(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Tiffany

Hehe.. no lar hes not from there.. but my brother was from there.. find that some of his friends are quite good looking hehe

Hi mel_lim,
Can't remember if u are the one staying in woodlands area too? If so, do u wan me to collect ur Boboux shoes as well from Karen then u pick up at my place? Coz I saw u requested for registered postage. Btw I will b collecting at Serangoon. If wan, mayb u can let Karen noe then.

Re: Meetups
Ya ya, it has been a long time since our Apr thread mommies last met up. Mayb someone wld like to start the ball rolling?

wow, so many of u talking abt schools... so gd.. so many of u frm single sex sch.. i came frm co-ed sch.. n it's one of those notorious ones. Even the best class only ve one student got his English pass in O level while rest all D7.

Can imagine??

Whoa, koalarie which school? My sec school oso very infamous ler. Used to be at Bukit Timah area whereas all the top schools are.

I went from a purely gal's school in Pri to a gangster school in Sec.:p

bblim - yes i am wlanders. i already trf $ to her incl postage leh. paiseh to ask for refund coz like a bit troublesome. nvm lah....next time if we join BP together we can help each other collect.

Gathering - y dun we set a date and time 1st? I think place should be easy as long as it is near town or convenient places?

What abt this Sun since we already have 11 mummies attending the trial class? We can meet aft the class at 11+?

mel_lim,
RE: diarr. virus
really ah? your hubby's case sounds so serious. Me also have headache and feel like vomitting. I self medicate with panadol. I find that if I got diarr., my gal's poo will be greenish too...like diarr. also. Luckily, she had her Rotavirus vacine last week, it would be terrible if she has severe diarr.

Why our thread suddenly talking about schools ah? kekeke.... Evon, saw that you are from Chongfu....not bad school, so how come you go into your sec sch? I'm also from one of the HKHK sch.

looking forward for this sun class too!!

here's a pic of Keith saying hi to all aunties...cya!
502088.jpg

Good morning mummies!!!

ET, Keith looks so cheerful :p u put him on a bumbo to bath.. so cute. the other we went to kiddy and put him in the bumbo for fun.. end up he still cannot be taken out. lucky i never buy one for him or waste of my $$ :p

Gathering: this sunday sounds good.. since great world is near tanglin. but dunno whether the tanglin mall cafe opens on weekends.

Cheona,
sad huh... i rebellious la.. n juz missed a mark to go into CHIJ, my 1st choice... n ended up all the way to my 6th choice in the North.. sad huh?

Tracy, just proceed to the reception and mention that u are there to join the 10.15am class. Let them know u are Tiffany's gang! keke. For in case they put u in other class.

Re: Attire
Wear something comfortable like capri/pants/shorts. heard tat there's quite abit of exercise and movements for mummies. For babies, romper is best and convenient. It wont be too cold in the studio. some mummies fm the mar thread complaint very warm after all those workouts.

ET, I like Keith lei, he looks so cheerful. can go take part in baby show.

I got some silly questions on feeding cereal. sorry ya tis mummy very sotong one.

Do we follow up w his milk immediately after feeding cereal? or just cereal will do. i was thinking starting w a tablespoon only.

Can I make cereal in a bowl or must be mix and feed in a bottle?

If i wan to give fruit juice, when shld i give? as a snack time?

mom_yam
Ohh... my FIL gonna enrol Lucas in baby show to be held in Oct. the show is for babies 6mths to 18mths. Told my FIL, dun bother la, Lucas sure cannot win, cos he always no smiles. Lucas has got attitude problem!!

Mrs Ho,

i intend to make it very runny for the first week. i scared he dun know how to swallow tat y i intend to start at his 5th mth.

I noticed that those bb that can flip seem to hv better strength at their neck. that wat i saw at the infantcare.

twinkle

I also feed Amanda with just 1 tablespoon initially, 1 week ago, now shes on 1.5 table spoon.. for her 1st 2 feeds, I made it very runny, but made it thicker after the 1st few times..

Watched a tv programme on weaning babies.. they mentioned not to feed baby with the bottle, mixed with milk and cereal... better to feed using a spoon, as it will help them to learn how to eat from a spoon.. moreover my mum also mentioned that my brother was so used to having cereal in his milk bottle, that he refuses to drink milk without the cereal.. but it differs from baby to baby lar

Hunnipot,

Gd pt leh not to feed fm bottle. How do we know the ratio how many spoon of cereal to milk? or i just agar agar until it is runny and taste ok?

twinkle starry,

my way is as such:
Feeding cereals
Must b runny initially. Test for at least 3~4 days (according to PD, but I one week). Then thicken it slowly.

Feeding prunes
No prune till u sure ur bb can take the cereals for at least a week+ later.

Mixing milk and cereals
Think, tix is individual opinion.

If the cereals is powdery fine n a little amt, it is fine.

U should b able 2 see me feed Xuanting on Sunday. =p

<font color="ff6000">babies n cream</font>
sounds so fun!! have not been able to get down there for any classes, even though i've been intending to do so for the last month!! have fun and pls tell us all about it!!

