(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

gals, u ever experience bb suck vigorously as if no milk? happen to me today and gotta give some fm. Usually when I dun work I latch her on and it was ok. Dunno wat happen today when it's her 2nd last feed. She juz couldn't feed properly and as if there was not enuf milk.

<font color="ff6000">babe</font>
it has happened to me before. did you try squeezing yr nipple to see if there was any milk? i do that when i suspect that there isn't much milk, usually i can manage to get a bit out so i'll just let her suck anyway. nowadays K has started to 'play' sometimes when she's latched on, she'll bite me quite hard and i actually have to de-latch her and say "NO".

cheona,
My gal dun like the HT brown rice cereals too. *sigh* Added wif breastmilk still willing to eat a few spoonfuls but not wif formula milk.

Can share the receipe to make applesauce? TIA. Do u mean u add it in cereals or give it as a dessert? N for bananas, izit u juz use raw ones? Coz read frm Mar thread, someone mentioned all fruits hv to be cooked either steam or boil.

miu, I did that..really not much..n after she latch back she suck a few mouthful and start to react again...pull nipple, frustrated.

Argh...these nights my gal keeps getting up at 3-4am n after feeding refuse to sleep till 5ish-6am. Dunno izzit she knows mummy n daddy not working these few days and getting noti. Or is she ready to be weaned?

Babe, it could be she is ready for Wean or rather she slps too much during day time. Probably you can try playing with her in the day and explain to her that day is meant for playing and night time meant for slping. should she wakes up during the night time not due feeding. DONT play with her, if not she will be confuse when is day and when is night.

wat we did is we dont switch on the light, just a small side lamp and keep telling isaac is night time.. must slp ok. gradually he wakes up at night is for feed only.

kk, i bought Heinz juice from NTUC. 2 flavours - pear juice; apply &amp; cranberry juice. Yesterday, I also cut an apple for him to suck the juice. My family suspects he comes from "Glutton" world. Hee!

503492.jpg

here's a pix of my son during his 4th month biscuit ceremony - supposedly he will stop salivating after this.

hunnipot,

we can just made apple juice like how we make for adult right? maybe dilute alittle. When can start puree?

twinkle

I think so bah... but only gave her about 5 spoonful of juice.. didnt dare to give her too much.. think this should be juice in the purest form? Better than those bottled ones?

Not too sure when to start puree but heniz has a couple of bottled puree for 4 mths old.. let my girl taste a little bit but didnt dare to let her take too much though

hunnipot,

me going shopping tis evening. thinking buying him some heniz pdt to try

he is home w me today as infantcare close for teacher's day. Can going go out when hubby is back.

twinkle starry,
I let Jayden try the Heinz and Healthy times puree already. He likes Heinz mashed golden vegetables very much but not HT carrot puree. I read frm somewhere that we shld start off by introducing veg products to bb instead of fruits coz fruits are sweeter and they might fancy that and reject veg in future. That's y I started his puree with veg first

hunniepot,
My mum started giving jayden porridge with fish and veg liao. I know shld start frm 6mths onwards but u know lah, old people will always insist can give. Anyway, my mum gave him ngor fish and spinach lor but must chopped till very very fine and then cooked in slow cooker for abt 4h

hunniepot,

This morning i just bought heinz apple, banana and berries puree for my ger. Anyway dunno she will take or not. But afternoon i am continuing to feed her brown rice with si shen first. Maybe evening then let her try

The puree bottle say, once open, must refrigerate and cannot consume after 48 hours. Like tat very wasteful

Twinkle,

I am on holiday today! YIPPIEEE!! Preparing steamboat for lunch and dinner

daphne,

My ger dun like heinz apple juice leh.. so i wouldn't try the pear juice liao.

kk,

u so shiok leh. me on leave as IFC closed. u must hv receive alot of gift hor.

i so busy yday so only managed to get amos famous cookie wrapped in 2 big tins and give to his teachers. so pai say, other parents give hampers etc...

preciousbabe

Does Jayden like it? My mum also wanted to give Amanda ngoh he fish and vegetable liao.. but not too sure if she can take it.. if thats the case hehe.. maybe will start Amanda on this soon...

kk

Where did you get the brown rice and si shen? Eu Yan Seng?

twinkle-starry
OMG, i didn't even get presents for the teachers in the IFC! it didn't occur to me then... but i don't see other parents giving them presents also... maybe i shld get them some nice cookies too...

juices and puree
my boy still on BM, some more he in 95th percentile, so I'm holding out as long as i can. But i've been reading up on introducing solids. uniqueone is right, shouldn't intro them to sweet stuff first otherwise they will take to the taste and reject all other bland food. good eating habits must be developed right from the very beginning!

