(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

Berlin
Is your hubby looking specifically for a 3 wheeler?
Robinson's carries Chico 3 wheelers but quite heavy, otherwise, the brand Aprica has quite nice strollers but it is rather ex. Taka carries Aprica, you guys may want to check it out. The 3 wheeler is my idea, not my hb's. Hee hee!

Weoseek,

Thanks for your advice, I am not such an avid drinker lah, just that sometimes when I see my hubby drinks wine, I will get a sip from him, or whenever there is a party or function, then I will allow the maximum of a small glass, I suppose that's quite ok. (^_^;)>

Went for our makeover yesterday, it was kinda fun, I kinda took some individual shots after the photographer said I can if I top up another $30. The photographer said she liked some of our pics and may use us for their own AD & P next time!!! We took some fun shots as well but not really journalistic shots, cos it will be a diff pkg which cost abt $388 per couple.
Will be collecting the photos in 3 weeks time, so if it turns out to be nice, I shall post it up!!

Glad to know we can consume small amount of alcohol..had a feeling that had some of it even in home cooked meals already. So very that bb will suffer.

Went to Baby Hyperstore & Baby Kingdom yesterday..surprise to see there's actually a lot of ppl there ..since the place is a warehouse quite ulu mah. Baby Hyperstore has quite a wide range of stroller and also platmat/gym. For the small small items, like cotton wool, baby clothings etc..its still better to get at shopping centers.

I only got a baby cot from baby kingdom, same price as outside though..$299..

Next week might try out another Warehouse, recommended by Zoe Tay before, Kidzloft...hopefully can see more things there.

Just saw the Robinsons brochure. Aprica Nelcoocbed DX stroller, U.P. $869, now selling for $569. But only on 6 Sep, from 6.30pm. I thot it's quite a good buy, for those interested. It's way off my budget.. My budget is $300 at most. So, might consider Gracco or Chicco. Or any recommendations?

joyful,

went to robinsons today, the pigeon steriliser is going @ $87 but doesnt come with bottles and washing detergent ley. The one at JL does but not on sale, costs $117... went to taka too, wanted to get the Avent IQ express but was warned by so many pple against Avent pdts. but guess at the end of the day its all abt personal prefernce. decided to get the Pigeon one in the end..

what size milk bottles should i buy and how many of those would i need. someone pls advise. thks!

2005 (first_mum),
I went to Robinsons at Raffles City last Thu. There were still a few boxes of pigeon steriliser @$87 on display, which comes with bottles & detergent.
Anyway, I bought mine at OG Orchard @$87, free bottles, detergent & additional stretchmark cream.

Sandy,
Guess you've already gotton your pigeon steriliser? Have you tried it yet?
I tried testing with 3 bottles & amazing it took only 3 mins to complete sterliseration, so fast! Best part is that it switches off by itself when done. Don't have to worry whether over-heated or forgot to switch off. Gd for forgetful pple like me

weoseek,
I didn't catch the previous episode of zoe tay's show... just wanna to say that I saw something similar to what you've looking for in Kiddy Palace... there's a bath tub that can indicate the temp of the water. It's just a small circle at the bottom of the tub, if too hot, it changes colour. Didn't remember the price. If you're interested, you can go KP & take a look.

straycats,
oh yes, by now I should observe enough to guess that you're the active type since you participate in trilaton... You'd prefer to be on the move instead of idling around in french cafes watching the world go by, right...

wow, baby Megan has a healthy weight of 1kg! Mine was only about 650g around the same time. But also heard from quite a few mothers that the bb usuallly weighs heavier at birth than the estimated fetus weight. I hope the same for mine lor...

Sabre,
I've also got pimples here and there, just that you can't see from the pix.
How old are you? It's good to be a young mum.

straycats,
Don't think your tummy look tiny lah, maybe becos you are tall (1.7m). It's good that Megan is gaining the weight. I think I've gained the most weight instead of my bb.
I also went taka yesterday, nothing much leh. My hubby prefers 3 wheelers, those 4 wheelers is not appealing to him.

