubby? My MIL made hell lotsa noise for years when my SIL married a hakka

<font color="ff6000">mrs ho</font>
your girl is so pretty

ladies, i'm kinda upset. my MIL dropped by this afternoon to see bb. then my dad asked me to go for tea with him, so MIL said she'd babysit while i went out. when i came back 1 hr later, my mom was at my house with my MIL and they had cut K's hair!!!!!!!! i noticed immediately and was quite shocked but of course, i didn't say anything bad abt it. sorry for ranting here but i just can't believe they didn't ask me first!!!

after everyone left, i just called my mom to scold her and of course, she doesn't see why this is a big deal cos hair will grow back, but why couldn't they ask 1st??????? so annoyed..... now K looks like a boy

miu66

Aiyoo.. sorry to hear that.. hmm.. they really shld have asked you b4 they saved K's hair? Is she botak now or still got abit of hair?

she's not botak (thank goodness!! otherwise i think i might have exploded on the spot). they just cut the sides and back, and some from the top. i know it's not so bad, just annoyed that they didn't ask 1st. hubby feels bad abt it but i told him nevermind lah, what to do?? i know both grandmothers had good intentions, they were prob just itchy for something 'fun' to do. aiyah.... i'm feeling calmer now. thanks for listening

I guess that is just a myth, Denise.. I dun believe it also..
Gosh.. after seeing how your MIL are, I'm glad that my FIL and SIL are very chin chai one.. all they wish is we bring the kids to my FIL house often to let them play with them

Hey gals, u bb sleeping on their own? Mine still either nurse to sleep or carry till go to naps. Getting heavy now so muz find solutions soon. Think lousy mummy here need some advice on how to do this. Tried putting her down to bed and pat but she wailed and wailed..

Hunniepot, my parent in law also not hainanese but they are not particular abt cleaniness in my hse. i dont like when they visit my place, they will go round the whole hse, including my storeroom and my walls.. are they clean / pack and whether my sink got "dirt" Hiazzz

momyam,

my parents also like tat when they come over they like to inspect so everytime b4 they come over i must spring clean the whole house.

babe
you must have patience cos they don't know how to do it by themselves, you have to train them.

what we do is: at the first sign of sleepiness (like yawning, rubbing eye), we carry and rock until he's rather sleepy. then we put him down on the cot and pat him to sleep. he will still make noise (like purring) but we don't pick him up. Just continue to pat him and whisper softly to his ear to go to sleep. he will then drift off to dreamland.

of coz, we don't have 100% success rate. sometimes he will start crying loudly, then we must carry and rock him all over again.

hope this helps...

Hainese... hmmm.. I will definitely agree tat Hainese women re hardworking ones n the men .... lazy n also BOASTFUL ppl. =p

Got friends who re hainese.. me n hb belongs to hokkien. my mil oso hokkien herself but very particular in cleanliness. my mom cantonese by birth but give away to ke jia ren n so a bit the picky n fussy.

Mom yam,
think ur bb properly going into growth spurt too?

I ve not reached a stage where my gal can sleep thru from 2330h - 0600h without demanding even water even though she is on cereals mixed in milk. I m still worried if she will get thirsty or not... so when she made the nosies at night like thirsty sound, I will wake up n give her water to drink oso.

miu,
thanks for the compliment....but i love ur gal le....soooooooo chubby.......so many circle around her....

babe,
maybe u dont let ur gal sleep first...play with her and make her till very tired......then i think easy for her to sleep w/o carry or rock.... (tat one of my tactic)

mom_yam &amp; twinkle

Sian hor? I mean.. this is our place.. but got to be so stressed when our ILs or parents come over to "inspect"

hunniepot &amp; twinkel, u r so right man! so stressful.. i always feel so tense up and nervous when they want to come. very lucky my hse is very far from them so they wont come by so often hahaha!

Koalarie, mine use to be able to slp from 7pm to 6.30am.. at time once or twice wake for water. now no no.. he wakes 3/4 times a night demand for milk. :p

so tiredddddddddddddddddd. must ask my pd alr.

Koalarie,

Boastful and too close-knit... That turned to possesive. But then.. my father side Hokkien also same but only boastful.

Hainanese men not lazy, its just that the women loves to take all things by themselves that the men simply dun have the need to do. My MIL changed light bulbs, fixed leaking pipes..