hunniepot, Isaac has been on fish &amp; porridge since 2 weeks ago in fact, almost daily affair. Coz' my mil thk is okay to intro :s

But so far so good.. he is quite smart, if he dt want.. he wont even open his mouth. so i guess is safe.

fussiecat,

i think is ok lah if everyone not giving mah. mainly the infant section has not many teachers and bb so quite affordable.

moreover they pamper my son so i think i better do smthg too.

home-made vs bottled
Just wondering if bottled BB food is that bad as we think coz it is Vit fortified while if its home-made, all vit would have been lost in the cooking process right? Esp home made fruit juice, will all vit be killed when cooking coz have to cook quite long right? Then all is left is sugar?

I derived this theory coz when attending ante-natal class we tot soya bean milk from market is good right but the teacher told us we are wrong coz those packet ones eg Sobe has vit and calcium fortified so it is better.

Wonder if applies to BB food.

Aiyoh....new mother...so many things to learn.....and so blur.

mel lim
you are not alone. i feel so blur abt so many things... the What to Expect: The First Year book is my bible now. the next big thing will be introducing solids... so many mommies intro liao, i'm still struggling to decide what's best to start him off with...

hunniepot,
he LOVES it..in fact his appetite became better after his porridge meal. Now he can drink 5oz of milk liao as compared to his usual 3oz

Mel &amp; fussiecat.
the dietician fm my antenatal class also told us abt this soya milk thoery. another eg. white bread. compare the bakery ones with gardenia. gardenia has all the added nutrients.

me also blur... have not decided how and what to start for my boy.

preciousbabe, mom_yam

Okies.. will start my girl on fish and vege then
Thanks for your input! Wah.. didnt know those stuffs about market soya bean drink and the bread thingie... but if it is pure fruit juice, without cooking it.. will it be better?

mom_yam

You would be attending the class on sunday right? Do you know how to carry your boy the hip carrying way using the ergo carrier? Can teach me?

So far i only rely on bottle puree &amp; fruit juice. reason being, they stated there as for 4 mths &amp; above. So i'm sure they kw what's best for bbs, if i cook myself i may feel is best for him. but it may not be good for him coz' he is still very young.

hunniepot, if i'm not wrong i read before that fruit juice has to be diluted. if you buy the piegion fruit juice, they will ask u to dilute it. Ex - 2 oz of their fruit juice and add 3oz of water.

While heinz ones, the bottle state there it has been diluted. I also dunno how to use the hip carrying method. i'm still "trying" to.. we can yen jiu this sun :p

Yes - me gog to the sunday class and i'm super super looking forward to the class.

there is this saying abt 1st time mums:
1st child - kan shu yang (in chinese; it means read the book to rear the child)
2nd child - dan zhu yang (in chinese; it means rear the child like a pig, anyhow hantam liao)

like quite true. What to Expect: The First Year book is also like my bible liao.

twinkle,

Hampers??? WOW! Ya, received a lot of gifts from the girls in my form class. They are always that sweet
And they even submitted 3 photos of me and made a dedication in the montage

Hunniepot,

My mum bought the brown rice herself, then bring to chinese medicine hall to be grounded with si shen which is bought from the hall.

Due to popular dd, here's the Applesauce recipe again. Pls adjust the quantity with you don't want to make so much.
Can apply to pears as well. Make sure the pear is ripe.

Applesauce
<font color="0000ff">Total time = 20 minutes
A tasty first food for baby thats easy to make!
6 medium-size golden delicious apples
The apples should be washed, quartered and cored just before cooking. This recipe yields 15 heaping tablespoon servings. Apple quarters should be placed in a steamer basket in a pot filled with a low level of boiling water. Cover the pot tightly and steam the apples for 10 minutes or until the apples are tender. You may have to add more water. The apples should pierce easily when theyre ready. Cool the apples, then strain them in a food mill or food processor. Add 1 tablespoon of the cooking liquid per apple to the puree.
Cool applesauce before serving for teething babies / Freeze in cubes. Reheat to piping hot and let cool before serving.</font>

No Cook Puree: Banana / Papaya / Avocado
<font color="119911">Mash with fork / through sieve to get smoother texture. Serve straightaway, not suitable for fridge storage or freezing. Use ripe fruits.</font>

Cook apple/pear before puree
Almost all books mention to cook (boil/steam/bake) the fruits before puree then feeze excess, but I also wonder if can puree and freeze then cook before serving. 'cos if follow the books, means double cooking double loss of nutrients leh. I searched on internet and found a Vegetarian website that does puree the fruits without cooking first. Any comment?

kk,

I din try any other fruit juice liao...I bou some pigeon juice, end up all in my hb's stomache...kekeke
But, he still loves fresh fruits leh. even the orange is sour, he still wants wor....strange hor. I believe he prefer fresh than bottled ones...just like he prefer fresh EBM then thaw EBM...very fussy boy!!

bible (what to expect: The first year book)
I oso have a copy of bible with me but seldom refer coz no time to read leh...hehehe...the forum is my bible liao...