Liewliansoh,
can't wait to c your pics! Must post hor!

Weoseek,
I also went babyhyper and babykingdom yesterday around 5plus. We check out the prams at babyhyper, it's a wide range.

I went for my antenatal class at TMC yesterday, was surprised to see the seminar room packed and small. Most of the hubbies accompanied the wives there. Looking forward to the next class.

One of my colleagues said to buy 8 bottles, then, no need to wash inbetween, i.e. can last the whole day. But, she didn't breastfeed, so totally FM. Another colleague told me to get 2 small ones and 2 medium ones first. If breastfeeding, then, maybe 2 bottles wld be enough. Coz my colleague who totally breastfed, didn't use the bottles at all. Her bb only takes her breast, so even after ML, now, she goes home everyday during lunch to feed him..
So, for me, will most prob buy 2 small + 2 medium. If need more, then, ask hb to go and buy again.

Good Morning ladies,

Btw, thanks for the update. I have not been to the taka fair yet. Guess OG and Robinson has got better bargain?

Btw, i got a question, what is cord spirit? Thanks.

Hmm... Seems like my baby Fybie may be quite big, last weekend when I went for my checkup, I asked the doc abt her weight and he said it is arnd 1.8kg at 26 weeks!!! Think I better watch my diet liao!

So far I have gained 6kg for my preggie till date!!!

BTW, I have already done my pre-admission registration liao! How abt you, ladies?

hello everyone,

straycats, baby megan so sweet. envy you. only 6kgs at 6mths. i already hit that when i was in 1st trimester and at your boobs too. my boobs size didn't change much. i am still using the same cup. wonder why too. hopefully, i can also try to control my weight gain. now only 4 months but already near 15 kg. sigh

weoseek - i read somewhere in the froum that kidzloft is a let down so you may want to read about it before you go.

liewlian soh - sure good shots. pregnant mummies suppose to glow! can't wait to see your pics.

joyful - good deal you got at OG. i went to the taka fair. very crowded. hubby say skip because not buying but i still browsed around. but didn't buy anything. still early. now also wonder when will be the next sale.

wanted to seek all your opinion on the stroller. is it necessary to buy before baby comes out? we say this brand called lucky baby. same brand my sil is using but she stop using after just 4 mths. say that its too small. she just bought a bigger one with brand something like maclaren??? as usual didn't offer to give us the lucky baby one so we decided to scout around ourselves.

any advice as to when to buy? what to look out for? and brands? of cos not too expensive cos have budget also. the lucky baby brand only $170. so tempted to buy but didn't. still early. now worri won't have anymore sale. sigh.

Joyful
I heard our BB are on a growth spur once we hit 7mth and most of the weight gain will be on the BB, so not to worry your ger, will be fine
312521.gif
I just hope Megan will not be too big when I deliver, hee hee! Dun want to go thru' a C section.

Berlin
That's what I thot too on the seminar rm @ TMC. Very crowded & packed. Your instructor is Mrs Wong is it?

Taka / Berlin (not sure if you are still gonna deliver in Mt E)
Just to keep you both posted, I "wandered" into Mt E and managed to take a look at the maternity wards & delivery rms in Mt E, the nurse very friendly & nice leh, they showed me the rooms and its big & nice.

Berlin,
I went for my 1st anatenatal class @TMC last wk too, tonight is the 2nd class. Gotta go early to get a place near to the wall, so that can lean against the wall when tired

straycats,
me don't want to go thru' c-section too! So hopefully bb will turn her head down after 32-36 wks...

Mt E.. I saw the 1-bedder ward which is quite roomy & pleasant. Guess you'll like it.

Jan,
Regarding stroller, received some advice from experienced moms that we can also buy stroller after bb is born, bcos will then know how big bb is & get one with better fit. Anyway, I think strollers are rather personal & subjective...

