(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

straycats,
Maybe inside those dim light environment, your lady boss not able to see your tummy, that's why she commented your tummy small. But as what you said, maybe because of your build, that makes your tummy small lor.

That's quite a good deal. My hubby managed to get someone to do for me, each session is $60, I can do as many sessions as I want to, but I can't guarantee whether she is good or not...

I need to drop by Taka to pick up my ring so just nice to go take a look at the baby fair, but hubby may not be free to meet me in town, so not sure whether to buy anything there or not... Also feel like going over to Paragon 9 Mois for some shopping :p

Taka,
I experienced that yesterday night! I wonder izit because i twist my tummy to take things. :p

Then i show it to my hb, he talk to bb what is he doing.. then my tummy suddenly soften liao wor. Think is the second time liao, 1st time i also cannot remember what did i do leh..

Taka
I also get that feeling. Sometimes, my ger will just stay at one side and it is very very hard. I was told if you are stroking your tummy or doing some stuff and your BB suddenly respond in this manner, it means he / she does not like it. This was told in my antenatal class. My ger also softens & moved away, after I talk to her & stroke my tummy. That shows that they have moods also. But good leh, like this we know that they are telling us they don't like certain movements we are doing
311787.gif

hi gals, i'm from jan 06 mtb thread. tot i drop by here to kaypoh. keke.. hope you all don't mind.

btw, i read that a few of u are going to take preggie pics. may i know where to do it and how much? i'm considering doing too. keke...

also i think one of you have those preggie shots of zoe tay, can pm to me as well? thks heaps! :D

straycats,

Really huh.. hmm.. but did your antenatal class tell you will the frequent harden of the bb do any harm to bb a not?

DS
The environment is held in daylight, outdoor @ a yatch club @ 4.30pm how can she not see, and secondly my own boss can see she cannot see. Even the ppl serving us also can see. Aiya..maybe she is drunk???

Nope, she told us it is normal. It's just the way the BB responds to certain movements and stroking that they don't like. My ger does this very often, especially when I am doing certain pilates movements, once I changed position / talk to her, she will soften. My hb said she is a smart ger
311802.gif

Jeslyn,
Agree with the rest that Renee looks cute! Was that a studio shoot? Does your elder girl look more like your hubby or you?

DS,
I missed the documentary "Child of Our Time", bcos my family was watching the Superstar til 11pm too.

Seems like there're a few sales startng this wkend... Taka, Isetan & OG. Too bad nowadays can't go for marathon shopping anymore. Maybe go to 1 store per wkend.

If anyone interested to get the Pigeon rapid steam steriliser, can get it before this Sunday at Robinson @$87. They're also selling NUK bottles (2 big & 1 small) @$19.

LiewLian
I told the lady what I want is results, she said normally after 1 session can see oredi. Anyway, after our delivery, we can all post and see if we got cheated anot, ha ha!

I will be going to the Fair tomorrow after my gynae appt. My hb wants to go today (more ks than me hor?). See got any goodies for me princess anot.
311805.gif

Straycats,

How I wish my hubby can be as gan jeong as yrs!!!
He is more eager to pick up his tennis racket at Marina Square than to go down to the Taka BB fair with me!!! Hmp!!!
311809.gif

Berlin,

Really ah, post-natal massage got pull hair ah???
Cannot lah, my hairstylist was telling me that after delivery, our hormones will change again, and most of us will shed hair, if she pulls mine, I will be left with none liao!! Gosh!!!
311814.gif

BTW, ladies, better start applying hair tonic now so that you can protect your beauty crown and minimize any hair loss!!! Currently I am using Phyto Hair Care products.

Liewliansoh,
What time are you going taka today? I may go off early and drop by taka to take a look at the fair. If you alone, maybe can meet at the fair and say Hello!

Regarding confinement, are you gals going to stay away from hair wash and bath for 1 whole month? My MIL already instruct me not to do that during confinement, I don't know how I can take it, we are staying together, so I doubt I can secretly wash my hair. Thought of going to hair salon and tie my hair into strips of pleats (like those negro). They say can last quite some time.

straycats,
Huh, broad daylight, then she still cannot see, must be drunk lah.. hahaha

You have a smart ger. Oh.. so no harmful effect to bb. Okie, thanks hor.