ET,

Ur boy takes oranges?? I am avoiding oranges for my ger. Scared got phlegm and cough.

So u just make the fruit juice in a normal way? Blend can liao? Maybe i try apple one day.

Re: B&amp;C infant class

Gentle reminder. Class this sunday 10.15am confirmed. Note that the class will start at 10.15am sharp. It will be good if all mummies attending to arrive 10mins earlier to register at the counter. Pymt will be after the class at the counter. Not required to bring any extras, just wear somthing comfy. See u mummies there... Yippe... weekend liao.

kk,

ya...he loves it leh....he oso eat apples and other cut fruits...I dont blend it...just let him suck. he will suck and suck...and use his hand to push in further...hahaha. so far ok lor...no cough or phlegm..touchwood lah.

Tiffany,

Thanks for orgainising! I will be there...cya! keith's flu is better today...my mum scold me coz I ate chocolate the past few days..that's why Keith is heaty...

Whose hbs re going? I m still trying to figure out where to place my husband le....

Which floor is babies n creme huh??

<font size="+1">Our Precious, Our Home</font>
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Wt(kg)</font></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Mummy</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">DOB</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Age</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">birth</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">3mth</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">4mth</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">5mth</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">bb food</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jumbo</TD><TD>Nixon</TD><TD>23-Feb-06</TD><TD>6m 09d</TD><TD>3.24</TD><TD></TD><TD>7.00</TD><TD>8.00</TD><TD>S26 / rice porridge </TD></TR><TR><TD>ET</TD><TD>Keith</TD><TD>2-Mar-06</TD><TD>5m 30d</TD><TD>2.60</TD><TD>5.70</TD><TD>6.40</TD><TD>6.90</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hunniepot</TD><TD>Amanda</TD><TD>21-Mar-06</TD><TD>5m 11d</TD><TD>3.10</TD><TD>6.80</TD><TD>7.30</TD><TD>7.85</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>mom_yam</TD><TD></TD><TD>23-Mar-06</TD><TD>5m 09d</TD><TD>2.80</TD><TD></TD><TD>7.80</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM / Friso </TD></TR><TR><TD>Uniqueone</TD><TD>Jayden</TD><TD>27-Mar-06</TD><TD>5m 05d</TD><TD>2.40</TD><TD>5.60</TD><TD>6.20</TD><TD>6.90</TD><TD>Enfalac A+ </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBtree</TD><TD>Ruth</TD><TD>30-Mar-06</TD><TD>5m 02d</TD><TD>2.69</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lemontree</TD><TD>Gladys</TD><TD>31-Mar-06</TD><TD>5m 01d</TD><TD>3.40</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rach</TD><TD>Ryan</TD><TD>2-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 30d</TD><TD>2.76</TD><TD>6.16</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des</TD><TD>Owen</TD><TD>2-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 30d</TD><TD>2.80</TD><TD>6.00</TD><TD>6.15</TD><TD></TD><TD>S26 Gold </TD></TR><TR><TD>mel_lim</TD><TD>Jordon</TD><TD>2-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 30d</TD><TD>3.60</TD><TD>7.00</TD><TD>7.30</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>Enya</TD><TD>3-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 29d</TD><TD>2.39</TD><TD>4.88</TD><TD>5.73</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM / Similac </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kim Tan</TD><TD></TD><TD>3-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 29d</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Ho</TD><TD>Yu En</TD><TD>4-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 28d</TD><TD>2.30</TD><TD>6.20</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Enfalac A+ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smurfy</TD><TD></TD><TD>5-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 27d</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>6.60</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kyla</TD><TD>Keona</TD><TD>6-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 26d</TD><TD>3.00</TD><TD>5.96</TD><TD>6.64</TD><TD></TD><TD>Similac </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babe</TD><TD>Keziah</TD><TD>7-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 25d</TD><TD>3.24</TD><TD>5.42</TD><TD>6.30</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maraquan</TD><TD>Kang Jung</TD><TD>7-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 25d</TD><TD>2.90</TD><TD>6.50</TD><TD>7.00</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD>Yu Han</TD><TD>7-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 25d</TD><TD>2.98</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tiffany Seah</TD><TD>Lucas</TD><TD>7-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 25d</TD><TD>2.43</TD><TD>5.93</TD><TD>6.63</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM / Similac </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leereiner</TD><TD>Ying Ham</TD><TD>8-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 24d</TD><TD>2.35</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasminetea</TD><TD>Jaslynn</TD><TD>8-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 24d</TD><TD>3.14</TD><TD>6.03</TD><TD>6.80</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM / Firso </TD></TR><TR><TD>miu66</TD><TD>Kaitlyn</TD><TD>8-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 24d</TD><TD>3.07</TD><TD>7.50</TD><TD>8.60</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene06</TD><TD>Sherlene</TD><TD>11-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 21d</TD><TD>3.03</TD><TD>5.77</TD><TD>6.55</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM / D.Mamex Gold </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koalarie</TD><TD>Xuan Ting</TD><TD>11-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 21d</TD><TD>3.66</TD><TD>6.00</TD><TD>6.70</TD><TD></TD><TD>Similac </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jade</TD><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>11-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 21d</TD><TD>2.79</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shylyn</TD><TD>Ivec</TD><TD>11-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 21d</TD><TD>2.47</TD><TD>5.38</TD><TD>5.60</TD><TD>6.1(4.5mos)</TD><TD>BM / Enfalac </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>11-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 21d</TD><TD>3.43</TD><TD>6.70</TD><TD>7.15</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>1sttimemum</TD><TD>Jing Jie</TD><TD>12-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 20d</TD><TD>2.90</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elle</TD><TD>Hanson</TD><TD>12-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 20d</TD><TD>3.39</TD><TD>7.44</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daphne</TD><TD>Matthias</TD><TD>13-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 19d</TD><TD>3.92</TD><TD>9.10</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Friso </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheers</TD><TD>Dylan</TD><TD>13-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 19d</TD><TD>3.13</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bblim</TD><TD>Reanne</TD><TD>13-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 19d</TD><TD>2.60</TD><TD>7.00</TD><TD>7.60</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>Chanz</TD><TD>13-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 19d</TD><TD>1.63</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jolie</TD><TD>Josh</TD><TD>13-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 19d</TD><TD>3.66</TD><TD>5.80</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>AmyAng</TD><TD>Brendon</TD><TD>14-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 18d</TD><TD></TD><TD>7.70</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tootsierool</TD><TD>Joseph</TD><TD>14-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 18d</TD><TD>3.93</TD><TD>7.55</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jazmaine</TD><TD>Elgin</TD><TD>18-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 14d</TD><TD>3.19</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Enfalac A+ </TD></TR><TR><TD>fussiecat</TD><TD>Leo-Aiden</TD><TD>19-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 13d</TD><TD>3.94</TD><TD>8.86</TD><TD>9.50</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chenoa</TD><TD>Yann Yen</TD><TD>21-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 11d</TD><TD>2.80</TD><TD>6.50</TD><TD>6.95</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winnie</TD><TD>Shervil</TD><TD>21-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 11d</TD><TD>2.99</TD><TD>6.40</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>NAN 1 HA </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>Yu Jun</TD><TD>21-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 11d</TD><TD>3.19</TD><TD>6.60</TD><TD>7.15</TD><TD></TD><TD>Wyeth </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle-starry</TD><TD>Kevan</TD><TD>26-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 06d</TD><TD>3.55</TD><TD>7.60</TD><TD>8.60</TD><TD></TD><TD>Enfalac A+ </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>KS</TD><TD>30-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 02d</TD><TD>3.03</TD><TD>6.30</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Enfalac A+ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snowy</TD><TD>Tiffany Fam</TD><TD>4-May-06</TD><TD>3m 28d</TD><TD>3.06</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ray</TD><TD>Nicholas</TD><TD>7-Apr-06</TD><TD>4m 25d</TD><TD>2.88</TD><TD></TD><TD>7.73</TD><TD></TD><TD>Enfalac A+ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yukie</TD><TD>Ashley</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>3.46</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sponge</TD><TD>Ariel</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2.63</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

ask a silly qn, when u start bb on solids muz steriise all the bowls n spoons n mag mag training cup? can simply wash n dry then juz use?

evon,
My hb will be going. I already told him to find a place to rot and wait for the class to end. Hmm..mayb all the hb can get together on that day for kopi? But guess will be quite difficult as they are not as outgoing as women ;p

babe,
Heehee...it's not a silly question coz this silly mummy go and sterilise the spoon. In the end, the spoon melted coz the temp is too high. guess u have to check if the spoon's material can be put in the steriliser or not first