2005 (first_mum),
I've bought 6 9oz bottles & got 2 4oz ones (comes free with Pigeon steriliser), so that don't have to wash the bottles after every feed.

LiewLian
Wah Fybie is bigger than Megan! Good to hear that our BB's are all doing so well. You must remember to post your pics up when they are ready. Can't wait to see them.

Joyful
I agree about leaning against the wall. But sometimes too early ended up having to wait cos' the class does not finish on time, by then all the ppl will make a mad rush to get the "best seats".

Jan
I agree with Joyful on selecting the stroller thingy. BTW, don't worry too much about your weight gain, its mostly water since you said you suffer for water retention. It will go away after birth
312552.gif

Liew Lian
No need to watch your weight lah.. 6kg is very good. I've gained 9kg liao..
so super sad. My bb is only 450gm during my scan at 21 weeks. Now, I feel like I put on so much, am so guilty.

Jan
The Maclaren pram shld be more exp than Lucky baby. Anyway, Lucky baby also had big prams. I think all brand have prams of diff sizes and diff price range. I saw one Graco pram at the Taka fair for $199. OP is $289. Seems like it's not too bad, has one hand fold, reclining positions and not too heavy.
You can consider that. I'm also wondering when is the next sale. Another way is to use the sling for 1st few mths, then buy the pram after bb is born if got no sale loh. Robinsons shld have year end sale. But, I dun know what brands they carry. Like Taka, carries Aprica, Graco, etc. Isetan carries Combi, Aprica. Tangs carries mainly Combi with a few Chicco. Or you can check out Carrefour. Maclaran, I saw it at Mothercare. Maybe they have some cheaper range of prams.

Staycats, Liew Lian
I think we're fortunate if bb is bigger than smaller. My colleague who is at 32 weeks now has an ageing placenta, so bb is not growing too well. Doc says if still cant grow, have to induce earlier. So, she's v worried.. So, I guess we're luckier than bb is growing well.
At least for big bb, mummy suffer coz of C-section. IF bb is small, bb will suffer.. if premature, very poor thing, have to be in ICU with all the tubes.

straycats,
since my antenatal class is on a wkday, there is no class before mine. Just hope the door is open for early birds. Oh yes, the class does end late. The last time it ended after 9:30pm, so tired liao...

joyful
u got a good buy from OG..

I haven't try my set yet.. instead of stretch mark cream, Taka give out 3 packs of Pigeon Wipe for purchase of Pigeon products above $40..

BTW, is there any sales/offer on Fisher Price products at OG? Tot of getting a mobile cot for my little one..

Joyful
O i c, then you are the lucky one. My class falls on Sat and it always end late and even if we are early, the "best seats" are always taken up. So ended up leaning on my poor hb, ha ha!

Krissie
Agreed with having healthy weight BB. Anyway, most of our BB are on a growth spur now since most of us are embarking on our 3rd trimester soon. I can't wait but I feel abit sad cos' I like the bond I am sharing with Megan, I like the feel of having her inside me. Yet, I am also starting think on how I will react during delivery
312561.gif

Do we need to get a car seat now? After delivery, most of us will carry our BB right, so is a car seat neccessary or can we get them like in 4mth's time or when should we get them?

Sandy,
Gd to get the pigeon bb wipes as freebies, then you don't have to buy it later

Didn't look out for musical mobile leh, so not sure if there're discounts.

Krissie,
What's ageing placenta? Your colleague's so poor thing...
I don't mind small size bb, but praying hard that my bb will not be premature...

Krissie and Jan,

Dun feel so upset abt yr weight gain and upset yrself, most importantly just eat healthy and drink more water. I am starting to suffer from mild water retention liao...
In fact, I put on 3 kg during the CNY period before I got preggie, so I guess my weight gain is not so good either!!!
312576.gif

Liew lian,
I think you made mistake lah..at 26 weeks, bb can never be 1.8kg..far too big already..perhaps you heard wrongly..should be 0.8kg. If now 1.8kg and likely you are gonna hv 4-5kg bb which cannot be delivered by natural birth. So usually doctor is very careful, either too big/small will hv problem one.