Berlin,
So you won't be washing hair and bath for 1 whole month right?
I maybe doing the same thing, cos my mum keep telling me doining confinement must do swee swee, if not next time when we old liao then we will kena all the pain this and that for not observing all this.
Maybe the most we can use warm towel to wipe our body lor.
I wonder can i tahan a not, esp i am those who perspire a lot type.. charm liao leh.. somemore cannot let the fan blow on you.. cannot stay in air con room.. how to survive?

Must apply hair tonic?? aiyo..

Berlin,

You are one hot mama yah!!! Pleating yr hair ah!!!
Stylo!!!
I am going to knock off at 530pm sharp so I should be in town around six... so wanna meet?

berlin,
but if you pleat your hair, then when you wash it one month later, your hair will be in the shape of natural perm leh.. then hor.. if your hair itchy, sometime how to scratch on areas that are tied tightly huh?

DS,
We are allow to wipe our body with some herbs specially for confinement. But not hair leh, 1 day don't wash already so oily. And don't ask me to cut my hair short short hor... No way! Can stay in aircon rite? What hair tonic? Hair already so oily, still put tonic, so messy & wait got hair lice hah!

Liewliansoh,
Let's hope there will be a gathering for all Dec mums here before we go delivering.

Good morning Mommies

Sorry me again MIA for some time, been really busy at work, trying to clear my 'mini bt timah hill' asap..

joyful
u mention about this Pigeon rapid steam sterilizer at $87 in Robinson, is it offer item? I m thinking of getting this Model after seeing a similar one at my gf's house last week.. she say it is very useful..

Berlin,

The hair tonic is to start applying now, not during confinement lei....

Yeap, hopefully there will be one!!! (^_^)

Sandy,
Yes, had checked with Robinson's salesperson that the pigeon steriliser is on offer until this Sunday. Comes with 2 milk bottles & a bottle detergent too.

Washing hair during confinement...
I don't think I can stand not washing for 1 mth! Not even for a wk. Will be itchy like crazy.

I also heard that we'll lose hair after delivery. I hope I will lose only those hair on my belly which appears during preggie. hee.

Sandy,
The Pigeon rapid sterilizer is really cheap at robinson. I saw today's paper, taka bb fair is selling at $105 and limited to 50pcs only.

Joyful/Berlin
Thanks for the info. So likely I will get from Robinsons since they are giving 2 milk bottles n bottle detergent and price is cheaper than Taka..

Will U be getting it also?

Berlin
Aiya, wash hair or not no diff to me leh. I got super duper short hair. Used to have long hair but cut it short 7 years ago, until now it never grows pass my ears! So confinement, wash or don't wash also can, but I doubt I can tahan 1 mth don't wash hair leh..so yucky! Also during my antenatal class we were told to shower, etc..cos' when bfing, we must keep ourselves clean. Imagine, while bfing, the dandruff from not washing the hair adds as extra ingredient for BB's milk...gross!
311881.gif

LiewLian
My hb quite ok when comes to shopping for his daughter's stuff. Sometimes quite kpo & ks as well, even go and compare prices and ask his friends. He just got a jogging stroller for my ger (tom pang his fren to bring from US). Looks like this:
311887.jpg

Berlin,
Wipe our body with herbs, is also can be done 2 wks after delivery right? Not sure leh, acutally, my SIL, she also seldom use those herbs to wipe her body, she heard from people one.. so she KS also, dare not use the herbs.. so she will passon the herbs to me leh..

Imagine the gerbs are bought by my auntie for her DIL.. for her confinement, but guess she also didn't use those herbs.. so passon to my SIL, now will pass on to me...

Liewlian soh,
Your phyto hair tonic from where? Smelly a not har? Kekekek

I thought using those aluminium cooking pot will be good enought to act as sterilizer? Why still need to buy huh? I mean, the sterilizer that we saw are make of plastic material right?

During our mother time, aren't our mum using those old tradtion method to sterilised our milk bottle?

Straycats,
Yah, i was wondering also, if we don't bath, then our body will be smelly, then sure will add "ingredients" to our bb's milk if we breastfeed. But no choice leh..

Are both of you all going to use the jogging stroller to push your bb gal while both of you are jogging at paris?

DS
Yes, will use the stroller as my ger's transportation tool when were are in France. We will be staying at Bordeaux, about 1 hour from Paris (by flight), 3 hrs away if taking the French TGV train and 5 hours drive away.
311891.gif

DS
Still can jog with BB in the stroller. Not dangerous one lah. By 6mths the BB will be able to sit on a jogging stroller. And to get her use to it, can put her on the stroller while doing household chores or start her on a walking trip.
311920.gif
There will not be anyone helping me so do or die, so I need to improvise with whatever I have, otherwise things will never get moving.