I recalled an incident: When my baby first came home after discharged from hospital, my husband immediately offered to sterlise the bottles. MIL (who was doing my confinement) immediately took over, stating she will do. After MIL left after confinement, I questioned my Hubby why he dun even want to help me on the bottles. He answered me "You all like to do everything, so why should I even bother to offer??" I was stunned..

Err... they also have a thing on ethnic race.

Ray

Eh.. very true leh.. when my hubby wanted to help out with the housework b4 we got married, his sister will try to prevent him from helping out.. if she usually mops on a saturday, she will then mop a day earlier so that he wouldnt have to do anything etc etc..

Initially I really admired my hubby's family, they are so close to each other, really help each other out in times of needs.. take very good care of each other.. really very close-knit and caring towards each other but later realise that they are way overly possessive.... on the other hand, my family is pure bo chap about many things, talk alot of rubbish to each other.. basically more of the happy go lucky type.. My ILs are very serious and abide strongly to family / ILs etiquette and customs.. and they get unhappy when we do not do things which they deem is the correct custom, which they assume everybody must and shld follow

Ray,

yr MIL changed light bulbs, fixed leaking pipes..wow... so power. In my family my dad do tat leh

i think i m the happy go lucky type, in another words can be deem as rebellious lor i dun normally do wat they say

well, they always say i m different fm them. Maybe i spent 6 yrs overseas or me not so serious.

gals,

I'm down with diarrhoea again. The recent last time, I've diarrhoea for more than a week. Dunno why after delivery very prone to diarrhoea / food poisoning ....before pregnancy, very very seldom diarrhoea. Any of you also face similar problem? Wonder if this has got to do with our delivery?

cheona - i think there is a virus going around. last week my hubby down with bad case of diarrhoea, vomit, fever and almost back out. My BIL these 2 days also down with diarrhoea. Might not be due to delivery.

mom_yam - J also wakes up 3/4 times a night for feeding. he is not at any growth spurt stage leh. i am also so tired and then still hv to work. going to ask PD too. cannot tahan.

intro solid
Intro HT brown rice cereal to J this morn. He seems to like it. Gave him 1 tablespoon worth of cereal and he finish it but I think got 50% is spitted out as he still cant control the swallowing well. Hope this will help him sleep longer. Anyone give solid b4 bedtime i.e. the last feed? Wonder if can curb his night wakefulness.

hunniepot - You mean the HT cereals comes in different flavor? Where is Bishan NTUC huh?

Koalarie- Have u finished reading the book on healthy sleep, health child? The more I read the more worried I become coz J really sleep way too little.

Healthy sleep, happy child
Mel Lim,
me skipped quite a fair bit. A bit hard to do all... esp as bb grows the sleep demands reduces. But like what the book said, dun keep bb awake for more than 2h and make sure bb sleep at least an hour, still follows.

Haniese
Hmmm... Ray, quite right mayb.

Hunniepot, ur hb very good life... SIL so nice to him.

Hokkien boastful... actually not tat bad la. But I found ppl ard me- relatives, all speak very loud. As if I am deaf! =p

mel

Yup.. it comes in diff flavours.. brown rice is for 4 mths and above.. theres oat and barley for 6 mths onwards and mixed grains for 8 mths and above... the bishan NTUC is the one at J8, think the bigger NTUCs will have more varieties?

Since we are on the topic of dialects.. quite interesting really.. then how about teochews &amp; cantonese?

My ex client was telling me that in the past, people were saying if a guy wants to find a pretty wife, go to hougang as most teochews stay there.. and for women.. if they have a rich husband, go and find one in bukit timah

As for cantonese women.. from what I heard they tend to mumble to themselves alot... very lor soh.. um um cham cham

Hainanese women again.. think they are very good at scolding people like machine guns.. they can rant on and on non stop like no need to take a breather like that..

Hunniepot,
nowadays a lot of rich ppl staying in 3rm flat le... they rather ve assets in $ than property le. =p

My contribution on cantonese... soft spoken ppl but can agitate them, their vague scoldings very powerful.

Teochew ppl very strict upbringing. Respect the elders a lot.

Another thing on hainanese men, somehow guys who re nice looking tat i came across, re hainanese... hmmm.. care to share?

Hunniepot, haha..so funny. Ya, quite true. teochews are usually located ard hougang and Upp serangoon area. Found my hb (a teochew) in Upp Serangoon area. Too bad, cant get one from Bt Timah area lei although used to study around tat area! Guess Cantonese can be found in Chinatown area??