Jan,
Really ? Kidzloft not good? But its near my place..on the way to my parents house, so likely I'll just visit to see see look look.

Joyful,
The anti slip mat that I watch in Zoe Tay 's show is something cartoon character and paste on bath as and when you like it.

Hmm.. that's weird, Weoseek. Maybe my gynae gave me the wrong weight lor. But both hubby and myself heard that number lei...
312612.gif

DS,

My feet and legs are kinda swollen at the end of each day, and when I pressed down with my finger, that area will turn pale yellow, slightly indent before back to normal, sometimes my feet become swollen till my shoes can't fit well, that's why I know lor....

Sandy
I saw taka (bb dept) selling the F & P products. Quite a wide range, so shld have mobile. Shld have 20% off now, coz whole dept is having 20% off. But, to be safe, you can call them to ask them b4 going.

Straycats
Yup.. me too, I love bb inside me, but yet want to see him..
ha ha.. I'm not getting car seat so soon. Most prob after the 1st mth.

Joyful
Re Ageing placenta , It's also the 1st time I'm hearing it. Her gynae says that there patches on her placenta which affects (reduces) the food supply to baby, so bb is not frowing well.

Liew Lian
Thanks.. dun worry, am still eating as per normal and drinking milk (but diluted lah) every nite b4 sleeping. After hearing my colleague's case, I'm eating well to make sure that bb gets enough nutrients.. so, fat also bo bian lah...
Now that Weoseek mention, your bb is a bit big. Coz my colleague's bb was 1.7kg at 32 weeks and I checked the bb centre website and it's in normal range.

http://www.babycenter.com/general/pregnancy/1290794.html

straycats,
your hubby is so nice to be your human wall during the antenatal class

weoseek,
oic... I've haven't seen exactly the same mat as what you describe.
I think I'll just use the traditional method to test water temp, ie elbow

DS / Krissie,
Searched on the internet & found that ageing placenta usually happens when bb is overdue (beyond EDD). There's a lack of amniotic fluid & hence oxygen to the baby.
But I wonder why at 32 wks, the placenta is already ageing...

Jan,
In fact I want to wait till bb is born then buy pram, it's my hubby who is eager to get one. I guess I will be using sling for the 1st 3 months, easier to bring around and bb will feel more comfortable and warm in my arms and chests. Now we are just looking around for suitable prams and price comparing.

Straycats,
No, I didn't get to go Mrs wong class. My instructor is Mrs Uma, I think she's an indian. She was on course yesterday so they got a staff nurse to take over.
I'll be delivering at Mt A liao. The cost is cheaper and becos I may want to have single bedded.

Joyful,
I got a seat against the wall. Yes, it gets really tired, especially during slide presentation. Me and my hubby almost dozed off.

For me, I'm so eager to see my bb and hold her in my arms. Smell her hair, feel her soft skin, and play her fingers... Heehee..

krissie
thanks for yr info.. maybe I've missed out the Fisher Price corner.. too engrossed in looking at the cute cute bb clothes and the steam sterilizer.. keke

straycats / Krissie / Berlin,
I also like the feeling of bb inside me
I like to feel her movements, and I like the thot that she is very comfortable inside my tummy

I've also started to imagine carrying her in my arms, kiss her, bf her...

Lots of maternal instinct here

hi, happen to come across this forum accidentally. Had some reading and found it to be quite interesting. My EDD is 22 Dec 05 and it's a girl.

Will definitely be coming here often to share and also check out with all MTBs.

To start with, Saw someone mentioning about a quinny stroller. I went to baby hyperstore yesterday as we were planning to buy a stroller and car seat. Remember that there's a sale like 30% on the stroller. You many wish to check with them as they are the distributor and their price should be cheaper. I suppose at this point of time, we are around the same stage whereby we are shopping for baby stuffs. Therefore, i hope to learn from many of you on the recent happenings. Thanks for sharing.

btw, anyone done any research on strollers and car seats? pls share. thanks.