DS,

Phyto products can be found at Robinson, the hair tonic cost $30 a bottle, not smelly, very easy to use, after shower just apply on scalp and massage, no need to rinse off!!!

Straycats,

That's a nice stroller, but is it heavy to carry? I need to find something lighter cos I got a weak back and can't carry heavy things! 1 of my friends recommended the brand quinny... as for the stroller, I will leave it to my hubby to decide! Wow, Bordeaux is a very nice place, lots of vineyards, hmm....
I am a wine person, so even I am preggie, sometimes I will still take wine!!! [just a glass]
311942.gif

So I am sure my daughter will hold her liquor quite well when she grows up!!!

Sandy,
I'm not buying, I'll be using traditional way.
Just kaypo-ing the price. Seems like not everything is cheap at bb fair if we really do research.

straycats,
That's a nice stroller! Is it heavy? My hubby insist to buy the Quinny stroller tomorrow... I tell him "No, not yet!" This is the only thing he is so ks about.
I admire woman who can take short hair, but I can't carry it. I have jumbo ears.keke... My hubby always tease me about my ears, say our daughter better not to inherit my ears.

Berlin,
Yah, my hair has been long since secondary school. Ask me to cut short hair, no no for me also. Cos i have a big face. :p

Sandy,
Yes, I'll be getting it, but will need hubby to go along to lug it home.

OG selling Pigeon steriliser at 20% off the original $117 (abt$93). Robinson still cheaper esp after 5% card holder discount. Btw, OG has 20% off most items. Bought 2 nursing bras @$7.90 each.

straycats,
your jogger is the type that my hubby wants to get! But I don't think I can handle it alone when he's not around. So we maybe getting a Lucky Baby one instead.

Berlin
oic.. so u will use the pot to boil hot water to sterilize the bottles.. ya lor, must do thorough research b4 buying or else end up buying from a more expensive source

Joyful
I m thinking of going down this evening to Robinson at Raffles City.. we will save more if we get from Robinson and with their month end 5% rebate.. keke

straycats,
wow... Bordeaux is a nice place! My hubby would love to go there & be immersed in the vineyeard, and drink to his heart's content
... and then turn red like a crab! ... and fall asleep drunk...

Straycats
How much you pay for that jogging stroller? What is the brand?
My hubby prefers this type of stroller and he had fren in UK to bring back.

Joyful, Berlin, LiewLian & Cheeerful_Mum,
The stroller is not heavy at all. And it is very easy to assemble. Only need to fix the 3 wheels then , it's on the go. Folding wise also easy. Height wise for me & hb is ok, for my mom (1.6m) abit too huge, cos height not adjustable. It cost US$299, its called the BOB Sport Utility Sport Stroller. They have the D'lux and Ironman Series. The wheels are 16inch each. Bear in mind, this stroller can't be used in our shopping malls, it is meant for outdoors and it can take hard rides. The front wheel however,does not swivel, if you want a swivel front wheel it cost US$360, its called the BOB Revolution.
Note: this stroller is double the size of the Quinny and all other strollers. That explains why my mum looks dwarfed when pushing it.

Another brand to consider is called Dreamers Design, their Slingshot / Rebound model is very good as well, and the height is adjustable but it is quite heavy. BTW, I sa another 3 wheeler at Motherworks @ Great Worlwd, its called Mountain Buggy, the front wheel is a swivel wheel & it is very easy to handle & not heavy at all but it cost around S$900 if I am not wrong.

Cheerful_Mum, not sure if UK has it cos' it is a US product but I know Norway, Germany & Sweden ,Canada has it can, ask your hb fren to get it from there and bring it back to S'pore.

Hope my info is helpful for you gals.

LiewLian, Joyful
Let's hope I don't end up as a alcoholic when I am there but I don't drink so I doubt it can be one.
312000.gif

Actually, my consolation is being able to catch Tour De France 2006 & World Cup 2006 in Germany, while having to move there.