<font color="ff6000">baby cafe at tanglin mall</font>
i've attended this before, it isn't really a 'cafe'. it's more like a gathering spot in a baby centre (similar to babies n cream, Mother and Child sells some baby stuff and conducts baby-related classes) where moms can breastfeed comfortably (lots of cushions, nursing pillows etc), consult with a lactation consultant and socialise with other mommies. it's mostly frequented by expat wives (ie. ang mohs) and they are mostly new mommies. when i went in may, most of the mommies had babies thatwere a few wks old. i was buying a changing mat there when K started fussing and needed a diaper change and feed, the kind lady at the counter invited me to go in and join the other mommies FOC as the session was ending

mom_yam &amp; tiffany,

Keith not as cheerful one leh...coz I snap when he is smiling mah...dont think will want to enrol him for any baby show...very mafan and me is a lazy mum...hehehe...maybe those magazine contest can still consider

cham leh, my mum say Keith keep sneezing this whole morning, a bit of running nose and eyes watery liao...sign of flu!! jialak, hope he can be well by sun. I oso dont mind to have a mini gathering this sun.

Anyone can advise on whether slings/ pouch are still a suitable n comfortable form of carrier for both mommy n a 8kg bb? I already have a hand-me-down Aprica carrier. Now looking for other alternatives as this carrier not too gd, strains my shoulders.

errmm.. anyone can advise how to make bb sit still in car seat??

Nix is refusing to be seated in the car seat..

i think alot depends on the weight of the bb. Leo is so heavy that any carrier oso will break my shoulders... i'm not using carrier anymore, occasionally use the MIM Sling, my hubby is using this brandless one that my mom bought from salvation army thrift shop. he's happy with it but i must help him clip from the back. there's no way one person can use on his/her own.

My boy oso dun like the car seat. But we ALWAYS will strap him to it everytime we get into the car. we want him to develop the habit. sometimes he in good mood, will sit and look at the toys, very rarely fall asleep. most of the times will make noise and even cry heaven cry earth. my hubby and i will hold for as long as possible before giving in and taking him out of carseat

jumbo &amp; fussiecat, i've give up letting Isaac to sit on car seat......... he simply refuse to be in there even he is in good mood.

jumbo/fussiecat/mom-yam,

Kevan also depending on his mood. especially when he is sleepy he will scream when we put him in. i m also thinking of way to let him sit in w/o me by his side all the time.

Car Seat
========

I've tried ALLL methods. From playing nursery songs to his fav toys to singing to him to patting him or play silly games with him... ALL FAILED! hiaz.. to make things worst if i happen to be at the front seat, he will insist me to carry him. and would want me to sing and pat him.

twinkle,

My ger dun wanna drink fruit juice.

For brown rice and si shen, my mil feed from bottle. That's why she tell me she cut the hole bigger. Hmmmmm, initially i thought to try feeding from spoon. Maybe i try the spoon over the weekend

nix also wanna get out from car seat too.. and he very kpo, always wanna be the middle of the passenger seat behind cos he wanna see wat's happening infront.. but very dangerous lor.. i'm using baby carrier type.. when should i change to those sit up right type car seat huh?

kk, try spoon feed.. it is good to start now.. my mum also cut the teat hole bigger but i always told my mum to spoon feed bb..

Car seat:
my gal very quite le when she sit on car seat...even will fall asleep...or play her own hand or talking to herself...

RE: Fruit Juice
My bb loves it. He will cry and make noise when he finishes it. I usually give him abt 50ml of it
So far, i have only given him apple and cranberry juice.

<font color="aa00aa">re: car seat</font>
same here, my girl generally behaves very well in her car seat when she's in a good mood or very sleepy. she entertains herself by looking at the passing scenery. i read somewhere that if you're driving and the baby is crying/fussing/screaming in her seat, you should continue driving and try to talk or sing to the baby (even if she's still upset) so that at least she knows you're there. no choice, the kid has to be in there cos it's the safest place.

jumbo, you have to change when you bb outgrows her infant seat. my infant seat fits up to about 11kg, so i'm gonna have to change soon. my mother recently bought an upright baby seat for her car, it's suitable from 3mths to about 3-4 years (depends on weight i guess and it has an adjustable slider that can make it upright or more lying down). it needs to be rear-facing until 9 kg. now that K is 9kg, we've changed it to front-facing and she seems quite ok in it.

kk,
heard that the heinz apple juice is sourish so babies don't like.

Feeding Rice Cereal
My gal didn't like her HT brown rice cereal. Initially was ok, cos she's curious and exploring. But less than a week, she starts to fuss liao. That's why I started intro new taste - Applesauce, twice last week and she's likes it so much better. These few days, been feeding her plain brown rice cereal, experimenting with different consistency, temperature. Think she doesn't like the bland taste. So today, I intro another new flavour - banana cereal. (mash banana through a sieve and add to the cereal. I only use banana that's passed through the sieve, those left on the sieve got more fibre. Just add a little bit for the taste cos you will never expect the mashed banana to be very very sweet.) She seems to like it.
hmmm...have to continue to find healthy ways to make her like cereal.

chenoa,

But there is one mummy who say heinz apple juice is sweet and her bb loves it. But mine show me that kind of face which is a hint that it is sour heeeeee...