Straycats&Berlin,
I also started my antenatal course last week but on weekday at TMC. Mine was Staff Nurse Chong..she mentioned Sunday..is a sister teaching, while the rest of days is splitted btw this S/N Chong and Mrs Wong. I thought Im the most lazy MTB..cos keep yawninglucky Berlin also like that..heheheBut hubby very enthusiastic, when doing exercise, keep repeat what the instructor says in Chinese to me, scared I cannot understand..so funny. Even though mine is on weekday, but there were altogether 15 couples, so each couple can get around 2 mattress..Those on weekday, think need to squeeze in one mattress yeah?

Sandy,
About the merry go aroundI think I saw 1 type very nice onewhere you can choose the Music btw Mozart, and other classical music with 3 buttons. Cost around $99 before discount..Very tempted but just too ex liao..

Joyful,
Test water temperature by elbow? How to judge how hot is too hot? Dunno whether will be too kam cheong that time or not.. It has been long long time since my family see a babythink everyone will be real stressed to get bb to first bath. Heheh..

Any recommedation for baby powder? Read from books that need to avoid those with Talc content to avoid bb get asthmaalmost all brands, like J&J, Pigeon and Purreen came with Talc..Only found from this babies&cream at Great World City that hv baby powder without Talc, but expensive ..small bottle cost $10+

Joyful
Hee hee, I like the way you put it: Human Wall
312677.gif

Don't worry, you will not have a premature BB. I am surprsied that Megan weighs 1kg cos' my appetite actually drops and I don't snack at all. This shows that our body does an amazing job at passing the good stuff to the BB.

Weoseek,
Mrs Wong @ TMC mentioned that TMC has got a case whereby they delivered a 4.5kg BB via C section. And she also mentioned another case whereby a mom whose height is 1.55m delivered a 5.5kg, 57cm BB naturally. When I heard that my hb & I were so shocked! So, LiewLian's ger's weight may not be wrong leh.
312678.gif

Btw, I asked my gynae why I can feel my ger harden at certain areas of my tummy. He mentioned it's becos' she's turning. The harden area can be her head / butt. Arms & legs don't cause much hardening.

Weoseek
Looks like I really miss the Fisher Price corner liao.. nvm i will go to OG to see if got better bargain cos my gf got hers from OG during sales..

my mom advised me to use bb cream instead of bb powder.. so likely we will be getting Johnson's baby one.. the reason she gave is the same as yours - asthma problem..

weoseek,
eh, I thot the J&J Baby Powder has no talcum?
The skin at the elbow is very sensitive one, if bath water is hot, sure can tell.

straycats,
you eat alot of gd food leh :p But you're very lucky lor, Megan aborbed alot of it & you put on not much weight. Keep it up, yah!

Wow! 5.5kg baby, that's huge man! My cousin's 1st girl was 4kg at birth, via natural delivery, and I already thot she's a supermom!

Wendy,
welcome! Where are you delivering your girl? Any name for her yet?

Hi wendy,
Welcome to Dec thread! I don't think babyhyper is offering the discount lor. The price after discount is at $349 (zapp) and $699 (Buzz), whereas kidsmall is selling zapp at $299 (without warranty).

weoseek,
Our class was relieved by staff nurse Chong. But Mrs wong is taking 1pm and 3pm class on Sunday leh. It was too late when I knew it, the class is already full before I could change. We had to share a mattress during our class.
BTW, the exercise were quite similar to what I learnt from my yoga class, sole to sole, cat, arm and neck exercise. I did the sole to sole exercise every morning while putting on my make up. Keke..

Err... Now that some of you have mentioned abt the weight of my bb, me and hubby also not so sure liao! Will try to confirm with the doc again at the next checkup, oh no, I dun want my bb to turn out like a mini sumo!!! Gosh!!!