Before I leave I can pass you guys my email / adddress, if you happen to come to France, can come and visit me. It will be fun!

straycats,
I could already imagine you in France siting outside a cafe on a lazy afternoon, with ger-ger in the jogger stroller, and you sipping a cup of gourmet coffee, watching people pass by... so leisurely... I hope

It's my dream since a decade ago to tour Europe leh. But ever since after graduation, it's difficult to go on long holidays (>3 wks). Looking at the schedule, the soonest will be still 1 yr away. Would be nice to visit France, and your home

Joyful,
Yeah, sitting outside cafe and even enjoy the sunlight.. with cooling air. Unlike in Spore, we always looking for air condition place. :p

straycats,
I'm surprised it's not heavy when it looks so huge and doubled the size of quinny. Those quinny ones I saw are range from 6kgs - 15kgs. I already find it heavy, that's y I insist not to buy first.
I've only been to paris and hopefully can go to Bordeaux with my family and visit you. (or by then you will be back to S'pore liao)

Joyful
That's very good imagination indeed. How I wish I can be like dat but tell you honestly hor, I am not that sort leh. I am always working out and thereafter, I prefer to stay at home and read or sleep. I don't like sitting at the cafe and watch the world go by..I will zzz.....off. Hee hee!
312021.gif

But should you ever come over to France, you are always welcome to stay with us.

DS
Too much cool air not very good, skin can get very dry. S'pore weather better, hot & humid, we sweat then can get good circulation.
312022.gif

Hey ladies,
Back again.. Thought of a chinese name for little Kyloe already... Jun4 En1..

Confinement month better be more guai and listen to old folk's tale.. Cause i got a colleague nv listen go bath and drink cold drink in e end now whenever rain c her back pain....

Today baby suddenly give me a strong kick. I was so shocked tat I shout out... so embarassed... ^_^

Berlin,
Wah.. ur pic very nice hor... so envy.. and u look so pretty!!! I'm havin all tat rashes n feels so itchy!!

Btw, guess u all still don know tat I'm still e youngest around here... ^_^

I think the pigeon steriliser which came with a 2 bottles+bottle cleaner are sold at Seiyu and Taka fair for $87.

Btw, if any of you ladies know where to get the anti slip bath mat which can change color according to water temperature recommended by Zoe Tay in one of her show recently, pls let me know..Has been trying to look for it..but cannot find. Only manage to get a duck from taka yesterday, also can show "HOT" when water temp too high. But the one Zoe Tay had is really cute and nice.

Liew lian,
Can we preggies take wine? I've read from books that it must be avoided totally cos a small amount can damage baby's brain.

Try to avoid it ok.

That's why the other day I shouted at my mum for adding it into the chicken she cook.

weoseek

i think it's alright for u to eat food cooked with a little wine. But it also depends on how u cook it.

This is taken from one of the websites.

Does all the alcohol evaporate when you cook with it?
Alcohol boils at a lower temperature than water, so you'd think that the alcohol would completely evaporate before the water, but this doesn't happen. Some of the alcohol and water combine to form an inseparable mixture called an azeotrope. So even after lengthy boiling, some alcohol remains bound with water. Not surprisingly, the cooking method and cooking time also influence how much alcohol evaporates. Flambeing removes about 25% of the original alcohol. Simmering on the stovetop for 30 minutes evaporates about 65% of the alcohol. And 2?hours of simmering removes about 95%.

Just to keep you gals update. My visit to the gynae was fine. My Megan weighs 1kg!! I thot she will be small since so many ppl commented that I looked tiny for 6mths
312148.gif
. She had put on some fats and during the scan we saw her hold up her hand with her fore finger up. Luckily she did not show her middle finger, ha ha!!! Total in all I had put on 6kg. The nurse said most of my weight gain are on my boobs! Now, if I can keep my weight at 1.3kg per mth till delivery that will be great for me....keeping my fingers crossed.
312149.gif

Berlin
The stroller is huge yet light, but like I said, its meant for outdoors, getting it into the malls will be a hassle. For normal use, I have a Graco on hand which I got from US a few years back. If you visit me within the next 3 years I will be around, unless my hb kena posted to another place.

BTW, ladies, the Taka BB fair so-so only leh. I thot it will occupy the whole hall @ ground level, instead its at a tiny corner @ B1. Ended not buying anything cos' Robinson's also selling the stuff at around the same price.

Weoseek
A little bit of alcohol is fine for preggies to consume. My gynae said it is ok. Like mashy said, it is still safe to add some onto our food but in moderation.
312152.gif