Hopefully the weight the doc gave me was in pounds, which means that my bb is arnd 820 grams!!

Welcome, Wendy!!!
I hope you will like the forum here!!!
Think I mentioned abt the quinny stroller, but we won't get one so early, but we may shop arnd and put in our wishing list so that friends/relatives can buy for us during the baby shower!! Hee hee!
312720.gif

Vain me! I bought a new pair of covered shoes and now it's hurting me. It's ok when I tried it, but now it's getting tight. **mad** Does our feet return to normal size after birth?

Poor gal!

Berlin, next time if you buy shoes, better try to buy in the evenings cos that's when yr feet is the biggest! Some of our feet may remain as big after delivery, according to the book " What to expect"...

I hope mine will go back normal or else I will have trouble buying shoes liao!!!

Straycats/Liew Lian,
I think if its really 1.8kg...Liew Lian will be drag to do many test like diabetes etc..Only ppl with Ges. Diabetes will be having much bigger baby..

Joyful,
Ok. will go and check out Johnson baby powder since dun hv Talc. Dunno if you all noticed, I saw Pigeon have those powder which package to look like make up foundation powder. Can choose color somemore...like pink/natural...dunno what is that for.

Berlin/Wendy,
Is those 3 wheels stroller like Quinny can be used since baby first few mth? Or we have to buy another thing to put on it since it look quite vertical. Nowadays looks like thats the trend hor to use 3 wheels one...I also quite like it, cos look very sporty.

Wow, this thread is really active. I am in KL now, doing an assignment, for a duration of 2 weeks. Will be back for the weekend.

Almost bought all the necessary stuff for my baby Megan during the Taka sales, got 20% for most of the items. But we haven't got the pram and cot bed. Already done our research and we are keen to get the cot bed at Baby Kingdom ($279) but if you want the white colour one, it will be S$299. White cot bed is very nice, but it is hard to find matching white furnitures like chest of drawers. So we still considering. For the pram, we target at Peg Perago, at baby kingdom as well, it is around $560, can have two directions, that means the baby can face you or face the other direction. My hubby likes it very much but i am concerning the price is a bit ex.

Too bad i won't be around for the Robinson sales. so we decided to get most of the items from Taka. It is at 3rd floor the baby sections, not B1 though. BTW, I find that Isetan's pricing is much higher compare to the rest.

Berlin, Liew Lian,

Oh my god, don't tell me that my feet will remain big, cos i have around 50 pairs of shoes, what am i going to do with them if i can't wear them anymore?? Keep my fingers closed! But now seem like still ok, only a bit bigger, still able to wear most of my shoes.

Straycats,

Ya, i have toured around Mt.E as well, the maternity wards looks ok, but a bit small for 2 bedded. Don't think i want to spend the unneceesary money on single bed room. So much diff in price. Can't choose to go to other hospital, cos my gynae only deliver there.

Wow, your Megan is growing healthy heh, must ask my gynae next time how is the weight of my Megan now.

joyful,
thks for the info, tink i'll get my Pigeon steriliser from taka by this weekend. Anyone knows when the bb fair ends?

krissie,
guess i'll get 2 small and 2 medium first then. i like the fat and short ones, look so cute!

my last checkup, my bb weighs 650g at 24 weeks. doc says growth is healthy... weoseek u might have heard the gynae wrongly. ive put on 8 kg so far, the last time gynae just shook her head and smiled, asked me cut down on carbos pls haha. so paiseh.

Joyful
Dun know leh.. her gynae says that some pple will have ageing placenta & asked her to rest more as it might help.

Wendy
Is the 30% off prams for all brands? Do they carry Graco?

Taka
Wah.. you have 50 pairs of shoes. Are all the Perego prams so exp? I saw one from the Babytown website which was quite lite at abt 4kg, selling for $369. Based on the specs, it looks quite good, but dun know if it comes with the one hand fold. Do you know where else sells the Perego pram other than Baby Kingdom.